VIDEO: New Toyota Alphard and Vellfire in action

Toyota has unveiled an all-new generation of the Alphard and Vellfire and it won’t be long before the showrooms of grey importers around the country will be filled with these MPVs. Since UMW Toyota is officially selling the Alphard, we’re guessing it will eventually be in UMW Toyota showrooms as well.

Sitting on a new longer wheelbase platform with a double wishbone rear suspension, the new Alphard/Vellfire twins also debut some new features and technologies such as a new Panoramic View Monitor which looks and functions similiar to the one found on the Lexus NX.

There’s also a new Intelligent Clearance Sonar with Pre-collision System which can automatically apply the brakes to mitigate low speed accidents and a Radar Cruise Control with All-speed Tracking function that can be used to maintain a pre-set distance to the vehicle ahead between 0 to 100 km/h.

Other enhancements include a standard LED roof illumination – now with four brightness levels and 16 colour variations – and a Smart Entry & Push Start System with Welcome Power Slide Door & Reservation Lock function. The latter can be set to automatically open the sliding door as the user approaches.

Toyota Japan has produced a few videos showing these features in action – if you’re interested in getting a new Alphard or Vellfire when they eventually land in Malaysia, you’ll want to watch them to get familiarised with what you’re buying. The videos also give a better in-motion view of the exterior and interior.

Active Safety

Features

Interior Comfort

Auto Parking

Seat Configuration, Luggage, Infotainment

Powered Doors and Boot

TVC

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4NgkW2WbbgQ

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hehehe on Feb 02, 2015 at 3:22 pm

When reach malaysia, half the features will be removed, but price remain/increase.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • wayangkul1t on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Of course. UMW is GLC and GLC want to untung gila gila at the expense of your life. Malaysians are generally stupid. In overseas Toyota all comes with 9 airbags and priced 3x less than the price sold in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 02, 2015 at 3:28 pm

not pretty…but swag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • blaster88 on Feb 02, 2015 at 3:36 pm

Alfart looks like a Gundam robot…urg! BTW, RM100K would get you a new unit in Japan with all the bells and whistles…how much in Bolehland? Ahem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Every exterior designer in Toyota should be fired. How many mistakes do they need to repetitively make? Ugly design, since 1990s? Interior designer be warned also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Why dont you apply for a designers post at Toyota?
      And promised them you can design them a best seller alphard/vellfire?

• alldisc on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:33 pm

pre collission system should be made compulsory in malaysia since many drivers in traffic jams are actually playing with smartphones….

uff.

• Jimmy on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Malaysian versions will have 6-airbags and ESP .
    Eyes wide shut.

• elson on Feb 02, 2015 at 5:57 pm

this car just be passenger enough , dont be driver

• Kenny on Feb 02, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Every one who think this is ugly simply because you are not the target customer of this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Every one who think this is ugly simply because you are fan of Veeyos catfish and Almera dugung designs. lol

• Those idiots complain so much, but they don’t have money to buy. Kesian them.

If you think this is ugly, go see Hyundai or Kia la. Bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • trubbish on Feb 03, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Merc nowadays looks like old hyundai or kia. Even p1 more beautiful

• albag on Feb 02, 2015 at 7:52 pm

i think im gonna sell my current Vellfire to get this..

• omg! wtf is this! i nearly throw up my dinner….so dasat scary looking van!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • If I may suggest, UMW please do a CKD version and you can see every household owning one (I hope the Rakyat one day haf such purchasing power).

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 03, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Get a used Starex.

Send it to the accessory shop to make the interior look like an Alphard.

Saves you a few hundred thousand ringgit, coz can get a 2012 unit for under RM25k

• hadi75 on Feb 04, 2015 at 9:11 am

Stop bullshitting la sam loo…even a 5 year old starex will cost you more than 80k in the secondhand market. If what you said is true…give me the shop name, i want to buy it……

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Malaysian “car enthusiast” no like anything from UMW
      If every household can own one Toyota, Malaysian “car enthusiast” will spread even more lies and hatred
      The success of Godcar Vios has proven that

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:08 am

Dislike the Alphard design but like the Vellfire design and can they stop using wood panels pls? It makes the interior look dated immediately.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:37 pm

i disagree though….some wood panels look really good…..

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 03, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Ze Germans and Scandinavians can make wood look really good. Just look at the Audi A7 with some optional packs, it looks like a luxury yacht! And the beech wood you could get in the C30/S40… oh my. Looks like modern furniture.

I do agree that the use of wood in the Alphard looks rather… tacky.

http://polpix.sueddeutsche.com/polopoly_fs/1.1054382.1355713282!/httpImage/image.jpg_gen/derivatives/900×600/image.jpg
      http://www.fourtitude.com/gallery/albums//Audi/A7%20Sportback/Munich%20Reveal/087.jpg

• older alphad design look like a van. this is way better look aggressive and futuristic

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 03, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Kimchis can only try to produce a similar product by 2050, but they will always have no RV, plus with kimchis, you are guaranteed to have a few tow truck operators hotline stored in your speed dial

• Ahh, the Japanese Cadillac wannabe… Prepare to see a whole lot of these tailgating and filling your rear view mirrors with that ostentatious grill.

On a side note, kinda reminds me of a gangsta with all silver teeth, aka ‘grillz’….