2015 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire unveiled – full details!

2015 Toyota Alphard_004-Alphard G F Package copy2015 Toyota Vellfire_006-Vellfire Z A Edition copy

The 2015 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire have been unveiled in full! These two need no introduction, of course, as they are very much the premium MPV of choice here in Malaysia. The third-generation Alphard and second-generation Vellfire will no doubt be a common sight on our roads soon enough.

And what a sight they will be, as the pair’s new looks will divide opinions, to say the least. Toyota says the 2015 Alphard’s exterior appearance is themed “luxurious and valiant,” while the Vellfire is “bold and daring.” There’s no questioning the latter, that’s for sure.

As before, both models are mechanically identical, with the Alphard and Vellfire exclusively sold through Toyopet and Netz dealers, respectively. Each version is available with a few exterior and interior options (Alphard G, Alphard SR, Vellfire VL, Vellfire ZR, etc.), which you can study in the individually labelled pictures below.

Underneath the metal lies a new platform, which uses a double wishbone rear suspension system in place of the outgoing model’s torsion beam set up. That, paired with increased body rigidity, a more aerodynamic body shape, as well as enhanced soundproofing contribute to a luxurious, quiet and comfortable ride with stable handling that Toyota claims to be befitting of a luxury vehicle.

Three engine choices are offered in Japan. The base option is a 2.5 litre 2AR-FE engine with 180 hp, matched to a seven-speed Sports Sequential Shiftmatic Super CVT-i transmission with an optional Stop & Start System. It’s claimed to return a decent 12.8 km/l under the JC08 test cycle.

Next up is a 3.5 litre 2GR-FE motor that makes 276 hp. With the standard six-speed Super ECT automatic transmission, the V6 unit averages 9.5 km/l.

2015 Toyota Alphard_002-Alphard Executive Lounge

At the top of the range sits a hybrid option, which uses a 150 hp 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson-cycle engine paired to Toyota’s eCVT and E-Four (electric four-wheel drive) systems. A 141 hp electric motor at the front and a 67 hp rear motor help improve fuel efficiency to a claimed 19.4 km/l.

Inside, the packaging has improved. The interior height is maintained at 1,400 mm despite a drop of 10 mm in overall height, while the step height of 350 mm allows easy ingress and egress. There’s also a new 148-litre cargo area under the third-row seats – the biggest of its kind, says Toyota. Specify a spare tyre, though, and the available space drop to just 66 litres.

Other enhancements include a standard LED roof illumination – now with four brightness levels and 16 colour variations – and a Smart Entry & Push Start System with Welcome Power Slide Door & Reservation Lock function. The latter can be set to automatically open the sliding door as the user approaches.

2015 Toyota Alphard_003-Alphard Executive Lounge

The pair’s improved Intelligent Clearance Sonar with Pre-collision System can automatically apply the brakes to mitigate low speed accidents, while a Panoramic View Monitor with See-through View function (which apparently gives a view of the vehicle’s surroundings as if it were transparent) help with parking manoeuvres. If you can’t be bothered, there’s an improved auto-parking system too.

On the move, a Radar Cruise Control with All-speed Tracking function can be used to maintain a pre-set distance to the vehicle ahead between 0 to 100 km/h. Not all of these features are standard on all variants, obviously.

In Japan, the 2015 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire are priced between RM98,000 (base eight-seater Alphard/Vellfire X 2.4) and RM215,000 (top-of-the-range Alphard SR/Vellfire ZR Executive Lounge Hybrid) at today’s exchange rates. Over to you – what do you think of these two new premium MPVs?

http://youtu.be/4NgkW2WbbgQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kg3bYyg9dec

2015 Toyota Alphard

2015 Toyota Vellfire

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ah Beng Kia on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:58 am

What the f@$%???!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 20
    • Just imaging If u are alone driving the alphard or vellfire, how would the picture look like…?
      To me, sorry to say…u will be look a bus driver especially when u are with a shirt in white.
      How would then if there is someone sitting beside the driver?
      Again, sorry to say…the two fella are waiting for their boss..
      If I am the one who is driving the A/V, i will be looked very stupid…Just can not understand why people would buy these cars with the family members only 3 or 4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 133
      • Wow Factor on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:58 am

I am OPTIMUS.. OPTIMUS PRIME

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
        • Jimmy on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:45 pm

1. Where are those Audi’s management?
          2. Once in Malaysia, only left with 6 airbags + ESP, the rest chopped off, true?
          3. Black interior for family/guests mover?
          4. Kolo mee sellers and some coffee shops/restaurants owners don’t know about double wishbone? Change to torsion beam, Malaysian version okay?

• Sincerely on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:10 am

Just imaging if you are alone driving sedan/normal vehicle, how would you judge that person compare to those who drove the a/v?

shirt doesn’t matter dude. Your wear a hundreds or thousand worth shirts and driving a normal vehicle or you respect those who wear rm30-50 worth shirts but drive a a/v huh?

People with family of 5 sit inside a sedan shows family’s financial power. To be honest, i know you envy those family who only have 3 or 4 members and enjoying their rides. It’s their money dude, they live luxury bothering you is it?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 35
        • Sincerely,
          Jealousy? Definitely not. MPV is not my cup of tea.
          Alphard/Vellfire represent Luxury? I afraid it is not always right, some of their lives are more miserable than you and me.

The argument is lot of people paying so much but not understand what they are buying especially the grey import units have been running hundred thousand miles but being re-conned selling as rarely used units.

Yes, right, it is their money anyway. But with the amount of money paid, they are deserved getting a much better car than A/V. Nevertheless, as long as they are happy, so be it.

About the white shirt? Ha ha you are overreacted towards it….but I still stand on my points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
          • Rulered on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Luxury tag aside, besides Hyundai Starex ,Stavic, Sharan and maybe Naza Ria, which other brand new fresh from factory large size MPVs comes across your mind? Bear in mind Oddysey and Estima are smaller size and the rest are even smaller. UMW do offer Alphard but the price difference with reconds is humongous. Maybe not all but some families needs large sized MPVs just for its practicality, so what’s the next best option?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • UMW are such BIG LIARS on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:34 pm

UMW are such big liars. Don’t know how much they are making on each ALphard sold. Based on the Camry Hybrid, I think they are making huge huge profits on the Alphard.

You see, the Camry CBU Hybrid in the US is sold for US$25k. That is about RM80k. This is AFTER Toyota of the US has made their margins and after the US Government has collected taxes from Toyota.

If the Camry Hybrid car has no tax coming into Malaysia, how come in the US it is sold for (US$25k) RM80k and in Malaysia, it is sold for RM200k? Who is clearly making a cool clean profit of RM120k?

To make matters worse, UMW Malaysia will get the Camry Hybrid cheaper from their principal directly from Japan. So, if the price in the US is USD$25k, UMW will get the Camry Hybrid car direct from Toyota Japan for about US$20k being the official country distributor.

And they say the Camry Hybrid is in CKD format, the car goes even cheaper than that. Maybe right down to US$15k (about RM50k)

So, you mean UMW Malaysia is making buta buta RM150,000 on each Camry Hybrid sold?? (bear in mind the car is tax free)

I guess the same principal can be applied to the Alphard and Vellfire. UMW, how much are you guys really making from each car sold?? I think RM150k to RM250k clean profit.

No other car dealer in the entire world can make such big margins except in Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
          • wayangkulit on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Dont know who is a bigger liar.

According to MAI, UMW Malaysia sold 102k TOTAL vehicles in 2014
            http://paultan.org/2015/01/22/maa-releases-2014-tiv-figures/

According to online wsj Toyota USA sold 428606 units of CAMRY alone
            http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/2_3022-autosales.html

The Camry sales figure in the USA alone is 4 times the sales figure of TOTAL number of vehicles UMW Malaysia sold in a year.

If you dont have the volume, you have to pay more.
            Thats how things goes
            Please compare apples with apples

Try go to any manufacturer tell them to quote you the price of 1 container vs 100 container and see how much price difference you can get?

Total car sold in Malaysia for year 2014 is only 588,341 and in the USA which u all so like to quote is 16.4 million units
            Prices can be cheaper when manufacturer can achieve economy of scale.

I’m sure UMW Malaysia is willing to sell you the equivalent price you pay for a Camry in USA if you can guarantee them 428606 units of Camry in a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
          • Argument of recond n new unit? Why not? i paid 30% less but i own 95% of the feel of a new unit… worth right? especially the SPEC wise….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Rulered on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:11 pm

This is where I think UMW shouldn’t be too greedy and have a bit more business sense, if they were to put a very competitive price with the reconds, with their warranties and well known Toyota after sales service, wouldn’t you think potential buyer will think twice or even thrice to go for recond? I mean look at the number of Alphards, Vellfire and Estimas (Previa) on the road today.

• das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:38 pm

CS totally pwned that butthurt ahphard owner. Lol

• fat bonus wayang king on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:48 pm

This wayang kulit feller is senior manager in UMW last year get 22 months bonus. Now come and talk kok sing song here.

You go McD and order 10000 big mac and see you can get RM1 for a big mac or not? Stupid idiot.

• Tim's Carlover on May 21, 2016 at 7:54 am

Hundreds of thousands miles in Japan for I year car? You got to be kidding.

• True, at 3 – 4 million yen range, Alphard & Vellfire is not considered as luxury here in Japan. It is weird how people can affiliate this with luxury. Luxury here is Toyota Crown Magesta and most of the Lexus line.

• das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:42 pm

sincerely,

So if my family of 4 sit inside my Bentley it shows weak family financial power? Hahaha give me a break. Alphards and vellfires are just vans and no where represented as luxury cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • Relax sia on Sep 15, 2015 at 10:51 pm

Bro,
            He says “People with family of 5 sit inside a sedan shows family’s financial power”. Anyway, Bentley was different from a sedan. Please, think twice and care your words before your intention of winning this keyboard war.

• mahal ma … more than 1/4 mil. if i got dat kind of money i’d buy it too … got 5 kids myself

• Rulered on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:28 am

Get over the mindset of ‘what other people think of you because what car you drive’ dude. Everyone have different needs and requirements to suit them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • laibc on May 25, 2015 at 12:19 pm

the mpv mean for family car. Imagine if u r alone actually u should buy kancil la brother

• OMG…i will choose Alphard…damn nice. Very unique design. Good job TOYOTA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 76
      • Bob_B78 on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:21 am

I would suggest you take Veilfire over Alphard, for the Veilfire has stronger body shell over Alphard. I also felt Veilfire is more stable during high speed cruising. 3.5 V6 is the pick for me as 2.4l(current gen) felt sluggish. Some maybe put of by the expensive road tax of the V6 but the better driving pleasure justifies for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
      • High class coffin, damn good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Janji Capati on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:38 am

“As promised, car prices will be reduced in stages until 2017. I will ensure that every promise is fulfilled,”

In its pledge for the 13th general election recently, the Barisan Nasional promised to review the National Automotive Policy to reduce the price of cars between 20% and 30% in stages, and to raise the competitiveness of the national cars if given the mandate to administer the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 32
    • satekj38 on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:47 am

Good MPV with ugly face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:50 pm

I pity my eyes….

• Yeah. Suddenly it looks like baboon or pig.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:11 am

no idea why would anyone buy the alphard….unless they really like ugly things

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 22
    • BeemerFreak on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:49 am

Because they have swag, you don’t…..that’s why even MIC also got rid of you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 34
    • venven81 on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:13 am

Can’t agree more with you. The Alphard is plain fugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • You think you can design a car better meh?
      Cakap cakap banyak je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
      • Johnny on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Yes.

• I screenshotting this.
          You better submit one now, remember you have to make everyone love your design if not i will make you even famous with your dumbass comment.

• Exterior I agree. But no other cars can fight with alphard when it comes to interior and ride comfort. That’s why ppl still use it to ferry VIP instead of using a Porsche Cayenne.

I don’t like Toyota, but this Alphard/Vellfire is something done right (except the exterior). I really wish Toyota would do something about their cars image. SO uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:34 am

2015 Toyota Alphard and Vellfire are priced between RM98,000 (base eight-seater Alphard/Vellfire X 2.4) and RM215,000 (top-of-the-range Alphard SR/Vellfire ZR Executive Lounge Hybrid) at today’s exchange rates.

Here “i guess” only…the pariah range or middle range sold by UMW already reach RM338K(new)!! Almost can buy 2, with different body colour to suit outing mood. Not entirely blame UMW but “THE TAX!!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 7
  • walaueh on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:50 am

from 98k!! here 98k just can buy 10 years old alphard. Malaysia boleh!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 6
  • TooLateForBed on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:10 am

EXTERIOR? FUGLY
    INTERIOR? OMGSOPRETTY
    WHY THIS CAR? RELIABILITY
    WOULD I BUY IT? NO MONEY

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:15 am

Jekyll & Hyde… no wait, it should be Sad Hyde & Angry Hyde.

• The exterior might be polarizing, and not something of look-at-first-sight; but the interior is indeed something to die for.

• I am petrified mortified terrified horrified by its looks .. O M G !!

• TheDean on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:52 am

This car has one of the best pedestrian safety features because as soon as people see one, the will want to run away as fast as they can. The best vehicle with this feature is the Infinity QX80.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • bvc100 on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:58 am

If you’ve the money and want to look cool, you don’t buy an MPV.
    Nuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Aiman_PEKIDA on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:29 am

After 3 years,don’t forget to buy from us (PEKEMA).We give special discount for PT readers.

Promo code:PEKEMA_LUV_PT

Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • azhar on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:35 am

what were they thinking when they designed this ugly POS?..transformers?..gundam?

• ss427 on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:45 am

Eeewwwww…. the Alphard front end…

Only the Vellfire is worth a look.

Wow Toyota finally install double wishbones suspension to their mainstream cars?! Wow Sam, Toyota engineers must have spent the last 10 yrs trying to fig out how double wishbone suspensions work….

While Honda has been using it for at least 20 yrs. And even your crap Proton have this setup.

Whatever happened to Toyota’s insistence that crude torsion beam suspension setup will be as good as double wishbones? hahaha….

Hyundai/Kia already deployed double wishbones setup to their bigger cars for many years already. Toyota is doing catch up haha..

See the setup for Sonata/Optima, Sportage and Sorento.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • We feel your hatred towards Toyota, but chill~

First of all, Toyota does have double-wishbone for their cars, a lot of them in fact, just that some of us might have overlooked them.

Secondly, when did Toyota make a statement stating that they will stick to torsion beam because it’s as good if not better?

And finally, Toyota is not playing catch up, because they just don’t have to. Like I said, they already have that long time ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • ss427 on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Obviously you didn’t pay much attention to Toyota’s sales brochures and videos back in 2004-2006…

Back then, when Toyota was trying to push G9 Altis sales, they actually made videos claiming how great torsion beam suspensions are as compared to wishbones and Macpherson struts etc…

Can’t seems to find these videos anymore these days unfortunately

• I’m not defending Toyota, but were they trying to tell the public that torsion beams are simpler in structure, maintenance and cost?

• semlu on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:28 pm

but it doesn’t reflects on the selling price. so what’s the point?

• ss427 on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Yeah but their $$ still so high despite using such simple and crude design… so what’s the point?

Have you tried to drive your torsion beam Toyota over rough, bumoy roads at speed? You can feel the whole wheel lifting off the road surface after bouncing a few times and give up following the rough road surface

• das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:54 pm

torsion beam is lower cost but toyota selling at higher price than everyone else? does that benefit customers or shareholders?

• kington on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Premium Toyotas already had DW suspension way earlier. Knowing them though, poorer models get regular suspension and now, even C segments come fitted with torsion beam at the rear, except for the Civic, Lancer and Mazda 3 with the Civic’s independent setup being the worst in its class.

Read up, please.

• nokia3310 on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:56 am

spot on dude. I’ve been telling my friends how most of the cheaper car use torsion beam and how Toyota has been using it for some time.. Mazda 3 and mitsu lancer has been using the multi-link and the feel was right on..

• Handling wise, Multilink is better.
          comfort wise, it is still back to the absober.

unless u drive the car too rough, then a better suspension will help.

handling and comfort, is two different element.

• #swag on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:48 am

Fugly with a capital F……$*%&#@

• omg that front is so ugly…
    ppl will buy chery maxine liao

• Carnut on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:08 am

Really bold design move from toyota for the alphard. The exterior takes some getting used to, and somehow it reminds me of transformer. Will have to see in the flesh first cause photos sometimes give a different impression.

The interior looks gorgeous.

• spongewai on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:15 am

Toyota Alphard/Vellfire, no way
    Nissan Algrand, yes pls
    Honda Odyssey, hell yea

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • iqbal1987 on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:24 am

toyota malaysia, please bring this to malaysia. dont forget to change the e-cvt gearbox with the legendary 4 speed AT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • ss427 on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:57 am

and rem to del all side, curtain airbags, del factory headunit, del sunroof, install tiny 16″wheels, del cruise control, Bluetooth connection and sell it at super inflated prices

Sam Loo will make sure he can sell at least 100 units per months from his Toyota showroom.

Afterall, he said, most Toyota owners can’t and won’t bother with designs and features. They only look at the T Badge…

If they do, there won’t be craps such as Avanza and Innova in the showroom already la…

• das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:56 pm

And also the legendary timing chain is a must have also.

• thepolygonal on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:34 am

Make it bigger and more features cause in the future, we might just live out of these kind of vehicles instead of owning a house.

• carazy on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:11 am

I want to show off my GIGI!! can u see my GIGI?

• i dont need this anger early in the morning thinking what the “old horse” did to the country with regards to our car taxes among his many f**K ups……grrrrr….

• what d F#$k when i see it sell as low as RM98k in japan!!!

• razakoss on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:34 am

kalau alphard langgar pedestrian, sure pedestrian masuk dalam engine bay.

nevertheless, love vellfire front looks,

• What are they smoking in TOYOTA?

• wayangkulit on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:56 am

Why didnt include the amount of airbags that Malaysian car enthusiast so love to see?
    The rest of the information is irrelevant
    More irrelevant if its a Toyota

• gaviny on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:09 am

radar cruise control up to 100km/h only ??!!! to maintain distance

then what the bloody use ?

• LeJohnZ on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Because the people in toyota think everyone drives at 100km/h haha

• Gooossshhhhh!!!! this is SCARY!

• annoymous on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:26 pm

To be honest, the front is actually not that bad.. just the rear lights design man.. omg.. unacceptable.. ugly and scary..

• Now Our MP Names Go Here on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:43 pm

For sure our MPs be it BN or PR going to get these.
    Our MPs are prudent with monies and rich anyways.

Reply down there if u know MPs that chauffeured in one of the Alphard or Vellfire (sound like Hellfire doesn’t it):
    1-late Karpal
    2-Noh Omar
    3-(continue here)..

• Toyota should keep putting on a veil for this generation of refigerator

• Fahmi on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:14 pm

Eleh, even my uncle’s Proton Wira has rear independent suspension.. Only driveability and FC let down by that 3-speed auto though, made worse by the carby engine..

• ariff on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Alphard face look’s like a cross between Darth Vader and Alien …. hahaha…

• albag on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:03 pm

wow… guess im gonna trade in my current Vellfire to this… damn cool!!!

• LeJohnZ on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:21 pm

This takes ugliness into a whole new level. What the hell have they done ? This looks terrible, I’d shoot myself if I was seen driving around this box on wheels, the lights look as though they have melted

• applegreen on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:28 pm

RM98k price in japan; this is wonderful but when it comes to malaysia the price is hell crazy

• what?! on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:36 pm

98k for base model???

M migrating.

• royce on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:59 pm

The angry bird’s pig is more like it.

• mason_ on Jan 27, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Never judge from a pic…
    I personally think this new model is very nice especially the vellfire model…
    and the new feature…

• Buy bus sekolah better!!

• blaster88 on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:39 pm

I have been on the lookout for an MPV for sometime…depending on specs, a 2011 Vellfire costs about RM200k, that’s a 5 year old car…then if you really dig it…you splash out a minimum of 10% for loan and pay around RM2500 per month for 7 years for a 5 year old car? Duh? The maths doesn’t add up…

There aren’t enough choices for MPVs in this market, for example, the new S Max is a beautiful machine but Ford not promoting or bringing it in..

• blaster88 on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:42 pm

I read somewhere that a UMW sourced Estima (Previa?) with a 4AT gearbox and minimal specs is priced RM270K? Either they think there are very smart or Malaysian consumers are really dense up there? What have UMW executives been smoking nowadays?

• Lexus RX330 Dato' Owner on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:41 am

Lots of commentors above have either not had the priviledge to sit in an Alphard/Vellfire before, or can’t afford one. I mean, even if you have a bad case of sour grapes, do you need to state that these luxurious rides are identical to buses? That just shows that you simply have no basis for comparison. If you can’t afford it, simply work hard and smart so that you could have a chance at reaching your goals- including owning a luxurious ride. I can share with you that the Vellfire is a very comfortable ride, and your family could sleep happily away as you drive the car. And for those whom could afford these rides, we could wear a white shirt (as one of the commentator so state) and still look like a million-dollars. You want a ride that is big, stylish and comfortable? You have a winner in the Vellfire for sure. I know how a bus rides like. My Dad was a bus driver, whom worked real hard to put me through school. Scholarships ensured that I could gained English qualifications, and hard work thereafter with contribution to the nation brought me my current titles and achievements. So I could safely assure you that an Alphard/Vellfire is miles and miles away if compared to a typical bus; and you should really put your mind and effort to making it for yourselves rather than laughing at people whom worked hard to be able to enjoy the luxurious rides that they have today. These are great rides really!

• Vellfire Owner on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:49 am

You are absolutely, right, Dato’ L. We have 2 Vellfire in the household and these are great vehicles for travelling. Most of the time, those that can’t afford it would just spout nonsense.

• kumar on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:39 pm

nice van.

• Alphard Owner on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:11 pm

I am a family of 4, or 5 with a kakak.

I have an Alphard. It is over 10 years old and it still run SMOOTH! No major repair needed, you really have to salute Toyota for their reliability.

Yes, at a glance, it looks ugly. It is not a car for single, young graduate, 20+ boy or girl. However, if you have a family (be it 1-2 kids), you would love this car when you travel long distance. Driver or Passengers all feel very relax inside this big space car. You can put a whole picnic party food inside the car, and enjoy the long distance ride.

This car is not the only car in the family. I have 3 others car (two saloon and one sports) as me and my wife’s daily car.

If you can only afford one car, then this is not the car for you (You will go broke pumping the petrol).

• Normally spend Rm2K for gas…have gearbox problem cost 12k to repair…

• Oke

• Love that interior!! So much nicer compared to the previous gens

• jamal on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

everage cost of petrol per km..my frien said around rm0.20..is it true?

• Bediako Sarpong EMMANUEL on Sep 11, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Alp hard is my favorite and can’t wait to buy it. I love it 100% rate # 9

• Jeremy Freud on Oct 29, 2015 at 2:13 am

How much would it cost to have Top of the range one in the UK

• Fenderstratman on Aug 12, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Had my Toyota alphard for 9 years and I love it ,and I use it for a taxi
    The best car I ever drove
    I think the front of 2016 model is ugly, looks like bull dog ,do not like the design.
    Hope the neck model will look a lot better .