RON 95 down 21 sen to RM1.70, RON 97 down 11 sen to RM2.00, diesel down 23 sen to RM1.70, per litre

RON-95-Petrol

The Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) has announced that come tomorrow (February 1, 2015), RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM1.70 a litre (-21 sen), RON 97 petrol at RM2.00 a litre (-11 sen) and diesel at RM1.70 a litre (-23 sen).

RON 95 and diesel are now similarly priced. The price drops follow the current downtrend in global crude oil prices, with Brent currently hovering around the US$50 (RM182) per barrel mark.

Subsidies for RON 95 petrol and diesel were discontinued exactly two months ago, and according to KPDNKK, their prices are, like RON 97 petrol, now derived based on a managed float system, and will be reviewed monthly.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Ron 97 should b below Rm 1.30 n Ron 95 must below 1 n diesel as well.check oil-price.net bfr like r dislike. So Bn if u wan rakyat don’t criticise u to manipulate harga minyak just pull out ur hands to set price n Lt it decide by oil companies itself like in uk

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 148 Thumb down 229
    • moluska on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:10 pm

Dude… y ask for rm 1.30 sen only? Y not for 2 cent only or maybe ask like this, every litre u pump ask G pay u rm10/L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 156
      • This Rm1.30 /litre calculation fr Ron 97 is v call calculation(Maths) .don’t divert towards nonsense statement DAT I put 1 litre n govt pay me back Rm10/litre.use brain bfr write any thing nonsense.I wrote reflects real time calculations n formula fr calculation could find on Google.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 76
        • Cant wait till its back to 1.10… then people will complain about bottled water price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
          • Curi Curi Malaysia on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:21 pm

If Global Brent is USD50.00/barrel = RM175 (x3.6)
            RM175/159 = RM1.25/ltr (per barrel has 159 litres)

Before refining charge and petrol dealer profit is RM1.25/ltr

Our Government keeps on lying to us. Now it looks like the poor will be subsidising the Government for their lavish lifestyles.

There is no way petrol can even be more than RM1.25 as Brent Crude has fallen to its lowest. So, we Malaysians are paying more than 45 sen extra per litre if pump prices are RM1.70. Why?

If they are truly doing a proper float system, the actual price is RM1.25 per litre if per barrel is US$50. Now its even lower at US48

Then there is 2 other elements. 1) Refining cost and 2) Petrol Dealer Profit

The maximum for refining cost is 10 sen per litre. That is the Maximum ceiling for refining based on global refining charges.

Petrol dealer profit also is usually 10 sen per litre.

This is typical Malaysia. Government throw saki baki scraps from the dinner table, the rakyat, like dogs are forced to pick the leftovers and eat. The recent reductions is a big joke and a big rip off to the rakyat because recent months Government increased so much…pandai pandai.

This reduction of 20 sen sen per litre is a slap to all Malaysians especially when we produce our own oil.

Critics will argue about sales tax but every single oil producing country sells their oil without sales tax to the rakyat. Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.

Even at the new price of RM1.70, we will be overpaying the Government over 45 sen per litre. Like the last reduction, government made RM Billions in just one month because the charged Ron 1.90 which was so much higher than global prices. Mana float?

Every single oil producing country gives their rakyat cheap oil. Only one oil producing country, Malaysia, gives the rakyat above global market price for oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 42
          • The Truth on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:27 am

In response to what Curi Curi Malaysia wrote, folks, dont be fooled…many things he said are simply wrong and untrue. For example:

1. “Every single oil producing country give their rakyat cheap oil”. WRONG. the UK is an oil producing country, in fact they are the biggest oil producer in the EU, and their oil prices is way much higher than in our country (this is both when the global oil prices are high, and also when the oil prices are low).

2. “Mana float?” Since when is Malaysia adopting full market float??? Ours is a managed float where the prices are adjusted every fixed interval (monthly). So when the prices increases sharply in short period of time, the consumer enjoy lower prices before the new prices under the manage float kicks in. If the prices falls sharply in short period of time (like right now), the changes in prices will reflect in the next cycle of price review, as per the managed float mechanism. No surprises here. This mechanism has been made known to us since 1 to 2 years ago before it was introduced.

3. “Malaysia is the ONLY oil producing country in the world charging sales tax on petrol to its rakyat.” WRONG again! Wow, this guy is either lying through his teeth, or he really don’t have a clue what he is talking about. Again, UK is an oil producing country, and the UK impose 20% tax on sale of petrol. So does other countries. Get your facts straight.

So many other things he said in his long writing are simply nonsense and untrue. It would be too long to counter and correct every single mistake he wrote. So, just ignore what “Curi curi Malaysia” wrote, easier that way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 21
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:24 am

Sometimes I also don’t understand what does these kiasu want? Keep arguing and complaining..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
        • ygrhm on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:14 am

you forget that the fuel vendors must also earn money. Don’t be ignorant, why can’t you be thankful that the price of petrol is going down?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 52
          • OMG…Is time for TNB reduce the electricity tariff plsssss…

• seat-belt on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:24 am

wow bro u so pro. can calculate urself. got MOPS latest data? real time formula math calculation walao so pro tok kok. im not bn supporter but u sounds so wrong to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 16
          • Too many clever people in Malaysia on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:41 pm

I know right? Seeing all the complex math in the comments here I just don’t understand why people say there is anything wrong with education in Malaysia.

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:57 pm

you dont agree?
            they will accuse you of being a trooper la bumi la and things like that
            you make a bit more money than them they accuse you of being a crony

we have plenty of “world class” economics here don’t worry
            just vote them up and lead the country
            confirm your next 3 generations have no fear of expensive fuel, electricity, medical, education, car, housing and food

they can make it cheaper and close to free

• Where is Najib's Promise? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:15 am

Don’t talk about lower Ron 95 Prices. We Malaysians HAVE already prepaid RM3 per litre of fuel for the next 20 years. Sudah bayar. Each of us, have already prepaid RM3 per litre with our high car prices.

Malaysians now officially pay the HIGHEST car prices in the world, beating Singapore. Infact Singapore car prices are cheaper than Malaysia considering their GDP per Capita is 5x more than Malaysia.

So, where is Najib’s Promise?

Najib promised 30% reduction on ALL car prices BUT now, they are trying to putar belit. Blatant way to cheat Malaysians again.

This is how the Government again, trying to putar belit their words and trying to cheat the 30 million Malaysians.

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin last year quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM14,400) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures say that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM14,400 in 6 years time? That means, everyone in Malaysia is earning about RM14,400?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 123
        • SupporterforLowprices on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:22 pm

So what? You were conned by Najib’s promise and voted for BN? Seem that you have been harping about this for the last 3 years or more here in PaulTan’s blog. Why dont you go open your blog or protest in front of PM’s office instead of blowing hot air here and wasting space?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
        • Stopped reading at Singapore car price lower than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
      • Moluska u’re so butthurt over BN got whack why?

Simple. The guilty onnes will ALWAYS vouch for the guilty.

U’re mad coz u and ur doggie master got burned. Pathetic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Justine on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:57 pm

World crude oil drop by >50%.

Our floating fuel drop by merely 15%.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 27
      • Global Prices Vs Msian Prices on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:27 am

Petrol prices is not Malaysian’s biggest burden. After all, when petrol naik, barang all naik. But when petrol turun, not a single item goes down in price. So, petrol go down, what is the real SAVINGS?

The real savings is car prices. We are overpaying the Government and all the crony GLC owned car companies too much. You see, ALL car companies are really owned by the Government. From BMW to Honda and Toyota to Proton and Perodua.

These are US car prices with US duty and import tax paid, which are just like Malaysian car prices with duty and tax also paid, but here, you will see, they are much lower and less exorbitant than in Malaysia.

Bear in mind all cars are CBU (complete built up) Japan, CBU South Korea or CBU Germany.

The following cars we get here are CKD (complete knocked down) cars with more than 50% Malaysian content and “supposedly” are cheaper due to their being CKD and supporting Malaysian manufacturers.

I cannot understand, we support our own Malaysian manufacturers and beli barang buatan (buy local) Malaysia too, and yet the prices can be higher than barang buatan (made in) Japan or German, which is usually higher in quality.

And yet, to make matters worse, US people’s GDP per capita is higher than Malaysia’s and the average American earns five times more than the average Malaysian.

Below are car prices based on exchange rate of USD 3.0 as it was 2 years ago when I wrote my article. These Malaysian car prices were also 2 years ago, so, it is fair to use the exchange rate of 3.0. Malaysian car prices infact have risen the past two years.

Malaysians car prices VS Malaysian Prices

Mainstream Car Prices

Honda Accord 2.4 US$21,480 (RM64k)vs RM180k

Honda CRV 2.5 US$22,495(RM67k) vs RM170k

Honda Civic US$15,955 (RM47k)vs RM115k

Toyota Altis US$16,130(RM48k) vs RM139k

Toyota Camry 2.5 US$22,055(RM66k)vs RM180k

Kia Sorento US$23,150 (RM69k)vs RM160k

Hyundai Tucson US$19,245(RM57k) vs RM140k

Hyundai Sonata US$20,895 (RM62k) vs RM150k

Hyundai Elantra 1.8 US$16k (RM50k) vs RM118k

Luxury car prices

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109k) vs RM300k

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149k) vs RM420k

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157k) vs RM600k

BMW X5 US$47,500 (RM142k) vs RM580k

Mercedes E350 US$51,000 (RM153k) vs RM400,000 (In M’sia for only CKD E250)

Jaguar XJ US$73,700 (RM221,000) vs RM900k

Porsche Cayenne US$48,850 (RM146k) vs RM580k

Every Malaysian must realise they are being cheated on car prices and have been cheated for the past 30 years.

Most Malaysians pay close to 50% of their salary for their monthly payments for their cars.

Not only do the banks get an easy ride (cause everybody is “forced” to take loans), we have to live in debt for over seven years, depriving our family of better food and clothes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 15
        • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:42 pm

You do know that the American car market is like 10x bigger than the Malaysian car market, right? Last year alone, more than 7.9 million cars were sold in America compared to a paltry 600,000 or so cars sold in Malaysia. Hence because America is such a big market, a lot of carmakers invest heavily in production in America – the Accord, Civic & CR-V sold in the US are built in the US (not CBU Japan as you stated), and they are not subject to the same economies of scale as the Accords, Civics & CR-Vs sold in Malaysia (that is, if they even want to transfer some of that cost savings to Malaysia).

Another difference is the market dynamics of the US market which is totally different to Malaysian market dynamics. Over there, car prices differ from state to state, city to city, heck from POSTCODE to POSTCODE. The American market is also very competitive, because unlike a Malaysian car buyer, they’re more savvy and are more attuned to value. Malaysian car buyers look at the brand, jump in and sign the papers, hence they’re putty in the hands of the carmakers – which is why UMW (and to a lesser extent Honda Malaysia) are able to give crap cars at exorbitant prices, prices which I doubt are solely caused taxes because when I compare Langkawi prices for Honda cars and mainland prices, the difference is between 20% (for the City) and 40% (for the Accord), so ask yourself – how much profit margin already padded into the car at its final price?

As for the South Koreans, I give you an article by The Economist dated January 17 talking about the Korean consumer & how they hated Hyundai & Kia. Why? Because the price of Kia/Hyundai cars IN KOREA are MORE EXPENSIVE than in FOREIGN MARKETS. THEY’RE DOING A PROTON ON THEIR OWN PEOPLE!

Not forgetting – for Honda & Toyota, assembling cars in the US means that they spend for material purchases in USD but sell the cars in USD. With the depreciating Yen, it means that the profits they make in the US will be able to be translated into much bigger profit in Yen (hence why some say a weakening currency isn’t exactly a bad thing, especially in an export economy), allowing them to play with the pricing. In Malaysia, if you assemble a product with materials bought using USD & selling it in MYR – you really think you can price the car low to recoup back the costs?

Let’s think logically instead of repeating the same asinine story about simpleton comparisons such as what have you done?

Article on South Korean consumer:http://www.economist.com/news/business/21639579-locals-fed-up-paying-over-odds-are-shopping-abroad-won-over

List of Honda Assembly Plants
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Honda_assembly_plants

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 16
          • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:16 pm

These people dont care and wont listen
            Ive been trying to knock sense into them
            Instead they continue to con the public with their so called facts

They keep harping how US is the holy land
            As if the grass is definitely greener there

These people when cornered with facts they will retaliate and says you’re a bumi la, you’re BN cyber trooper la and so forth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
          • blahblah on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:22 pm

These zombies need brains to survive.. Otherwise, they feed on lies only.

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 9:57 am

Only a fool would think there will be a correlation between crude oil prices & processed fuel prices.

At least it is down to RM 1.70 – I can’t remember the last time fuel prices were this low. Even during the intro of RON 95 it was RM 1.75!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 37
        • I feel u brother! over all let vote the opposition & kick BN out next PRU…Hidup rakyat!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Crude Oil is 48.24USD/Barrel today, and USD=3.63MYR today..
      1L Crude Oil is RM1.47

which cave school are you from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 28
      • moluska on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:17 am

So,u are using crude oil to ur car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
        • how can you sell something with price cheaper than raw material, which planet are you from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Only in Malaysia la
            Where else?
            Cannot get price cheaper than raw materials they blame refinery la, they blame gas station la, they blame government la,
            Its everyone’s else fault but not theirs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:32 am

lol crude oil isnt petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • akuamy on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:00 am

Maksudnya… klu dah crude oil more than rm1.40, how can ron97 below rm1.30. Haiyyaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • hahaha on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:43 pm

What a joke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 66
  • panjang on Jan 31, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Enjoy the price while we still can.

BTW,who is doing anything about the price of goods?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 10
    • The price of goods is handled by us the consumers. We control the collective demand in this country. If we want price to go down, boycott or reduce your purchase.

We only give limited power to KPDNKK to force down the price of certain essential goods. It is also our choice if we want to add new power to them. The next move is ours…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • TNB TNB Where are you? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:44 am

When TNB wanted to increase prices last 2 years, they said it was because oil prices have gone up. So, they raised the prices tremendously. People got a rude shock. Nearly all households rates doubled. Somehow, the new digital metres also ran faster.

I am an old man, living alone in my house. No aircon also. Yet my bil is RM100 per month. Most families in KL are now paying RM300 to RM500 per month.

So, what happened TNB? Now oil prices very very low, why are you cheating Malaysians? Why don’t reduce electricity prices? We Malaysians cannot be supporting your crony bad contracts to the IPP.

Other countries, electricity rates are so cheap. My cousin runs a big bungalow in the united Kigdon. Every month he pays on 30 pounds for the whole bungalow for Electricity rates. One a one to one basis, that is RM30 per month for a Big Bungalow!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
      • Silver Arrows on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:34 pm

First of all, TNB doesnt uses crude oil to generate its electricity.

Nearly 50% are using coals power plants whereas IPP’s are using gas to generate electricity which they bought from PETRONAS at subsidize plant. For IPP they will keep on generating electricity and sell it to TNB who forced to buy at higher price using cash and no debts allowed! (refer to memoirs of Ani Arope) due to gov policy.

Tariff on the other hand not set by TNB but by government. So ask them first than come to TNB besides u want lower than say no to IPP, u may get cheaper price and vote for nucleur. Dare!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • I think you seriously should seek help from an electrical engineer. Otherwise, any student from an electrical engineering school is also okay. You have a huge leak somewhere. It is not right to blame the electricity tariff in Malaysia. If the tariff is too high, why is my bill only 20+ to 30+ MYR per month in this cool season? By the way, I have two air conditioners, a refrigerator, a washing machine, a TV that is on about 1/3 of a day, plus a completely electrified kitchen. If your bill is reduced from 100 to 30, then how much should I pay? 10 MYR per month, for 150 kWh? :)

• Hann Wei Toh on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Let us be a little more precise. Assuming the 30 pound electricity bill is current, based on the current electricity tariff of British Gas of 0.1552 pound per kWh, your cousin used 193 kWh of electricity a month. In Malaysia, this amount of electricity only gives rise to a TNB bill of about 42 MYR. If your bill is 100 MYR, then you are using possibly more than twice the amount of electricity your cousin in UK consumes. This is not TNB’s fault, but the user’s.

For the same amount of electricity, British Gas charges 30 pounds, while TNB 42 MYR. Assuming the costs of raw materials and production facilities are the same, TNB seems to be unexpectedly more efficient (in fact, much more efficient) compared to the british. Don’t you think so? :)

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:24 pm

bravo!
            these people in Malaysia are trying to con the others into thinking they got conned
            making people’s life miserable

ive stayed in a various countries before and we pay cheapest for electricity among the countries i’ve had the opportunity to live in

not to mention water, real estate rentals, medical and public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Tq BN for everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 151
    • Renegate on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Thank BN? Do you realized that they have enjoyed much of the profit before they decided to bring down the fuel price? Now they bring it down and you want to thank them? It should be done earlier. Now that they still have good sum of money in their pocket, and what do you have? Government no need to worry cos they have at least a million? or more in their account. What do you have? When the oil price goes up, get ready to spend more on fuel. Are you going to thank BN again? You stupid or what? They have so much money, they couldn’t care less. They have money to spend until they die and even enough to pass on to the next generation. You? us? Not enough. So please stop being stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 58
      • Wow someone can’t handle sarcasm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:57 am

Last month alone they made Billions of RM from our overpriced oil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Its like thanking the thief for stealing your mercedes and returning a kancil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 32
      • BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:54 am

But the Kampung peopel all rejoicing. They say kerajaan prihatin. But they don’t know, they save RM20 on fuel tank but spend RM100 more in the pasar every week because prices have melambung tinggi. BN Cybertroopers will thumbsdown my comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • Thank BN? They are only bringing down the price coz they know the people won’t vote for them anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 25
    • seat-belt on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:25 am

some ppl just dont understand sarcasm. lelwat

• BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:52 am

So many BN Cybertroopers here thumbsdown all negative comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • yeaaah on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:02 pm

I think most people in paultan will only be happy when fuel in malaysia is free….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 230 Thumb down 42
    • Observer on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Nah… if the fuel is free… they will ask for the petrol station to pay them to fill the fuel there…. you know…malaysian are extremely hard to satisfy….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 22
    • wayangkulit1 on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:26 am

even if its free they will complaint service no good la, then claim fuel is not 100% la, and etc
      if possible the government should also provide free car of their choice because they paid tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • medic on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Dude, totally agree with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:56 am

People in PT know Malaysia is an oil producing country. The Sultan of Brunei gives super cheap oil to its people. Why can’t our Malaysia give cheap oil to us as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
      • yeaaah on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:22 pm

define cheap please? even if the fuel price is at 10 sen per L, people like you will still be complaining. like i said, you guys will only be happy when fuel is free…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:51 pm

What oil producing country – Malaysia oil production no longer can keep up with demand! We’re now a marginal exporter of oil, meaning our net oil export is like a bucket in the ocean compared to Brunei.

Eg: Brunei produces 145K barrels of crude oil per day. Now, you might say that Malaysia’s crude oil production at 585K barrels a day is much more right? But compare usage – Brunei uses only 18K barrels per day, while Malaysia uses 655K barrels. We’re using more oil than we can produce, whereas Brunei still have plenty to spare that they can still afford to give them cheap fuel.

The only thing that we’re still producing in huge quantities are natural gas – that we still export a lot of.

Let’s face it – the days of super cheap fuels in Malaysia is OVER!

Reference
        Brunei: http://www.eia.gov/countries/country-data.cfm?fips=BX
        Malaysia:http://www.eia.gov/countries/country-data.cfm?fips=MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:29 pm

I agree with everything you said except
          “The only thing that we’re still producing in huge quantities are natural gas”

We are producing a lot of idiots who cant think properly too

Maybe its true our education is a huge failure if we use all these comments here as a gauge of education success

• blahblah on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Yes.. we do produce a lot of zombies that feed on lies from the politicians.

Our education started to crumble when one guy took over MoE in 1986, and cant recover ever since.

• Malcolm Lim on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:05 pm

Awesome price…hmm now will those petrol dealers shut down cos lose too much money? But when they untung so many millions, they keep quiet…hmm..let’s see what PDAM says..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 12
    • Albert on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Malcom,who knows what is going on? Maybe,they get a special CREDIT NOTE in the next few months.
      You see the EVER PRESENT DANGER of MONOPOLY and excessive PERLINDUNGAN for these cry baby petrol dealers.These are shambolic businessmen who forgot others got no chance to be petrol dealers at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:59 am

PDAM members are all liars. Each of them own a few stations each. There is even one guy that own 20 stations in East coast. Each making few hundred thousand per month!

• hakim on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:44 am

same with some of our citizen laa.. oil price goes up, bising sangat. price go down, silent, yet still complaining.

• Last time when crude oil was more than USD100/barrel, our RON97 (supposedly floating price) was sold at about RM2.50/L. But now when crude oil is about USD50/barrel, our RON97 is still RM2.00/L.
    Also, shouldn’t all fuel price drop by roughly the same percentage? RON97 dropped by just 5.2%, which is just half of RON95 (11%).
    May some sifus out there please give some insights into the calculation of Malaysian fuel price.
    Thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 28
    • Abduh on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Why not we just buy the crude oil by the barrel and process it for our own consumption? It will be much cheaper, yes? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 56
    • Netsoft on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Sometimes I’m amused by the stupidity of general Malaysians.

Previously, fuel are subsidized by the government. Now it’s not.

Also you got to account the fuel for refining, processing and logistic costs. You don’t just pump crude oil to your car, do you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 26
    • That is because when Crude Oil was 100USD/barrel, our ringgit was stronger at RM3 to RM3.2 to USD.. now USD = RM3.63, we are losing about 15 to 20% in currency for the last few years..

despite oil price has reduced by 50%, but USD is gaining on us about 20%.. Thus we don’t actually benefiting 50% in price reduction.. probably only getting 20% to 30% reduce in RM perspective..

Get it?

Read more about economics..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 12
    • By the way, when oil price was 100USD/Barrel, our RON97 was floating at average RM2.7/L (go and google yourself).
      Thus it make sense when crude oil reduce 50% and USD gaining 20% on us, we are only getting 20% to 30% reduction in RM term..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • wayangkulit1 on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:22 am

Good to know there’s still people who are rational here

Some Malaysians are a funny and stupid lot
        They based the price that they are willing to buy at raw material cost
        They expect those who are going to do all the transportation ,refining, oil additives, marketing, advertisement all for free.

They also expect fuel station to do a free service like stocking fuel, maintaining equipment, hiring of staff, rental of place, infrastructure invesment.

They also expect some one to absorb the currency differences when it fluctuates

You point out the facts, they claim you are a trooper or supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:17 pm

wow banyak BN supporter sini

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 30
    • BN Cybertroopers - Brainwashing? on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:00 am

Too many BN Cybertroopers here. All given strict instructions to thumbs down negative comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
      • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Thats all you can manage to reply despite all the facts and figures given?

People who do not agree with stupid and illogical statements are BN troopers?

By gauging your comment i think you’re worst or none better than those troopers that you so love to despise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:46 pm

woot so says the guy who champions that 2 airbags is more than enough for a car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Perfect statement. You sir take my like!!

• wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:18 am

so says the guy who politicized every issue
            while not being able to give facts and figures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Carlover (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:28 am

Thumbing down negative comments does not necessarily mean BN supporters.

• Too many clever people in Malaysia on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:49 pm

Why? Because they do not agree with stupid statements about what petrol should cost, why not cheap like Brunei,etc? At least they give references to their statements. Wait. They must be the 40thousand Banglas you saw during elections.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Skywalker on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:25 pm

but how come our goods didnt drop price ? When oil price increase every goods price will increase but when oil price drop every goods price will remain still. I dont understand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • Just Saying on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:02 am

In economic view, once the price of a good goes up, it hardly ever comes down. For example, a Milo costs RM0.50 and sells at RM1.50, so you profit RM1; then the cost rises to RM1, you sell higher at RM2 and maintain your profit of RM1; but when the cost falls back down to RM0.50, you eventually profit more(RM1.50), will you lower your price then? Everyone’s greedy, human in a nutshell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • This is a supply-demand issue.
      Manufacturers will try to sell at as high price as possible, as long as consumers still accept their selling price.
      It is only by rejecting the selling price, that is by stop or reduce buying, can the price of goods go down.

• Otak Bisnes on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Basic principle of business? Maximizing profit.

• Archangel on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Petrol price down but price of goods still remain high. *facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:44 pm

Easy to b cynical n complain no end…
    bt long it may to continue… We should enjoy those time bcos it will only go up from here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Calculus on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:48 pm

BN only count their pocket, no surprise to end up this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
  • ron97 on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:50 pm

hope the now 30cents diff between 97 and 95 mean less people pump 97. the 97 habis stock very annoying

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Calculus on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:50 pm

Last petrol price drop, hawker food price up. Let’s see what will go up this round… Poor Malaysians…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • alolo on Jan 31, 2015 at 9:50 pm

thats just bullshit…so little been reduce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
  • intermilan on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:01 pm

Bloody hell..
    ron97 at rm2.00? How much hidden tax they wanna squeeze from us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 21
    • takNakP1 on Feb 01, 2015 at 9:43 am

a punishment for everyone that pump 97 & cause the to earn less from 95 & causing all the shortage issue.

now the price diff is 0.3, many may pump back 95.

double edge sword pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • noodle_lover on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:31 pm

But my wantan mee, hakka me, beef noodle, kolo mee, prawn noodle, laksa mee all still same price wo…. no drop in price wan? Last time petrol naik, noodles naik. Now petrol turun, noodles same price…

Why ah why ah?? T_T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • dugongx on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Time to boycott hawkers. Eat McD, its way cheaper than hawker now. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 9
  • Election coming…thats why

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Now mineral water will be more expensive than petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Think on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:51 pm

The oil price per barrel now had dropped so low that the current petrol was actually based on market price…. IT HAD NOTHING TO DO With BN.

Besides, we should actually be worried about the low oil price as Malaysia is not earning much money now, which you could noticed when comparing our currency rate…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 33
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Fear not!
      Malaysia make less money ask these clever people here to help make up for the loss of revenue la
      We have plenty “world class” economics here what

Can ensure the country continue to operate without tax revenue, without toll, cheap fuel , cheap cars and etc

• kl fella on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:40 pm

the government is truly bankrupt and largely in debt. IRB started to dig out my 2011 and 2012 tax exemptions that’ve i’ve claimed. omg they should go for the tycoons and towkays.. not an earnest living tax paying employee!! i’m paying 20k per annum to the G and they still want to question my exemptions and relieve.. please larrr..

• BuRaIaN on Jan 31, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Still so expensive, this is nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
  • ben yap on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:16 pm

any lower, our gov will implement fuel tax.

wanna earn money from government is like trying to earn money from an ah long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Talk Rubbish on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Why Ron 97 only drop so little???

Despite crude oil prices dropping so much over the past few weeks Ron 97 only drops by 11 sen???? You serious???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 9:53 am

RON 97 is premium fuel & should be taxed since it’s only used for those who can afford high performance engines i.e. supercars etc

It’s been said by so many people that premium fuel is not needed for your run of the mill car so why bother filling up with RON 97? I certainly feel no discernible difference in fuel mileage or performance on my Picanto’s engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:38 pm

RON 97 should have dropped more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
  • rickyll (Member) on Jan 31, 2015 at 11:49 pm

It’s nothing to shout about except it’s better than nothing. When the price of world crude oil has dropped by 50 % we would expect our retail petrol prices to follow suit. But we cannot expect too much from the present ‘cut-throat’ regime. At the recent budget review, our PM even hinted that TNB would not raise the electric tariff for business in 2015 to show how caring the G is. What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
  • Haha, dealers can go die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Bulu Ketiak on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:19 am

Who cares about petrol operators? They make a big fuss when prices fall. But when prices go up they just keep quiet, happily pocketing the difference. At the end of the day, you lose some, you win some. So it’s all back to square one.

Our Govn should have been more generous when oil prices were high. Petronas made huge profits, contributing big sums to Govn coffers. But no, they made lots of noises about the subsidies without mentioning about profits. Now Govn coffers are running dry with oil profits tumbling down each day. But the Rakyat are rejoicing, because fuel prices are much more affordable.

• Some petrol station yesterday had just stop selling their petrol. Saying petrol Habis!

• Handsome Ugly or Apek? on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:34 am

The last time we had RM1.70 for diesel is on 01-Sep-2009.. Not bad weih!

• karipap basah on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:45 am

dealer making money…..every dealer happy counting money….while consumers suffer…

Dealer starting not making money, I bet dealers are jumping up and down, protesting, etc telling everyone they are making loss…

Just wait, see and hear what the dealer will say….

• Willy on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:49 am

Btw, has anyone done a comparison on the price of petrol with our neighboring countries, specifically Thailand, Indonesia and S’pore Hopefully, only then we can know whether the price of petrol in M’sia is truly subjected to the free market forces, I think! If not, then we know who’s lying through his very teeth or is it breadth!!! If it’s a lie- It can only happen in the land of “Earn less possibilities” for the rakyat and on the other hand “Endless possibilities” to make more money from us, the rakyat by you know who!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Singapore obviously don’t need to compare – we’re definitely still cheap, even dollar to dollar. Shell Fuelsave 95 in Singapore $ 1.75 compared to RM 1.70. If you convert it’s RM 4.69 vs RM 1.70. In Indonesia, Shell Super is RM 2.33 in Bandung and RM 2.30 in Jakarta.

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Fuel price is 3 times more expensive in Singapore nobody bats an eye
        Car prices 30-40% more expensive than countries that has a bigger TIV, most PT readers goes ape shit and ballistic

• paparadzi (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:52 am

Maybe it will be better if we have free market price such as practised in Australia and USA, for example. That way we can have competition and probably better service from the fuel pump operators.

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Are you sure you want to go the free market route?

In a free market a seller has every rights to refuse to sell if they think they are not making a profit

Are you comfortable with petrol station refusing to sell you any fuel?
      Are you comfortable for the country to run out of fuel for days or months if petrol station decides that price and exchange rate fluctuates will hurt their profit?

• prsembangkuat on Feb 01, 2015 at 1:55 am

Itu brg mkn bila tauke mau kasi turun….
    lu pr punyai olang kta minyak turun itu brg mkn mau turun jugak ….
    ini pr byk kencing juga mcm itu DSAi n LGE…oooo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • kl fella on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:42 pm

this is the level of education that we have for our youths nowadays.. lol

• Carfan on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:12 am

I would rather G maintain the current prices and use the additional revenue to compensate for the fall in oil revenue. This is much more than the very complicated, expensive system required by the business to raise GST revenue

• petrol on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:20 am

u all keep talkinh 95 97 diesel price..
    now diesel rm1.70..im holding subsidy card..no more disount..before this..rm1.93 only discount rm0.043..now my card can put in freezer

• euro2forever on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:25 am

Dear beloved G,
    Can you please share the calculations mechanism.
    Last year some a minister say will share it to public. Now its 2015.

Why took so long..
    Is it so hard to calculate..

Hi Paultan.
    Can you please share the crude oil price vs petrol for past 10 years. Show USD value too. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • @anon if petrol dealer die than who going to sell petrol..I doubt it will be u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • euro2forever on Feb 01, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Petrol dealer die.. Funny..
      Rakyat die 1stlah..
      Petrol dealer already save money for next 5 generation.. U?

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:04 pm

thats like saying all petrol dealers in malaysia is as rich as bill gates

even bill gates dare not say his wealth can last 5 gen

• what is the latest NGV price? if price goes lower taxi fare also must reduce accordingly

• fsdedsdef on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:14 am

I thought I saw an article about ron97 drop to 1.70?

• panjang on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:23 am

3rd world mentality…everything must be about themselve.Not seeing the bigger picture of world economy and currency strength.

Just enjoy the price while we still can.Once the world economic power has got to the point where they want to be and then re control the supply, i bet Paultan reader will once again bark like crazy in here.The us is attacking the economy in every angle possible,did u know our banks are losing huge sum in the palm oil sector.

I think its very hard for Malaysian to move foward is they kept on looking at the current picture and did not notice whats coming in the nearest 6 month or 1 year.

Like i said earlier,enjoy the price while we still can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Bulu Ketiak on Feb 01, 2015 at 4:12 pm

Si Panjang, what to do, most Msians are so poor in this country. WHen crude oil prices go up(despite a healthy currency), prices of food and other essentials also go up. THe average salary man on the street would no doubt struggle( unless you are a big shot who gets lots of gov projects).

Unfortunately Msians are being put in a situation where crude oil goes up or down they are being screwed.

• Oil Dealer on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:35 am

You are all talking crap. You only think of yourself. The word should be we. we should all benefit from this economic gain. The Gov had been holding the price when it was high what did you say then. Oil companies have been making money from the cheap oil price and selling it to the people at gov regulated price. Petrol dealers pay the price for your gain. We should be talking about how to take back from this foreign oil companies that was / is laughing at our gov. We should be with the gov asking this oil companies to further lower the oil price. The Gov is just cutting down the subsidy it is paying for your pleasure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

So please tell me how long should the government keep oil reserved for?
      They should keep fuel enough for 1 months supply ?
      When there’s disruption the whole nation runs out of fuel?
      Or should they keep a buffer of minimum 6 months to ensure that fuel doesnt runs out of supply?

• The consumers always losses in Malaysia. No protection. No rights. Pay more. Enjoy the lower petrol prices while you can. Everything else is going up. Whatever savings from petrol price is offset by higher prices of other things. And then, petrol prices will increase again.

• Calculus on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:53 am

Crude oil price drop, Ringgit also drop. After the offset, petrol price just drop a little.

Can anyone see how weak is our currency? Without crude oil, we are nothing to the world. With current low standard “leaders”, thing will get worse, seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • BettyChewHalfMillionPendant on Feb 01, 2015 at 11:57 am

Reduction of gasses at petrol station is indeed a commendable moved. It is time for traders and vendors to reduce their prices and it is unavoidable. Inefficient, Racist and Corrupted Lim Guan Eng said that the chinese vendors and traders close their shops if they reduce the price. Clearly it is the most illogical statement that he has said among others. what happened and going to happen are DAP vendors and traders (Dominant market holder) will keep the price high, made the people suffers, all races, thwarted the good effort being made by the opposite political party. The people have nowhere else to turn their angst than to the Government. Penang has the lowest GDP since under his reign and will be much worst soon. Despite among racial marginalisation by his governance. Political and geo-economical moved by Kedah to built an airport will further worsen the Penang economic growth. The one who is going to suffer is the rest of Chinese, Penangites through distrusted and feeling betrayed among the Bumis, muslims and Indians. Since the BBCD, most small chinese traders have been affected and will be much worse. Clearly there are thing that are not right when his wife could afford luxurious life, 1/2 million pendant, thousands ringgit rings, undies and etc. while most of the Penangite Chinese could not afford a landed properties and still driving, cheap Nissan, old Proton and much worse Perodua. The same goes with his crony whose leaving in a big mansion. An apparent issues with biased wealth distribution, a sign of inefficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
    • where is the calculation formula? on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:29 pm

I would almost agree with you, until i look the other way and i saw a Chinchilla coat and a million dollar ring on 9M-NAA.

but lets focus on the topic, which is the price drop of petrol and diesel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • lolipop on Feb 01, 2015 at 2:24 pm

how are u doing BN macai..?? butt-hurt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • Dude, do you have fact to support all the comment that you’d made here? Because whatever you typing here doesn’t sounds legit to me. Unless you have the fact to support them.

• where is the calculation formula? on Feb 01, 2015 at 12:23 pm

i’ve read through all the comments here, and the majority of comments here is that they are not satisfied.

my opinion here is not how much i pay, but i would like to know HOW the number was derived.

For example, if i knew that the prices of crude is RM3, and i would have to pay 80 sens for processing + profit, i’m sure most of Malaysians will shut up and pay the RM3.8 per liter, they may not like it, but they understand it.

but the issue now is the people “feels” like the number is plucked right from the sky, how did they justify the 21 sens drop for RON95 but 11 sens for RON 97.
    Last month the diesel is more expensive than RON 95, but this month the diesel is same price with RON95. did the processing for diesel or RON 95 change prices?

So the issue here is Transparency. if the ministry showed us the simplified formula on how the prices are set as promised since December,i’m sure most of the people here will just shut up and pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • TQ Dap for pressuring Govt to reduce price. Why you no take credit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Automan on Feb 01, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Wao….and i thought paultan is an automotive website…looks like i am reading malaysia kini or malaysia insider..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • blaster88 on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:41 pm

This once a month managed float review is a bogus… Prices have been dropping dramatically and steadily since Jan 1 and adjustments are only in the following month, I am curious how much has oil prices has dropped vs the January pump prices for the last 30 days.

How much incremental revenue has the government been collecting from the rakyat?

• wayangkul1t on Feb 01, 2015 at 10:48 pm

you sure the government is screwing you and not the other way round?

you’d think a country should keep fuel good enough for 1 or 2 weeks?
      any disruption means our country will run without fuel

or should a country keep stock for a month or more?

that explains why prices did not go down immediately?
      or you want to say they keep stock for more than a month is screwing you?

• blaster88 on Feb 02, 2015 at 3:47 pm

you seems to be on a futile crusade to defend every single post that is against this article. BTW, do you know how many months the US stockpile is? Yet prices are adjusted almost real time…Ahem…How come pumps in other parts of the world can reflect real and current prices and Malaysia cannot?

• cendol (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Economy crisis is seriously coming to Malaysia.
    Brace yourselves for impact.
    Better save some cash for rainy days.
    Avoid big ticket item purchase unless necessary.

• Anti-Establishment (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 7:42 pm

Too late – the saving should have been done when times were GOOD, not when times are bad.

Simple economic principle & logic.

• yea, u are right, crisis coming very soon

• pengguna on Feb 01, 2015 at 3:52 pm

tapi harga barang tetap tak turun….-penguna kecewa

• hakim on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:46 am

harga barang ditentukan oleh peniaga sendiri.. sama ada nak untung banyak atau sikit.. gov cannot control every little thing punya price. so, we as a consumer, have to survey a lot, n get the lowest price. because some cekik darah punya peniaga xkan turun kan harga bila ada untung lebih. only in malaysia.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 01, 2015 at 5:32 pm

There are some people not thankful to the fuel price drop. Blame drop of fuel price wont bring down the goods or services price. May I know what are the product or services price increase except food & beverage and properties. Electronic stuff price does not increase instead dropping over the year, cellphone is subjective coz there are good spec brand with lower price like xiaomi, huawei, lenovo spec are comparable to branded. Car price is drop as new city or vios are cheaper than previous gen. Transportation cost is maintaining or drop because more and more logistic companies in msia and very competitive. Hotel rate is drop too, the 5 stars hotel rate nowadays is cheaper than previous, again because of intense competition. Clothes price are very obvious, nowadays even branded like GAP, CK, Levi’s are cheaper than last time.

2003 I bought a Dxll laptop, Pentium processor, 512 ram and 64gb hard disk cost me RM5k. In year 2011 I bought a Lenxvo Thinkpxd at RM3k, I5 processor, 4gb ram and 500gb. So it mean the price of electronic was drop more than 10%. However fuel price in 2003 RON97 RM1.35 per litre but in year 2011 RON97 price increase to RM2.5 per litre. Fuel price increase almost 90%.

So what we complain the most is the hike of fuel price mainly affect to “FOOD” as we need to take food everyday. I have no complain at all fuel price at RM1.70 per litre RON95 because this was the lowest price since RON95 implemented (first launched 2009 at RM 1.75).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • almighty lim guan eng on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:08 pm

This drop should be done years ago!! Rakyat cannot pay high subsudy for so long! Petrol must actually be free to all rakyat! We produce petrol why we must pay??? Hopefully now our main producer of goods like massimo, ayam brand, tepung cap sauh, beras cap rambutan, minyak masak seri murni can oso drop price because I never buy crony product like gardenia. Robert kuok is very good person, he will help rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • tokok on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:16 am

Name me countries that give fuel to his people for FREE?

• Ah Chong on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:04 am

Ayoyo… lu apa cerita.

Lu tahu tak ROTI GARDENIA tak dapat dijual di LANGKAWI. Lu tak caya lu cari sendiri. PETRONAS pon tak jual. Sebab apa? Sebab itu croni sudah monopoli… Siapa yang monopoli… lu pi tengok roti apa yang ada? Nanti lu orang bagitahu… gua bagi hint.. Kuok punya laaa

Gua cukup suka GARDENIA sbb sedap dan tanpa pengawit..tapi frust bila gua pi Langkawi…

• With this fuel price drop, I hope goods and services price will drop as well. However, we know crony company like Syed Mokhtar cannot be depended for dropping their price. Hopefully good honest people like Robert Kuok will lead the way and drop the price first! We the rakyat are waiting….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • benghazi on Feb 01, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Hopefully, Lembu Rafizi will keep his mouth shut instead of complaining about petrol dealer going bankrupt because petrol price too low. Stupid lembu should care about rakyat first not petrol dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
  • Bro and Sis, crude oil at USD4x per barrel just in short period of time. Now gov will not subsidy the petrol price. When crude oil back to USD80 per barrel. We all will kena RM3.xx per litter. Be aware… Good show is waiting u all at the back. Gov sacrificed a short period but will benefit last longer!

• Robert Kuok save us. But he was not welcome by gov.

• leonardo on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:03 am

Now that the prices of petrol had gone down, when will the prices of Teh Tarek and Roti Canai go down? Previously the reasons given to raise prices was the petrol price increased.
    No monitoring form the Govt.?

• Alex Chan on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:11 am

Robert kuok also one of the Gov kroni la dei..be carefull what u wish for

• Got fired on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:34 pm

I got fired yesterday. Why? My boss caught me spending 20 mins each day reading comments on this site. Hard to stay away because its entertaining. Anyone want to hire me with the condition I get to surf this site for 20 mins daily?

• neo6768 on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:45 pm

One simple question, if I may.
    Why are we paying excessive of import tax and/or excise duty for car, be it CBU or CKD, when our petrol is no longer subsidized?
    Is it because now world crude oil is low/cheap/affordable?
    Wait until when it hits USD100 per barrel, then you will feel the pain.
    When that happens, do not come and tell me it is still okay to buy RM3.40 petrol per litre.
    Still dreaming, tzh, tzh tzh.

• Datuk Seri on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:36 pm

I heard these comment since day 1. Malaysia car price is high Malaysia fuel price also high. Risky at kena conned bla bla.
    LET ME GET THIS STRAIGHT
    IF YOU CANT AFFORD TO PAY FOR FUEL OR BUY A CAR, DONT BLAME OTHERS. IT IS YOU TO BE BLAME BECAUSE YOU HAVE FAIL MISERABLY AND BECOMING POOR. LOOK YOURSELF IN THE MIRROR REFLECT ON WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO BECOME IN THE PRESENT SITUATION. HAVE YOU DONE ENOUGH AND TRY TO IMPROVE YOU LIFE & FINANCIAL OR BECOMING A KEYBOARD WARRIOR AND ALWAYS BLAMING OTHERS FOR YOUR FAILURE.

• CyberPatrol on Feb 03, 2015 at 7:34 am

Failure to provide transparency of how Govt formula price reductions raise lots of speculation of price reduction and feedback by rakyat. If Govt were to analyse these feedback, you had a feeling of people on the ground of sentiments of oil prices and rather by reacting to shutting the door at their face.

Lastly from Bloomberg news, oil producers still have not show sign of cut oil production and our currency slid to low when 3.6277 announced, the weakest level since April 2009. With these two variable sliding, I’ think we heading into red zone gradually..somehow there are bright side to these events…if looking at it positively.

• CyberPatrol on Feb 03, 2015 at 7:36 am

If Govt were to analyse these feedback here, you had a feeling of people on the ground of sentiments of oil prices and rather by reacting to shutting the door at their face. Failure to provide transparency of how Govt formula price reductions raise lots of speculation of price reduction and feedback by rakyat.

Lastly from Bloomberg news, oil producers still have not show sign of cut oil production and our currency slid to low when 3.6277 announced, the weakest level since April 2009. With these two variable sliding, I’ think we heading into red zone gradually..somehow there are bright side to these events…if looking at it positively.

• gerrit on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Slightly off the topic, but does anyone know if fuel subsidies have been removed for retail fuel only? For instance, is commercial diesel for public transport and fishing vessels still subsidised? How are these prices determined? Thanks