Nissan Maxima – first official pics of the eighth-gen

2016 Nissan Maxima

Yes, this is the “4-door sports car” Nissan was talking about – it’s the eighth-gen 2016 Nissan Maxima. The muscular mid-sizer pretty much retains the swoopy silhouette of Detroit 2014’s Sport Sedan concept, with the production headlamps, wheels, door mirrors and door handles doing almost nothing to spoil its looks.

Stand-out styling elements are aplenty, including a heavily-sculpted bonnet, mean-looking headlamps with C-shaped DRL eyebrows (the motif is echoed by the warm-glowing tail lamps), a V-Motion face, a ‘floating’ roofline and twin tailpipes. This is Nissan’s flagship, and it certainly looks it.

The new Nissan Maxima actually made a cameo appearance at the end of the company’s “With Dad” Super Bowl commercial – check it out below. We should have more details closer to the car’s debut at the New York show in April.

2016 Nissan Maxima

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Mozilla Chrome on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Superb design from Nissan. Now they can tell this to Hyundai/Kia -> “Step up your game”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Hyundai/KIA have designs that last just long enough for the sorhai to pay down payment.

Once they walk out from the showroom, remorse sets in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
    • that ad made me cry!!! wat a beautiful story Nissan! Belissimo!

• i thot an america dad are should be gay.. really shock his mother are woman…haha

• Ha Gnih on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Like Wow! Seriously WOW !!! Ok. Next car, next car is gonna be this one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • jemah on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:36 pm

wow very nice design..now im in delema to choose all new Maxima or all new murano….

• kumar on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:43 pm

the nissan designers woke up finally. superb!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Ok this one is really WOW!!! Great job Nissan!

• ah coi on Feb 04, 2015 at 4:59 pm

nice design.. hope this come to malaysia and get price bellow 70k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • MeToo on Feb 04, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Below 70k?

Really?

Are you living in the same Malaysia as I am? The one where car prices are most expensive in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • BeemerFreak on Feb 04, 2015 at 5:52 pm

This thing has a base model with a 3.5L V6 on the current model in US, don’t say 70k, even 700k also cannot buy. It will never come to Malaysia, never will.

• MeToo on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:31 pm

700k u can easily grey import a unit… heck u can get 2 units even…

• Stop being delusional. You can’t even get the car this price in its country of birth!
      Some people (not necessarily Malaysians) just can’t be satisfied.

• farhan on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:33 pm

am i realizing u being sarcastic? hahaha…

• Keep hoping bro!

• Hopefully aLmeera team disigner wake up to and transform their fugly design.

• nice song form Ugly Kid Joe

• Don Juan De Marco on Feb 04, 2015 at 5:37 pm

This is definitely a vast improvement over the current Nissan’s ungainly/ugly design language. Expect new exciting-looking Nissan models in the next 1-2 years!

• MeToo on Feb 04, 2015 at 5:59 pm

For those of you who are unaware of the Maxima…

This is not the RM60k entry level car… the 2014 Maxima is a 3.5L 290hp car…

• peminat proton sejati on Feb 04, 2015 at 7:20 pm

gila punya mantap design… perghhhhh
    ini baru design yg bagus bukan macam proton iriz sendiri perasan bagus punya design… padahal hodoh… punggung kotak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • adam e. on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:58 am

just googled this unit. which is released in usa. looks nothing like the concept unit above. dont worry, what u see is just a “concept car”. the actual unit is pretty dull and expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • I thought this is new Mazda6 facelift

• skyjuice on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:02 am

Listen to the engine rev sound at the end of video, sound good.. V6?

• Leonardo on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:10 am

It’s been a long time since I said “WOW!” for any Nissan styling. But this time Nissan did it for me. Maybe the original styling comes from the Renault studio in Europe rather than Japan?

• Nissan’s B-segment car Almera should folo this design, not the current fugly one.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:43 am

I actually prefer the current outgoing Maxima. Muscular but understated. Very much following the Maxima heritage. Understated looks, but packs a punch from the VQ series engine.

This new one looks a bit too Kia’ish…and a bit to shoutish.

• peter kay on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:11 pm

at first glance i tot this is the new mazda, until i read the title. “eh nissan kah?”

• It will come to M’sia when you have already retired…..

• optima on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:56 pm

kia got optima. here comes Nissan maxima

• Is it me or is the car look like a Mazda?