Singapore makes changes to Road Traffic Act – illegal to use or hold mobile device while driving from Feb 1

singapore road

Last September, Singapore made changes to its Road Traffic Act, and new rulings brought about by these revisions will come into effect from February 1. One particular amendment to the rules concerns the use of mobile devices while on the move, The Straits Times reports.

Starting from the beginning of next month, it will be illegal for a driver to use or hold any type of mobile device while the vehicle is on the move. Prior to this, only texting or making a call on a mobile phone was deemed an offence, but changes to the law now makes it an offence to use or hold a mobile device while driving.

Which means you can be caught if you’re spotted fooling around with your mobile device while on the move – you can’t surf the web, do Twitter or Facebook routines or even download material, period. The short of it is, as long as you’re using a device in your hand while you’re driving, you can be charged.

Mobile devices

Specifically, the term mobile device constitutes any hand-held equipment that is designed or is capable of being used for telecommunication, so the rules apply to tablets as well.

Presumably, this law should apply to all drivers on Singaporean roads, so Malaysians driving about in the republic, take note. Penalties will be severe – first-time offenders face a fine of up to SGD$1,000 (RM2,680) and/or a six-month jail term, while repeat offenders are set to be slapped with a fine of up to SGD$2,000 (RM5,360) and/or up to 12 months in jail.

The ST report adds that the amended rules don’t mention wearable technology such as the Google Glass, but says that the use of such devices might be classified as inconsiderate driving, an offence that translates to a SGD$1,000 fine and a six-month jail term.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spongewai on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:33 am

that’s straight man, just fined not giving a warning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:32 am

Malaysia also should be doing that but our Government is interested in trivial things. BN has no focus. Small matters and trivial things they spend their time prosecuting.

I only wish our Ministers have 10% of the brains of a Singapore Minister. Here it is 1MDB (Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 13
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:44 am

AES people reject..do above law people want?..say govt oni want cari duit extra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:58 am

AES people reject because they charge the Government RM1 million per Camera installed. This money comes from our Income tax

AES people reject because the company is projected to earn tens of billions (not millions) per year on their portion of saman.

People reject because, how can a RM2 company just set up earn RM tens of billions per year clean profit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
          • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Proton even come with Yes 4G, they want you to play doda while driving.

What do you expect our government to do?

For them, more accidents = more repair = more money circulation = better economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
          • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Very true. PDRM prefer more accidents because the Investigation Officer and the bengkel kereta got special deal. The bengkel will always pay the officer handsomely. We all know how they triple charge the insurance company to the max and how the bengkel untung puas puas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 1:21 pm

that political party say..not rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Tong Kosong on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:20 pm

That’s true..
            Many told ME:
            Ppl hate AES due to the camera COSTs.

Nowadays, almost everything were NATURALLY TRANSPARENT- Rakyat can SMELL whois THE KRONI making Million for STUPID business. How much the at FACTORY price, delivery & installation cost exactly.

From those “Insincere Allegation”
            Talking about ROI for such BALLOON (Up to 1000% according to BN blog) – the END result might “PRODUCE INSINCERE SAMAN” – That CAMERA became MONEY MACHINE.

Nothing Wrong with AES – people worry about the HANDLING.

• Gilaaaaaaaaaaaa kaaaa mabukkkk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:35 am

To all the bodohs at SPAD, JPJ and PDRM. What are you guys doing? Everyday I drive I see so many people whatsapping while driving.

We all have seen this lately. But the big fat guys at SPAD, JPJ and PDRM just sit down and make more money. Please do something.

That day I saw even old lady got knocked down when young man play whatsapp on his phone when driving his car.

Its time to do something. The authorities are so weak. I think now, since smartphone came about, most accidents are caused by smartphones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • This law should be introduced in Malaysia as well. It is annoying to see people driving slow at the fast lane because they are too engrossed in their mobile phones.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
    • Boleh Settle on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:32 am

Malaysia implement any new laws, just give “ppl” make more pocket money for Raya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:31 am

You can apply any law but enforcement is a different story. Our PDRM is King of makan suap. Nearly every officer is taking money to settle the saman on the spot or make the saman disappear.

Do you know anyone in Malaysia who has NOT given money to a polis officer to settle the saman? I don’t. Everyone I talk to say, even if they don’t offer, the polis officer themselves will ask!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Painter on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:06 pm

You can start by reporting anyone you know who has bribed policeman to MACC.

Make Malaysia a better place. Every single step counts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:41 pm

I already did a few times but MACC say NFC. No Further Action.

What to do now?

• ayooo on Jan 29, 2015 at 5:15 pm

you are an idiot. I have never rasuah anyone simply because I never get saman or pulled over. Drive like a normal citizen, obey traffic law and police dont have any reason to pull you over.

• BettyChewThousandRinggitUndies on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:03 pm

My fellow Malaysian, we are all aware of this kind of driver. How to teach them a lesson and benefit us. I called it a Robin Hood ops. 1) You have a car that has a scratch or two, or minor dent. Old car need a new bumper? 2) Find this kind of driver, take their photo without driving with mobile, get your accomplice do this. find this driver on a nice car, 3) Overtake them and do the emergency brake. 4) Report police and claim their insurance for repair. Evidence: they holding mobile phone while driving, witness your accomplice.

Sincerely
      BettyChewLGEThousandRinggitUndies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Polis Macam Mana? on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:44 pm

What do we do if we see polis man in the car texting and talking on the phone with no safety belt?

So many times I see polis patrol cars texting on the phone and no safety belt.

I see all patrol cars they never wear safety belt.

• jacksonljs on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:50 pm

This kind of people need to teached a lesson or two (overtake from left very closely meanwhile continuously blast an air horn to them, slid back to right lane and ‘brake test’ right in front of them, see how they react).

*The technique that i mentioned is applicable if you are driving a big vehicle (or 4 by 4 pick-up truck, make sure to equipped with 2 air horns and front and back kangaroo bar)

• jacksonljs on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:59 pm

It should be read like this:

This kind of “people driving slow at the fast lane because they are too engrossed in their mobile phones” need to teached a lesson or two (overtake from left very closely meanwhile continuously blast an air horn to them, slid back to right lane and ‘brake test’ right in front of them, see how they react).

*The technique that i mentioned is applicable if you are driving a big vehicle (or 4 by 4 pick-up truck, make sure to equipped with 2 air horns and front and back kangaroo bar)

• while here in Bolehland….”tidak apa” attitude carries on ….lalalalalala….adult driving around wt kids on their laps…kids jumping up & down un-restrained wt childseats…. in the car equipped wt airbags waiting to give a heavyweights knock out punch if any mishap happened….”tidak apa”…its bolehland, its a norm…

Just imagine the HOO!!HAA!! caused by the public when a picture of celeb (if not mistaken Britney Spears) was circulate driving around wt her child on her lap! ..but here in Bolehland..its a common sight..”tidak apa” again ler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • My neighbor always do that, driving with small kid about few months old sit on father’s lap & drive, damn Gaya…..even with a babyseat inside the car also…

• change start with us, start with ur own self, ur family, ur friends.. come on Malaysians!

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:43 am

There is a reason why Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5x more than Malaysia’s GDP Per Capita. Singapore GDP Per Capita is No 2 or 3 in the world and we are down down down there in the GDP Per Capita in the Charts.

There is a reason too why Today Ringgit became the worst performing currency in Asia.

You know why? Very Simple.

Singapore Worker Attitude “Let’s work hard. Let us make our currency 2.8 against the Ringgit even. Let us focus in our work and only have 30 minutes lunch break. Let us excel”

Malaysian Worker Attitude “Rilaks la bang. Buat apa kerja kuat kuat? Kerajaan boleh tolong. Jom la, mari kita tidur kot. Rilaks la bang. Mengantuk ni. Jom pergi kantin minum teh makan kuih lapis….”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • cukurrr alhamdulillahhhh on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:03 am

syukur we only need RM20 or S$8 can settle any offense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Maserati(Official) on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Don’t worry. Even RM20 also sometimes no need. They even take RM10 also when desperate.

Trick is, empty your wallet quickly before officer walks to your car. Just leave RM10 inside. Then tell him you ONLY got RM10.

Sure he settle everything!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Omicron Tau (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:05 am

If the fine (SGD 1,000 x 2.68) is subject to exchange rate, will the jail term be subject to exchange rate too (6 months x 2.68)? This Sao Feng ah…

• jacksonljs on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:41 pm

it should be (since Malaysian drivers like to thrown inside jail and get sodomised in other countries, which should be), plus less Malaysian drivers on the road.

• isengard12 on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

What about using GPS on mobile devices? Waze, Google Maps? Any idea?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • There are holders on stick on windscreen or aircond air blower. Around RM 20 to 50

• Cutester on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:16 am

This law is needed in Malaysia. Many drivers are texting while driving.

And also please make turning signals on when turning a compulsory law as well. It is really annoying when you want to cross over from a junction and these drivers turn in without giving a signal when you have the chance to do so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:10 pm

A 30 mins text can be settled in a 3 mins call.

Are the drivers out of his/her mind?

• jacksonljs on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:38 pm

It’s either their finger(s) already broken (can’t use the turn signal when turning) or one hand holding a cigaratte while driving or worse, placed their right hand outside car doors (saw this kind of bastards countless times, somehow i always wish their hand get crushed by other vehicles while smoking since these drivers like to have their hand broken)

• ahlee bin ahtan on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:34 am

PAP can what…. SO CAN BN?DAP lets fight for it ok?

• Macha on Jan 29, 2015 at 10:56 am

Meanwhile in malaysia…

• rally_fan (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:06 am

in Malaysia, laws are not lacking.. enforcement is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • pelams on Jan 29, 2015 at 11:20 am

no matter how many laws malaysia has, enforcement is only 1%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • niterunner99 on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:13 pm

I don’t think any SG traffic police will want to fine SG$2000 to a MY driving a 15-18yrs old Proton.
    Reason being the car value is not worth SG$2k! Driver can pass the keys to police & walk off!

• Malaysia Gov, please learn this from SG.

• darkermarker on Jan 29, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Smartphones are getting smarter, but users are NOT smart (not just dumb, also becoming careless, reckless, insensitive, etc) when using their smartphones….

Smartphones aint gonna make a person smart, for sure.

• What good is law when no enforcement? Even seat belt also many never bother, ie police themselves?

• Seksyen 7 (a) Peraturan Kenderaan Bermotor ( Keselamatan Tali Pinggang Keledar ) 1978 [ P.U. (A) 378 ] memberikan pengecualian kepada sesiapa yang berada dalam kenderaan polis, tentera, bomba dan ambulans daripada memakai tali pinggang keledar.
    PDRM prihatin tentang keselamatan pegawai polis yang bertugas, maka arahan dalaman hanya memberi pengecualian kepada mereka yang menjalankan tugas-tugas kawalan rapat VVIP dan petugas MPV. Ini adalah untuk memudahkan pergerakan mereka semasa kecemasan berlaku.

• Cutester on Jan 29, 2015 at 4:54 pm

They take the rules for granted. Even off-duty without uniforms, they will still unbuckle the seat belts.

• ace78 on Jan 29, 2015 at 7:21 pm

That Peraturanan was made in 1978 where cars were not many.I don’t think it’s suitable for today’s traffic.

• Setsunaf on Jan 29, 2015 at 2:49 pm

I learned from newspaper earlier that Malaysia Traffic Police can fine you if you were holding the phone in your hand. Yesterday saw from facebook photo smoking while driving also get summon ticket, we are ahead wae!

• jacksonljs on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Smoking while driving, another nuisance for other motorists as well (hopefully their hand get crushed by other big vehicle, sometimes it’s better they have their hand broken than get beaten up into pulp if ‘accidently’ throw cigarettes to ‘wrong’ person or some motorcyclist fella)

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 29, 2015 at 3:04 pm

A good move.

Even if I’m just as guilty fiddling with my phone on the go, but I suppose with all these new cars with Apple and Android Link, its not difficult to retain some telecommunication and navigation functions while driving.

Someone is bound to invent a Bluetooth remote control specifically for Android or iOS…. if it hadn’t already been done.

For whats its worth, Bluetooth headset still pretty much suck, even expensive ones. Reverted back to using headphones.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jan 29, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Iphone got Siri. WP8 users got Cortana. Both can read incoming sms, make call & talk without need for hands to touch phone or BT device.
    Android got???

• CyberPatrol on Jan 29, 2015 at 9:43 pm

One of the ways to mitigate of endangered other roads users, I read about Ford’s SYNC bluetooth system. Otherwise switch to bluetooth access to SIRI or Google Now for hand free control

• Handsfree? on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:02 am

Would it matter if the device was in a hands free and I was poking the device using Waze?

• Hanif on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:39 pm

New car spec for Singapore:
    1. A pocket that can be see at front windscreen where driver will put their hp, equip with wireless charging.

2. No handfree device.

3. Old Vanilla In-Car Entertainment system. No bluetooth, no touchscreen, no online gps.

4. Offline GPS. No downloading of map during driving.

5. Waze, google maps etc is totally ban when driving.