Lexus NX launched in Malaysia, from RM299k-RM385k

lexus nx launched

First seen on Malaysian soil at the 2014 IGEM convention and with order books opening in October last year, the Lexus NX has just received its official local debut. The compact SUV, CBU from Japan, represents the Japanese firm’s first assault on the likes of the BMW X3, Volvo XC60, Range Rover Evoque and Porsche Macan.

The Lexus NX lands with two engine options – a 200t and a 300h option. The former is offered in four different trim levels, starting with a base 200t and leading on to a 200t Premium, Luxury and F Sport, sequentially. The NX 300h, offered in only one trim, brings the grand total to five.

Though it may lack the perceived badge prestige of its European rivals, the NX more than makes up for it with its looks. Even with the relatively mild non-F-Sport treatment, the NX is bound to cut quite an image on the road, no doubt thanks to its distinctive combination of full LED head lamps (halogen high beams on the base 200t) and Nike-esque daytime running lights (DRL).

In terms of wheel/tyre combinations, the base 200t models receives ten-spoke 17-inch alloy wheels, wrapped in 225/65 tyres. The 300h along with the 200t Premium and Luxury get 18-inch designs, wrapped in 225/60 tyres. Finally, the 200t F Sport gets the combination of five, twin-spoke 18-inch alloys and wider 235/55 tyres.

The NX will have more than enough go to back up the show with its turbocharged 2.0 litre, inline four-cylinder mill, found on the 200t variants. The new engine features a combination of liquid-cooled cylinder heads, an integrated 4-to-2 exhaust manifold and a twin-scroll turbocharger – a world’s first, apparently.

As a result, the engine pumps out 235 hp at 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm. A six-speed automatic gearbox transmits all that grunt to the road via an on-demand Dynamic Torque Control AWD system, resulting in a 0-100 km/h time of 7.1 seconds and a top speed of 200 km/h – identical figures are quoted for all 200t models.

lexus-nx-200t 56

On the Lexus NX 300h, a 2.5 litre, four-cylinder Atkinson-cycle engine generating 153 hp and 210 Nm of torque is employed. The ‘hybrid’ part consists of front and rear electric motors, providing 141 hp and 67 hp, respectively – resulting in a combined power output of 194 hp. Torque output from the front motor is 270 Nm, the rear is 139 Nm of torque. The battery is of the nickel-metal hydride variety. In place of the six-speed automatic is an eCVT transmission that sends power to all four wheels. Top speed is 180 km/h with the century sprint done and dusted in 9.2 seconds.

It should be known that the NX is available in front-wheel drive configurations in other markets, but only the all-wheel drive variants are available here at launch. Lexus says that studies are being conducted to gauge market demand for the two-wheel drive models.

As for safety equipment, all five variants are fairly specced up with eight airbags – including a driver’s knee airbag and a front passenger cushion airbag – ABS, EBD, Brake Assist (BA) and vehicle stability control (VSC) included as standard. The Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert systems are included on all variants except for the base 200t.

lexus-nx-200t-f-sport 27

Standard kit count includes a memory function for the driver’s seat (with auto reset capabilities), heated and ventilated front seats, automatic wipers and LED fog lamps as well as cornering lamps on all variants except the base 200t. What is available on all five variants though, are touch control front interior lights, electric steering adjustment which includes both tilt and telescopic ranges and paddle shifters.

Beginning with the base 200t, its seats are wrapped in synthetic leather while the dash finishing consists of a leather/silver film combination. It gets the eight-speaker Lexus Premium Audio system which features AM/FM, MP3 and WMA capability. Keyless entry is standard on all variants but the base 200t loses out on the Smart Card Key (a credit card-like key) system.

The 60:40 folding rear seats are manually-operated. The rest of the range, bar the F Sport, gets powered folding rear seats instead. The tail gate on the base 200t variant is manually-operated while the rest of the range receives a powered boot.

Lexus_NX_200t_Luxury_Malaysia_ 002

Moving up the range to both the 200t Premium and Luxury nets you an interior that features smooth leather upholstery. Wood dash trim makes an appearance here, along with a Qi wireless charging system inside the centre armrest.

The 200t Luxury adds on a 10-speaker Lexus Premium Audio sound system as opposed to the eight-speaker setup in lesser variants, as well as a sunroof with tilt and slide function – solely available on this variant. The multimedia system is also upgraded to Lexus’ Remote Touch Controller interface, which includes navigation and a panoramic camera (all-round view monitor, in place of a standard reverse camera).

As for the 200t F Sport, it features perforated leather upholstery with red contrast stitching on the seats and gear shifter. An exclusive F Sport instrument cluster layout with a turbo meter and aluminium pedals, along with scuff plates are present. The sound system has been upgraded to a 14-speaker Mark Levinson setup with Clari-Fi technology. Outside, further differences can be marked out from the inclusion of a full F Sport exterior dres-up kit with a mesh grille up front and a panoramic roof.

Not a mere aesthetic upgrade, the F Sport model also includes a sportier Adaptive Variable Suspension with so-called Performance Rods. A Sport+ drive mode is also exclusive to this variant. At launch, this model holds the largest majority of orders taken so far.

Finally, the NX 300h is differentiated by the inclusion of roof rails and the exclusion of visible tail pipes – the rest of the range has twin exhaust pipes. The 300h also has its exterior badges painted in a blueish hue. On the inside, the instrument cluster is the biggest giveaway to its eco-friendly intentions, while the engine start button is dressed in blue.

Prices for the base Lexus NX 200t begin at RM299,873.80, while the 200t Premium goes for RM331,679.80, and the Luxury at RM352,199.80. The 200t F Sport is priced at RM378,875.80, and the hybrid 300h at RM385,063.50. All prices are on-the-road with insurance, and every NX comes with a three-year/100,000 km (whichever comes first) warranty. For a more detailed breakdown of each variant, including all the exterior and interior colour options, head on over to Carbase.my. Also read our full test drive report.

Lexus NX 200t

Lexus NX 200t Luxury

Lexus NX 200t F Sport

Lexus NX 300h

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Only a real Bodoh will pay RM400k to buy a Japanese car. This car is nothing but a rebadged Toyota. Every single panel and part in this car is made by Toyota. Infact, open any Lexus, you will see the words, Made by Toyota Japan.

Does Lexus Malaysia, under crony UMW think that Malaysians are going to spend RM400k on a Japananse car? If you want quality and want to show off also, go and buy a Porsche Macan.

At least chics see you also they say you drive a Porsche. Half the girls in KL don’t even know what Lexus is. I asked one girl, she told me Lexus is a Biscuit by Danone and shoed me the biscuit!!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 168 Thumb down 172
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:28 pm

This car in the US is US$34,480 for the AWD. That is about RM120k. UMW Malaysia or Lexus Malaysia will get this car direct from their principal in Japan for much lower than this price as this price is the US price after Toyota of the US has made their big fat margins.

UMW Malaysia will get this car for about US$25,000 (about RM80,000)

See how UMW tipu you guys, The car is only worth RM80,000. Maximum tax in Malaysia with excise duty also 130%. How come can sell for RM385k?

The most funny thing is our Camry hybrid. Expected to sell RM200k. But in the US, the Camry Hybrid is $25k. Come to Malaysia (EVEN WITH NO TAX) can be sold for RM200k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 32
      • Might as well buy BMW X3 on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:14 pm

RM300+k for this crap?! I’ll rather go for the BMW X3. I test drove this car back in Shanghai and the handling is the NX’s weakest point. Lexus wanted to create a car that handled with all the dynamism and rides with all extreme comfort but the steering is motionless and the ride is too harsh with all this despite the addition of adaptive damping. Such a disappointment from Lexus..

It’s like Lexus has lost a bit of its identity, hunting the sports car driver without remembering what it’s done brilliantly for 25 years, which is making cars ride well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 46
        • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Very common phenomena I see everyday:

People who had no experience in Lexus before always bash gao gao…

People who drove the Lexus (even test drive) stick with Lexus forever…

Short sighted people here only think that Mercedes, BMW are better choice, they didn’t know the fact: In US, Lexus outsold all brands in luxury car market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 47
          • fg200 on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:50 pm

Lexus is not luxury, it’s overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 33
          • boomerz on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Once see I thought it comes from China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
          • Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Any Lexus, drops like crazy in price. Be warned. I was at a used car dealer and he was begging me to take a 2010 Lexus LS460L for RM130,000.

My God! What a shock I got. The car brand new was RM850,000. I even went to their showroom to sit in it to enjoy the massive legroom few years back.

So, are you rich enough to see your car fall from RM850k to RM130k in 5 years?

The same with this SUV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 11
          • BeemerFreak on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:54 pm

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2014-12-02/mercedes-cuts-bmw-lead-in-u-s-luxury-sales-as-final-month-looms

Please do research before talk. Best selling luxury brand in USA is BMW followed by Mercedes. Rubbish really comes out from dustbin like mouth…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 10
          • dugongx on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:57 pm

LExus only can sell in US where they are priced way below german rivals and given huge rebates. In Europe and the rest of the world it fails to sell at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
          • Robertson on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Famous in the US because it is so cheap. It is USD$38,000. That is kacang putih for the white man. But in Malaysia, RM380k is big big money.

But don’t worry, wait 2 years and you can buy this car for RM150,000. Lexus is truly the King of Bad RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 6
          • Stupid Stupid Stupid on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:08 pm

If Casio comes out with a new line of watches and calls it Bolex, and prices it the same as Rolex prices (ie RM25,000 and above), would you buy it?

You know the answer. that is how stupid Malaysians are. Toyota just did that. Rebadged a Toyota and called it Lexus and charged a premium for it.

Malaysians, especially Lexus buyers are so so so stupid. Ask yourself again, would you buy Casio’s Bolex for RM25,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 15
          • Bristol on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:28 pm

i dislike Toyota & Lexus, so no need waste money to own one. I’ll choose other brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
          • steven see on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:30 pm

Respect Sam’s comment.
            Sam’s son is driving Proton Saga, you shall try the car you bought for him, dont bash. Who knows after test drive you love proton after this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Jimmy on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:15 pm

United status of amerika is excellent in science, technology, economy to makan orang (big hand to control) and lawsuit.
            Why do we think the bases of their decisions to purchase Lexuses are most excellent if applied in our situations in Malaysia?

Mari-mari, lets berkawan dengan BMW/Subaru/(if possible, RR). Tujuans?

Selling almost-tax-free toyotamaks (with low cost-price compared to 3-series) at BMW 3-series price is called tamak iaitu greedy. The purchasers are blind and shameful, that’s how people look at you.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:46 am

The Lexus LS460L was not RM850k. Lexus Malaysia brought down the high spec version. It was sold about RM950k.

Now, it is junk status. People trying so hard to sell it for RM150k and below. Nobody want to buy because it is a 4.6 and that means high road tax.

That is the fate of all Lexus in Malaysia. When new, the leather smells so much. Within a few years, it drops so much, no other car’s RV can drop that much.

Unless you are super rich and money is no object to you, go ahead and buy a Lexus. If you don’t mind losing RM800k vanish in the air, go ahead buy a Lexus.

By the way, 5 years ago you put RM800k on a house, today, the house is RM2 million.

Always, always buy a 2nd hand Lexus. Never ever buy a brand new Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:56 am

The NX 300h seems to be a Hybrid. Does not the car qualify for tax free? If so, how come so much. That means there is no tax in Malaysia. The US price is Us$38k, so the car cannot cost more than RM150k.

Here, UMW sell for RM385k? (RM230k untung per car???)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • look how samelorr comment about toyota. he will condemn if anyone criticies toyota brand. always considrs the smart man drove toyota.the dumb is driving other brand. and gthe stupidest is driving malaysian brand.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:49 am

Safer to buy a Mazda CX5. Holds it value really well. Buy RM135k, use 5 years also, can sell for RM90k. Same quality Japanese car as Lexus. Lexus Malaysia will tell you no such thing, but leather is leather lah brother. Come from the same Lembu. You think Lexus leather come from special Fresian cow is it?

• Abu Sayur on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:20 pm

but Bmw and Merc will break down after 4 years lexus will last an eternity. Lexus is for the discrete, Bmw and Merc is for Ahbeng and show off. dont even let me start wil Audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 67
        • @Abu, You are crazy and Stupid, just like UMW, Toyota and now Lexus !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
        • I agree with your first statement but your second statement is extremely ignorant.
          You buy a Lexus, Audi, Bmw, Merc doesn’t matter what car at that price, you are already showing off to a certain extent, to say you buy a Merc to show off and say you buy a Lexus to be discrete is frankly very stupid. Anybody with half a brain would know a Lexus is not a cheap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
        • BeemerFreak on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:56 pm

You should have been known as Abu Bodoh instead. Suits u more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • kington on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Yes, no doubt that Lexus is part of Toyota. But i give my hats off to Lexus for the work they have poured in making the LS one of the more refined and comfortable car in its range, the GS with superb body control (only letdown is the EPS), the IS as the only fun car left in its class bar the AMG, RS and M GErmans and the ES being a very good retirement car for senior management.

Toyota is never a cutting edge company and they don’t mind admitting that. Yes they are out there to make money out of you but at very least give you a car that would last somewhat longer and CHEAP, so you use it like a workhorse without much regret. What amazes me is that over the years they have continued to use the dynamics of their cars to enhance its brand, not otherwise.

No car in Malaysia is worth the price we pay thanks to our country perpetual protection for Proton which will continue given how our politicians’ pockets are being filled everytime a car is sold here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Luxury market is largely about branding, glamour and desirability. Rock solid reliability and durability is never a major concern in the decision of purchase. If you are not having this mindset, you are not there yet, meaning that, you are not ready yet to own an S-class and an X6.
        Big towkays will not want previous generation S-class(even if they really like the design) in their garages in the abscence of new current generation S-class. It is shameful to own only the previous generation. Most of us cannot understand or imagine this.

• Jimmy on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:51 pm

Most towkays will rather be in a Merc than in a Proton. That’s why you see all Marques of cars in their garages except Proton. It is shameful to own even 1 Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • dont drag along proton la. just talk lexus.u dont like proton its okay.your money. but just dont talk about it. this is about lexus, so talk lexus la bro. shame on you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Jimmy on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Year in and year out I noticed junior Jimmys post comments using ‘Jimmy’.
            If you see low-class comments or calut or fxxx this fkkk that, those are not mine.

• panamera on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Bro, Lexus biscuit is by Munchy, not Danone. Ya with that price I would go for Porsche Macan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • 200t FSport RM379K or Evoque RM399K. hmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:35 pm

UMW are such big liars. Don’t know how much they are making on each Lexus sold. Based on the Camry Hybrid, I think they are making huge huge profits on this Lexus

You see, the Camry CBU Hybrid in the US is sold for US$25k. That is about RM80k. This is AFTER Toyota of the US has made their margins and after the US Government has collected taxes from Toyota.

If the Camry Hybrid car has no tax coming into Malaysia, how come in the US it is sold for (US$25k) RM80k and in Malaysia, it is sold for RM200k? Who is clearly making a cool clean profit of RM120k?

To make matters worse, UMW Malaysia will get the Camry Hybrid cheaper from their principal directly from Japan. So, if the price in the US is USD$25k, UMW will get the Camry Hybrid car direct from Toyota Japan for about US$20k being the official country distributor.

And they say the Camry Hybrid is in CKD format, the car goes even cheaper than that. Maybe right down to US$15k (about RM50k)

So, you mean UMW Malaysia is making buta buta RM150,000 on each Camry Hybrid sold?? (bear in mind the car is tax free)

I guess the same principal can be applied to the Lexus cars in Malaysia. UMW, how much are you guys really making from each car sold?? I think RM150k to RM250k clean profit.

No other car dealer in the entire world can make such big margins except in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 18
      • Abu Sayur on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:22 pm

And Naza and DRB never tipu? PUI la. Atleast UMW knows after market service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 48
        • kington on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:29 pm

Yes i somewhat i agree. Toyota service centres are pretty comfortable and clean. You do pay for it over normal servicing outside but many wouldn’t mind.

Lex service centres are almost unbeatable especially LEx Malaysia in Kota Damansara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Jimmy on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:36 pm

If you are most excellent in your field and people are looking for you, you just have to have a good customer service. But if you are not that good in your field, make sure you have the best smile and the most excellent customer service and PR. There are so many instances like this surrounding us.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Abu Bodoh cakap lagi, more he speaks the more he leaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Lafing mai S aot on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:59 am

Abu the next Sam loo.

• bujingyun on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

why do i think the rear is similar with mazda cx5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • horrible vegetable on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Actually the whole car shape look like CX-5. even the seats look very similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • advan on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Baby Harrier..recond sure sell like hot cake in Malaysia in next 3 4 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Lane Tamer on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Do they also make biscuits as side business?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
  • policeman on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Nowdays people see Jupun car no up. European cars FTW.

Lexus is just like Perodua I think. I don’t know. I saw a MyVi with a Lexus badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
    • LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Got Vios with Lexus badge what, must be Same Lorrrr’s

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Jan 29, 2015 at 6:23 pm

That is my turbo TRD vios la. Its as good as Lexus. Same Lorr is driving myvi with Lexus badge. I rounding old klang road area looking for ppl to race with.

• IrizX on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Same like Proton with Lotus handling and some even with Lotus badge! Those Ah Beng(s) actually think they’re driving Lotus! Syiok sendiri shj

• vimmer on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Compare p1 cars handling with myvi or T, p1’s lightyears ahead, the learned it from Lotus. Nothing wrong with the handling badge.

• gavincsy on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:35 pm

quality interior but boring as heck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Siao ah? I rather but Evoque than this. Even a recond X6 is more appealing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • Its still hard digest the front design grill and the nike LED design.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:55 pm

A kia sportage looks more premium than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
  • Hahaha……….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
  • horrible vegetable on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:53 pm

I wanted to get daddy to buy a 200t F-sport but when i saw the price, i told him a CBU mazda cx-5 was good enough for the family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Its a very good looking car. But that price is a big no. I’d rather get a Lexus IS250, though that car is in a completely different market segment. The IS has a proper RWD layout, whereas the NX (and the RX and even the Range Rover Evoque) are FWD cars, but with an AWD system that only bring the rears to life when there is slip detected. If not, its still just an FWD.

• Sammy on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Basically, the based model is kosong. And the luxury is priced out of range…
    Not that I care, because the look is really so so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • big tang on Apr 12, 2015 at 5:52 pm

Why do say the base model is kosong? The base model is pretty much has all the essential stuff.

• Nasilemakkopio on Aug 28, 2016 at 1:24 pm

Hahaha essential? For the price of almost 300K and it doesn’t have a freaking automatic wipers. Pergilah tengok kat Mercedes GLC dulu..some more GLC costs 326K only for the SKD model with LOTS of passive and active safety features….Lexus? Langar kereta pun boleh mati lo

• 300k???? crazy!!! thumbs down to lexus=toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Jose Mau Teh O on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:12 pm

walao eh you people. before been launched in msia, u ppl said “evoque sure makan asap from this”, “nx will beat macan” and many positive feedback abt this car.now launched in msia, u guys say “look like mazda”, “lexus is toyota”, etc. no wonder some big companies dun wan to open business here cos of bad-mouthed ppl like u guys. ini salah, itu salah. talk east talk west tokok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • cofee on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:49 pm

Sounds like Same Lorrrr..

• Most have no money, can only tokok and buy Proton. That’s why they’ll say Lexus is overpriced. When talk about Toyota, they’ll say no VSC. All they know is Proton is good. All hail the mighty Iriz

• lol…most people who commented not afford to get one..thats why la.hahaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Moo on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Porsche makan Lexus biskut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Hmmm I dunno if this is on the same level of the Porsche Macan…that beast is on a whole new level. This is on par with the X3 and maybe the XC60 though.

Looking at the spec, I’d pick the F-Sport solely for its adaptive suspension…going into corners @ high speed will be more interesting.

As for the build in nav and what not….overseas reviews aren’t the best too.

• ayooo on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Right, who in the right mind would say I dont want a range rover, porsche, bmw or other continental car, instead I want a posh datsun?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:50 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • zaizaizai on Jan 29, 2015 at 7:07 pm

what car? i only see amois

• Danny on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:44 am

How many of u came here for the amoi’s? Yeahhh, I guess so :-D

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 7:39 pm

I’ll give Lexus this, I was not impressed when I initially saw the pricing. But having explored the competitor I would give this a second chance. I am yet to drive it for now but it actually looks miles better in real life photos compared to the studio shots (I saw pictures of the NX on the test day they had some time back).

The thing is, the Evoque while nice has been severely cheapened by LR Malaysia, losing out on the oxford leather for leatherette in the whole car. The brushed aluminium is now just plain aluminim. Plus the new 9 speed is a bit ditzy compared to the earlier 6 speed too.

The Macan is going like hot cakes judging by the number of them on the road. But it is seriously overpriced, for what it is, heck in the UK a Macan S Diesel is actually cheaper than an X4 30d when comparatively equipped which is amazing considering if the 30d X4 were to come in to Malaysia it would be between 450-500k while the S Diesel Macan is a whopping 550k or so before options. The standard 4 cylinder too is way overpriced with the prices above 400k before any options and based on the launch specs (I did get a quote for a Macan 4 cylinder last year when it launched and it was mind boggling how the Macan when equipped like the X4 or Evoque would touch nearly 500k).

The X3 is a joke, while the X4 is not too bad but the interior is a bit meh in terms of design. The Q5 is really ancient now…

So on that basis, the NX may have a chance, though Lexus, keep up the customer service, and after sales when numbers rise, don’t become another Volkswagen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 1:21 am

Give Volvo a chance. For about rm320k, u can get the XC60 T6, top spec. You get 5+5+5 warranty, free service, on call package too, unbeatable after sales package.

You get the efficient yet powerful drive-e engine and Aisin 8-speed gearbox (this Lexus gets 6-speed lel).

You get adaptive cruise control and being a Volvo, safety is top notch. It even can auto brake at speed <50kph.

Got kids? Booster seats are built in. It's not sporty to drive, but Volvo's comfort is well documented, your loved ones would appreciate it. Yourself too when driving long journey.

Inb4 tokmoh Volvo salesman
      Inb4 Chinese junk

• AVH (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Wow, I didn’t know the comment section here has turned into a hate club ,guess must be a really bad day for most folks here.

As for NX. I like the NX, I like that it looks different from the European offering and its slightly more exciting, it has its own direction and aura. And for the price you are getting more than you can get if you went for the Wunderwaffe route. You ought to get so much more attention if you arrive in an NX than a equavalent german car. The transmission is slightly dissapointed as well as the perfromace of the hybrid. The interior also might be too edgy for some but having seat in Lexus in the past, the quality is nothing short of top-notch. The non-hybrid route finally gets Turbo power which is long awited and something Lexus is really lagging in the pack.

To sum in up, it is a great ‘alternative’offering from Lexus for those who don’t want the usual Luftwaffe. It is definitely more unique than anything from the West. That was what I would say if this is a no-bias comment, but to go with the trend here, I am going to sum it up by saying that this is nothing more of an overpriced shitty Toyota for mindless German-hating infedals. Rather get the glorious and Flawless BMW X3 or the mighty and ever empowering Evoque instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Boleh! on Jan 30, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Typical looser mentality, it is like when he can’t have a woman, he will try his best to tarnish her name, or even go to the extend to destroy her reputation so that other men won’t have interest on her as well.

• VWfanboi on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:19 am

Let the hate flow through these haters. 99% of them couldn’t even afford it anyway. Audi belongs to VW selling expensive cars no one bats an eye. Lexus belongs to Toyota selling expensive cars everyone loses their mind. All angmo licker eh? their butt must be very clean now

• turboman on Jan 31, 2015 at 4:20 pm

I like your sarcasm.

Just because its a lexus, its worth 5 pebbles and thats it. No mention on the comfort, quality, and its general ability to waft on our pothole ridden roads.

the comparison with bmw x3 can only come from somebody who has yet to be in one lately. I was given an x3 as a courtesy car when they tried to fix my car for squeaks and rattles, and guess what, the courtesy car rattled even more.

The quality of recent bmws especially the ckd ones leaves a lot to be desired. Doesnt really handle very well and definately doesnt feel like a quality product.

I hv tested the nx, and to my surprise not a single sqeuak and the suspension was very comfortable. Bumps potholes absorbed like it wasnt even there.

The power is sufficient and more powerful than that x3 2.0. Perhaps the 28i variant would be more powerful but thats another price level.

Bmw brand power is strong. Most ppl think they can do no wrong, until u hv owned one, especially the ckd ones.

So give the lexus a chance. If u are in the market for a premim suv. The lexus will trumps the x3 20i on performance, comfort and price.. Handling? Who buys a tall suv to do high speed slaloms anyway.

For those who are not in the market for this, u hv every right to drol after that Bmw to push u to work harder in life. Until u own 1 and be surprised by how much they can sqeuak and rattle.

• Boleh! on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Wow, so many green eyed monsters here! Pathetic bolehland Homo sapiens….
    “Aiya, why want to dream of marrying Sharon Stone, high maintenance, off light feel the same only, bawah also look similar, I’ll rather marry a village girl, bla bla bla…. Not that I can’t afford ok…?”
    Sounds familiar you people?

• takboleh on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:12 pm

You want woman who has slept with 200 men?

• Boleh! on Jan 30, 2015 at 7:50 pm

No, I don’t, it is because I can’t afford her, I admit it, nothing to be shame about… I am not a low class man to condemn her, or criticise her here, trying to say that she isn’t worth it, local girls are better…. bla bla bla….

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Between this Lexus and the distant Japanese cousin Infiniti QX, which is the better package ?

• Sparcov on Jan 30, 2015 at 8:31 am

Expensive, Very Expensive… not within my range.

Rm 300K will be better getting a bmw x3, or atleast a BMW.

Lexus is a luxury brand where the technology and drivetrain are coming from toyota. Lexus is a Toyota brand anyway or a luxury arm of Toyota.

Lexus are more concentrating on refinement and quality while maintaining the reliability of a toyota. Lexus parts are’t cheap to replace, it is sharing the same price tag with German rival. But, as a toyota and it is a japanese car, should be more reliable compare to a Bmw in long run.

Driving a Lexus is like driving a Bmw interms of its pricetag and whether it is worth to pay for it for a japanese brand?

• nabill (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:38 am

i honestly think this car was made with US in mind not the rest of the world , in the US they can price it as high as they want , they have a big market there and a HUGE following , and could be seen as an alternative to the equivalent offering from bmw,volvo n so on….
    and i honestly dont think the real buyers(which apparently are NOT in this thread!) actually associate lexus with toyota….if anythink , that toyota name will only make the case strongerfor lexus than anything else….
    oh , and i hate this car , looks odd jus for the sake of looking different,this is not called design , this simply is a mess with lines n sharp angles…

• zamer on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:35 am

daring people likes complicated design..because the are willing to be different.

similar to mazda, they dont do square designs and made it the best among japanese makers.(at least to us)

your statement seems you are on the other way round.

• That…… model………. :-P~~~
    fap fap fap

• flipper2uman (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:35 am

@nabill

I totally agree with you on this. I believe that Lexus created this car with the US in mind or more precisely the North American market in mind where the Lexus brand holds a high degree of brand recognition and loyalty.

Most buyers of luxury car don’t really car about resale value. In fact most of these luxury car segment are target toward PLC where the companies do not give a squat about the resale value of the car after 5 year.

Having personally driven and owning German, American marques myself, each of these brand have their own unique personal pros and cons.

I myself have owned several Lexus before and believe me the quality, the finishing, the refinement and the after sales service is excellent. Owning a luxury car is no so much coming to the technical parts like HP, torque etc but rather the sum of part of the car’s experience. As for the looks etc, I have always said “Taste is very subjective whereas quality & reliability are quantifiable”. So, to all that have called heckled owners of Lexus as “stupid” I believe that you have a very myopic view of the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:45 pm

this > bmw x6

• David Lee Chee Hou on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:24 am

Please do not flame. I am just writing based on my personal experience.

I’ve owned at least 1-2 cars of the following luxury brands:-
    – BMW (E93 335i, E60 530d)
    – Merc (W220 S320L, W211 SLK200K, R171 SLK200K)
    – Lexus (L10 GS250, XE20 IS250)

Out of all those 3 brands, I’d say Lexus is my favorite. I can backup my stories and history.

BMW’s are my least favorite. Both E93 and E60 had fuel pump problems.

530d had a lot of problems, especially the fuel pump. I believe it had something to do with the low quality of our diesel. I had the turbo failed on me several occasions, and engine over-heating when driving up Fraser’s Hill. If you’ve been to Fraser’s Hill, let me explain, it’s no fun having a stalled car in the middle of the road between Kuala Kubu Bharu and Fraser’s Hill. Luckily it was 10am in the morning, and I managed to call my son to pick us up. We waited 3 hours till the tow car arrive before we left, and our trip to Fraser’s Hill had to be canceled. 2 hotel rooms at the Renaissance were cancelled, fully paid for, non-refundable, for 2 nights. My car also had a lot of rattle noises, which couldn’t be rectified over 2 years. Sold 2 years later, lost RM100k on the car.

335i bought brand new from Ingress, and guess what? The car spent 6 weeks out of the first 2 months in the workshop for warranty claims. You can call Ingress and speak to Clement, I believe he was in charge of after sales customer services. Mention David Lee and my 335i (apparently they’ve only sold 4 brand new 335i in 2010, and I’m sure he remembers me. I’d bet that he’ll think that I’m a big headache. I’ve sold the car after 6 months of ownership and took a RM150k loss, I’ve only driven 3,000+km, and that comes up to RM50 per km driven.

W220 S Class was my very first ultra-luxury car I’ve ever owned. Purchased it when I first earned my million in share market, was very proud and wanted an upgrade from my old Proton Perdana. Car was purchased in 2001, and sold in 2005, lost over RM400k. The car also had a lot of problems, but they were under warranty and a Toyota Camry, so it didn’t bother me, because this car gave me all the attention when I went to board meetings, hotels, etc. I’m wasn’t a Dato’, and neither am I right now, but they’ve always thought I was one, greeted me when I got off the car as my driver parks the car. But this car brought upon a lot of unnecessary attention as I’ve noticed back then. Was worried to have my children travel in it.

After I sold the S Class, purchased the E200K, the older generation with 2.0L Kompressor engine. Throughout the whole 5 years of ownership (2006-2011), the car had never given me any problems. And that prompted me to purchase the R171 SLK200K Facelift (newer 1.8L Kompressor) in 2009 which I still own till this date. The E Class was sold for RM160k (RM200+k loss). The reason I still keep my SLK is because it’s worth only around RM140k, and I’ve driven only 30,000+km on it, it was purchased at slightly below RM500k from Cycle & Carriage. The Kompressors are very reliable.

As for Lexus, I purchased a 2007 Lexus IS recond for my son in 2009, and he’s still driving it today. Never had any issues, just periodic maintenance/oil changes/etc. The built quality in that car, in my humble opinion, is way better than what I’ve seen in both Merc and BMW.

After seeing my son driving the IS for over 150,000+km and the car was still running strong, I’ve decided to purchase the GS250 from Lexus Mutiara Damansara, from the sales girl name Irmi. She provided me with the best service possible. I didn’t even need to go collect the car when it was ready. After I’ve made the payment, the car was ready within 3 days, as compared to BMW and Merc over 1-2 weeks. Irmi arranged to have my car towed to my office doorstep, on top of a tow truck. When I collected my car, I signed a few documents, and Irmi, along with another Lexus staff, brought me out driving around my office area, and they explained to me every single function in the car. Don’t get me wrong, BMW and Merc does that too, but they’ve never delivered the car to my doorstep/office (at least they had never offered to do so).

The reason I’m tempted to write this review is because I’ve seen so many people flaming here, saying Lexus is just Toyota. Yes, Lexus is built by Toyota, but with a lot of attention to details, and with a lot of added luxury finishing. The leather seats, air-conditioned seats, even the top fitting of the car, the dash, etc. are way better than what Toyota has to offer.

Also, having my son driving the IS, I wasn’t worried, because it is fairly unknown, I don’t have to worry that he’d be kidnapped, or robbed, because lots of uneducated consumers still think it is a Toyota.

As for 2nd hand value, I know Lexus doesn’t hold its value well, but comparing my previous Merc and BMW’s, they all don’t hold value very well. No luxury products hold residual value well, at least not for vehicles. But to those who can afford to buy these cars, I don’t think they bother.

To me, the #1 factor I consider before I purchase a vehicle is RELIABILITY. A car should serve you, instead of you serving the car. What’s the point of purchasing a car when it breaks down so often?

And for that reason alone, I’d say Lexus is way above Merc and BMW. You have to own a Lexus to understand how great a car it is. I’m talking from an experience of owning these cars, unlike other comments made by other users, who only speculate and had no prove. I’ve given names of sales person and after sales service officers, you can call them to verify if I did purchase any vehicles from them.

And for all the above reasons, I’m already considering purchasing an NX, because it looks great, and I trust Lexus’ product quality.

That’s all for now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Mr David Lee,

That’s very interesting experience, thanks for sharing.

It’s very similar to what anyone would hear from most bmw, merc, lexus owners.

Bmw ownership experience almost always typically comes with quality issues and pain in the ass after sale service. One does not need to afford or own one to know these stories, it’s ridiculous to chastise anyone as being jealous, butthurt, lazy failure for just knowing owning BMW is not a breed of roses.

Merc ownership stories are generally pleasant. Quality issues do occur, but not as bad as what BMW owners usually suffer.

Lexus, is seriously underrated like Volvo. Perhaps because the badge is not as glamorous as a German marque, but i find it ridiculous to pay with your hard earned money just to please other people, not yourself.

Lexus quality and refinement are top notch, and most importantly: after sales service. You said it yourself, you pay Lexus to service you, and they did so excellently. You don’t pay to show off to arseholes you are rich, they don’t help you at all when your car broke down, losing quality time with family and lots of money. Ever heard anyone would say “oh sorry you had issues with your bmw just so i will look up to you like a God. Let me reimburse all repair costs, hotel costs, free tickets to Paris so you can have a great holiday that you missed.”, i think nobody would.

People who can’t appreciate these aspects that Lexus offers can’t possibly understand, maybe they never had to work hard to appreciate money, maybe they have inferiority complex that they need expensive toys to gain acknowledgement.

I think you’re set to get the NX, congrats and enjoy a good time with it. Cheers.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 01, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Jap cars are top on quality, durability and reliability.

Euros sell on performance but does not last, and usually haunts the owner with multiple workshop visits

• Turboman on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:51 am

David Lee.

I’m pretty sure i have seen you in BMWclubmalaysia outing.

Anyway, back to the point. I agree with you 100 percent on BMW ownership experience. Mine rattled, creaked and squeaked since day one of ownership. Dealers were not very interested to fix until i lodged a formal complain.

Gave me a courtesy car which creaked and rattled even more. Sometime i felt like its their way of telling me “semua beeemm ini macam punya” without directly saying it.

Tested this NX and to my amazement, zero creaks and rattles. Understood that it is a new car, but my 3-er started rattling from day 1 of ownership. So it is a fair comparison. Comfy suspension but yet you can have some fun in corners. Its not a soft wafty cadillac of yore.

Until BMW sort out their quality issues ( my guess is CKD models, but your 530d and 335i are both CBUs, so i guess it doesnt matter ), its a classic case of once bitten twice shy. But they will still sell in the millions. The brand power is too strong judging on the comments here. “300k rather buy a BMW”.

• Korean Fan on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Finally there is a writing that worth the read. I can write based on my experience in Saudi Arabia. Comparing Merc, BM and Lexus, Merc and BM has no place. Lexus also hold very good RS value. The main reason is because of its reliability. In Saudi Arabia, fixing car is not easy and it is not cheap. Lexus is the only semi-luxury car worth the buy.

I have experienced with troublesome car. It just doesn’t worth it no matter how much luxury or driving dynamic they promise you. We need peace of mind. Every morning you turn on the key, you don’t have to worry whether your car will start or not. IMO, Lexus provide everything, from luxury, affordability (in Saudi Arabia off course), and most importantly the reliability of Japanese.

• APKing on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:32 pm

But your Lexus ES looks like a camry. Might as well you just buy camry la. No point wasting money

• David Lee Chee Hou on Feb 04, 2015 at 3:50 am

Turboman, yeah I did join the BMW Club, it was all my son’s idea. I’ve probably met you, what’s your name?

As for the rattle, they’ve never managed to fix the rattle in my 335i from day one. According to Clement, it’s a common issue for convertibles, as there are lots of joints, therefore susceptible to rattle noises. I went online and search other forums, and they recommended “Gummy Fledge”. I apply them onto every rubber sealants / weather sealants part exposed after opening the convertible top, it did reduce the squeeking a little, but didn’t totally remove the annoying noise.

If you have squeeking noises, get a bottle of these, they’re magic. I still use it for my SLK, my son applies it every couple of weeks. But the SLK does rattle big time when the top is covered, and according to SLK World forums, it’s from the trunk. We’re still unable to solve that problem neither.

Another point I’d like to bring up is that, I’ve noticed many people bashing Lexus, because they just simply can’t accept Toyota manufacturing a luxury vehicle, selling at a premium. Let’s put it this way, why are there people out there willing to pay top dollars to purchase Audi, when it’s made by Volkswagen? And Most of Audi’s out there are FWD. I’m not a fan of Audi myself, but I don’t condemn the brand. It’s the way the market it. The reason I’m reluctant to purchase an Audi today is because almost all of my friends who owns a Volkswagen have mechanical/transmission issues. I don’t mind purchasing a VW/Audi if it comes in manual transmission. I’ve rented Audi A6 in Norway that’s in manual tranny.

Another example would be:-

Bugatti/Bentley built by VW
    Rolls Royce built by BMW
    Maybach built by Merc
    Ferrarri built by Fiat

We live in a corporate world, where the biggest sharks owns majority of the businesses. Just because they share technologies doesn’t mean they’re the same.

At first I was reluctant to pay top dollars for a Japanese car, but after owning a Camry and finding it to be one of the most reliable vehicle I’ve ever owned, and my son’s IS250 being also unbelievably reliable, I’ve decided to jump on the deal. And trust me, it’s probably one of the best money I’ve spent on a vehicle, beside the Camry and a used old Volkswagen Beetle I’ve purchased back in 1979 when I was still a student, that Beetle served me 12 years from the date of purchase, sold it in 1991 for RM800. I should have kept it, my neighbour bought one last year for RM30,000.

Nonetheless, the vehicle I travel the most in is a Vellfire 2.4L, purchased for only RM220,000 recond. But I’ve already spent over RM10k fixing the power door, failed twice in 1 year. Other than that, it’s a super comfy ride.

Anyway, again, I live by this motto when it comes to vehicle. A car should serve you, not the other way around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • flipper2uman (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:29 am

I share the same philosophy to. “A car should always serve you and not you serve the car.” I agree with your comment above as most modern car manufactures share common platforms and parts in order to achieve economies of scale while maximizing profitability for shareholders. The Acura brand in the US is also another example where the car is build by Honda and branded for a higher market segment.

It is true, owning a Lexus give the owner a Luxurious felling all over. One is assured the peace of mind that comes with the reliability all the time as expected of a Lexus. Also, the after service in the Lexus centers is excellent, almost to a point of a personal butler service. Third, the quality and the minor details in the finishing really embodies the Japanese Five S.

• David, Nice insightful comments.

I too have a fair share of experience with German cars and afew Jap cars but not a Lexus. However, I think it’s only after a person has satisfied his desire to own a(few) German/premium cars that they will realise a Lexus is on par or if not better. For example, when you reach that stage in life/wealth where you can finally upgrade your car from a proton, honda, hyundai etc etc, you’d be reluctant to fork out your hard earned money to give lexus a try over a BMW, Merc, Audi.

The only issue I have with Lexus in malaysia is that their pricing is maybe about 15-20% too high. I understand that their aftersale service is top notch but speaking on pricing, I find it’s too close to other Premium car brands for our market. They should seek to increase the volume sold at a slightly cheaper price point. This is to create awareness and loyalty

• To beemerFreak on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Lexus was best selling luxury line car in US for 11 consecutive years until 2011. The primary reason why they loss the position is because of Japanese earthquake,they shuttering the manufacturing facilities. Well for those students who studied in US,they will appreciate what is Lexus and the comfy of the car. For Malaysian, if you want performance, go for BMW or Merc but if you want comfy Lexus is my 1st choice.

• First Time Lexus Owner on Feb 14, 2015 at 11:19 pm

Just to add to all the positive comments above. We bought the Lexus hybrid 3 years ago as it was considered cheap because of the tax exemption. No problems at all with the car until today. It’s good to know that the wife is driving the kids around in a safe and reliable car. Plus excellent service at Lexus Mutiara Damansara.

• everybody is envy on the price… trying hard to pull down so all can own one.

just like how people trying to steps iphone by Apple.

o precious Lexus and Toyota.

• rizal on Feb 22, 2015 at 7:38 am

all about the stupid price – bmw, merc, audi..be it even toyota…
    dang u ajib & amah and their kroni

• lth (Member) on Jun 09, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Our car tax really too high.. :(

• LanGTEvo on Jan 12, 2016 at 10:47 pm

This car flash me while I was doing 160, so let him pass, chase him back at 200+, this thing have to give way, therefore 200 top speed is realistic. Not to mention, the handling is actually not bad for this size of a car (judging from behind)