Toyota Fortuner updated for 2015 – RM172k-180k

toyota-fortuner-2015-1

The Toyota Fortuner has been updated for 2015 – with regards to the exterior, the SUV gets smoked head and tail lamps, plus bumper-mounted LED DRLs. The TRD Sportivo decals are new, too.

Also new are some optional equipment – the seven-inch DVD-AVN touch-screen has been upgraded to feature an internet browser, HDMI, Bluetooth, voice recognition, navigation (Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei maps), reverse camera display and Miracast (allows smartphone mirroring of supported apps like Waze or Google Maps). This system is a RM2,990 option.

Also optional are two rear-seat entertainment systems – a ceiling-mounted monitor with integrated DVD player (RM1,800) and just the monitor alone (RM1,500). These systems are only available in conjunction with the DVD-AVN system. Lastly, a portable tyre pump is available for RM200.

Four variants are available – the 2.5 G diesel at RM172,122, 2.5 G TRD Sportivo diesel at RM175,580, 2.7 V petrol at RM179,841 and 2.7 V TRD Sportivo petrol at RM183,325. Prices are OTR with insurance for metallic colours. Two new colours – Attitude Black and Grey Metallic – join the existing Medium Silver Metallic, Solid White and Silver Metallic, and a three-year/100,000 km warranty is offered.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:59 pm

Still the same old shit…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 8
    • Pinky on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:25 pm

After dunno how many centuries, this big fat square box and the almighty hilux still looks the same from the day it first launched.

Oh well, it’s a toyota. No matter how bad it sounds and seems, people in Malaysia are still gonna buy it anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 127 Thumb down 6
      • dugongx on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:37 pm

The double hailat returns with a vengeance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Yaa…it’s a Toyota. No matter how bad it sounds and seems, people in Malaysia are still gonna buy it anyway because Malaysia got a lot of poor “Aunties” and Aunties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Black Dog on Feb 03, 2015 at 3:46 pm

They should fill this Fortuner with anti-theft devices to the brim.

This is the top target for car thieves

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Atoy-ot on Feb 03, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Thieves want top selling car not this junk

• dugongx on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:41 pm

Only a total moron will buy this junk. It cost twice the price of a hilux but is essentially the same thing with a full roof. Even the RV is worse than kimchi. 5 year old fortuner struggles to sell for 60k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 16
      • come.. i give u higher price.. 70k.. get me 1 now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • dugongx on Feb 03, 2015 at 5:35 pm

I don’t have la. I am not used car dealer. Got so many in oto and mudah u find and call yourself la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • fortuner on Feb 03, 2015 at 7:39 am

you know why fortuner cost twice than hilux..bcoz fortuner using multi link with coil spring suspension on rear..same like pajero sport ..consider as sedan..so tax it..hilux using leaf spring.truck style..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:20 pm

oh no here comes bashers again.

and i wonder, its toyota again no 1 in non national segment selling in 6 figures.

unbeatable. maybe 25 million malaysians not bothered at all with all the negative comments here.

they just want the best in reliability, after sales service network, warranty coverage, parts availability and satisfaction in ownership.

or perhaps the best compromise of all.

and oh, maybe for the resale value.

thumb down required here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 59
      • panjang on Feb 03, 2015 at 4:25 am

Bro,
        Last year the best selling non-national brand is Honda lah.Its in the paper yesterday.
        Most sale comes from City and Jazz.
        For exec category,Accord sales almost double the Camry’s figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
        • alldisc on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:18 pm

remember what Vin Diesel in Fast and Furious 1st Edition –

it doesnt matter whether u win by an inch or a mile – winning is winning.

in my case here, Toyota still No.1 in non-national segment (apparently stated in MAA report).

no need to give excuses like City launched late, or Honda no commercial vehicles – that is just lame.

• Endut on Jun 01, 2022 at 9:20 am

Malaysia only one of the market global sales Toyota number 1 Honda nothing compare to Toyota

• alldisc on Feb 03, 2015 at 1:25 pm

you are all hillarious lah.

i tot u read paultan article and know on all this before start to bash.

here i give you the link.

1. Toyota sold 10k units last year, honda sold 77k.

http://paultan.org/2015/01/12/malaysia-automotive-institute-2014-2015-review-insight/mai_14_15_review_-006/

2. UMW sold a lot more vios than Honda Malaysia.
        vios 42k unit vs 36k for city.

http://paultan.org/2015/01/12/malaysia-automotive-institute-2014-2015-review-insight/mai_14_15_review_-007/

typical blind bashers. hahaha!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
        • Ananz on Feb 04, 2015 at 10:47 am

While Toyota is the top selling non national brand when you factor in commercial vehicles together. If you only look at passenger vehicles then Honda has already overtook Toyota in 2014 since Honda does not have any commercial vehicles on sale.

Toyota sold a total of 103,035 units and comprise of 73,693 passenger vehicles and 28,342 commercial vehicles.
          Honda sold a total of 77,495 passenger vehicles.
          All figures above taken from MAA market review report. http://www.maa.org.my/pdf/Market_Review_2014.pdf

What category of vehicles make up the passenger vehicle segment? It includes MPV, 4X4/SUV, window vans and normal passenger cars.

While Toyota did manage to sell more Vios do remember the new City only started delivery in April while Jazz in July onwards so while the Vios had a headstart Honda caught up and overtook Toyota in the overall PV segment. So overall Toyota actually did in fact lose a lot of sales to Honda in the B-segment, D-segment.

• Honda overtook Toyota in 2014 in the passenger vehicle segment lah. Toyota sold 73k PV while Honda 77k PV in 2014.
          Check MAA market review for the proof.

• Passenger Vehicle does not include MPV and Hilux.

Avanza and Innova not included.

• @muya

Please check the classification of cars under MMA. MPV is included as a passenger car. That means Innova, Avanza, Previa, Alphard, Odyssey, Stream, are included.

I mentioned 4×4/SUV but Hilux is not a passenger car and considered as commercial vehicle. 4×4 as in SUV with 4×4 capabilities like CRV 4WD and CX-5 AWD. If Hilux was a passenger car you would not be getting it at the current cheap price but add another 50% more to its selling price now.

If you have proof stating otherwise please feel free to state the facts you obtained.

• JB_KIA on Feb 03, 2015 at 3:05 pm

on the bright side, it is safer to drive one now. The car tends to get hijacked 10 years ago.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:32 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• This model still selling???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • Maserati(The Clone) on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Wow…!!! Really, really good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
  • shawal on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:07 pm

thats not an update
    thats a 2 hour visit to nearest brothers ah beng shop….
    those LEDs looks cheap and nasty….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 2
  • wiseconsumer on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:10 pm

RM180k for 10 year old tech no VSC… better go for FORD MONDEO…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
  • advan on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Hilux based suv with shitty handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • Wonder why Toyota still wants to facelift this SUV, as there are hardly any Fortuner on the road. Time for a complete new model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Toyota did this because they have to be seen doing something at least lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Sam L0orrrr on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:30 pm

You better stick to your inspira, those who use fortunes is any times richer than those driving x3.

• Sam High-RV on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Fortuner got top RV than
    2. X-Trail
    3. Pajero Sport
    4. Santa Fe
    5. Sorento

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 88
    • dugongx on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Fortuner RV is as good as Hilux. Only thing is it starts at twice the price. After 5 years Hilux is same price as fortuner. Only the champion sohai will buy new fortuner. Or those that buy using free(tax) money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • 2007 Fortuner cost RM 178k, Now used car cost 81k. After 8 years same price with Hilux.

• stock clearance on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:33 pm

haha stock clearance, new model coming soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:45 pm

It is just a Hilux with top.
    Nothing but a glamor contractor car, to drive over mud and sand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • booooooooooooooooooring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • nonameee on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Rm180k? Ford Everest over this piece of junk, hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • karipap basah on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:59 pm

2 words for Toyota Malaysia…

TAK LAKU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • body from Hilux….

• Only JPJ will buy this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:31 pm

I heard got huge kickbacks to the tune of 20k offered to clear each of these junks. Wonder who gets it.

• screwu (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:43 pm

Jpj did buy a lot oredi…..summore with JPJ plates…I saw lots of them in a ‘yard’ with running numbers until the hundreds….still umw got stocks…

• screwu (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:49 pm

Jpj oredi buy a lot….all with JPJ plates…I saw these at a ‘yard’ with running numbers into the hundreds…and still umw have stocks…

• PLUS Ronda also can buy this. Have drls good for visibility at night on highways.

• jacksonljs on Feb 03, 2015 at 2:38 pm

JPJ ‘Fortuner’ one is duty free (since it’s one of the government owned vehicles).

Another big SUV to ‘teach’ a ‘road hogger’ that refuse to barge even after few high beam flashes especially youngsters that play around with smartphone or main-main with gf beside him meanwhile traveling way below speed limit on fastest lane. The method is, overtake from left, slid to the right and jam brake right in front of road hogger’s car.

• hahaha on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:20 pm

sorry.. ford everest is way better than this VSC-less vehicle

• Really on Feb 02, 2015 at 8:53 pm

LOL, i am very impressed by UMW’s confidence that this will still sell. But the truth is, they have no choice but to give huge discounts to move these overpriced, underspecced dinosaurs.

• I would rather burn 180k, it will be more entertaining and prettier than owning a fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • darkermarker on Feb 02, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Who the heck gonna fork-out RM172k-180k for a piece of low tech, dinasour and outdated junk??? I dont think uncle want to drive this car….

Kesian Toyota. They are so delusional and they even lying to themselves about their own sales…..

Anyway, there are so many nicer looking, better performance, cheaper SUV out there currently….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • KarTiN (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 9:39 pm

Any buyer is better off buying any crew cab 4 door for about half the price and spend a few bucks upgrading the ride with some after market stuff. Still a four speed auto with leaf springs, LOL, We deserve this as Toyota is selling more to Malaysians. So sad.

• Gat3K33per on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:08 pm

I’ve sat in the third row in the Fortuner on a long highway journey, its so cramp, and the ride felt jittery harsh, & bumpy. If u want to buy this to ferry 7 passengers, then think again. If u cant afford CRV, Exora might be the better choice (more spacious behind & more comfortable too).

Many people dont realize that this ladder-frame chassis SUV is a low cost option for third world countries… Its not even close to Harrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Abang Bang on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:39 pm

The reason why the Fortuner is twice the price of the Hi-Lux is that the Fortuner as a passenger vehicle is taxed heavily by the government (excise duty) while the Hi-Lux as a “commercial vehicle” is not. It is not Toyota taking the money, it is the G. If you want cheaper cars in Malaysia, ask the G to lower the taxes on cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:41 pm

there really should b a law against anyone buying this dung….it should be seditious and under the ISA….

• nabill (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 10:58 pm

there should be a law against anyone buying this dung…it should be viewed as sedicious n should be tried under the ISA

• sick&tired on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:02 pm

RM180k for this outdated crap!!?? for that money i can get a santa fe diesel. if i really need a workhorse, then the Ford Ranger or Colorado will be better.

• helmi on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Drove this my company’s. Worst handling, bumpy ride, feel like in a milo tin. This is a 3rd world vehicle.With RM170k+, I don’t recommend it.

• If it still sells, it will be very ‘fortunately’

• Rocky on Feb 02, 2015 at 11:59 pm

RM175-180k you get a old chunky same looking exterior and interior few years back.

Concept: –
    Face lift = Add DRL. DONE!

Bad plastic Interior looking for this high price. In terms of interior & exterior, You have many good looking cars to choose for this price man!

• UrMoneyWasted on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:02 am

Just buy a hiace 2015 version with same engine if u don’t need all those ah beng DRL n toys…at least got vsc and hill start assist…70k cheaper n seat 10 comfortably…

• UrMoneyWasted on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:02 am

Just buy a hiace 2015 version with same engine if u don’t need all those ah beng DRL n toys…at least got vsc and hill start assist…70k cheaper n seat 10 comfortably…

• Cheap UMW on Feb 03, 2015 at 6:14 am

How cheap can UMW be? Selling at 180+k and they can’t even include navigation as standard like most of its rivals (Pajero Sport, Santa Fe). Heck, even the rm200 tyre pump is extra cost. It makes one wonder whether buyers of this dinosaur are 1) too rich or/and 2) brain dead.

• BuySmart on Feb 03, 2015 at 2:11 pm

That’s official price. Down the road after CNY there will be a 15-25k ringgit discount to move the unsold vehicles. If not, they can ask GOVT agencies too buy (@inflated prices, after some dining and karaoke, china dolls, etc) those trucks and then show a healthy profit.

• Souya Tempe on Feb 03, 2015 at 9:49 am

Haha. Last few month everybody busy talking about air bags. This is the first one I read without them.

• I thought it was a “Spot The Difference” game ! :p

• Explain “UPDATE” and “NEW”, cos I’m allergic to bullsh*t.

• plane design, but people will continue to buy this coz toyota build reliable 4×4. quality over design

• ss427 on Feb 03, 2015 at 11:51 am

Enuf of this 10+ yr old dino nonsense.

I guess this is how Toyota makes insane amount of money. Continue to use superbly crude and outdated parts in their lineup and have the marketing dept do their work. The T badge alone will prob make up > 80% of the sales. So long its a T badge it must be good kind of nonsense.

That 2.7L truck engine can be put into the museum. Its amazing how a fairly large 2.7L engine makes just 157hp these days. And with just 250NM of torque. How often to do you see a brand new engine with a crank mounted radiator fan?! How often do we see a cast iron engine block these days? I thought everyone talks about reducing weight to save fuel. Fortuner did the exact opposite.

Seriously pple, see the new Kia Sorento here and then tell me if Toyota is still the bestest of the best car manufacturer out there.

http://www.kia.com/sg/MODELS/SUVMPV/Sorento/index.htm

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Actually it’s like buying a brand new collectible with old the old specs, cool.

• No Traction Control, Electronic Stability Control and 6 air bags? Forget about it. It is a total rip off.

• Bristol on Feb 03, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Even though with TC, ESC & 6 airbags, Toyota still considered as moving forward to coffin. R.I.P Toyota

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:49 pm

They made it as such on purpose to tarpau all car enthusiast into this black coffin
      Consider it as population control

• DrRif on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:33 pm

I used to own one, sold it after 12 months, got sick of the terrible ride, terrible handling, bad brakes, acceleration worse than Viva

DO NOT BUY ONE!!!

• cendol (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 10:26 am

THey really have to tone down the TRD thing.
    It is getting on people’s nerve
    You can’t simply call it RACING DEVELOPMENT by just adding spoiler and stickers

• blaster88 on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:43 pm

I have been following some of the Toyota posts. EVERY single post or article kena bambu like crazy. Old technology, low specs esp safety specs and way overpriced…..UMW you should be losing sleep esp since you now lost the passenger car market leadership to Honda…

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:31 pm

As long as its not a kimchi it will have RV

• Sarawak Driver. on Mar 02, 2015 at 10:29 pm

Okay So the Fortuner is really expensive and still uses a traditional body on frame design but this type of car still has a market for big companies in Sabah and Sarawak like (estate and plantation). Most companies here have factories and estate within the rural area so off road is a must. And yes they are super rich so price is no issue. Cars like the Fortuner is perfect for them cause it’s though, high ground clearance, powerful and seat 7 people. Try bringing your Sorentos, Santa Fes, Crvs and Cx5s on these roads and you find the bottom of your car scrapping the rocks and gravel. The Fortuner is the only traditional SUV still sold in Malaysia as other manufacture has opt for the “crossover” design. Sometimes, these box on wheels is still needed especially off road.