New car prices dropped 7% on average last year, 20% reduction on average by end-2017 targeted – MITI

CPR1 examples

At the just-concluded National Automotive Policy (NAP 2014) status update, Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed claimed that on average, car prices dropped 7.01% across all models and variants introduced last year, compared to a 4.97% reduction in 2013.

He said that the lower prices benefitted some 72.5% of Malaysian car buyers in 2014, and that the aim is to gradually reach an average 20% reduction by end-2017.

The slide above undoubtedly raises a few eyebrows – we recognise the Mazda CX-5‘s RM15k drop as a result of local assembly (CKD), but we’re curious as to how the Honda Jazz‘s RM15,100 drop is derived. However, the previous-gen CKD Jazz petrol was priced at RM74,800, and its Hybrid counterpart RM89,900 – the difference is exactly RM15,100…

CPR1

With regards to the Perodua Myvi, the 2%, 6% and 3% drops probably represent the 2011 Premium to 2013 SE, down to 2014 XT and finally to the 2015 facelift. The Proton Saga‘s 13% drop of RM4,923 is likely derived from the difference between the 2011 Saga FLX Standard and the 2013 Saga SV.

Under NAP 2014’s Car Price Reduction Framework, MITI expects car prices to go down through increased competition brought about by the liberalisation of the industry, rather than the reduction or abolishment of excise duties.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• liessss!!!………

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 391 Thumb down 15
    • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Now Government is trying to qualify and lie. Najib promised 30% reduction on ALL car prices BUT now, they are trying to putar belit. Blatant way to cheat Malaysians again.

This is how the Government again, trying to putar belit their words and trying to cheat the 30 million Malaysians.

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin last year quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM13,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures say that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM13,000 in 6 years time?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 316 Thumb down 18
      • Najib on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:19 pm

If Proton close shop, then all cars can drop 50%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 252 Thumb down 12
        • 1Malaysia on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:11 am

Looks like most people agree with Najib to close Proton. The people have spoken. So Proton, what are you waiting for?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 8
          • Global Prices vs Msia Prices on Jan 31, 2015 at 3:19 pm

The recent car prices issue made me curious. Having been totally unaware of such huge discrepancies between Malaysian and world prices, I surfed the Internet to see what real world car prices were. I was shocked.

These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.

Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.

The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.

I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.

And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.

Below are car prices based on exchange rate of USD 3.0 as it was 2 years ago when I wrote my article. These Malaysian car prices were also 2 years ago, so, it is fair to use the exchange rate of 3.0. Malaysian car prices infact have risen the past two years.

Mainstream car prices VS Malaysian Prices

Honda Accord 2.4 US$21,480 (RM64k)vs RM180k

Honda CRV 2.5 US$22,495(RM67k) vs RM180k

Honda Civic US$15,955 (RM47k)vs RM115k

Toyota Altis US$16,130(RM48k)vs RM139k

Toyota Camry 2.5 US$22,055(RM66k)vs RM180k

Kia Sorento US$23,150 (RM69k)vs RM160k

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57k) vs RM140k

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895 (RM62k) vs RM150k

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 US$16k (RM50k) vs RM118k

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109k) vs RM300k

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149k) vs RM420k

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157k) vs RM600k

BMW X5 US$47,500 (RM142k) vs RM580k

Mercedes E350 US$51,000 (RM153k)vs RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XJ US$73,700 (RM221,000) vs RM900k

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850 (RM146k)vs RM580k

Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.

Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.

Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 1
          • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:09 am

Closing Proton would make no difference at all. Do you think the government wants to give up the tax income? The money goes to the G, not Proton. Proton is just a scape goat, and they provide a good and affordable alternative.

Keep in mind that the specs of the cars can be different. Yes, you can buy say a VW Touran for 80k in Europe. But once you spec it like the one they sell in Malaysia it is around 150k. Before Malaysian taxes.

Also car prices in the US are listed without tax. But Americans have to pay tax. Because it is different from state to state and town to town they don’t list the tax in the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 26
        • labix7 on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:11 am

all car distributor here is owned by cronies … so, if proton close shop, then they will increase more price la. Bcoz no more competition & no more option for buyers. Make more easy for them to squeeze govt & user.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
          • kadajawa on Jan 31, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Wrong. Proton was never in competition, hence getting rid of Proton will mean all carmakers are in the same playing field which give more options to the buyers at a lower price point. Look at Langkawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Gargantia on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:26 pm

Bolehland government departments that manage by those Cronies Rights… By 2020 Ringgit currency will drop and cronies will have more Excuse to show and keep lying to uneducated Rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 5
        • Minyak Pun Kena Tipu on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:25 am

Even our oil also we kena tipu. Based on global oil prices, our oil should be around RM1.40 per litre. That is after sales tax is imposed.

But all oil producing countries never charge sales tax on their oil for sale to the rakyat. So by right, our Ron 95 should be RM1 (if got no sales tax)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
          • The Truth on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:33 am

“But all oil producing countries never charge sales tax on their oil for sale to the rakyat.” – WRONG. Why dont you google. There are oil producing countries (e.g. UK) that charges tax on the sale of oil to their citizens. Get your facts straight.

• Najib on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Its already been reduced by 30%. Eg. Camry Hybrid RM200k. Camry 2.0 RM140k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 114
        • wayangkulit on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:52 am

Problem is new place dont want him, deem incompetent

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
        • The Truth on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Know why you get thumbs down more ah? First, Saga is reduce spec, not reduce price. So don’t tell me they are reducing the price. Secondly, your are another case of “You tak suka, you keluar”. It’s not that we don’t love Bolehland, we do. We just hate blood sucking company like Proton that loves to hide behind the NAP to screw the car and Malaysia economy. We want a better future for our children and the country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
          • dugongx on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:39 pm

I think perodua is even bigger bloodsucker from the prices they charge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Hey Ah Beng, i don’t like Bolehland, your F*CKING FATHER give me money to move to a different country kah?
          Give us money we move LAH, lampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • elyn lee on Jan 31, 2015 at 4:50 pm

muka tebal punya jib gor. Really shame on him !!

• Janji Capati on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Comparing high spec and low spec = Price reduced.

MITI thought we all fools kah? Bangang betul.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 7
      • Najib on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:09 pm

If Proton close shop, then all cars can drop 50%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 15
        • frossonice on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Yes, because after all Proton is the one that impose Excise duty on vehicle in Malaysia, not Customs Department. Proton is the one that impose sales and import tax on vehicle in Malaysia, not Customs.

If Proton close shop, all that taxes will be gone since they are no more to collect tax. Customs can always goyang kaki. Hooray!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 38
          • Rakyat on Jan 30, 2015 at 8:00 pm

Funny lah you. No wonder Malaysians are buying expensive cars due to the twisted logic these Proton supporters. When Proton close shop, all cars will have the same tax structure, of couse no more different tax structure to protect the national carmaker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:18 am

You mean all cars will have high taxes. The government needs the tax income. Not Proton.

• @kadajawi

Yes, G needs tax income but Proton needs protection. Without protection, the price won’t be as high currently

• Bruise on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:45 am

Yaa…if Proton close shop, car price drop 50% then tol fee naik 150%, petrol price naik 200%, road tax naik 100%, parking fee naik 250%, every car enter to city have to pay entry fee, landed house only can own 2 units car, 3rd car have to more and every car only can own 5 yrs, later need send to scrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
          • Cruise on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:37 pm

Where you get those numbers from, pluck from the air ah? Whether Proton close shop or not, petrol price will not be affected as it’s now based on market price which is getting cheaper. So stop giving false information based on your imagination

• London is Owned by Malaysians! on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Government got no money now. All sapu left right and center. Now on the verge of going bankrupt. Now I see more clearly!

When I was buying a property in London recently, I had to go to the Land Registry to sort out some matter.

The guy at the counter told me, half of London is owned by Arabs and Hong Kong people (China included) and the other half is owned by Malaysians.

He was surprised and told me, it is mainly government servants from Malaysia who buy mult-imillion pound West End London properties. He said some don’t just buy one or 2 but a few each.

I asked him whether it could be EPF as EPF has invested in London, he said he knew about EPF investing in London but these were individuals buying into London West End property.

I wonder how a government servant in Malaysia can buy a 1.5 million pound apartment in London (average price). And that also, some buy a few!

I really want to join Government now. Leave my job as a Doctor and join Putrajaya. If Government servants like this, I really don’t know about politicians. Maybe castles and ranches!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 17
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Good job PROTONians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
        • P1NakSonglap on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Did he mention anything about Proton? Oh… wait, you mean those properties are bought by Proton cronies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Dear MITI,

We are talking about price reduce, not specs reduce. Stop giving these bullcraps.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 5
    • satekj38 on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:52 pm

this is the typical case of “Ka Ki Kong, Ka Ki Song”!!!
      or cakap sendiri, syok sendiri!!!
      just manipulate the figures and claim the achievement???
      what the %*#@…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 5
    • aaron on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:58 pm

This article is ultimately absurd. So they said Mazda CX-5 dropped a staggering RM15k, but what they never tell us it’s because they CKD-ed it (locally assemble). And what have we lost in CKD trim? Sunroof, BOSE premium sound system and the worst part is finishing quality. As an existing CX-5 owner, I can assure you the quality of CKD is miles away from CBU quality. Again bullshit MITI is trying to use gimmick to lie to us Rakyat Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 9
    • Next time they will show you a Toyota Camry that the price reduces 20%. (with no airbags, steel rim, no power steering, no VSC/ABS,ESC, tranction control and so on). And called that janji ditepati!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 5
      • Same Same Lol on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:01 am

Yes, same like Suprima to Suprima Standard, where they take out VSC. Next they’ll come out with KO Punch CVT and reduce the price by 30% and call that SSV(Super Sucking Value)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Honda City S RM75,800
      Honda City V RM90,800

Then the government can proudly announce car price drop 16.15% (RM15,000) next year.

Just game of figures.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:37 pm

I have 6 pairs of spectacles in use, I don’t know where I put them.
      Naj can just go to UMW and he can see 21.5% drop in Vios price, today. TRD Sportivo stripped off to J manual.

Boss, you can just sit and enjoy, we can show you the results. No need to go to the field and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • One word – CRAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Saga price drop is bullcrap. For every variant, they reduce the spec. Reduce until now, tin kosong. VSC also don’t have. VSC only reserve for “high end” Proton, which quality is not high end at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • Betul2 celaka punya MITI. Thats what you get when a government department is headed by incompetent assh***. If Malaysia continue this way habisla. What does lies begets? Country gonna advance towards its goal this way?

Please step down Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohammed. You just caused MITI the most important asset. Credibility and repo.

Instead of plain jane lies like this, shd have just said the target is not yet met, and describes the challenges faced and plans going forward.

Why some Malaysian leaders just have no humility and integrity…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Lane Tamer on Jan 31, 2015 at 3:33 pm

This is the biggest lie of our government in history. The price reduction was because of old stocks and lower spec, where got really price reduction? Don’t lie to the mighty Rakyat, or else bad consequences…

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Kepala hotak kau????

Reduce accessories such as reverse camera, auto cruise memang la reduce price !!!!!

Better sell at RM 340 and give only 1 tayar and declare your car price has reduced…..

• cx5 drop due to CKD….common sense la…aduh!!!

this is not the drop we want to see (facepalm)

another group of overpaid gov staff

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 6
    • Where is Najib's Promise? on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:17 pm

Can Madani from MAI explain why we are losing billions to Thailand every month and now, to even Philippines!

Malaysia was on its way to becoming the Detroit of Asia in the 90s. But the AP system cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to share the pool of APs with the cronies and they knew 90% of all APs go to the cronies. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

We lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that.

Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost. And today, PHilippines pulak are benefitting from our crony practices.

A word of caution to Madani and the idiots in MITI, Malaysia might even lose existing companies who are already CKDing in Malaysia. BMW, Mercedes, Nissan, Honda and Toyota might even close up their plants in Malaysia to open up in Thailand. Now Indonesia and Phillipines included

This is so worrisome. Despite Thailand having an unstable economy with riots and bombing, no stable government, yet car companies still prefer Thailand to Malaysia. Makes us wonder…..what is wrong with Malaysia?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 5
    • aaron on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:01 pm

Wah, Volkswagen announced price increase for all their lineup, why MITI never announce here? Takut ke? Moronic MITI.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
  • so, where is the government effort to reduce the car price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 4
    • thepolygonal on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:02 pm

None I guess… it says so at the end

“Under NAP 2014’s Car Price Reduction Framework, MITI says car prices are expected to go down through increased competition brought about by the liberalisation of the industry rather than the reduction or abolishment of excise duties.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • dugongx on Jan 30, 2015 at 11:35 pm

And still we have so many dreamers thinking car prices will drop due to tax reduction once proton bungkus. It has already been stated clearly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • IrizX on Jan 31, 2015 at 12:51 am

Yes, Proton will never bungkus due to G’s protection, hence car prices will never drop. The people can only dream

• it’s mind boggling on how they manipulate the price reduction….
    comparing CBU with CKD and even comparing petrol car with hybrid is beyond absurd….
    they think people are so stupid is it….
    reduce the tax and duty la…
    not selling it cheaper by taking take out ‘toys’ from existing models and call it price reduction.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 5
    • Wahai Orang Orang Kampung!! on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Wahai orang-orang kampung. Sedarlah. Musuh anda bukan kaum lain tetapi kerajaan anda sendiri. Buka mata anda sendiri dan tengok siapa sebenarnya merompak anda?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 7
      • U pun kena sedarlah cik. Buka mata anda sendiri dan tengok baik-baik. Semua org Malaysia yang bodoh kat situ dan sini.

• Taib - Worth US$20 billion on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Just Taib from Sarawak alone is worth en estimated US$20 billion. So, you can imagine others. That is why country got no money.

Just one person alone can have 20 billion USD. That is RM80 billion. Just one person.

This is why we pay high car prices. Too feed the fat cats!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
  • kl fella on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:44 pm

mouthpiece of the government.. take it at a pinch of salt.. anyway there are so many factors contributing to the reduction in prices like what Jonathan mentioned, variants, CKD, reduction in safety specs etc, we’ll never know whether is it thanks to the Gov or the manufacturers for the “reduction” in prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • 250,000 Suffer on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Pity the flood victims. 250,000 people lost everything they owned. Every single item was destroyed. Now, they struggle to build their lives. All their cars destroyed. As we know, Insurance also cannot claim. Insurance company say Act of God and cannot claim.

How they going to build when the Government still screws the rakyat with high car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:46 pm

ok, we trust you (NOT)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
  • iqbal1987 on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:47 pm

ini adalah projek cuba membodohkan rakyat dan pengguna..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 7
    • Jehki on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:14 am

Satu lagi projek Barisan Nasional! Rakyat diperbodohkan, pencapaian dipermain-mainkan! Well done Najib!

• itu camry hybrid mau jual sampai rm200k tu patut ambil tindakan, dah la benefit from tax tapi nak jual harga melampau.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • UMNO Pandai Tipu on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:48 pm

MAI and MITI, please feel sorry for us Malaysians. I don’t know why you like to see Malaysians suffer with high car prices. After all, it is mainly your own people that is suffering. Don’t you feel sorry for your own people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • Crap BS. Govt on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Huh? Sure you’re born and live in Malaysia.? If you have not been living under a rock or in a cave for the pass 7 years, by now everyone already knows that they don’t care shit about you and me. Only their own benefits and moneies in their pockets.

• kadajawa on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Proton please close shop, why want the rakyat to suffer? See how much Camry Hybrid is selling in Langkawi. Proton dah lah benefit from G tapi nak kereta lain mahal gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Krn Toyota mau untung 200% utk setiap kerete jual.
      Itu Camry Hybrid cost asal RM 33400 shj, tapi lepas G tax 100% sudah jadi RM 66800, Toyota mau untung 200%, RM 66800 + 200% = RM 200400.

• kadajawa on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:45 pm

If Toyota mau untung, why Langkawi so much cheaper ah? Toyota tak mau untung di Langkawi kah?

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:49 pm

You must be joking. Do you think Malaysians are stupid? Compared what we earn, car prices are very expensive. We earn little because corruption has caused the country to be a low paying country. Look at Singapore, GDP per Capita is 5x more than Malaysia. What this means is that if Mr X is earning RM5000 in Malaysia, the same person, doing the same job in Singapore, earns RM25,000. Oh, btw, a BMW 528i in Malaysia is RM420,000. In Singapore, it is SGD250,000. Where do you think car is cheaper than?

Come on MITI, stop being like MAI and play with figures and try to cheat Malaysians. Our cars are still 3x the global prices for cars. Toyota Camry 2.5 CBU in the US with 9 airbags and CBU Japan is sold for US$22,000. In Malaysia, the same car with 2 airbags and lower spec and CKD Made in Malaysia, is sold for RM180,000.

So, what lies are you telling us? Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised us 30% reduction in car prices. Even reduced 30% also, our car prices are still more expensive than global car prices.

Please Madani from MAI and MITI, please don’t treat Malaysians like fools. We earn little because corruption has caused our pay packet to be so small. And now, double whammy, you whack us with expensive car prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 7
  • PocketIn on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Sure drop in price,manufacturer is stripping off parts! Pay peanuts, you get monkey

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
  • Serba boleh on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:53 pm

I doubt any reduction in car prices will be achieved without any changes to the excise duty structure.

We’ve also seen some car manufacturers actually increasing their price every year so what gives?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Najib on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:53 pm

How can the government so stupid and compare the price of hybrid jazz and petrol jazz!? Purely idiot!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 3
  • GolSendiri on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:55 pm

hurmmm…

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
  • Paultan should make your own comparison. Lets see if this claim is true. Only need to look at popular cars, compare variants with the same spec as the year before. I suggest :
    1) Myvi
    2) Saga
    3) Vios
    4) City
    5) Jazz
    6) Almera

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
  • slk3879 on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Can compare like that ha? They really think that all Malaysian are retards?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • Sugar Glider on Jan 30, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Reduction due to downgrade i.e Saga FLX to Saga SV. it is not reduction that we want! we want abolishment of excise duty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
  • Operation-Manager (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Those musang & i-mani no need to kencing us. nowadays msian learn mathematics at school.
    We know how to calculate the most basic +-×÷, but suprised those musang i-mani failed on calculation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • LLembu on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Our new car life span also cut by 30%.
    Estimate from 10yrs drop to 7yrs.
    5yrs Manufacturing warranty with term & condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:03 pm

F***ing stupid la these clowns. Car manufacturers should put out a public statement to clear these shyt that the government is lying to the public.

How they made the price better? By doing some cost cutting measures and getting more efficient in making the cars. Some brands even cut the spec list to drop the price which isn’t right to begin with.

Best example is VW which just increase the price of almost their entire line up bar ONE model.

All in all the government did jackshyt to help investors to bring down the price.

Now time to throw stones at those who support the current ruling party.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 5
  • aPa nama on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Old news paper lama

• By the way they manipulated the numbers, I don’t think they are sincere to reduce the car prices ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • Car price reducing,big announcement, orang kampong clap clap .but wait pls now v r educated n hi thinking rakyat.gone r da days when something announce n raktay blindly clap n accept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • protonsucks on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:14 pm

lanjiao la stupid gomen, u think we stupid is it!! like this i also can say…. AXIA E price is 24k, AXIA advance is 42k, oh look gomen, axia naik harga 18k. KERETA HARGA NAIK 75%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Maserati(Official) on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Inept fools. One can only scratch his head in wonder as to why intellectually challenged people are allowed to run these regulatory bodies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Really stupid

• Macho on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Are you blind? Don’t you see the government effort through promoting Malaysia assembled car unit to all the cars producer? That’s the way ,we got the price reduction… Ungrateful brat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
  • Where got reduction.

They will give the reduction start from 2016,2017 and 2018 during the GE 14 and tell the stupid BN supporter :-

KERAJAAN BN TELAH MELAKSANAKAN “JANJI YANG DITEPATI”

• diperbodoh on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Kronies prosper, rakyat suffer. The so called price reduction by 2017, if any, will have already been offset by the rising cost of living.

• So for all foreign car makes, intro CBU model first, then intro CKD = price drop

For local car makes, intro standard and premium models first, then intro SV/SE barebone models = price drop

Price drop everywhere
    Malaysia boleh!!!!

• along on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Its very easy actually.

Nobody can easily take your money in your pocket if u did not let them.

We are the customer. Let stop buying any new cars for say 2 years. Then when stock piling and not moving, then we can see whether price drop of not.

Let do this together, and we actually will control the car prices.

When the buying stop, the killing can too.
    When we work together we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • jacksonljs on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Be it ‘capalang’ Plotong and Perutdua or ‘almighty’ Toyota, stop buying or hold purchase of any new cars for certain duration (say 1 or 2 years) unless there’s really no choice.

If everyone can do this, probably either the price could be drop (due to throwing price) or at least a better spec car (somehow i prefer VSC/ESC to be included in all new cars, even baseline spec rather than drastic price drop)

• lets do this on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:14 pm

yeah we can actually do this. lets start something and tell people to stop buying new cars, regardless of their makes for just 1 to 2 years, lets say. then the prices will drop or at least better equipment. in this condition, people really need to act. lets do this. any idea how to spread the words? seriously

• Base model on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Price reduction should be reflected on the base variant of each model. Tat only will benefit the public, not reducing frm the highest variant of the model

• vroom vroom on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:53 pm

don’t say no one believe, those who voted for the timbang thingy sure believe one. Salam 1 Malaysia…hahahahaha

• Macho on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Are you blind? Don’t you see the government effort through promoting Malaysia assembled car unit to all the cars producer? That’s the way ,we got the price reduction… Ungrateful brat…even Singapore got high tax incomparable to Malaysia…everything nak “free” , duduk hutan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 52
  • lying king on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:58 pm

halo, you can oso added said car price reduction when buy a new 2014 new car register at 2015…

• moruh on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:03 pm

why blame only Goverment? Car dealer and car maker also greedy… see Volkswagen, tak dapat jual baru bagi discount 15% to 20%…. IF RAKYAT WANT CHEAP CAR.. TRY BOIKOT ALL OUT FOR 6 month of TOYOTA, HONDA, BMW… sure give 20% discount…. NOW PRE-OWNED BMW 328i M Sport give 20% discount wooo… no need to wait Goverment mehh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • guguchuroz on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:03 pm

LOL…. CKD price reduction also don’t count. Think we sohai meh?

• neemfa on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Tell me which car, with the exact same spec, that has reduced in price.

Nil?

• every time talkok, 2020 also talkok nvr stop talkok

• tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Virus bodoh MAI dah berjangkit ke MITI.

It’s like comparing Ramlee burger and Carls Jr, then claim burger price drop edi. Logic 404.

Haram jadah tul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Pull out so many things from the car and introduced a base model also call as price reduction? Don’t tell me all these SV here and SV there also considered as lower price?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:29 pm

Waiting for the day when a brand new BMW 328i costs way less than RM200k. Of course petrol will probably cost RM4 per litre by then :) Haih. Win some lose some.

• Jimmy on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Masterpiece, really, masterpiece. They worth every penny of Mr Naj.

• Josh Ling on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:52 pm

basically they will take all the credit for zero effort made. they have done nothing to reduce the price of the car, and yet they dare to present this as if it is part of the effort of the government to lower the price. this is plain lie.

• Matchy on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Not the first time they did it…

http://paultan.org/2014/01/20/nap-2014-announcement-live/

• Captain Obvious on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:58 pm

Let’s not talk about the bullcrap in the slides but.. man.. take a look at the presentation slides.. seriously? Was it done by a 10 year old kid? Or is it year 1995?

• Wee fuk yew on Jan 30, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Beware! Conman at work. Trying to convince the confused public through connivance. It’ll work because every year there will be more than 600,000 who will take the hook line and sinker.

• “Under NAP 2014’s Car Price Reduction Framework, MITI expects car prices to go down through increased competition brought about by the liberalisation of the industry, rather than the reduction or abolishment of excise duties”

Erm…competition and liberalization of excise duties are related. For example, in order to protect Proton, duties are DELIBERATELY kept high!!! Tell you what…In order to create more competition and create a more level playing field, why don’t the govt reduce duties?

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 5:08 am

Because the government wants/needs the income from yhe duties. It is not about protecting Proton anymore.

• shawal on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:06 pm

weyyyyhhhhh citer BOM!!!

ok fine, if you SUITS are done pulling both our legs and spreading them wide apart for amusement , please stop promising us dat car prices are going to get lower, to be honest there too many cars on the road…

instead, promise us that cars are going to get better and safer…
    min 7 airbags with all the bells and whistles comes standard ….
    lets aim to reduce road fatalities….

• putriumno on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:15 pm

Hmm… the gov cheat us again.. but.. I keep support Barisan Nasional

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • wayangkulit on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Alot of butthurt commenters here
    Maybe these people are those who really believed their promise, took Br1m and voted for BN in exchange for the 30% car reduction that can never come true
    LOL

I can tell you why it will never come true,
    cronyism is one, however the bigger factor hinges on our total industry volume

• cendol (Member) on Jan 30, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Maybe can just add in car discount given by dealers during end of year sale.
    Then the price drop will be even more significant, it will reflect better on government effort to reduce car price

• transformer on Jan 30, 2015 at 8:45 pm

just a Syiok Sendiri type of announcement to appease rakyat cries for survival due to huge household debt originates from Housing and Car loan alone.

Car Tax and Duty alone cost nearly 30-40% of the OTR price and these 30-40% still need to be loan from bank, this worsen and added more debt(household).

Car Tax and Duty removal not only will make P1 and P2 mad go bust. But also PEKEMA and all its members. Also not forgetting ALL BANK in MY! There are too many “stake holder” involved…

• pokmang on Jan 30, 2015 at 8:45 pm

if new hrv & alphard/vellfire price can be quoted same par as in japan, indon n thai that would be great

• mastermind on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:09 pm

cheapest petrol…lorrrr…reduce more than 30%

promise by BN….not PR lorrr…
    WE WANT HUDUD

• Jose Mau Teh O on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:10 pm

Ini macam soalan matematik, manipulate here, manipulate there. HOTS apply in real life.

• Simon Hoh on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Correct correct correct…
    Looks like drop, sounds like drop…
    But it’s not dropped.

• old dog on Jan 30, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Sooner, when the authorities realized all published numbers will not be recognized, it will be an national disaster for international reputation where all the GDP, Inflation rate, will have no international organization recognize.

We are driving in “R” gear as neighbor countries already picked up internationally…

• even if proton cease to exist tomorrow, the taxes will remain. Msia missed d boat during the ‘globalistaion’ era but after 2008, protectionism is back in fashion.

• Malaysian consumers wake up! How many times are we getting screwed?
    1). We pay super inflated prices esp duties to protect Proton! Now that’s unfair competition for you.
    2). To add injury to insult, there is no longer subsidy for fuel. Wait till the global oil prices rebound….pity the low income group
    3). You then have to pay for road tax and multiple toll charges. After paying, you get screwed by massive traffic jams and atrocious road conditions (eg. Potholes etc.)
    4). To ensure that your lungs are damaged and your car engine lifespan is shorten plus increase repair bills, you suffer the indignity of feeding your car with primitive EURO 2 fuel
    5). Then car manufacturers screw you by giving you sub standard specs esp in the safety department (2 airbags and no VSC).
    6). The they screw you again by giving you below par built quality called CKD!
    7). The screwing continues with crap after sales service and premium repair rates, sometimes expecting you to wait for months to get parts etc. etc. etc.
    9). Then the insurance company take their turn to screw you with all sorts of add-ons, premiums, excesses and restrictions…
    8). Assuming you can endure all of the above, you then have to watch out for rampant road bullies and unscrupulous characters trying to con you out of your car so that they can rob you or take away your asset- bought with your hard earned money.
    9). Lastly, you have the misfortune of reading the article above that truly insult your intelligence and make your blood boil!

In short, you are screwed on all sides and by all. Makes getting into your car feels like a gang rape!? Yo Malaysians consumers! Time to stand up and be counted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • LimPek on Jan 31, 2015 at 1:52 pm

10).When you read my comment here, you then were sucking from ISP by paying 1 of world most highest internet broadband fee with snail speed.

• blaster88 on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:04 pm

LimPek,

You are right but if we extend beyond automobile related issues, the list would be one kilometre long….Malaysia Boleh!

• If compare like that they should include Prius and Prius C also. From 150k and 100k to 230k and 150k respectively. Mana ada turun??? MITI oh MITI…..

• ben yap on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:25 pm

with the high prices of houses, i won’t be surprise if the government builds “affordable” homes with only 4 walls. there will be no roof, no window, no doors and no toilets.

than they’ll tell the public that they’ve reduce the price of houses.

• ben yap on Jan 30, 2015 at 10:32 pm

with the high prices in houses, i won’t be surprise if the government builds “affordable” homes with only 4 walls with no windows, no doors, no roof and no toilet.

than they publicly announce that they have reduce the prices of houses.

• Car prices may drop 20% but then bank interest also can go up to min. 4%, roadtax increase by 10% and so on

• arkay928 on Jan 31, 2015 at 2:42 am

Bravo MITI… in 2017, there would be a new policy banning fitting any DVD, TC, EBD, SRS Airbags, VSC, leather seat, etc… all imported cars would be imported and sold without all that… BMW 3 price would drop from rm300k plus to RM150k…. huhu.. then price drop by 50%… akujanji dicapati.. tq kerajaan..

• Andrekua on Jan 31, 2015 at 7:08 am

Politicians truly works for the rich. Don’t even dream they are there to serve you. Our normal everyday car won’t enjoy the price drop. Those that enjoying the price drop would be the Merc, BMW, Audi, and Marques of Western brand name.

Few years ago when they announced some sort of excise duty reduction, did any of these sub 100K car enjoy price drop? No. Which did? My boss coincidentally bought a E300 for 450K few months earlier. When that announcement came, it drop close to 400K.

• skyjuice on Jan 31, 2015 at 7:59 am

Those journalists yang attend datuk seri Mustapa speech tak question apa2 ke? Penakut!

• Sparcov on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:38 am

CKD not consider as a reduce car plan by the government.
    Long time ago, we know CKD will be lower price compare to CBU.

Hence, we sacrifice the build up quality and facing more problem with the car. End up, maintaining that car is more expensive

so, where reduce? Tax never reduce, they reduce the quality build up and vendors.

• karipap basah on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:00 am

MITI powerpoint slideshow guideline;

1. All ideas must be able shown in slideshow to show MITI sophistication.
    2.Slideshows must have “shiok sendiri” quality.
    3, Slideshows have no substance, only nice pictures.
    4. Slideshows appear to contain info, but in fact they are confusing crap.
    5. Ideas on slideshow must make “rakyat” feel syoik (only), but importantly the idea must benefit exclusively the cronies.

• Dafuq on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:04 am

We will see in 2 years time whether its really 20% reduction or strip off trim. If 20% reduction with loww spec car whats the point? Thats cheating, but its a habit from BN government. Rakyat will observe. Dont lie, MITI..

• Samlok on Jan 31, 2015 at 3:55 pm

Wow not even a single good comment. Amazing!

• who cares on Jan 31, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Gov will drop the price of cars for 20% just before next general election to fish you vote for them again

• If they are serious, no need to talk, and talk, and talk, for so many years la… One year reduce 7% only. I can get better discount from dealer during promotions la!

• I agree with the statement of car price is down… but the specification also down…. If you going to look into cheaper price of brand new car, you get less safety, less entertainment in car, less appearance, less performance, less driving assistance….. so many lessssssss…. and finally your lost…..

• Awang on Mar 27, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Kita lancar mogok di Highway seluruh Malaysia sehingga BN setuju hapuskan duti import. Senang saja, berhentikan kereta selama 24 jam, maka BN akan mendengar bahawa kita memang serius dalam perkara ini. Rakyat perlu bertindak untuk mempertahankan hak masing-masing. Pembangkang perlu bertindak kalau mereka mahukan undi kita.