DRIVEN: 2015 Honda HR-V previewed in Chiang Mai

Sometimes, it’s not enough to be the first in the segment. Time and time again we see the “next big thing” or “hip new product” fall flat on its face, leaving the door wide open for a better, more stylish or just plain cheaper competitor to swoop in and take the mantle.

The B-segment crossover is often touted as the solution to the urban commuter conundrum; a relatively affordable tall-riding small hatchback with tough SUV looks, a commanding driving position and unrivalled manoeuvrability.

Over here, however, the class just hasn’t taken off the way we were expecting – the first two models, the Peugeot 2008 and the Ford EcoSport (the modern progenitor of the segment, the Nissan Juke, isn’t offered here), seem to have failed to make inroads into buyers’ minds and wallets. Maybe this isn’t the panacea we were looking for after all. Or perhaps we’re just waiting for the right car to crack into the market.

That’s where the new 2015 Honda HR-V comes in. We’ve been truly surprised by the overwhelming interest in the new contender, and judging by the provisional specifications, equipment and price, it seems the company has done its homework in ascertaining what people want. But is it actually worth all this incredible hype? That’s why we headed to Chiang Mai, to find out.

You’re not wrong in thinking that the HR-V (Hi-Rider Revolutionary Vehicle) name sounds familiar. This is actually Honda’s second attempt at building a truly small SUV – its first, unveiled in 1999 and produced all the way until 2006, was a high-riding box built on the bones of the old Logo supermini. It was way ahead of its time, perhaps too far ahead – it remains a curious footnote in Honda’s history, a position probably not helped by the unorthodox space-age looks.

Certainly, the design of the new one, previewed by the 2013 Urban SUV Concept, is more in tune with mainstream tastes, but it’s still not exactly what you’d call a wallflower. The front end in particular is bound to polarise opinion – there’s a lot going on, from the chrome-embellished X-shaped “Solid Wing Face” graphic, to the deep lower grille integrating the number plate, to the optional twin-projector LED headlights.

It gets more agreeable as you move backwards – the relatively simple body side is broken up by a distinctive swage line, rising to meet the rear door handles, hidden in the trailing edge of the rear side windows. A chunky off-roader feel is conveyed through tough-looking plastic mouldings and a strong stance garnered from the wheels pushed right to the corners.

Curiously, the rear has a slightly Acura-ish feel to it, with a tall rump and L-shaped tail lights, connected by a character line that cuts across the tailgate under the number plate recess.

Unfortunately, our market won’t get the 17-inch wheels offered on the Thai-spec cars seen here, instead settling on 16-inch items as seen on the Japanese-market Vezel. We also won’t be seeing the fancier tube-style tail lights featured on Thailand’s range-topping EL – it’s individual LEDs for us.

Based on the latest Jazz and City, the new HR-V measures 4,294 mm long, which splits its two siblings (Jazz 3,955 mm, City 4,440 mm). It is, however, considerably wider and taller than either, at 1,772 mm and 1,605 mm respectively, while its 2,610 wheelbase shades the City by a minuscule 10 mm. The kerb weight of the top-spec model is quoted at 1,249 kg, over 100 kg heavier than either the Jazz and the City.

Next to the EcoSport, the HR-V is 21 mm longer and 7 mm wider, but 70 mm lower, while the wheelbase is some 91 mm longer. Against the 2008 the gulf is even greater still – 135 mm longer, 33 mm wider and 49 mm taller, with a 72 mm longer wheelbase.

Naturally, being larger than its rivals, you might expect the HR-V to feel more spacious than the other two. And indeed it is – there’s oodles of headroom, legroom and shoulder room to spare; the same could not be so easily said about the 2008 and the EcoSport in particular. It feels a step up from even the impressively capacious Jazz, if not quite boasting the City’s D-segment-beating legroom.

There’s acres of boot space, too – the HR-V features a class-leading figure of 437 litres, which trumps both the Ford and the Peugeot by over 70 litres. Folding down the rear seats boosts space to 1,032 litres, a massive 327 litres more than the EcoSport, but 162 litres less than the 2008. Loading items into that cavernous boot is a cinch, with a wide opening and a low load lip.

The Jazz’s novel rear Ultra Seats make a reappearance here – aside from folding down flat, the seat base can also tip up, providing plenty of space for tall items such as furniture or potted plants. Added to that, there are plenty of storage spaces to stow all your odds and ends, including a compartment that doubles as a pair of cupholders, residing in the space usually reserved for a mechanical handbrake (there’s an electronic parking brake instead).

While the cabin of the HR-V borrows quite a lot of elements from the Jazz and City – including the steering wheel, the seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system and touch panel auto air conditioning on higher-end models, as well as much of the switchgear – everything is presented in a more upscale and refined manner.

Like the Jazz and City, much of the dashboard is made from soft-touch plastic (with faux stitching), but the treatment also extends to the transmission tunnel and the armrests on the doors, while the top part of the door cards are lined with leather (fabric on lower-end models) and feature classy contrast stitching. There’s lots of chrome trim too, and the seats are upholstered in a nice semi-leather upholstery.

Overall, the HR-V’s interior has a much more premium feel than the EcoSport (the cabin in the latter is too reminiscent of the Fiesta on which it’s based, and is lined with hard plastics all over), if not quite as funky or as sophisticated as the 2008’s.

Some areas of the cabin do frustrate, however – the full-width air vents ahead of the front passenger seem little more than a gimmick, sometimes blowing too much cold air to the face (and not enough towards the rear occupants). The cubby hole underneath the tall transmission tunnel – incorporating the USB and HDMI ports – sounds like a great idea at first, but frequently used items can be hard to get to.

Unlike the 1.5 litre Jazz and City, the HR-V gets a larger 1.8 litre R18A i-VTEC four-cylinder engine – the same mill you’ll find on the Civic 1.8 – to move its considerable weight. Output figures for our market have yet to be released, but Thai models produce 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 172 Nm of torque at 4,300 rpm, roughly the same as on the Civic. A G-Design Shift CVT sends power to the front wheels.

Gunning the throttle from a standstill, the HR-V feels brisk, sprightly, surging through the hustle and bustle of urban traffic with ease thanks to the engine’s strong low-end pull and the quick step-off response from the transmission’s torque converter. It can actually be a bit too fast to react to accelerator inputs, making smooth progress a little difficult, but there’s no arguing with the car’s swiftness off the line.

Once it actually gets going, however, it starts to struggle in gaining momentum. A number of factors work against the HR-V here – the CVT is slightly hesitant in moving to a lower ratio under hard acceleration, and its insistence of using taller ratios to save fuel can sometimes catch it out, putting the engine out of its power band when it is most needed, such as when powering through a corner.

The engine can also feel slightly out of breath at the higher reaches of the rev range – very uncharacteristic of a Honda mill – and it makes itself heard when pushed, a situation exacerbated by the CVT keeping the engine at near maximum revs under load.

Some of the powertrain’s reticence can be dialled out by nudging the gear lever into Sport, but even then you do get a sense that the car feels more at home in the concrete jungle than being wrung of every last horse.

Instead, hang back and settle down, because the HR-V does the highway cruise very, very well. The CVT’s aforementioned preference of taller ratios – a bugbear during spirited driving – is a boon here, keeping revs impressively low, at which point the i-VTEC mill becomes barely audible. There’s low levels of wind and tyre noise too; the latter is quite an achievement on the abrasive Thai tarmac we sampled.

SONY DSC

Docking points off is the ride, which can be rather nuggety over surface imperfections and undulations, enough to make us question its suitability for our pockmarked roads. To be fair, the test cars rode on larger 17-inch wheels (there was also a Modulo-equipped car with 18-inch wheels, the ride on which bordered on being unbearable) – we expect, and hope, that the 16-inch wheels we get will yield a calmer experience.

At least you can expect to achieve decent fuel economy – the Australian model, with the same 1.8 litre engine and CVT combination, is claimed to average 15.2 km per litre. We mustered a real-world figure of between 13-14 km per litre, still a respectable number for a relatively tubby car with a fairly large engine.

Hustling it through the corners revealed a chassis that is more than capable of handling the twisties. Turn-in is sharp, with a quick, direct and accurate – if not the most communicative – steering that weighs up nicely in the bends.

As you’d expect with such a tall vehicle, there is quite a bit of body roll, but the car remains stable and predictable, ultimately transitioning into mild understeer at the limit. It can, however, get unsettled through mid-corner bumps, perhaps a result of the torsion beam rear suspension.

SONY DSC

With disc brakes all around, the HR-V stops with conviction, tracking straight and true even under hard braking, with progressive pedal feel that makes it easy to modulate braking pressure. A quick aside – the Auto Brake Hold function works as advertised, holding the brakes at a standstill and releasing it as you move off the line. It will most definitely make traffic jams and long waits at the traffic lights a tiny bit more bearable.

Overall, the 2015 Honda HR-V is a fine package, uniquely suited to life in the city, where it is expected spend most of its time in. Having experienced it first hand, the level of thought Honda has put into designing such a car and the depth of its engineering shines through; while the EcoSport and 2008 feel very much like the superminis that spawned it, the HR-V is a markedly different animal from the Jazz and City.

Moreover, despite losing a few feel-good features from the Thai variants, Malaysian versions look to remain highly specced, both in terms of equipment (keyless entry, push button start, leather-wrapped steering wheel, reverse camera, cruise control) and safety (six airbags, standard-fit stability control, hill-hold assist).

Pricing of the Melaka-assembled HR-V should be competitive as well – the range-topping V variant is rumoured to be priced around RM120k, putting it right in contention with the 2008, which doesn’t have the Honda’s strong engine and smooth drivetrain. Handsome looks, practical interior, decent performance and engaging road manners – it might just be worth all that hype after all.

Malaysian-spec Honda HR-V on display

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ProtonGSC on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Thailand got the lower price but still get the car(model) first.

Bolehland paying extra expensive for CKD and always gets the car(model) last…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 19
    • wayangkulit on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Kesian, even car manufacturers look down on you

Maybe you should realize that the world doesn’t revolve around you and complain less?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 126
      • ProtonGSC on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Thanks for your “too proud and arrogant” attitude.

Cronies keep on surviving and making fun of you and your country-men money…

Too bad cronies like yourself won’t understand, you only know blood sucking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 19
        • wayangkulit on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Maybe business/car manufacturers have been nice to people like you that you did not realize its people like you who are proud and arrogant?

Thailand domestic vehicle TIV last year is 881,832 units
          http://www.marklines.com/en/statistics/flash_sales/salesfig_thailand_2014

Malaysia domestic vehicle TIV last year is 665,675 unit.
          However due to our protectionism policy for our local cars both P1 and P2, we have to minus their units out, thus we are at 355,675 TIV

So its natural that manufacturers give priorities to countries that yields them the most profit.

Assuming that Honda holds 10% in both Thailand and Malaysia market.
          Honda holds 88000 units in Thailand and only 35000 units in Malaysia
          For argument sake each car is at 1USD
          Thus Honda Thailand yields 80k sales while Malaysia 35k sales
          In order to match the 80k USD sales they could make in Thai, they have to sell 2.2 USD each car to us.
          That is 220% more expensive assuming that all specs are equal to what Thailand is getting.

So please be grateful that Honda launched the HRV a little later, a little bit less spec and a little bit more expensive than Thailand.

And last year Thailand produced 1,880,007 and exported 1,128,102 units out
          So in terms of efficiency, cost benefit gained from volumes they are at 1.8 million vehicles

We lost to them in terms of vehicle sales volume
          We lost to them in terms of vehicle produced efficiency
          You know what we won against them?
          Its the number of pariahs we have like you
          No volume no money but demand to be treated like a boss.
          Want high spec low price and given first priorities.

Price expensive complain crony suck blood la, vampire suck blood la, mosquito suck blood la, government suck blood la, manufacturer suck blood la

Its everyone’s fault but not yours.
          People like you are like cancer really, spreading hatred and infecting others with your pariah ideology

p/s Btw Thailand is more corrupted than Malaysia
          We are at 50 out of 175 countries
          They are at 85 out of 175
          Least corrupted is New Zealand at 2/175
          http://www.transparency.org/cpi2014/infographic/regional/asia-pacific

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 60
          • ProtonGSC on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:43 pm

Good that you bring the corruption part out….

More corrupted then Bolehland BUT why our price still more expensive?????

Does the list really the fact or fiction? Bolehland are more corrupted then others ever imagine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 28
          • Another simple reason is here in Malaysia people keep on buying cars despite the high price.

If you can make more profit, why bother to sell cheap?

Look at P2 and UMW. Still on antic gearbox and mill as people keep on buying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • John X on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:54 am

Excellent write up. Sure enough there may be more to the story, but the basics are there. The facts and figures need not be accurate, but the general gist of it is as such. Superb point on the number of pariahs we have here. Not only does the industry need to change, the mindset of the people need to change too. However you failed to factor in the population where Thailand’s population is more than double of what we have. This fact further strengthens your argument, as more people = more opportunities to sell products. Not only is attractive to FDI to sell, if you help develop the country and provide more jobs to a larger workforce, you are essentially helping create more customers, as more people will be able to afford the same products that they help produce.

Anyway, long story short, this should be a top comment. Paultan should implement reddit’s type of commenting where top voted comment goes to the top of the list, and least voted gets pushed down. This way, people see the more rational arguments up top first rather than jokers spewing their bs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • ForRealForReal on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:40 pm

dude you for real?
            Yes it’s logical that government will try to protect its local industry but eventually the bird have to leave the cage.
            Till when will the government protect the local car industry and our national cars will never stood up too foreign car manufacturer due to securement that the government give to them, Proton and Perodua will never go that extra length to measure up to their competitors.
            So you’re going to tell me that in another 50 or so years we’ll still be driving Malaysia shitty quality cars?
            Protection is necessary for an infant local industry but if we measure Proton and Perodua age, they are well enough to stand up on their own, so why still govt want to protect them and till when?
            No wonder Proton never really hit it big in the overseas market, their cars never really meet the expectation of the global market.
            The Iriz was said to be a global success once it hit the foreign market, heck, it never even pass the local market scene
            so tell me again, how can Proton and Perodua can keep up with these when they are ever going to produce shitty car only for the local market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • fast5 on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:05 pm

DrM make new law again that Rakyat can’t comment about Bolehland car price?

Or Cronies butt-hurt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
        • Get lost if you dont like this country. Fyi, maybe you’re too stupid to realize that you are living in Malaysia, not bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 33
    • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:05 pm

Thailand is the sort of HQ for Honda in ASEAN. So, understandably they get new model launches first in the region. At least we get comfort ( hope so) that whatever issues discovered during the few odd months Thailand got their cars first, would have been made known to Honda Malaysia to do the necessary rectification before the Malaysian launch. Probably explains the smaller rims for us as Jonathan had mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Kara Honda Owner on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Thailand get the full spec model.
      And in malaysia we get the downgraded model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • Kara Honda Owner on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Honda Hrv in Malaysia is down graded so much.
        Better wait for Mazda Cx3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Captain Obvious on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Not to mention better specced than us here in bolehland. memang boleh!

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:04 pm

U sure onot???

Inside info saying that HRV is more like Jazz SUV….

No satnav, no reverse cam, no autocruise, no pedal shifter……
      All the best, wait till the real deal…..

• It will only be great with AWD in it

• Stupid ProtonGSC on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Idiot…maybe you came from bolehla..This is Malaysia!
      Get lost if you don’t like this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • Eddy Lee on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Personally, 120 seems viable for the 1.8. I wonder will the hybrid version be coming anytime soon as that should be even a better buy if priced right. On the other han, add in 15k+, you’re looking at d-segment. I wonder..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • very ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 37
    • Captain Obvious on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Hello. You need to see and optician? It’s a beautiful car, but look at those 17 inches rims, rear tube lights, sun roofs and piano finish that we are not getting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • stayclassy on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:34 pm

LOL!!!!!!
    http://paultan.org/2015/01/28/driven-2015-honda-hr-v-previewed-chiang-mai/sony-dsc-2056/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Steve Jobs on Jan 28, 2015 at 12:35 pm

must buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • slk3879 on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Wow, you’ve downgraded yourself from Apple’s CEO to Honda Malaysia’s salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:12 pm

If the price is right, it will be an instant success. Based on latest CRV’s 2WD price at RM140k, i expect this HRV will be price around RM98k-RM120k according to the trims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Wayangkulit on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:15 pm

waiting for first class engineers here to condem the usage of torsion beam and the old 1.8 litre engine

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:36 pm

“Why not use big 3.0 Twin Turbo V6 engine with F1 style suspension ahh Honda!!?? And why not use 7 Speed Manual with Racing Brembo brakes!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 28, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Just around 20k cheaper than the much bigger Honda CR-V 2.0 2WD.. I wonder how well will it sell? Honda’s previous experiments with weird B-segment cars have not taken off well.. such as the ridiculous Honda Freed..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:12 pm

But the B-segment City is doing very well and I’m starting to see a lot of the B-segment Jazz on the road now =]

But the price does seem a bit close to the CRV 2WD @ RM139k though…anything above RM118k will make it look a bit pricey and customers might wanna have a go with its bigger bro since the CRV base model has some decent spec too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Kara Honda Owner on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Yes Honda City and Jazz hot selling,can see everywhere on road.
        But for this small Suv people rather wait for Mazda Cx3 after look at Malaysia version down graded Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Bro, remember the downgraded M’sian version of Mazda 2? So don’t expect too much from Berjaya auto.

• Guaranteed to be a runaway success.
    Just bear in mind HMSB, do not do a UMW on us. We are watching you.
    Keep up the good job by the way!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Lotsa space for the occupants that’s for sure…wait till you see the CX-3’s ultra mini boot space!

It’s a pity though, we always get lesser spec and pay a higher price than our neighbours. If they wanted a higher price at least put in the same spec as other countries are getting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • The CX-3 is indeed falling short of legroom and boot space, but is far ahead in terms of looks and interior material. It’s such a dilemma. Why can’t we have something of CX-3 looks paired with Honda’s brilliant packaging? :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Kara Honda Owner on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Yes.
      If we get the Thailand spec Hrv,then it is better choice.
      But so much down grade in Malaysia.
      So wait for Mazda Cx3.

• Sparcov on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:12 pm

I walked to both Nissan showroom and Honda Showroom last week.

Nissan Xtrail cost about RM 139K for 2wd. Discounted RM3k for this month.

Honda CRV 2wd almost the same price RM 139K

Honda HRV, was told between RM 110K to 130K for the high spec.

Taking into consideration CRV Vs HRV = RM 120K Vs RM 139K

With merely 20K different comparing spec to spec is not really value of money for the small B segment- city based platform.

I would rather go and get Xtrail with all new platform fully equipped with the state of the art technology and safety minus (2 airbag only) still much better…

I do expect honda would price it below RM 100K (RM 95K onwards) for the entry level HRV.

Otherwise, HRV will falls in to FREED market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Try the CX-5. It could win your heart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • Sparcov on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:30 pm

I tried the CX5 before, i look fantastic from the outside, but when on driver seats, the car look plain and feel not so spacious inside.

Personally I feel Xtrail wins comparing to crv and cx5.

Cx5 suspension setup are more firm compare to crv (i have not tried x-trail yet). Handling wise, due to both are AWD, it handle well as both are in auto mode without 4×4 switch.

• RicoT on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Not everyone want to drive a CRV due to its size, especially majority of girl driver, perhaps a relatively smaller HRV with high-spec would woo girl buyer. Besides that, parking space in the house is also a problem for longer cars like CRV for certain people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Sparcov on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Yes, I do agree with you that HRV are more reasonable size for women driver as current trend towards a higher ground clearance SUV oriented style. So this is a perfect choice. While, some of the guy driver also prefer this size due to limited parking space at their home and easy to manoeuvre at town. Especially in the area around KLCC with limited and small parking space.

HRV will fit in nicely in the premium B-segment market. For instance, Peugeot 2008 and ford ecosport are in a very limited market due to their high selling price equivalent to a C-segment sedan

If price is not a problem, HRV is a good buy for those people.

Practically, a mid size suv e.g. CRV, xtrail, cx5 or even ford kuga is a better buy and use as a family car along the line smaller than a MPV

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:39 pm

With that price you could buy a Honda S2000 which can revved till 80000 RPMs.

• A brand new Subaru XV can be had from RM117K. 2.0 Boxer, AWD, spacious and comfortable interior. Better value compared to HR-V.

• Does anyone know if there’s a detailed review out there that compares the HRV vs the Subaru XV?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Personally I think its a very handsome car, in an elegant manner. The Mazda CX-3 is more exotic, like a supermodel with chiseled & sharp looks. Both are nice cars to look at any day. And which is better looking is a matter of personal taste.

I am surprised by its weight, Its almost as heavy as the Civic 2.0 (which weighs just 21kg more). The similarly engined (but different gearbox-ed) Civic 1.8 is 24kg lighter. No wonder Jonathan mentioned that it felt a bit slow to react when already on the move.

Another surprise is the engine that is rough and out of breath at high RPMs. The days of VTEC just kicked-in yo are long gone. I do hope this and the slow CVT issue is just limited to Thai models. I remember driving the Malaysian Honda Jazz and it liked to downshift even at the slightest step of the throttle. Also, since we are getting 16 inch wheels, it should feel more sprightly (but won’t look so good doing it).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Poo on Jan 28, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Toyota Rush the better option @ 90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
    • azhar on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:33 pm

90k for puny 1500c with 4AT gearbox is daylight robbery!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:37 pm

Get a 5 Speed Manual setup,its a lot of fun!!

• Sparcov on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:48 pm

toyota rush basically is an extended terios

It should be categories as a jeep. It handle more or less like a Avanza.

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Also its AWD/RWD!!! Its my dream car bruh…

• Rush is just Avanza in different clothing..

• Chow 1 on Jan 28, 2015 at 3:50 pm

The Key Word is “B Segment”. Think twice before you buy, with about 10-15k more, you might be able to jump to a D segment already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • AVH (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:23 pm

I still honestly dont get the point ‘because’ is a B segment. Is it because its smaller than a so called C-segment? I have sat in a HRV in Mid Valley, and I find it roomier than a most C-segment on the road, is also bigger in its exterior dimension wise in fact a ‘B-segment’City trumps many D-segment in legroom. So is it because B-segment has lower interior material quality? The HRV is a lot better than its C-segment stablemate the Civic, considering the faux leather on the penals and arm-rest.

Historically, car classification are down to size, equipment, price and engine capacity. The HRV by that standard, has many traits of a C-segment car. The only thing B about it is that it is a based on a B-segment class platform. And its high-spec price hovers arond the RM120k point, so topping RM17k for the lowest spec Accord and you get a larger car that not only require a higher cost of maintenence for the time to come(road tax, service, insurence ETC) But also less toys, you ditch the leather seat, reverse camera, LED lights and so called less safety(6 vs 2 airbags). You have to top up a whole RM45k for the top spec anything before you come to a fair deal of an Accord 2.4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • tokmoh. on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Ya la, as if B, D, whatever matters.

To most people, they go see it’s spacious enough, then see cost RM20k less than CRV, why not just save that money since this HRV good enough edi? Bam, another HRV sold, an opportunity lost for CRV.

But I feel Civic gonna affected more. They both cost nearly the same, but HRV seems more spacious and practical.

• Sparcov on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:44 pm

B-segment and C-segment concentration is not on wheelbase, is the width and length make the different.

A B-segment almera is definetly better leg room compare to a c-segment civic due to its wheelbase.

all this while, the car manufacturer are keeping the business very competitive with their offering, is hardly we can compare apple-to-apple without sacrifice some of is feature, looking at a safety comparison? performance? quality ? will get us into a lot argument.

At the end, willing buyer willing seller and it depends on buyer preference.

• Dont just compare the segment, mazda 3 have smaller interior space and legroom than Honda city. I have sat in HRV once, its spacious…..for those not prefer bigger and bulky CRV.

For those not looking for space like myself, CX3 is the answer provided it come with 2.0 skyactive.

• lcmbryan on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:26 pm

With rm120k why buy this car. Go to subaru showroom get a subaru xv. 4wd proven engine and reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • AVH (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Nice read

I am honestly really looking forward to its introduction. That said I am dissapointed at a few aspect, mostly on that gearbox. I have never been a fan of CVT, they are slow to respond and never bring out the full potential of the engine, case in point the Preve siblings or the Sylphy. Also my stint with the HRV on display at Mid Valley revealed a very clustrophobic rear seats, not to sya its not spacious, no my 170cm+ body fits snugly inside with enoough head and knee room, but the Huuuge C-pillar nugging down wont be a plesent experience for 6 foot tall homo Sepiens. Also I really do question rear ventilation as most of the blowers are directed straight at the unfortunate passenger’s face more than anything else.

Other than that, coming from user of the old city and an Alza, the interior quality is above average to say the least. There are nice soft touche plastic or faux leather on the arm rest and dash but some area(top of the dash, door sills) could use more of it. The seat could hhave also been fully leathered too. Exterrior wise, the LED headlights bring a more up market feel to the entire vehicle, its not a good looking car nor can I honestly say handsome, but is far from ugly. but it will certainly be a unique sight on its first few months of released. I like the hidden rear door handle thou.

So Paultan’s commentors most hated SUV of 2015 so far, I still have no qualms on the pricing decission nor the fact that its based of a B-segment platform, The Porsche Macan started off a Volkswagen Tiguan platform and that turned ouut quite well. Its a well balance little SUV, and thats what Honda makes well lately, a well balance car, thou unlike its competitors, theres no glaring points or faults that make it stand out.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:33 am

Try driving the Honda Jazz. Its CVT will surprise you. Flooring the throttle brings immediate response in a kickdown just like normal automatics. It does not labour slowly to the redline like other CVTs. Its not like the CVT in the City from 2 generations ago or from the original HRV – which was slow to react. I am not a fan of CVTs either, but have to admit that the one in the Jazz is pretty slick & smooth. Of course, for spirited driving, its not the best thing out there.

• AVH (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:30 pm

I see, I will try out the Jazz when the opportunity is here, I am much interested in replacing the Alza with this. Its a high car with a sub 2.0l engine which ticks the boxes. The Ecosport was disliked for the fact of the rear spare wheel and the 2008…. merely because it was a peugeout, and we have bad memories of the lion brand.

• Should bring in the 1.5 and sell below RM 90K.

Anything above RM 95K is consider tough for an average income earner in malaysia.

Even the 7 seater Toyota Rush at RM 95K is tough on their sale and honda will make a mistake if they price it fr RM 105 to RM 118K.

With RM 118K OTR, you can get a NEW pre-own Nissan Serena 2014 with 8 seater family vehicle.

• Almsot a HRV buyer on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I think the Toyota Rush got killed not because it is bad, but rather it was cheapen by the Perodua Nautica imitation. But I agree on the pricing which is a little ridiculous to be $120k, since 1.8L Civic is only 113.8k, when HRV using the same engine and still a lower segment platform.

• People always assume its a lower segment but in actual fact this car is wider and taller than most C segments like the Civic and has much more interior space. This is well into the C segment territory so the pricing is justified and it has higher spec than the base Civic plus more airbags.

• policeman on Jan 28, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Great! Another underpowered machine on the roads to slow me down.

CVT? I look forward to seeing these vehicles by the roadside. I’ll stop by to have a laugh and a selfie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 6:42 pm

With that RM120k price I could buy a Isuzu D-Max and Ford Ranger for a hell of fun!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Mike D on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Lady drivers will love this one.

• brazbuz on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Since our high spec will look almost the same like mid-range thailand model,how will our base model look like? Hmmmm

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:00 am

Prediction:

-No interior plastic
      -Plastic seat
      -Wooden dashboard
      -15″ steel wheels
      -No V-TEC
      -Drum brakes for front and rear
      -….?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Mannnn Jonathan Lee killed it ! The fluidity, the style, the professionalism… they all speak for themselves in your well-written review. I enjoyed the read, you have my dua tangan thumbs up !

As for the car itself… it hardly tickles my fancy; I don’t see what’s so great about urban SUVs (not even the Macan does it for me)… but I’d be stupid to ignore this new HR-V. I know this will sell in the boatloads here… ohhh all of those aunties in Damansara and Bangsar are gonna love this ! Mazda CX-5 and Subaru XV, you guys better watch out ! At RM120k, this HR-V looks like a much better buy, and it’s not all that small either.

• Regina on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Is the HRV 2WD or is it 4WD?
    Can you switch between the two?

• Simon on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:29 pm

The rear door handle is not very children friendly.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:21 am

seen the real thing at some showroom…. im praying mazda doesnt screw the cx-3 up…

• Go Further on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:46 am

i dont know folks, last time seen it clearly Hrv is like Proton Suprima from side even the size… juz only the front looks that honda tradition design…errkkk!

• Go Further on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:47 am

last time seen it clearly Hrv is like Proton Suprima from side even the size… juz only the front looks that honda tradition design…errkkk!

• Almsot a HRV buyer on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:55 pm

I still do not understand Why is paultan.org helping to jack up the price by setting the expectation that it will be ~$120k? $120k is way over priced considering CRV vs Accord has almost the same pricing when comparing similar engines (ignore the cheapest Accord version). CRV 2.0L and 2.4L are $150k and $170k respectively, vs Accord 2.0L and 2.4L at $150k and $169k respectively.

So, HRV logically shouldn’t be more expensive than 1.8L Civic, which is at $113.8k, especially since HRV is based on Jazz frame.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Hi there, the mentions of the price being around RM120k is taken from here: http://paultan.org/2015/01/06/honda-hr-v-oto-ad-appears/

• In this case did you take into account that actually CRV is based on the Civic chassis so technically it is a C-segment vehicle. If following your argument then CRV should not be priced higher than Civic 2.0 Navi.

So in this case the HRV will be the same where it is a B-segment platform however this car dimension is wider and taller than civic, has more interior space than Jazz and Civic, has higher specs and more gadgets plus more airbags than the civic 1.8.

In another example, many people say that CX-3 much better looking, drive, CBU Japan etc but is actually based on Mazda 2 platform but priced at over RM30000 more. How come nobody bats an eye on that?? Logically it should not be priced close to the Mazda 3 and CX-5 right??

So all in all the HRV priced at around 120k is quite reasonable if you look at it without the preconception of B or C-segment platforms. SUV does not follow said standard of sedans or hatchbacks.

• Almost a HRV buyer on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:00 pm

Hey Amen dude. The point is that, ignoring the segment and using the same engine, HRV is more expensive than Civic 1.8. But CRV with similar engine has max 1k price difference with Accord. Based on your argument, CRV should then be above $180k. Come try again.

• Rafique Akhmaddhi on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:32 am

Wish had 15 inch wheel for comfort and vinyl seat for easy clean.

• observer on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Amen bro, let’s ignore the segment and just compare the engines. HRV 1.8 is more expensive than Civic 1.8 ($114k) using the same engine. CRV and Accord with same engine for 2.0 and 2.4 price difference max at 1k. See the point?

• nescafe on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:17 pm

You missed to highlight the electronic parking brake!

• Yellow Peril on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:51 pm

I like the look of HRV n CX3. Waiting to see them in the showroom. The Ford Ecosport is ugly n the Pug 2008 shape is unusual. No wonder cannot sell.

• mystvearn on Feb 06, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Just wondering. Does this car come with a spare tyre?

• nice interior and exterior look..but the price still high for me..rather than ford suv

• Wayankulit on Mar 08, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Mosquito suck blood ( kena aedes), vampire suck blood ( no such thing as vampire adik, u watch too much horror movie) stupid fool, just comment about the car not about politics or who us sucking who. If u really want to suck mai sini abang let u suck my malaysian 7 inch sampai u puas. this is all about car, dont mess it up with politics and other shit.

• Komal on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:07 am

One thing in 2015 is obvious. Merdeka in Malaysia no longer means Freedom for Malaysians. It is only for those in power and closest to the PM.
    The HRV is a welcoming change in this climate. While we see some people and their supporters living like there is a billion dollars in their account, locking up of anyone who raise questions about it, the rising number of luxury cars like Audis and BMWs driven mostly by the chosen few in KL have forced many of us to look at whats left. The HRV is very lovely to look at. But in comparison to the CRV, isn’t it slightly squeezy?