Mitsubishi begins production at new Philippines plant

adventure

Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corporation (MMPC) has begun assembly operations at its new manufacturing plant in Santa Rosa. The facility, located 45 km from Manila, takes over from the recently closed MMPC factory in Cainta, Rizal Province.

Santa Rosa itself isn’t new, formerly housing Ford Motor Company Philippines’ manufacturing operations. Ford ceased production in the republic at the end of 2012, and so the shuttered site has been given a new lease of life as MMPC’s factory and headquarters.

The new plant – which has a workforce of around 900 personnel – will be able to produce up to 50,000 units per year, exceeding the previous 30,000 units per year capability at Cainta, which began assembling Mitsubishi vehicles in 1964.

Production at Santa Rosa will consist of the Adventure compact MPV and L300 commercial vehicle, models produced at the previous plant. The company also reported that sales in the country for the calendar year 2014 was 48,793 units, a 15.2% increase from 2013’s 42,360 units.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• look like toyota User.

• Ah Beng Kia on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Inb4 somebody says “Thank You Dr. M, father of other country’s automotive sector.”

Hello bodoh, you all don’t like, leave la. Bising bising only. I live here in Msia and love it here. Business is good. Every month collect so much rental my tenants are paying for all my new cars.

Instead of complaining and keep on saying crony etc, work hard and work smart. Then you also can buy many new cars like me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
    • MAI - What are you doing? on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Can Madani from MAI explain why we are losing billions to Thailand every month and now, to even Philippines!

Malaysia was on its way to becoming the Detroit of Asia in the 90s. But the AP system cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

We lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost. And today, PHilippines pulak are benefitting from our crony practices.

A word of caution to Madani and the idiots in MITI, Malaysia might even lose existing companies who are already CKDing in Malaysia. BMW, Mercedes, Nissan, Honda and Toyota might even close up their plants in Malaysia to open up in Thailand. Now Indonesia and Phillipines included

This is so worrisome. Despite Thailand having an unstable economy with riots and bombing, no stable government, yet car companies still prefer Thailand to Malaysia. Makes us wonder…..what is wrong with Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:45 pm

What’s wrong with us?

Shortsightedness two thousand degree, with glasses of 2cm thickness. Purposefully intentional.

• KarTiN (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Don’t worry, we still have local cars to drive around, and one of them got access to Lotus tuning still?

• Eew! Fugly!

• ScourgePrime (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Proton Saga BLM is far way better than this….thing

• Jimmy on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:58 pm

Mitsubishi needs to know what customers want and expect. Mitsubishi is not Toyota, let alone Mercedes.

For example, Ninja King can be smaller than Pajero with less safety features, but not the other way round.

C-class can be smaller than Camry with higher price and yet still be more preferable, not the other way round.

Pajero sport, ASX, Lancer, Mirage/Attrage all are smaller than their rivals, and yet not significantly cheaper, and the safety features are fewer. You need to give 6 airbags + ESP in all your models, at your current asking prices.

In addition, the designs are faulty, inside out, go and find out yourselves, ya top management staffs.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:31 am

u look at that car n no need to wonder why mitsubshi is dying a slow death…