Another record sales year for BMW Group Malaysia

bmw-media-briefing-2015-1

Last year, BMW Group Malaysia managed to deliver a record total of 9,046 vehicles, comprising 7,808 BMWs, 655 MINIs and 583 BMW Motorrads. That’s a 13.4% jump over the same period in 2013, and the highest performance record in the company’s history.

Strong demand for BMW 3 and 5 Series variants, as well as the introductions of new BMW, MINI and Motorrad models in 2014 – including the BMW X4, the new MINI, BMW R nineT and BMW S 1000 R – were major contributors to the brand’s performance in the country, said MD and CEO Alan Harris.

“We are very pleased with our performance last year which has allowed us at BMW Group Malaysia to once again emerge as the number one premium automaker in the country,” Harris said.

bmw-media-briefing-2015-3

“The continued and growing support from our BMW customers and dealers has proven to be a key factor for our robust sales performance in 2014; and for that I would like to extend my heartfelt gratitude to our valued customers and dealers for this achievement.”

He added that further investment in new locally-assembled (CKD) capabilities for the BMW X5, MINI Countryman, BMW F 800 GS and F 800 R served to strengthen the brand’s commitment in Malaysia.

Globally, the BMW Group retained its position as the world’s largest premium automobile group with 2,117,965 vehicles delivered in 2014 (including Rolls-Royce). That’s 7.9% up on 2013 and more than ever before in the company’s history. In Asia, 656,395 BMW and MINI vehicles were delivered – a 13.8% surge from 2013.

2013 F30 BMW 316i 40
The 3 Series remains Beemer’s best seller here, amplified by new variants and the expansion of the range

Harris also revealed that the company is in talks with the government on the subject of Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV), although he did not disclose specific models. “We want to bring in as many EEVs as we can, and potentially establish Malaysia as an ASEAN export hub,” he said.

“Discussions are not yet finalised with the government, but we hope to get a positive response,” Harris said, adding that some sort of conclusion from the government is expected within the first quarter.

The MD and CEO also divulged that the BMW’s first MPV and front-wheel drive car, the 2 Series Active Tourer, is expected to launch in Malaysia in April.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Proud owner of a BMW X3 on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:40 am

I’m a proud owner of a white BMW X3 with “BMW” number plate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 48
    • LOL

• The Truth About BMW Sales on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Actually the figures are far lower than that. BMW Malaysia like to kelentong the public that sales are good and BMW is a must have.

The truth is, every year, BMW Malaysia, wholly owned by Sime Darby, sells a few thousand units of brand new BMWs to Hertz Rental (now called Sime Darby Car Rental, a wholly owned subsidiary of Sime Darby.)

Hertz Rental then leases the cars back to Sime Darby Group as company cars for their VP1 and SVP staff. This alone amounts to few thousand units per year as the group has over 100,000 employees.

So, is there really sales when BMW Malaysia is actually selling back their cars to within their organisation (Sime Darby group) for the use of company cars?

Half the BMWs on the road are actually Hertz Rental cars that are used for Sime Darby staff.

So, BMW Malaysia, please lah. Don’t kelentong the people. Even your 7 series also, half of the sales go to Sime Darby Directors as company cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:06 pm

BMW so expensive, many people buy. Proton cheap, no one bother also. Why?

“Build quality” is the key!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • paulnut on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:13 pm

Then explain why your son use proton saga now.

• Mercedes Owner on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:37 pm

BMW is true Banyak Masuk Workshop. I have been using BMW the past 15 years. Always break down. Always burn hole in my pocket. Tow truck also become my good friend. We go have tea sometimes because the past 15 years, he tow my cars like 30 or 40 times.

Now I use Mercedes E250. 2 years already. ZERO problems. Yes, you heard that right….ZERO!

BMW salesman will say I am a disgrunted Mercedes salesman…..well say what you want to say. Even your own eyes can see why your workshop is always full! Please don’t sour grape!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:21 pm

@Paulnut, if I have any Proton at home, I will give to you FREE with RM2000 angpow.

• steven see on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Give me the ang pow, you can keep your proton

• mercedesowner2 on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:07 pm

You used the same old recond bmw for 15 yrs. Ir serve gou right that it went to workshop so often. I hope your e250 is not the recond 2009 model that you bought this year. Later you comolaintt go to workshop again.

• das auto on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:13 pm

You bought a 5-year old recond 5 series at half the price. It has been thrashed as a car rental in UK. Everyone knows that. What you saved 150k+ you pay back in time and repair bills. I think your repair bills are no where near that.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:50 am

See! In many people eyes, Proton = junks, because junks have no value.

Why would I want to keep junk at home? Can you use your BRAIN a bit when creating story?

• BMW and their Pre-Reg'd on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Pre-Reg’d included also. They quickly register their car and resell later with some (or no)losses to the public saying these cars have low mileage and often used for events or by their sales people. Like this can show high sales figures, however salespeople do not get these commission.

• Sawitman on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Yes, i am one of the privilege staff who get the 3 series. Don’t complain. Work hard and kiss the right ass, you may also get the benefit of a bmw as perks. Oh, and we get a new bmw every 6 months. Don’t worry, we really run in the car very well. To those who buy pre-reg….let’s say, your engine is well run in.

• Alan Harris on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:36 pm

Actually, BMW is now not wanted by the Datuks and Tan Sris. You know why? Very simple. Even the Datuks and Tan Sris also want 5 years warranty. Despite their enormous wealth, they still want longer period of warranty and free replacement of parts.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in the WORLD (not just Malaysia alone) to give their customers a mere 2 years warranty.

All other car manufacturers have upped their warranty to 5 years. Honda, Hyundai, Ford and even Perodua and Proton. Even BMW’s arch rival gives 4 years warranty (double that of BMW)

BMW buyers are now careful. They know, right after 2 years is over, big big problems emerge. Many instances, even gearbox rosak and that alone cost RM50k just for the gearbox.

This is why you often see so many 2013 and 2014 BMWs for sale. The buyers are clever. Right after warranty is over, quickly sell their cars so that, it becomes another person’s problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 16
        • seancorr (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Dude better read up before you post. BMW Malaysia offers 2 but if you look at BMW UK they offer 3 and with option to purchase more.

They don’t just become the no. 1 premium brand worldwide without doing nothing.

Only problem here is in Bolehland whereby they think they can still sell with 2 years warranty and sadly they do no thanks to loyalists.

A BMW is a joy to drive but can be a pain to maintain for some unlucky owners and furthermore the lower standard quality of QC we get from our local factory isn’t helping either.

• Well done!! even with only 2 years warranty they are still doing well. No point for them to increase their warranty duration, ppl are still buying them like “goreng pisang panas”…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Alan Harris on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Those who are wise always buy a BMW few months old. This is because in the first year alone, a brand new BMW loses at least RM100,000. 2nd year, it loses only RM20k and 3rd year only RM20k and so on.

This is because, BMW Malaysia themselves throw prices to clear their pre reg cars that are only few months old and virtually brand new. Most of them, pre reg or have been used by their directors for just 4 or 5 months.

For example, a 2014 BMW 520i with just 2000KM clocked on it, registered in July 2014, AB or Ingress or Quill are selling RM250k.

So a 6 or 7 months old car, BMW Malaysia themselves are selling close to RM120k cheaper. A brand new BMW 520i is about RM368,000.

You can imagine what happens to the 2nd hand market if BMW Malaysia themselves are selling their Pre Reg cars so cheap.

So, be wise. Go and buy a virtually brand new BMW 2nd hand. Let the first buyer be the fool to absorb the RM100k depreciation. You still can use your so called 2nd hand BMW for a few years and yet sell it for maybe RM40k loss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

There is the slight problem of the warranty ending soon after. But I guess the depreciated price more than makes up for it. Better just buy a Mercedes with 4 years warranty. You’ll have more peace of mind during ownership.

• Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Official distributor Wheelcorp selling brand new pre-registered BMW 520d 2014 model for RM260k with 5 years warranty.

Ha ha. Buy new only get 2 years warranty. Wait for 2015 and get 5 years warranty.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:54 pm

I’d like you to show where I can get a 6 month old 520i LCI for 250k with its warranty still intact since its still under 2 years.

The best I can get is 30k off the sticker price from the dealer so I went for its smaller brother instead.

If it was truly 250k as you mentioned, no one would be buying the 1 and 3 Series anymore.

• So we Malaysian are your cash cow.

But you reward us with the most stingy standard spec from a luxury car brand. Compare to Merc and Audi, your standard specs are sucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:57 am

I’m barely surviving with my payments on Axia but there seems to be more & more people able to afford a BMW. Either there are more rich people or they are willing to overburden themselves with a large debt just to be in a BMW. And to think people are bracing themselves for higher cost of living

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • work smarter n harder la bro.. target high, focus! (dont rasuah, dont tipu2 tau)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh. on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Sound like MLM/skim cepat kaya kinda advice.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:58 pm

No it isn’t, its really work smarter. If you know your career path isn’t gonna take you far enough then its time to move elsewhere. Meet more affluent people, take part in more social gatherings and take note what people are doing now to have a better life.

Often most of our so called ‘skilled’ labour here got too used to taking in monthly pay and its ‘too much hassle’ to look for another job or to further their career improvements so they just continue on until they go 6 feet under.

If you belong to that category above then never will you be able to own a Benz or an Audi.

• Annoynimouse on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:54 am

My view is, don’t buy a BMW just because its a BMW or any other makes for that matter. And don’t buy them because other people buy them… Set your priorities right. If an Axia can do the job for you, then just stick to Axias and save your money on other important things. There’s nothing wrong with it and you don’t become a poorer person because of it just as you don’t become richer driving a BMW. Then again, my low level sixth sense tell me that your actually not struggling with your Axia payments :)
      The BMWs (M cars aside) only have the edge over their competitors in terms of its drives and handles and mostly at the limits which not many of regular users are able to tell anyway. If comfort, safety, reliability and nice equipments, space etc. are what you’re looking for, then there are a lot of other options out there as well besides the BMW some of them even better.

• Lane Tamer on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:18 pm

I guessed, three quarter of the sales are from cronies and friends…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • wahhhh very very expensive but still sales increase each year!!! if like this how price mau turun???

• Warranty on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Dear Mr Whatsyourface,

Please update your inadequate and completely not reassuring warranty policy.

Das ich all.

• Sam Loot on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:13 pm

BMW give 5 yr free service cos less reliable than doyoda

• krishna on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:18 pm

one of the reasons is BMW pre registers the many cars to hit the sales target. When u see 7000 odd cars sold, it doesnt mean there are 7000 odd cars on the street. go to autobavaria website and check out how many pre-registered cars with very little mileage are up for sale. Sime darby also gives out BMWs as company cars to its senior employee (VPs and above). It is all accounting.

having said that, if you want a BMW, u can get the pre-registered ones at abt 20% off the retail price and still get all the brand new car perks.

• Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Very true. BMW sales are very low. Play with accounting figures. They pre registered cars also included in their sales figures.

Pandai like Samsung and Apple. Samsung and Apple will say xxx millions of Samsung phones are “shipped” out. But shipped and sold are TWO different things.

Naughty BMW. Very very naughty!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:05 pm

It pains me to see comments such as yours. The brands you speak of like BMW or Apple and even Samsung – they’re doing so well that every tom dick and harry has one and they are mega companies with bucket loads of money. Where to they get it? From people like you who purchase it.

Now, BMW Malaysia makes most of its money from their dealers who hold pre-reg sales. In one weekend they can sell over 200 cars. Yes, one dealer in a week which initiates a sale over the weekend can do that. You can go see for yourself. Wait for AB or Ingress announce a pre-owned carnival and witness the sales they get in return and its the same for MBM but not so with Audi Malaysia.

Now its no wonder you can see so many of them on the road, yes?

• why people keep on saying bmw cheating on figure .
    no need to trust anyone . just go to the street and count all luxuries brand u encounter…
    for my own counting and concluded as follow 1)bmw 2)merc 3)audi 4)lexus 5)Volvo 6)infiniti .
    just do it yourself .

• ”BMW sales are very low”?? BUT WHY SO MANY BMW ON THE STRRET ..

• Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:18 pm

70% BMW cars you see on Malaysian roads are recon BMW. Most people prefer to buy recon because it is truly German made. Our BMW tipu punya. CKD in Malaysia, its as bad as buying a Proton.

Don’t believe BMW sales people when they tell you its SKD. If it is SKD or 100% German but assembled in Malaysia, you cannot get the CKD discounts.

This is another bluff by the BMW salesman in Malaysia. The car has many parts Made in Malaysia to qualify for CKD tax discounts.

So to answer your question, most BMW cars you see on the road are recon cars (true 100% German made). Most enthusiast BMW buyers want 100% German made (cbu)

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:11 pm

But it really is, type in your VIN (provided you own one that is) in their website and watch where your car came from.

They ship your whole car here as a kit and when it reaches here they take it apart and assemble it and that’s SKD for you. Semi for SKD not Completely for CKD.

Now when your Beemer has a fault on the OBD, you take it to the dealer and say there is a defect the dealer has to order the parts and 50% of the time you have to wait for it as they do not stock it here and have to import it since your car came here in a kit with no spares.

Its no wonder Benz, Audi or BMW has courtesy cars for customers to use coz there is a waiting time for them to get the parts and fix your car…

• Mercedes Owner on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Hahaha…you believe we mercedes salesman bullshit? We are trying very hard to talk bad about BMW in their post because our sales is low and we got nothing better to do.

• Munich on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Mercedes already launch two locally assembled hybrids here and you all still discussing, apa la

• Al (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Right now, Auto Bavaria selling Pre-owned BMW including Cash Discount & 5 years warranty + 5 years BSIR. Like 320d, will cost you around 239k. For me, I won’t get a new BMW. I rather get a pre-owned one. Just my 2 cents.

• BMW make profits like idioots so who telling me our economy busted? They’re all stupid lies to scared business development in Malaysia.

Economy down = BMW sales up
    BMW sales up = people getting rich
    people getting rich = economy stable

who the fcuk do retrenchment on this time? stupid cut cost company.

• honey manderin on Jan 30, 2015 at 7:36 pm

sure 5 yrs warranty + 5 yrs BSri?
    dont be SIn KA len