GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra MD facelift in showrooms

hyundai-elantra-facelift-wm-2-1

Coupled to earlier sightings of the Hyundai Elantra MD facelift, we can now bring you (rather detailed) shots of the soon-to-be-launched C-segment competitor sitting inside a showroom courtesy of paultan.org readers, ST Lim and Sudonano.

The bulk of the change is mostly cosmetic with the front end receiving a set of reworked headlights, featuring new projector units with LED guide lights. A restyled front bumper and reshaped fog lamps round off the raft of aesthetic changes up front.

In profile, the door handles are given a touch of chrome while new shoes arrive in the form of 10-spoke 17-inch wheels, wrapped in 215/45 Continental ContiMaxContact MC5 tyres. At the rear, flashier LED combination tail lamps are featured in place of the pre-facelift’s duller setup.

hyundai-elantra-facelift-wm-2-4

On the inside, the oddly-placed air-con vents on the pre-facelift car have been moved to a more accessible location – they now sit on either side of the infotainment system. The centre console now features a darker theme for a more contemporary look while the shifter now has a leather boot cover for a classier approach.

Also new is a 3.5-inch OLED Supervision display in the instrument cluster. This being a facelift instead of a generation leap, no mechanical changes are touted with the two same engine options soldering on. A 1.6 litre Gamma four-cylinder mill pumps out 130 PS and 157 Nm of torque.

The 1.8 litre Nu four-banger, on the other hand, develops 150 PS and 178 Nm of torque. On the pre-facelift car, a manual and an automatic transmission were offered but the refreshed Elantra is touted to arrive with only the automatic gearbox.

Pricing for now is only indicative as we await the car’s official unveiling – set to happen in the very near future. Judging from ads on our sister classified site, the Elantra facelift is said to start from RM84k to RM119k.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• ugly steering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
    • George Abdul on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Really? but still look like same too me…. facelift OR headlight(lift)?

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:38 am

Too many pondans and losers here poking fun at Hyundai. Hello friends, Hyundai is the No 4 largest car seller in the world. Last year alone it sold I think about 8 million vehicles.

Are you telling me 8 million people in this world are wrong and a few faggots commenting here are right? 8 million vs 30 faggots?

Hyundai has done extremely well. Started just 10 years before Proton did and see where they are now. Proton, export pun tak ada because no quality.

This is the difference between Koreans and our Proton staff, who half the time, tidur, makan nasi lemak, lepak, minum teh 8x satu hari and have no focus doing thier work all the time expecting tongkat and government help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 12
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Yes, no doubt Hyundai did good job. At least they don’t suck tax payers money.

I don’t hate kimchi cars. Kimchi cars gave ppl a change to enjoy OK quality with lower price.

Of course, if got enough money, everyone would wanna get an Altis instead of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
          • Got money go for lexus, bmw or merc lo. Who would even consider toyota…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • richyoung on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Why Altis? Only 2 Airbags? 1.8l only?

• Macho Man on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:55 am

This is girlish & sissy car, not for ‘real man’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • yes, if u not driving toyota, u are also just a girly marco low class man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • steering not too ugly…i rather buy this car than mazda 2(small,overprice,they carry out led projector)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:34 pm

Urm this is supposed to compete in the C-segment class along with the Mazda 3, Cerato, Civic, Altis, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • Sakara Mazda on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Cerato terrible quality and design like shit.
          Civic even terrible,see the boring design also want to vomit.
          Altis design just ok but the spec make people pengsan or fainted.Nobody want Altis.

So,Mazda 3 still the best car.
          Skyactiv Technolgy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 65
          • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:16 pm

This Hyundai is everywhere on the road. But I don’t see Civic 2014 neither do I see Altis 2014 on the road. Why?
            Well, read on….

Nobody is touching Toyota now. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives.

A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, this Elantra’s DIRECT competitor, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.
            UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM139k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.
            Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
            Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.
            Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
        • But.. on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:53 pm

But..starting price is cheaper than Mazda 2! =O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Because you are buying a kimchi! You get what you pay for…

But you don’t always get back what you deserve (RV) after you had paid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • my point is b segment car price over than c segment car…slow la you!!

• Sam L0or on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 113
      • 666devil on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Wait r u referring to toyo buyers bcoz only they cannot afford a car so have to fully rely on toyo rv? Life and safety also not important to them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
    • Budin on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:04 pm

The LED guide light is essentially another name for DRL? Enlighten me please..

• Its different i guess. What u see in Kia Cerato is DRL. The one used in this facelift version is similar to what audi is using in their latest gen cars. U can take a look at audi’s latest A4/A5 etc & see the similarities. I prefer LED guide light.

• Sakara Mazda on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Not only steering,the whole car looks like ugly shit.
      Mazda 3 is the best!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 49
      • khaizan on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:56 pm

if this car is ugly, i believe mazda 3 as the copy cat from this car is more more worse….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • gaboi on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:13 am

Same as perodua.. facelift facelif facelift..

• Captain Obvious on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:10 pm

So… why should I buy this over a Kia Cerato?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
    • Nobody Stop U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • Captain Obvious on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:35 pm

You obviously don’t do any research don’t you…

• If I am not wrong. The baseline KX doesn’t have VSC but the baseline Elantra has it.

Anyway, since you’re the did research already, why not share?

So, why should you buy the Cerato over this?

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Cerato or this Elantra, you will show sour face when getting your next car.

I had seen so many such faces. GOod luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
          • Oh yeah that’s including YOU!!!!!!!!!

• good point but in the used market the elantra is generally cheaper than the cerato, so you can pick it up for less and still relatively new. Cerato prices still hovering around 80-90. Also i imagine some would not like the fake carbon trim of the cerato.
      But me personally i think the cerato is a better car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:35 am

Celaka cannot be traded in. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • roxas on Jan 28, 2015 at 7:38 pm

handsome just get more handsome ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Finally the aircond vent is at the right position

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • albag on Jan 28, 2015 at 8:41 pm

what’s the difference between LED guide lights and LED DRL???

• saigetsu on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:49 am

no. guidelight is just decorated light ony. not bright enaf to drl standard. u can notice nowdays pipul moving towards guidlight, like preve, sylphy ford ecosport (this one im not too sure. coz very dim during the day).

cool factor.

• Poor hyundai and kia cars in malaysia. Forever get bashed left right up and down by paultan fans. Mana Sam Loo and his toyota kingdom?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:27 pm

There is no need basher for kimchi cars. No one hate them (at least I don’t). They don’t suck tax payers money also. The fact is: you can always get better choices with your money than buying the kimchis.

Simple question: With such bad RV, when can you save enough money to get yourself to luxury cars (Lexus, Mercedes, BMW)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:28 pm

They bash and bash until they are tired, but still fact is Elantra sales is better than Corolla.
      Of course Elantra can’t beat Vios because many Ah Soh and Ah Pek still prefer Vios.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Cool now it comes with a proper Hyundai badge =]

• nice design, not like that fugly vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
  • therealmaserati on Jan 28, 2015 at 9:53 pm

Elantra and Cerato, probably the worst cars u can buy at that price range.

Totally no feel and feedback from the steering wheel. So numb steering. And the handling on the highway is absolutely rubbish.

Not planted or refined like a Civic at all.

Engine is noisy at high speeds. Rubbish cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 47
    • nobrand on Jan 29, 2015 at 7:01 am

New honda civic refined and planted? No its not. Its not even better than forte. test drive both and you will know it

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 28, 2015 at 10:43 pm

The new FL is look better than pre-FL with new LED guide light and projector headlamp. The biggest improvement of interior design is the aircord vent has re-position to the right place.

But the 1.6 premium is now priced at 103,888 compare to pre-fl same spec was 98,888. The 5k hike may seem quite a lot especially when come to think of its sister company Kia Cerato 1.6 premium is selling at 99,888. If not mistaken the Cerato has more features than even compare to new-FL Elantra with electric seat with memory and auto dimming rear view mirror. But I prefer the new-FL elantra over the cerato.

• Kyoshooo on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm

What a ugly JRD looking rims.

• Kyoshooo on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:15 pm

Fugly..I rather buy Mazda 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Yes, you are right.

You can’t go wrong with sushi cars. However Vios has better RV than the Mazda 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Kenny on Jan 28, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Sam Loor is a silly man. Every time talk about RV, Most of us don’t really care about RV when We buy the car we want because all cars are considered liability and unless you tell me I buy your Toyota at 80k and use it for years then sell back to you at 100k. In addition, Korean car owner are not poor and lazy (in fact’, they are rich cause they can afford to lose more if you want to talk about RV) and don’t tell me Toyota owners don’t take 9 years loan at all. Shame on you

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • gaboi on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:21 am

I have salary RM9K. But still using viva. My officemate salary RM2,500 & bought vios and paid for 9 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:17 pm

Such short sighted car driver, no matter they stick with their Proton/Kimchi forever.

Good RV enable you to pay less for your next upgrade. You think how many Mercedes new car buyer really fork out RM250k for the car? With good RV, he might just need to fork out RM150k only for new C class, just like buying another Camry.

With good RV, people get upgrade much easier (Myvi -> Vios -> Camry -> C 200). End up they pay roughly a little bit more for the Mercedes than you paying for your second Hyundai.

With poor RV, no wonder your car pattern is Forte -> Elantra -> K3 -> Elantra facelift -> K3 facelift.

Understand the concept, boy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
        • samstpd on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Vios and myvi are B segment, forte, elantra k3 are C segment, how?

• autodriver (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:40 am

Agreed. In fact there are more people who buy Vios taking 9 years loan because many youngsters who use more than half salary to pay for instalment. How many youngster sam loor think they can afford to take 5 or 7 years loan.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:20 pm

After 9 years, the Vios still worth RM30k, check out 2006 Vios at mudah.my then you will know. Then our buyer can comfortably upgrade to Altis/Camry.

2006 Hyundai Accent how much? RM15k only, walao!!!

It is easy to buy thing without brain, isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • paulnut on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:11 pm

If your son is only using the black proton saga. Please dont bash kimchi.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:18 pm

If you don’t even have an ounce of brain in your empty head, don’t simply create story here.

Junks (Proton and Paulnut) are not allowed at my house.

• Same Sam on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Apa nak malu kalua pakai proton saga pakcik Sam. Admit lah saja.
            At least you can afford a proton for your son.

• Accent driver on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:47 pm

But I bought accent at 40k less than vios TRD in 2006. Took a 4 year loan and since 2009 no more car installment to pay. I use my spare cash to pay my condo installment better than the vios buyer still paying till now for the old junk and renting a room in cheras flat.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:58 pm

By your logic, Viva owner would have already buy a terrace while you could only buy condo?

The bikers are all staying at Semi D/bungalow now?

The C class owner have to stay under bridge??

Everyone buy cars according to their affordability! Who knows if the Vios owner is not buying terrace, he maybe can get a Camry already?

So people drive Vios get a terrace, you drive Accent get condo? What to proud about?

You only show us that you can’t own a condo and a Toyota at the same time. Work harder plz!

Even Viva has better RV than your Accent unfortunately.

• Accent driver on Jan 30, 2015 at 12:44 am

Since when viva is a b-segment sedan? Shows just how much u know about cars. Might as well you talk about kapcai or bmx bicycle?

• Back in 2006,
          highest spec Vios = ~RM88K
          highest spec Accent = ~RM73K

Misleading lar you Same LOrrr…

• How come SG Model of Hyundai Elantra looks much better. They need to change the sports rim !

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:01 am

while im tempted to rebuke the fake commenter using my username, i couldnt help but agree with him

he may be smart like me, or a cynical like me.. but what he said is really true as i said countless time to many car owners, stay away from korean cars.. much more to this fake continental car wannabe … do ur self a favor and get a jap or a real continental

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:55 am

Please don’t use my username. I have been using this name for years. Have a backbone. Have some dignity and pride, go find another username and stop faking it is me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Real Meserati(official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:24 pm

I am the real deal. You two are imposter and shame on you two.

• masakmati on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:06 pm

For the same number of years, you are still dumb like day 1. I advise you to work hard at your toyota sales room, otherwise you wilk soon reach 53 yrs old nxt year and still a junior sales man like ccb Sam.

• Whatever said about this car, global sales have reached beyond expectations.In fact, I see it everywhere in our roads.

• Maserati(The Clone) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Korea or Japan is the best?

• Krasher on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:47 pm

At last they put the aircond vent in the right place.

• takNakP1 on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:08 pm

As you guys bashing over kimchi or sushi/sashimi (i like real sashimi better) the cronies & the corrupted up there are laughing to the bank.

After all the bashing & RV debate, end of the day… we the RAKYAT is the biggest LOSER whether you buy kimchi or sushi.

The fact we have to accept is that we are born in this ultra bolehland that is corrupted & rotten to the core of the earth.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:44 pm

All cars will depreciate.

Just that kimchis depreciate much faster and some of them cannot even be traded in

• jim labu on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:31 pm

This car got slaughtered in the Marek Drives channel on youtube…

• GOODYEAR on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:07 pm

appreciated we can have a clearer pic on the Tire with the size shown for each of your car review article. :)

• david on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:34 pm

I like the new version front and back light? any one know whether can get it in hyundai service center and install into current hyundai elantra? How much the price??

• Honda City , Hyundai Elantra or Kia Cerato is better ? Need your advice. Thank you so much.

• I’m planning on getting my first car. So what do you guys think.