Hyundai Elantra facelift spotted, ads appear on oto.my

hyundai-elantra-facelift-spotted-trailer-8

A trailer load of the yet-to-be-launched Hyundai Elantra MD facelift has been spotted near the Juru toll in Seberang Perai by reader Derrick Ooi (cheers mate!).

While Inokom has been assembling the car in Kulim, Kedah for export to Thailand since last year, oto.my ads have begun appearing, and we hear the car is already in showrooms, so it should be our turn soon.

Various ads on our sister classifieds site mention 1.6 Elegance, 1.6 Premium and 1.8 Premium variants, with indicative prices ranging from RM84k to RM119k.

The listings also suggest that the top two variants will get six airbags, with 17-inch alloys for the 1.8 model as opposed to 16s for the smaller-engined models.

The Hyundai Elantra MD facelift debuted in South Korea in August 2013, packing reshaped front and rear bumpers, new projector headlamps with LED light guides, vertical fog lamps that sit within L-shaped housings, chrome door handles and LED combination tail lamps, amongst others.

The interior sees the previously awkwardly-positioned air vents move upwards. The climate control cluster has been revised for a more modern look, and the gear lever is now a leather-gaitered in-line-type (previously gated and without gaiter).

Also new is a 3.5-inch OLED Supervision display, and we wouldn’t be surprised to see the Sonata LF’s Android-based touch-screen here on higher-spec cars.

Everything underneath maintains status quo – 130 PS 1.6 litre Gamma and 150 PS 1.8 litre Nu four-cylinder engines, connected to a six-speed auto gearbox.

Interestingly, at the point of its launch in 2012, the original Elantra MD was one of the very few C-segment sedans to be available with a manual gearbox in Malaysia (1.6 MT Standard), but, as you would’ve guessed, we’ll have to do without a clutch pedal option this time.

Hyundai Elantra MD facelift spotted in Malaysia

Malaysian-assembled Thai-spec Hyundai Elantra MD facelift

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• “Everything underneath maintains status quo – 130 PS 1.6 litre Gamma and 150 PS 2.0 litre Nu four-cylinder engines, connected to a six-speed auto gearbox.”

I thought it’s a 1.8 litre instead of 2.0 litre Nu four-cylinder engines?

• kington on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:21 am

It’s the 1.6 and 1.8…. probably a typo earlier.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jan 26, 2015 at 12:42 pm

1.6 or 1.8 still way lousy behind Proton Iriz.

Coming new Iriz will be a game changer. Iriz sv will bet this crap.

We all support DrM and he’s not Father of AP cronies !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
        • Ah Beng Kia on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Another stupid car suitable for stupid buyers. Luckily in Malaysia, very little stupid buyers of Hyundai left. The few that remain are Hyundai fanboi commenters in Paultan’s website.

Facts and figures don’t lie. Number of units sold in 2014 doesn’t even appear in the annual total industry volume sales report.

A piece of garbage face lifted still is a piece of garbage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
          • Ah Beng hailat on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:54 pm

Less and less stupid buyers of toyota are left in malaysia. Mostly crashed due to no VSC but speed like demons. Facts and figure don’t lie. Everyday you see in newspaper crash is either toyota alphard, camry or estima and vios.

A piece of garbage is still a piece of garbage even after crashing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:16 pm

I had seen so many sour faces when they wanna trade in their kimchi with such bad RV. Kimchi cars enough of conning people, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Berann on Jan 26, 2015 at 10:29 am

How about the rear aircond? I think the high spec Thai facelift Elantra comes with that….

• therealmaserati on Jan 26, 2015 at 10:55 am

Yawnnnn… still with crappy handling and poor driving dynamics… will take a Honda anytime anyday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 48
    • kington on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:31 am

Overall the 1.8 feels alright but performance is a bit lacking to me, while handling and NVH levels are probably average. The 1.6 though feels very jittery in the wet, especially braking downhill with horizontal yellow strips like in Genting. My friend who owns one complained of that, a slight movement of the tail.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:12 pm

most hyundai give u way over the top hp figures , but somehow when driven , its jus gutless and u wonder if they ‘bump’ those figures , i really doubt that 1.6 actually produces 130ps….a campro 1.6 easily beats it seriously…

• The exterior is fine, they should update the interior, its seriously showing its age.

• Matrix on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:19 am

So many facelift for what.

Honda City is the best. outstanding design.
    Good engine with CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
    • kington on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:32 am

You again. I feel for you.

Have you like driven any other Hondas before?

• kzm (Member) on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:53 am

So many facelift?

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:04 am

Matrix has gone bonkers already ever since smelling my smoke in a drag race at LDP last month. Now he only talk about city’s good design and engine but no more about smoking people. Haha

• takNakP1 on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:28 am

not many people really knows or want to know what under the hood.
    size does matters here.
    For the price range, i think it will take quite some market from T & H seeing how they continue to be arrogant.

• gaboi on Jan 26, 2015 at 11:29 am

Where is Proton Iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • On road moving

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm

In the showroom showing… I wonder why a showroom car need VSC and 6 airbags? Proton showroom so unsafe???

• car-fans on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Is time to grab this Face Lifted Elantra :) Hope Reasonalbe price to be release !

• it looks great with red colour and black rims. From distance i thought i see a ferrari but then turns an elantra. But overall this car is so-so only. I prefer the i30

• porshe guy on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:30 am

take this car and put a straight H letter, it will be the best selling car.

• Thayanand on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:50 am

Test drove this car, The Salesman was good enough to allow me to take it for a long drive with various driving condition.Overall there is a lot of improvement from the previous Elantra (Body,Features&Gadgets) but i still feel the lack of soul, there is something missing with the Korean marquee. Not sure what it is, but it feels big.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:38 am

Korean car salesman will take you to the massage parlour if that is what you want to close a deal.

But I would like them to sell more to sorhais coz I will then have a steady supply of used Hyundais at bargain prices after 18 mths

• kumar on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:05 pm

the koreans are trying very hard and will continue to do so.

• Afique on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:49 pm

I pity people who has no knowledge of comparing cars. This is a C Segment. It competes with Civics, Ceratos, Preves and so on.

The hell with city, irizs.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:40 am

B Segment kimchi new launch will send shiver down the spine of D-Segment kimchis coz the trade in price of their rotten cabbages will take a 10k dive everytime it happens