Great Wall M4 – CKD variants officially launched

Go Automobile Manufacturing (GoAuto) has officially launched the CKD versions of the Great Wall M4 – both locally-assembled manual and automatic variants of the compact SUV were introduced at the company’s manufacturing plant in Gurun at an event officiated by Kedah Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir.

Production of the M4 began in December 2014 at the company’s plant in Gurun. First previewed in left-hand drive form in January last year, the M4 was initially launched in its fully-imported form in July. In August, on-the-road pricing was revealed, with six variants of the SUV going on sale.

At point of introduction, pricing ranged from RM46,990 for the Standard to RM56,990 for the Premium in manual form, while the auto versions went from RM48,990 for the Standard right up to RM59,990 for the Premium. It was announced at the start of CKD production that the locally-assembled M4s will follow the pricing of the CBU units.

The front-wheel drive M4 is powered by a normally-aspirated 1.5 litre VVT MPI four-pot offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm. The manual is a five-speed ‘box, while the auto version of the M4 is called the AMT and utilises a six-speed manual transmission with automated clutch operation (the Getrag 6AMT160).

GWM Launching Gurun Kedah

Incidentally, the AMT variant is differentiated by a facelifted front end, complete with DRLs in the foglamp assembly (in the pix above, the car on the right). As mentioned back in July, the AMT version also features ESP, though it’s not available on the Standard AMT, only found on the Comfort and Premium variants.

At the event, GoAuto also announced that development of its second factory had begun – the new plant, to be built at a cost of RM250 million, will increase production capacity from the current 25,000 units per year to 50,000. The company is targeting 60% of production volume for export.

The development marks the second phase of GoAuto’s five-year, RM2 billion investment plan in partnership with Chinese automaker Great Wall Motor (GWM). The final phase in early 2019 will see estimated total production capacity being increased to 100,000 units annually.

The company says that almost 300 units of the manual have been sold thus far, with 2,500 bookings on hand, primarily for the automatic version. It aims to manufacture a mix of 12,000 units this year, said CEO Ahmad Azam Sulaiman.

“We are also adding three more sales centres with 3S capabilities, making a total of 27 3S service centres across Malaysia this year. This will help achieve GoAuto’s target of 6,000 unit sales for 2015,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Gud luck GWM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • ProtonGSC on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:17 pm

M4 ckd cost RM 48 ++

P1 and P2 40k ++ IRIZ and Myvi.

When Rakyat will wake up???

We being fool by them(cronies) and MAA for more then 30 years !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 11
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:25 pm

End of day..p1, gwm, p2, toyota, honda, chery use the same parts vendor in bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Sounds good deal. But with a little more money, get a Vios better. With Toyota, you get both build quality and RV.

Proton is panic now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 80
          • Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Go dig a bit deeper and see, this fellow sure got some UMNO link. This whole company smells of UMNO. Only UMNO can do a deal that can undercut everyone else. This is a classic example of cronyism and corruption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 28
          • Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I see the dungu Madani there. MAI lost hundreds of billions of USD to Thailand, I wonder whether this company also will go to Thailand after while here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • kzm father on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:23 pm

How you know kzm? You semua tahu. Macam mana tahu?

• Lane Tamer on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Why buy a BMW M4 when you can simply buy this GMW M4?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • this ‘M4’ ok also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Not sure about the quality of the 4 wheels ‘M4’ but I will gladly accept with open hands the other ‘M4’ Smart phone from China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Still the thing that bother me is how does GWM able to sell their CKD car at that price. while CKD japs can’t.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:47 pm

Jepun got more standard mah. Anyway the pricing came close to P1 and P2 territory, this will be another nail to knock into P1’s head.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:52 am

You think you can get the same thing as sushi cars with that price tag??

Not to be mean, you just test drive the M4 at 90km/h then you will know. Ask your buddies sit at the rear seats then they will know why sushi cars cost more also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • ismeheng on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:02 pm

very high profit margin for japan ckd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • Simple on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Preferential treatment of course.

We all know car taxes are “customized” and the docket prices are still controlled. Guess who does that? MITI of course. And who was a former deputy there? Hint, he’s in the picture up there and is the MB for the state with the most to gain if Great Wall sells well. (Why was the MB at the (re)launch event of a CKD cheapo car anyway.. LOL)

I can’t wait to see what’s the prices for these cars are in Langkawi/Labuan. Can’t be more than 10k. Even the Vios is 20k in taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:38 pm

The price will be not much different as this is CKD not CBU…CKD car in langkawi or labuan oni waived sales tax n import tax not excise tax..hint before jazz cbu oni ~RM30k in langlawi, today ckd jazz RM55k++

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • really? on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Ah, guess you’re right. I guess it all depends on the murky excise tax rates. Differing local content percentages get higher tax breaks, right?

• drMpower on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:19 pm

stop smoking man its bad for your head
        How come a FORMER miti guy decides on current car policy?
        Got water inside heat go clean up otherwise it be full of rusts

And ah how ckd japan cannot price like this. See who is actually to be blamed fro car prices high? Thank god najib got this ckd plan he manages to bring down 10-15% the prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • really? on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Policy is one thing. Negotiations for docket prices are another thing. Also, if you can strong-arm MITI to grant you higher tax breaks, the cheaper the car prices will be. During that times, an influential person will be handy to be kept in the pocket. TLDR; CABLE Stronk more benefit.

And I’m not denying Japan CKD priced higher even if they get similar tax breaks. The trick is to price according to market prices. A B-segment car produced by Proton will go around 40K (with all the bells and whistles you expect from a similar specced Jap car). You know it will commend a price premium due to public perception. Your competitors are pricing it around 70K AND people are buying in droves. You’ll be an idiot if you sold it close to a local car’s price.

The only solution to Malaysia’s overpriced cars is either Proton can cut their pricing, which sets the base price so to speak, or taxes/docket prices are structured more clearly.

• Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:45 pm

MITI and MAI have got big big angpau. Apa lagi. Soon you see they buy Rolex and drive Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Michael on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Corruption and Cronyism .MITI and MAI have got big big angpau. Apa lagi. Soon you see they buy Rolex and drive Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • kzm father on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:24 pm

you must tell your friends not to rogol the public with high prices. After all, all cars in Malaysia are ultimately GLC

• They can position the price lower is bcoz this car is considered EEV and get better incentives.

• Sam Boo on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:49 pm

so far I’ve seen GWM not so keen on selling their M4 model over here, as salesman not so actively promote their car. And service center still hard to be seen. IMO the co is taking Bolehland as stepping stone to promote their cars nationwide…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • ThatGearBox on Jan 27, 2015 at 12:56 pm

The gearbox in long run got pblm or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • as I know AMT got problem. Proton savvy also have AMT and got many problem nowadays. Better avoid AMT since there are many other choice of small vehicle in market today.

• i agree. my friend work as mechanic. he told me AMT car easy breakdown after using sometime. Better avoid AMT car.

• chong on Jan 06, 2016 at 1:14 am

gear box is german techonogy is not proton SAVVY gearbox

• you think leh?

• car-fans on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Last nite saw from TV News – ‘FaceLifted’ with better head lamp and with DRL – Look even nicer :) – Few ‘update’ here and there compare to those loaded photos.

• car-fans on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:12 pm

If only they sincere to push GW product with more Showroom + Service Center rather then just simply appoint a workshop as Service Center of GW.

Went to see a Manual Unit – Overall just acceptable – if with introduction special price (less RM3K-RM5K)- will be great deal :)

• thedarkside on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:19 pm

i’ve seen a few on the road…not a bad looking car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Been driving this M4 MT version for 1 mth. Overall very good car. Love driving it every day. Solidly build like my previous conti. No wind noise coming in to cabin unlike my other ckd asean jap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • JapsanAppleareoverrated on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Good to know. Hopefully the rise of Chinese and Korean cars would teach Japs a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • richyoung on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Wait after 1 year then you will know, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Letmecapturefirst on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:47 pm

If it’s still good, you belanja me is it ?

Today 27th January 2015, next year 27th January 2016.

• Jenning on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:34 pm

Being close to one year timebar, any true problem happens for M4 (please let those TRUE car owner step out n talk). No more guessing as aviod confusing.

• Jenning on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm

To middle age driver, are your’s M4 til function good? Any problem? Urgent reply needed.

• LLembu on Jan 27, 2015 at 1:46 pm

This M4 engine is it from T.VIOS?
    What about the gear box? 4AT super ECT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
    • kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Do you even read the article…5sp manual / 6sp AMT

• LLembu on Jan 27, 2015 at 3:48 pm

so what about the engine?

• tokmoh. on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:54 pm

There was article about similarities with Vios engine, both aluminium block, timing chain, variable valve timing, plastic intake manifold at front…

But never read any confirmation from Great Wall it’s taken from Toyota. Anybody’s guess then.

Cukurlah can get Godcar at half price…

• kzm father on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:27 pm

Bro, its, “Did you even read the article”. Mana belajar English bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • shaunD on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:15 pm

okay just one thing. why are they selling the CKD version at the price of the CBU? shouldn’t they pass on the tax savings back to the consumer? or there’s something that i don’t know?

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Most likely they sold the CBU at CKD prices.

Even NAZA KIA does it with thier CBU and SKD cars…. didn’t one want the repeat of selling higher CBU, then low CKD, killing your resale value… thats what happened to Naza KIA….and even now, 15 years in, Sam Loooooo is still harping on RV.

• tokmoh. on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Paultan got write only CKD got ESP, so value added there?

So Anthony Lim, confirmed aa CKD ones got ESP? Both auto and manual?

Dayum, when even Chinese can give ESP, UMW really need to be punished. This M4 really tempting.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:39 pm

tokmoh,

Yes, we did mention in our earlier reports that CKD auto versions will feature ESP – we’ve just confirmed that only the auto (AMT) has it, and only on the Comfort and Premium spec variants. Not available on the Standard AMT and manual range. I’ve added this into the story.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:37 pm

I see……

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Great Wall, why God WHYYYYYYY

Manual deserves ESP too :'(

• shaunD on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:07 am

i see i see. thanks tokmoh. woah you remembered that particular detail from months ago article ah? or u re-read all the links to previous articles again? haha i was never bothered.

but yeah, that’s a pity. but i guess, this car, MT and AT also not much difference. i mean, i don’t think u’ll get extra driving satisfaction driving an GW M4 manual, like u’d get from driving fiesta ST.

• tokmoh. on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:55 am

I remembered when I first read that article months ago. It’s a shock, cuz for under RM50k with ESP, that’s unheard of (as Iriz not yet launched), and this being Chinese car, all the more impressive.

Manual is not just for sporty driving, sometimes there is this joy in driving simple, cheap and cheerful econobox. Manual is satisfying too as it’s the more efficient gearbox, so u get a feel that u get the most out of the engine.

• azhar on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:20 pm

first thing to mod is those china made tyres…dangerous on wet roads!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on Jan 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Tat shld b da engine on Avanza..
    i’m wondering about da getrag 6AMT150..
    but this is definitely a better buy than new facelifted myvi.. n mayb Iriz..
    it’s jz ppl are to skeptical n keep on going for p2 & T as reliable… n guess wat they’re not..

• This M4 better than Axia, Myvi or Vios. Some ppl dun want local make car, so this is cheaper price to get imported cars

• donno on Jan 27, 2015 at 4:08 pm

That MAI guy… Always around at every GWM event… Maybe thats the reason for “customised” very low taxes and EEV incentives for GWM?

• Seen one up close. Overall ok for the price but a bit too much chrome parts for my taste. Looking a bit like kedai abang modified car. If you hate P1 or P2 but cannot afford japs, this is good alternative.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 5:54 pm

If it was AWD or RWD I would consider one but its only FWD :p Because “FWD always better” what people says

• sbng2228 on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Went for test drive just now. Solid ride and very low NVH. Built quality very good. Some hard plastic but looks long lasting. Even the sound of the door closing is solid. Only gripe is the AMT gearbox takes longer to find the correct gear and small boot.
    Salesman told me the car is actually CBU and converted to RHD at factory. Tyres were Goodyear. Waiting list is 3-4 months as CBU cars stuck at port due to custom not wanting to release.
    Was waiting for the Honda HRV (120K, Honda must be crazy) but after the test drive, immediately put a booking for the premium model (half the price of the HRV)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • sbng2228 on Jan 27, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Mechanical are from Toyota

• kzm (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 7:26 pm

your story to gud to be true…do u think CBU of complete car convert just like that..tanggal n pasang balik?..Why do the hassle if can just SKD?..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 8:29 pm

GWM M4 MT has no ESP. So I tried to drift my car around corner….Surprise! ECU cut acceleration automatically while you leg is still on the gas pedal trying to accelerate. Just release gas pedal & repress the pedal. Engine power comes back on to yr control again but by then the car can no longer drift because its already slowed down & not enough momentum.

• I remember last time the news on M4 stated that CKD will not have manual option. Glad it does come with manual.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Second factory on the way and 60% for export ? Good luck to them.

GoAuto will only go so far with one good CKD model. If they bring in the Great Wall C50 sedan (Google it), then it would be a massive problem for Proton because it will cost about the same as the very, very successful Kia Forte back in 2009. Have you ever wondered why the Forte was discontinued after just a few years in the market ? Have you ever wondered why the Cerato costs sooo much more than the outgoing Forte ? There is some connection to be made here…

Until that happens, it remains to be seen whether the M4 will be successful, and whether it will or will not steal some sales from Perodua or Proton. So far, I saw one orange/red one in Cyberjaya a few weeks back. Doesn’t look so bad on the road.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:16 am

I’ve seen one in Subang, it’s not bad obama.jpg

I’d really love if Great Wall C20R comes here. If it’s manual, ESP, and priced well, I’d love to get one. Design looks good, that Godcar (celup) engine, manual, my perfect cheap and cheerful city econobox.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:52 pm

hahahaha celup engine indeed ! xD

The C20R is not so bad… but if you ask me, the Chinese car I want most is the Qoros 3… but because it’s half-Israeli, I wouldn’t count on it coming to Malaysia anytime soon. :/

There’s some other good Chinese cars out there too, the Chery Arrizo 7 is honestly not bad. There’s also the Trumpchi GA5 and the new Chinese-engineered MG cars. The BYD Qin is also not so bad, if looks aren’t an issue. Got quite a few more out there.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 27, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Aero, the next model GWM will assemble here is the Haval H6, which has already been granted EEV status. I think GWM plans to target SUV market not sedans at the moment.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:55 pm

Okay, thanks for the info. Malaysia is the ASEAN’s biggest SUV market, so I guess it makes sense.

• mrkthxbai on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:37 pm

yahoo. at last. china car for chinese dap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Urzu3 on Feb 01, 2015 at 2:46 am

just tested the manual.. the interior build quality is quite nice.. lots of plastic but who cares with the price it got.

feels quite good inside. exterior design looks good, rear design way way way wayyyy better than proton design on preve n suprima.

the digital speedometer very nice.

but test drive only, dunno what will happen on long term..

• Aku dh sign loan..tp kereta x dk lg,,,aduhhh..bersumbat dengan greatwall..promosi bukan main..barang x ada..kalu xda kereta..x pyh nk promote!!!!

• Saleh on Apr 26, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Just booked premium orange m4 today. SA (Glenmarie) said delivery will be within 3 months. Test drive m4 and it’s feel heavy in good way. Power delivery is just enough for the weight. My wife loves it as our 2nd car. Can’t wait for delivery day.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:09 am

My M4 is now 6 mths old. Sorry to disappoint everyone that its still running well. Nothing broken. Nothing rattling in the car despite travelling over bumpy road everyday. Low maintenance cost so far as only change engine oil & oil filter.

Also my Proton Savvy is now 10yrs old. Its original Clarion radio broken last year & was replaced. Paint faded on the roof but no rusting. Car still running strong despite all hard plastics. Dashboard & door cover plastics never warp in hot sun. I was read back then, ppl say the plastics will all break & fall off in no time.

• I been cheated without day running lights and boot curtain, earlier there was automatic ac, foldable side mirror and keyless entry all are nothing but lies

• omgkenny on Jul 28, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Hi Guys, Who ever own this car, can you tell me the fuel consumption?

compare to saga flx/myvigini

thanks

• Very good

• Izwanis MS on Sep 04, 2016 at 11:22 pm

hi there! where is the nearest place to my place? My place is in Taman Melawati in Ampang.