Chery Maxime MPV appears on oto.my – RM84,300?

The Chery Maxime’s official launch should be pretty soon, given that ads for the new MPV has appeared on car classifieds website oto.my. Malaysia is set to be the first country in the world to get this new Chery MPV, and with the appearance of this ad we suppose the rumoured Chery Maxime name is confirmed.

The new Chery Maxime is locally-assembled (CKD) at Oriental Assemblers in Johor. It measures 4,730 mm long and 1,823 mm wide with a 2,800 mm wheelbase.

The oto.my ad lists the car for RM84,300, and the ad description reveals a bunch of specs like a 2.0 litre Acteco engine with dual variable valve timing mated to a CVT gearbox, all-round disc brakes, 16 inch alloy wheels, cruise control, ABS and EBD. The ad also mentions a 5 year, 150,000 km warranty.

We previously featured an extensive pre-launch gallery of the Chery Maxime which we’ve embedded below. You can read the gallery story for extra details which we managed to gather at that point of time.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:35 am

Chery Eastar / B14 production data (Johor Bahru factory).

2008 = Launched. Production data not available.
    2009 = 1,770 units
    2010 = 3,104 units
    2011 = 3,009 units
    2012 = 558 units
    2013 = 724 units
    2014 = 19 units

Source : MAA

Why not car models sales data instead ? Well, because MAA is run by a bunch of incompetent retards who think it’s against the law / counter-productive to share monthly car models sales data (but car manufacturers sales data is okay, apparently)… yeah right, try telling that to all the other countries in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • masakmati on Jan 25, 2015 at 9:31 am

Because one of the junior clerk incharge of paper work is Maserati the guy who shortage of love like ccb sam lor, thats why the whole data screwed.

• karipap basah on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:47 am

Knowing Malaysia, and the Govt goons……semua boleh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • sammy on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:27 pm

I beg to differ…
      Not finding excuses, but some data is harder to get then others.
      Companies are not obligated to declare, is all good will.
      Especially sales figures have.. ahem.. other implications especially you are a listed entity.
      And there are a lot of grey areas such as preregistered vehicles.. or sales but not realised (like have a Purchase order car not yet delivered, in which cancellation is possible). The definition of sales is not aligned among all car companies…
      Everything looks easy until you have to do it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Aero (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Sorry, I respect your opinions, but I cannot agree with them.

If our (poorer) neighbours (Thailand and Indonesia) can share monthly car models sales data, why can’t we ?

There’s no need to think too much, no need to reinvent the wheel. MAA is full of sh*t with their statements, they’re just lazy and unwilling to work hard, that’s all. Oh, and it could also be a possible cover-up for Proton’s falling sales… you don’t want to know how many Prevés were sold in 2014, not when compared to the City or even Vios. It breaks my (already many times broken) heart.

• yana syafia on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:07 pm

sales in kampar and gopeng, perak..
      pls call me for any inquiry
      017-5266234

• Lane Tamer on Jan 25, 2015 at 2:27 am

The most ridiculous name for a car brand. Cherry? Come on!!!

• hahaha i agree bro!

• ya, the name is ridiculous but the problem of the chery MPV even more ridiculous as my friend bought one chery MPV, got engine overheat due to pipe broken, gearbox cannot change gear, change gearbox after 1 yrs. power window broken less than 1 yr.Now want to sell, no used car dealer want to take. don want what to do lah!!

• Sammy on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Your friend could try to trade it in for another Cherry. They would have less excuse not to take it..
        :)

• CyberPatrol on Jan 25, 2015 at 8:19 am

I concur with giving breakdown sales data by models by MAA or MAI for that matters, but does the general public know how to do data analysis on those sales data. Many people claim stats number do not lie, but it can be misinterpreted. That my concern..but car competitors crave for this information and it could be benchmark of sustainability of business.

• Sammy on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:26 pm

You have a point. People often ask for numbers, but hardly question how was it compiled.
      Having an inaccurate number is better then no number? err.. debatable.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 25, 2015 at 10:33 am

Since China cars are at par with kimchis and they are priced much lower, new kimchi sales will be immediately affected. RV of kimchis will even be lower now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
    • haribulan on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Yet far away from kimchi cars. China car still kindergarden. If you got spare money go for it.
      P/S Easter owner. Worst car ever have. Sorry….

• This car better than Vios, what your choice?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • the chery car got quality problem. I got one unit chery MPV last 2 yrs, due to many problem – brake system suddenly malfunction, gear transmission broke down n sent back chery workshop repair, radiator leaking , spare part very hard to find outside. Luckily I sold this chery junk n change to city alrdy.

• sammy on Jan 25, 2015 at 12:28 pm

For this price and this spec? I think this car has a case for consumer..

• Really on Jan 25, 2015 at 3:02 pm

I hope the durability of the plastics have been improved over the Eastar. I still remember sitting in the driver’s seat of an Eastar during a roadshow and try to adjust the height. Only to have the lever came loose in my hand. The look on the salesperson’s face that was attending to me was, um, priceless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Kevin NG on Jan 25, 2015 at 3:24 pm

are those shots of headlamp showing that it’s fogging inside? on a demo car? seriously?

• steven on Jan 25, 2015 at 5:38 pm

China own CVT?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:43 am

I think this car is way overpriced. Given the bad experience of plastics breaking, warping in previous model,Cherry had cast a bad impression of China made cars to M’sians. This is just a facelift & not a totally new model. It doesn’t justify the asking price anymore as Cherry needs to work harder to convince customers that the past issues wont happen to this new car.

• yes I, agreed it is overpriced and second hand value very low, very hard to sell at second hand market after using for few years.

• esthe on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:28 pm

my chery eastar MPV used for 3 yrs. many problem, steering pump malfunction, gearbox cannot change gear, aircond cooling coil broken, thermostat sensor not function cause overheat lah. i want to sell, no used car dealer want to take. anybody want tis car, I want to sell n take other brand!!

• OVERPRICED

• Edmund on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:12 am

Pls forget this bew model as Chery produced bad and worse car in Malaysia. Im using Easter from 2011 and the its the worst nightmare. Pls dont ever try to buy Chery car. LTAT making big mistakes buying this China auto company.

• zaifol chery on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:56 pm

salam satu malaysia..
    laa ni chery maxime dah setahun lebih di malaysia ..
    so far no major issue..
    7 speed gear
    jimat minyak dan engine di perbaiki dengan ada nya dvvt.
    manakala chery eastar diperbaiki dengan engine ACTECO.
    pada mereka ade masalah dengan keluaran yg lepas sila
    whatapps
    013 3737 892
    inshaallah kita cuba bantu selesaikan..
    tiada masalah yg tidak boleh di selesaikan