Another Chery model coming to Malaysia mid-year

chery-maxime-launch-event 855

We’re still reeling from the Chery Maxime MPV‘s recent world debut in Malaysia, but the Middle Kingdom onslaught isn’t set to stop – sources from Chery Malaysia have told us that another model is due to be introduced sometime in the middle of this year, and that it could be a facelift of an existing model rather than an all-new one.

If the Maxime is anything to go by, the facelift should be a tremendous one. Chery Malaysia’s current range comprises the Maxime, Eastar, Tiggo SUV and a host of commercial vehicles. So could we be looking at a facelift Tiggo?

The Tiggo (called the Tiggo 3 in China; there’s a more upmarket version called the Tiggo 5) was facelifted in 2011 with a V-shaped grille (top right), and again in 2014 (bottom right) with a new face to bring it (somewhat) in line with the Maxime, and a heavily-updated interior. We wonder which one we’ll get, if it is indeed the Tiggo we’re getting.

The little SUV first launched in Malaysia in 2007, bearing an RM80k price tag. It’s currently available in 1.6 five-speed manual and 2.0 four-speed auto forms.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• albag on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:46 am

it’s painful to see this kinda vehicle being sold and driven on roads..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • I know how u feel.. Cause It’s even more painful to see proton being sold and driven on roads..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 41
      • Imagine in just a few years time, chinese car makers start improving their cars significantly and then just like the koreans, start selling cars like hotcakes, unlike the koreans, chinese cars are ridiculously cheap, its just like oppo and xiaomi.
        They will completely destroy the low end market, Proton can’t hide behind the government anymore, imagine super cheap chinese cars arriving at 2x the price, still has more kit as standard compared to a proton at 1x the price?
        What happens then? Proton can’t hide forever, they can’t hide from reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
        • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Don’t worry, Proton will be sucking our LHDN money like crazy. Since 1985, I think they have sucked close to RM100 billion just to sustain itself.

Proton also caused all car prices to go up tremendously. Before Proton, a good car was RM20,000. Global prices of cars have gone down the past 30 years due to efficiency and economies of scale. So, by right, a good car should cost RM20,000 or less in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
          • frcee on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:08 pm

100 billion? give proof or evidence
            or you just talk kok

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:16 am

Haha spot on mate. The Chinese are where the Koreans are more than decade ago, still coming up. Give them a couple more years and they will be on par with the Koreans & Japanese, if not better plus they bought over a number of European brands so…better watch out!

• nowadays, many good brand can select. no need rush. if buy wrong car, got bad quality, will be problem lah.

• Ya, shit n painful car leh. my tiggo just toll bac workshp n cost me RM5k just for repair due to gearbox breakdown after 2 year running. Hati sudah sakit. I damn regret take this car. getting somebody to sell tis tiggo now.

• Keep your tiggo 3, just bring on the Tiggo 5 & spur the SUV competition here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • car-fans on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Overall – Look is much better then previous version – hopefully safety and quality also improve :) Good Luck !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • advan on Feb 02, 2015 at 12:40 pm

GW M4 is cheaper..and anyone remember that Chery boxy sedan? Cant recall the name..hideous but still got people buy.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:45 pm

The Chery Amulet ? Yes, it was quite boxy… but if I’m honest, that was the least of its problems. just Google ‘Chery Amulet’ and see what turns up… hahaha

Chery has come a long way in just 10 years. Their J3 was still poor (J3 was not sold in Malaysia), but the successor to it, the Arrizo 7, is a quantum leap ahead.

• harkmee on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:52 am

Watched cherry amulet test crash on youtube.. cherry omelette hahaha.. hilarious comments mostly i laugh till hurt my stomach already. I remember saw that car ealier the cherry alado??

• Maserati(The Clone) on Feb 02, 2015 at 1:36 pm

The rise of Chery, what about Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
  • sekadar bertanya on Feb 02, 2015 at 3:59 pm

bila kereta protong nak jual sampai china?

iriz test sampai atas salji tapi sampai sekarang jual kat malaysia saja…
    apa guna dpt Asean NCAP 5 bintang tapi nak jual kat luar negara pun tak mampu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • karipap basah on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:13 pm

Iriz car “testing” on snow is just an excuse for proton test drivers and technician to go jalan-jalan & cuti, and makan angin….and sight seeing….huhuhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • someoneDD on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Proton did joinventure with a local plant call “Youngster” and use the brand “Lotus” instead of Proton to market Gen2 as “Lotus L3” to cheat people, but too bad they failed and now Proton withdrew from China. Fail simply because the engine CAMPRO just cant even match with Chinese engine capability. Chasis are good though. Overall, Proton PHAIL.

• ben yap on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:56 pm

this brand has low perception value. cannot sell wann laa… waste of road space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • china brand quality still not that good yet. should wait for more years to come n see how. the second value damn low n very hard to sell after buying. I would rather select jap at tis time..

• Aero (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Malaysia is still mostly a sedan / 4-door market. Chery Malaysia should bring in the new Chery sedans, especially the ones from their Arrizo spin-off brand.

The Chery Arrizo 7 is a good Chinese car. It looks nice in and out, is loaded with kit, has 10 (!) airbags, and a good Acteco engine. If Chery Malaysia can bring it in and assemble it at their Johor Bahru plant, they can also export it to Thailand (to compete with the MG6) and Indonesia (for their budget taxi market). However, whether or not Malaysians will buy the Arrizo 7 will depend almost entirely on its price. If it’s RM60k-ish, then it will be a runaway success like the Kia Forte in 2009. If it’s 70k-ish, not so much. If it’s more than RM80k, expect a tough fight from the Toyota Vios and Honda City. If it’s above RM100k, then don’t even bother.

Do it Chery Malaysia, I will back your endeavours so long as you do it right.

Here’s a video tour of the Chery Arrizo 7. Remove the badge and you’ll never guess its a Chery.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdDJx_2_eTs

• Chery Mystic Black on Feb 03, 2015 at 1:26 am

Went to service recently… got story about change of management… service also improve… hope this will be a good start for years ahead…

• look so cheap.. it’s make proton exora look better

• harkmee on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:27 am

Worse than proton.. in australia this cherry sell less than proton despite offering more models at low price than proton did.. go on search at mudah.my can find a 2012 used tiggo at 19k when bought new at 80k! Don’t want to fall for that. Better get a proton than this horrendous cherry!

• correct, now many brand can choose in the market. Better choose proven good quality with good brand image car or will regret. my friend got one china chery car n can only sell at very low price. somemore very few dealer want to take china car. Better be careful!!