Chery Maxime MPV launched in Malaysia; from RM87k

chery-maxime-launch-event 855

You’ve had the time to browse through our gallery of it, you might even have stumbled across ads of it on our sister classified site. Now, the Chery Maxime has been officially unveiled in Malaysia – the difference this time round is that it’s a world premiere for the seven-seat MPV.

Why us, you may ask? According to Chery Malaysia, our region is supposedly more interested in MPVs compared to China – resulting in priority given to the development of right-hand drive models. The locally-assembled (by Oriental Assemblers in Johor) MPV goes on sale in two different flavours, the Standard version that begins at RM86,800 while the Premium goes for RM93,800, on-the-road with insurance. A five-year/150,000 km warranty is included. Metallic paint adds RM600.

Opting for the Premium variant gets you a bodykit, tinted windows and leather seats, which are also optionally available a la carte on the Standard for RM2,300, RM1,200 and RM3,500 respectively. From an aesthetic point of view, you’d be forgiven for mistaking it as a heavily-revised Chery Eastar. It shares the Eastar’s wheelbase of 2,800 mm but that’s where the similarities end. The Maxime adds on 68 mm in length, totalling 4,730 mm while width is measured in at 1,823 mm.

The Chery Maxime is styled by a team comprised of Sergio Loureiro (formerly of BMW and Mercedes-Benz), Hakan Saracoglu (ex-Porsche) and James Brian Hope (ex-Daimler-Chrysler). While styling is definitely a subjective field, the combination of vertical LED daytime running lights (DRL) and an upswept headlight – which feature “Follow Me Home” and height-levelling capabilities – design lends it a distinctive look.

In profile, both variants get 16-inch alloy wheels, wrapped in 205/55 Goodyear Eagle NCT 5 tyres, while chrome strips help spice things up a little. The rear tailgate features an integrated third brake lamp with LED taillights and a rather thick chrome bar that dominates the number plate frame. Look closer and you’ll be able to spot the three-cell reverse sensors nestled between the rear fog lights/reverse lamps housing.

Under the hood, the Chery Maxime is powered by a 2.0 litre SQR484F four-cylinder mill with DVVT – variable valve timing on both the exhaust and intake camshafts. The four-banger, developed in conjunction with Austrian firm AVL, pumps out 136 hp at 5,750 rpm and 182 Nm of torque from 4,300 rpm to 4,500 rpm. A CVT with seven ‘ratios’ is the only transmission available while top speed is rated at 175 km/h.

chery-maxime-mpv-68

At a constant speed of 90 km/h, official fuel consumption figure is quoted at 12.9 km/litre – the fuel tank holds 62 litres of petrol. In terms of safety equipment, both the Standard and Premium get discs brakes all round (ventilated front discs), two airbags, ABS, EBD, seat belts with pre-tensioners and Isofix seat anchors.

On the inside, the Premium variant receives the aforementioned leather seats while the former makes do with “advanced woven fabric” seats. The instrument cluster is reminiscent of the Eastar, with the addition of an instant fuel consumption readout. Across the board, sun visors with vanity lighting, adjustable headrests on all seats and a keyhole ‘halo’ indicator is featured.

Further standard equipment on both models include a radio/MP3 head unit with USB connectivity with six speakers and a manual air-con system (with rear under-seat vents). A leather-wrapped multi-function steering wheel (a power-assisted hydraulic unit) with tilt adjustment, an eight-way adjustable driver seat, cruise control, one-touch lane change indicators and four power windows (no one-touch auto function) are to be found.

chery-maxime-mpv-22

The second row of seats seats three with the middle occupant having to make do with a lap belt. It features a 60:40 split-folding capability and can be slid fore and aft. By bringing the seat bases forward, they can even be reclined or folded flat.

As for the third row, they seat two (each occupant gets a three-point belt) and feature a 50:50 split-folding configuration. Additional cargo space comes in the form of 24 storage places scattered throughout the car, including an underfloor storage space in the boot. A full-size spare tyre is to be found underneath the car.

Six colour options comprising of Snow White, Sapphire Silver, Sunbeam Silver, Brown Silver (yes, three ‘silvers’), Chilli Red and Mystic Black are featured. Need to know more about the Maxime MPV? Head on over to CarBase.my for a full rundown of the car.

Chery Maxime launch event, Chery Ampang Branch

Chery Maxime Standard

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• another rubbish car from china terrorizing our road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 68
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 26, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Correct better buy Iriz and coming Iriz sv more cheaper and 5 star ASEAN !!!

You don’t buy as DrM says “no taste and stupid people”.

Proton to global, China car like shit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 68
      • hetan on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:11 am

I bought a chery MPV last year from a salesman. he told me the this car very good. After using 1 year, my car toll back to chery workshop due to engine overheat because pipe got problem. After repair and used 3 month, my car cannot start. Toll bac again to workshop and found that the exhaust pipe is cracking. now my power window cannot up and down. Air-cond sometime cold sometime hot. I sent my car again to workshop and now repair. I think wan to sell this car and better buy jap car. At least not so many problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
        • Rumah Tol on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:12 pm

ya agree. KL so many toll.
          I go to werk oso got toll. laki lee I drive motorbike.
          Not kena toll. But kena paku, then ho I toll my motorbike myself to werkshop.
          Eh what toll are you talking about up there?
          Oh never mind, sorry I troll your post.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
          • ya lah, my brother got one chery MPV and his chery MPV toll back to workshop becoz gearbox breakdown, gear not function after one n half year. now, oil is leaking n air cond not working, so have to sent back workshop repair again. Don know how many problem coming to happen. still new car leh. god bless my brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Seng on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:48 pm

totally agree!! Alza is way more spacious than this crampy junk that wmay explode anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 48
      • Have you seen any of the existing (old) model explode? Be fair in our comment…be objective and back up by facts and figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 37
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:09 pm

People buy Alza because of its Toyota engine. With more money, get an Innova better.

Exora is totally out of mind, why invite yourself series of problem, even this Maxime MPV is better built than it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • yup. chinese truck even worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • china truck, china car similar worse lah. my chery eastar shit hell problem. car running suddenly breakdown. foreman said wiring fault. oil always leaking. sell also cannot, second hand value damn low n still got bank loan. choosing wrong car alrdy!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Any rear a/c vents?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • No one must know on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:05 pm

How bout safety? Does anyone know how many ASEAN NCAP this car get?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • about safety of chery car, want share some info here. When driving my chery MPV in highway, brake suddenly not function, i press the bbrake very hard, only to stop. luckily i not drive fast. i quickly sent to nearest workshop in jb n foreman said the brake pump alrdy malfunction lah n some lesking of brake oil. Driving this car looks nightmare for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Ismail on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Much better than Exora ; specs, interior and exterior. Continental look.

Potong better just dissappear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 91
    • Potong sucks but Exora is a better car than this stupid over priced cherry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 31
    • Exora and Alza have better FC than above mentioned car. Plus, who would buy a car that looks like kereta mayat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • anani on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:50 am

i get 1 unit this chery MPV last 2 years. it give me many problem, when press pedal, car suddenly cannot run, n toll bac chery workshop, foreman said the brake switch sensor malfunction, need to change. then my steering pump leaking oil, cooling coil also breakdown cause me hot like hell. nothing i can do, just waiting to sell tis stupid chery junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • amran on Feb 01, 2015 at 5:57 pm

kereta chery saya banyak masalah. hanya satu tahun saja, power window rosak, steering pump leaking lah, gear sudah rosak satu kali dan tarik balik chery bengkel, radiator pun bocor. tak tau apa akan jadi lagi. mau jual, harga sangat rendah!!!macam mana nak buat..

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Not sure if I’d pay almost RM100k for a Chinese brand MPV especially when its a 5 + 2 seater. The Serena Hybrid looks like a better proposition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 21
  • baker on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Portable oven

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Good luck to Chery Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • hazamiey on Jan 26, 2015 at 5:33 pm

“According to Chery Malaysia, our region is supposedly more interested in MPVs compared to China”

Thats why we are seeing countless number of “lunch boxes” or “rumah teres 2 tingkat” wandering across our roads and highways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • das auto on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:50 pm

Nothing wrong with these lunch boxes. Only thing pisses me off is most of them drive like maniacal speed demons rushing to their doom and terrorizing others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • sezhairi on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:08 pm

its from china and its ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 21
  • benzs on Jan 26, 2015 at 7:12 pm

The front remind me of Proton Saga FLX. Rear remind me of Toyota estima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • TakMskAkal on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Almost 90K… top up sikit u get a recond Wish spec S… walaupun recond, style far far better.

Pikir masak masak sebelum angkat besi buruk ini…

Org org lebih rela naik kereta lembu dari kereta cacat ni… pergilah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 28
    • Ada Akal on Jan 26, 2015 at 8:52 pm

Wish is just like avanza. Cacat as hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
      • orgcacatakal on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:47 pm

Kamu = cacat akal

Mungkin pun tak boleh beza Seringgit dan Lima ringgit. Kesian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • saya ada chery MPV. banyak masalah, engine overheat, gearbox tak dapat tuka gear. hanya 1 tahun lebih saja. Sudah tarik balik ke chery bengkel 3 kali. saya mau jual ini buruk chery. Saya tanya used car, mereka tak mau kerata chery china. Siapa boleh tolong saya jual ini buruk besi chery?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • The pricing is a bit optimistic. But I guess it is easier to drop price than to increase it later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loois on Jan 26, 2015 at 9:47 pm

At constant speed of 90km/h, the fc is 12.9km/l
    That’s not good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
  • panjang on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:23 pm

That is what happen when design cue from BMW+Merc+Porsche+Daimler merge?
    I tot they can do better but i guess everyone wants to do this and that on this MPV which is why it turns out like this.
    On the engine, i do think for MPV the max torque should be made available lower in the rev range.

The price is Too pricey though. Very hard to compete in the local scene. And please…Neo cps rims?
    Proton sold it cheap2 to the local assembler?

• Front identical to new SSangyong Stavic.
    Rear identical to Toyota Estima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Shit car. My friend still having nightmare with his cherry. Dont even touch this car if you love your family and your money. At that price, better get recond wish, stream or add a bit more and get estima. If you want cheaper option, get exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • wayangkulit on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:58 am

Malaysian market
      Spec/Price > Everything else

• shitjit on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Joke,why u bother so much of what your friend ia driving, your friend ask u eat shit u eat also lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • ya lah, I agree wif u. this chery many problem. my relative got one unit, alrdy toll back to chery workshop 4 time becos engine got problem overheat, wiring sensor malfunction, brake vaccum booster also cannot function suddenly while driving. The bad quality really kill people lah. since nowaday got many brand vehicle, I think jap or korea brand also good choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • thedarkside on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:17 pm

big fuel tank to compensate the bad fuel consumption?
    Exora 55 litre vs 62 litre chery

• my chery eastar recently facing fuel leaking and jerking while driving, foreman check n find tat fuel pipe broke cause the leaking n wiring shortcircuit made my car jerking. so bad, my car only 2 yrs leh. hope no other problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • JoeRadzif on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Put the BMW badge on the grill and everyone will praise this car.

• jajaja on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:13 pm

No need put BMW badge.. Put the P2 badge on the grill and add the anti theft hook thingy,trust me, it will sell..

• kenneth on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:28 pm

What’s the NCAP rating for this Chery Maxime MPV? Any tests done coz heard old model have less than one star or none at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Buy Exora more value for money. New facelift got 4 airbags + ESP + ABS. I bought mine July 2014 so far soo good! Most problems has been improved. FC oso good for long distance. Can get 14km/l… powerful Turbo 1.6 engine can go beyond 180km/h. Cheaper roadtax than 2.0. The best MPV in the market for sub RM100k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • ganis on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:48 pm

I think true also, alza or exora better. because my chery eastar cause me bunch of problem. wiring fault, engine breakdown, even my chery car exhaust pipe crack before. now used car dealer also don want take my china car. don know how to sell this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • kranjcar on Jan 31, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Better take grand livina…

• KL Guy on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:19 am

Front look like KIA Forte and back look like Estima..
    Shall change Maxime to Fortima….

• KL Guy on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:24 am

Front look like KIA Forte and back look like Estima.
    Shall change the name from Maxime to Fortima

• IpohMali on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:07 pm

I owned a Chery Tiggo auto for nearly 3 years plus now, no problem so far. I think I am lucky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • my tiggo now toll bac at chery workshop, gearbox brokedown. they charge me 6k+ to repair it leh cos warranty over. hati sudah sakit lah!!

• harkmeee on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:45 am

Cherry tiggo 2012 can get 19k at mudah.my….. cheap sale for everyone!

• century on May 06, 2015 at 7:35 pm

What is your car mileage & age?

My gearbox just broke down at 61000 km & it’s less than 5 years.

When bought car got 5 yrs warranty for engine but they said no warranty for gearbox.

Such unreliable car. Better dispose before bigger problem comes.

• lizz zkr on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:51 pm

actually all these ridiculous condemn comes from those people who envy or worried abt this beautiful new chery maxime tht shall struck mpv market locally. Ive met so many chery users yet not 1 complaint from them…
    come on guyz, don’t bullshit everybody

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • manon on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:48 am

kereta chery saya tekan minyak, tak dapa jalan, sudah tarik balik wrkshop, foreman tak da cari apa masalah, tukar banyak wire. saya kena bayar 1k++. mahal sangat!! jika kena lagi, mungkin mau jual ini kereta…

• harkmeee on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:42 am

Sometimes the complaints are genuine one lar. You better buy first n experience the nightmare of having cherry. In australia even proton sell more than this cherry. You use 5 years then want to upgrade or sell people offer 20k can consider lucky already. Let alone spare parts this cherry is still very rare. I think this cherry worth rm45k ok la can buy consider haval crossover also around that price. Unless you like to waste money and have headache later on can have one in in your home now.

• haribulan on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Got Easter 4yrs. Recently total lost in accident. Frankly speaking the safety function is better than Toyota hilux. Coz at least the airbags are working well. Safety bell are working well.
    But the build quality is worst. FC is worst.
    SC is wordless,same with perodua and umw they don’t know how to repair or test their own cars.
    Thinking to take the Exora bold later.

• haribulan on Apr 04, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Today have a chance to test drive. Frankly speaking it is totally different with Easter. Gear smooth than Easter, handling is far better than Easter. Sound prove is better than exora. Tough engine sound is loud. Fiat engine.
    Interial build is far more better than Easter. Will buy it after loan settled.
    Chery learn fast than expected. They seems seriously in mpv business.

• sy pakai chery eastar 2.0 ni dah nak masuk 4 tahun, alhamdulillah takde major prob.servis kat SC pun 4 kali jerk sbb mpv ni xde prob.over heating tu senang saja nak setel – tukar thermostat yg 70c.factory punya dia pakai 80c sbb itu mudah overheating impak kpd pipe air dll.naik mpv chery ni memang best.body dia keras dah langgar tembok batu, dilanggar oleh proton hanya calar jerk.handling stabil,laju boleh tahan utk mpv seberat 1 ton ni.
    sebenarnya yg prob ialah pemilik chery alado sbb xambil tahu pasal kawalan mutu mpv chery ni.kalau dia komited dgn kawalan mutu,dlm 5 tahun lagi dia akan kuasai pasaran mpv d malaysia ni!sebab itu pesaing2 mpv lain bimbang!tapi kalau dia masih x komited chery alado akan lingkup!

• en. apo,thermostat 70c tu harga brape?bole beli kt mana?baru2 ni kete sy overheat, xle nk bw laju sgt,cpat panas, dh 2x gi SC pj tu….prob lain alhamdullillah xde lg

• saya sudah pakai chery mpv 3 tahun. engine senang overheat dan juga tarik balik workshop 4 kali. wiring lemah sangat, selalu kacau dan kereta tiba tiba mati engine. kuat makan minyak. saya sudah jual dan tukar vios.

• kereta inabaru shj overheat..cherry easter2.4..punca ialah hosing termostart dah karat…penyambungke hos patah..kena ganti termostart housing…nak raya, kena tunggu lama, ada sapa2 ada pengalaman dan nak cari kat mana housing termostart tu,,,,mohon bantuan segera..dan termostart tu mcm kata kawan kita tu…tukar ke 70c..ina xpandai lah..mohon bnatuan

• richdad 62 on Aug 09, 2015 at 2:19 pm

I’ve been using Chery Easter since 2012. So far the only problem I’ve had is the power window on the driver side. However I’ve got the placement under warranty after 3 months. Ever since than there are no problems with my car.I think the issue is how you handle your car rather than talking what type of car you drove in. That will be fair deal.

• Sammy on Oct 12, 2015 at 3:17 pm

I bought a Chery Tiggo 2009. I will always service my car at Chery. The thing is, I will always face problems with the car especially the “engine light” is always on! Countless times, the mechis said cannot be done, what stupidity??? Then the car had major problems with the crank. Was in the workshop for months and minths. Bought a 2nd hand car. Can’t wait.
    When it came out, I decided to not go to Chery. Went to my own choice of workshop. He solved all my problems. What I learnt?
    1. No more Chery car
    2. Don’t use their workshop. Mechis 0 experience.
    3. Parts are SO EXPENSIVE.
    4. Customer Service sucks.
    5. And so on….

• my chery car facing same problems. always engine light on, power window broke down, engine overheat n finally toll back to workshop n wait sooooo long to get repair due to no spare parts. luckily… I sold this car alrdy n get new city..

• Turbo Garage on Jan 25, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Chery eastar engine base mountings are similar to 4g63 second gen.. Just transplant the engine to RVR turbo.. no headache anymore…

• chery easter saya baru overheat…hantar ke cherry pusat servis, housing termostart karat so tempat penyambung ke hos patah sbb karat…ikut mekanik cherry kena tukar housing termostart..nak raya, x ada stok n lambat….kat mana leh dapatkan segera..mohon bnatu ina……begitu juga ada pendapat yg ina baca tukar juga termostart ke 70c daripada yg diguna oleh cherry ialah 80c…….mohon pencerahan ..untuk bantu ina, terima kasih