Jiangling T7 – a VW Amarok clone made in China

jiangling-t7

It looks like they’ve gone and done it again – this time, the Volkswagen Amarok pick-up truck is the unlucky recipient of having its design plagiarised. The Jiangling T7, a shameless copy of its German counterpart, will go on sale in the near future in the People’s Republic.

Technical specifications are limited for the time being. An Isuzu-sourced, 2.8 litre turbocharged diesel producing 100 hp will feature alongside a 2.2 litre petrol mill with 110 hp. A six-speed manual transmission appears to be the only gearbox available, judging from photos by auto.sohu.

As generic as it may look, no amount of camouflage can disguise that distinctive Amarok-esque front end. At least the interior of the Jiangling T7 is decidedly reminiscent of a China-made vehicle – that is to say, rather low rent. Jiangling Motors Corporation markets passenger cars via a joint venture with Chang’an Automobile Group, itself responsible for the Range Rover Evoque counterfeit, the Landwind X7.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Still better than Proton & Perodua on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Still a better car than Proton & Perodua made

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 81
    • better on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:38 pm

still better than your mom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 31
    • sorhai on Jan 26, 2015 at 2:23 pm

sorhai. better than china doll

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Annoynimouse on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:27 am

You probably either own a Cherry MPV (which is fine) or a proud owner of a Range Rover Evoque… oh wait a sec… its not an Evoque, its the Landwind X7!

• Raymond Chia on Jan 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

It’ll be great to follow what will Volkwagen do about this, as case study.

• This car is better than original VW because its using japanese engine

• Two Tower on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:56 am

hahaha.. why can u said like dat.. how meh copy n pirate stuff became more better than original? people who knew the quality dont go for pirate stuff brother.. ask ur girlfriend which she preffer when u want to buy handbag for her? original or pirate? :D

• Kidding Me?! on Apr 07, 2015 at 9:48 am

U serious bro? This car is not even close to Proton, yet u mentioned VW is near to this 1? even better? Get your fact straight bro.

• Kidding Me Too :D on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:59 pm

hi-five bro! before talk refer to fact first.. how come vw had to compared with ploton? hahaha.. at least vw made their own car, original.. not copy from others like ploton, even copy still faulty..

• china & japan bcoz using japanese engine maaa..

• niterunner99 on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:11 pm

ok…I’ll get two VW badge (front & back of course), & put those in place…so now I hv a ‘original’ VW eh!
    Smart right?!

• smart la sangat on Jan 26, 2015 at 4:37 pm

yes very smart

• Not Worth it! on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:28 am

Not same at all! This crap is actually far to be compared to Amarock. You can see how Amarock design and perfomance is outstanding. Its using 8-speed conventional auto, not DSG. No problem at all. If u tend to change the badge to VW, you gonna embarrass yourself with some piece of junk coz ppl gonna notice anyway, how sucks your minded is to be doing that cheapskate style. btw, GOODLUCK!

• Sama value on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:46 pm

VW already teruk itself, now made in china lagi teruk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • LOL good one

• Not sama at all. on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:35 am

That teruk one long time ago maa. You can actually read few articles that Paultan himself posted about the improvement that already has been done by VW. So typical Malaysia lah u. Keep barking there and here to tell ppl VW sucks, you not tired meh? Im just trying to be just. Dont judge anything by its past. There is still a room for you to grow up in this busy world. Try!

• Sama sama value on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:21 pm

People like you as teruk as vw

• I totally agreed on what u said, as we all can see Volkswagen already did their best in making things better for their users and resolving all problems related to DSG failure and other problems. What is there somemore that u guys can complain about and keep bashing on Volkswagen just because China car manufacturer release some car that looks like Volkswagen car?

• Myself on Apr 15, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Well, VW is not that worse. One of my friend is using VW Polo and he never encounter any serious problem so far.

• damn chinamen copying everything nowadays

• carlos on Jan 26, 2015 at 3:54 pm

If you like something that you can’t afford to have, You may go to china and have it made , like somebody’s girlfriend or wives. As many as you like…

• Dafuq on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:54 pm

“2.8 litre turbocharged diesel producing 100 hp will feature alongside a 2.2 litre petrol mill with 110 hp”

WADAFUQ???