Porsche Cayman GT4 unveiled – 385 hp, manual only!

porsche-cayman-gt4-geneva-live-2

Accidentally revealed last October, the Porsche Cayman GT4 is now finally for real – it’s to the Cayman what the GT3 is to the 911, i.e. a more hardcore version, basically.

But in a two-fingered salute to the 911 GT3, which is only available with a seven-speed PDK twin-clutch gearbox, the Cayman GT4 is six-speed manual-only!

A mid-mounted 3.8 litre flat-six (derived from the 911 Carrera S) sends 385 hp at 7,400 rpm to the rear wheels, contributing to a 4.4 second century sprint time and a top whack just shy of 300 km/h. Nurburgring time? Seven minutes and 40 seconds – only 15 seconds slower than the 911 GT3.

The body sits 30 mm lower on a chassis that shares many parts with the 911 GT3. Apart from a “purposefully-proportioned brake system” (whatever that means), there’s a huge fixed rear wing, prominent side inlets, centrally-mounted twin tailpipes and a garang front bumper with LED DRLs and mesh intakes.

Inside, you face a three-spoke GT4 steering wheel amidst a sea of leather and Alcantara. Bi-xenon headlamps, 20-inch alloys and torque vectoring with mechanical limited-slip diff are standard, while PCCB ceramic brakes, CFRP seats, a Sport Chrono Package with Track Precision app, and a Club Sport Package are optionally specifiable.

The Porsche Cayman GT4 costs 85,779 euro (RM351k) in Germany, US$85,595 (RM305k) in the US (including destination) and 64,451 pounds (RM348k) in the UK. We’ll see it in March at the Geneva show.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• GTR36 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:33 am

PDK please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • GTR36 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:33 am

Again, PDK please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • GTR36 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:34 am

Again, again PDK please!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • kington on Feb 04, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Then go buy the standard Cayman, S or GTS lor. This one’s for purists only.

• Prosche on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:39 am

This Porsche use Right-hand manual stick + left-hand signal stick. Good in terms of safety and ergonomics.

Obviously not like global PROTON. Proton chose to operate the manual stick and signal stick with the same hand. Brilliant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:16 pm

Most Conti cars here also signal stalk on left hand like Proton laaa

• Prosche on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:18 pm

I`m referring to the manual transmission car. Please enlighten me what model, since I never owned a conti.

• GT3 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:40 pm

Even Conti cars in the UK which drives in left-lane, shift using left hand, also equipped with signal stalk on the left.

• I can only vouch for myself but I have used a manual toyota and a manual Gen2 so here is my comparison.

As a right hander, my dominant hand is of course right and during driving I felt more stable during signal and turns in the gen2. This is due to my dominant hand stably gripping the wheel while my left does the shifting/signalling work.

Occasionally I drive with only either on the wheel and found that my left hand tends to move a bit more than the right.

So yeah, a Proton definitely feels more natural to drive for me.

• alibaba on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:48 am

that weird moment when i spent a few minutes thinking what is a garang bumper, other than that, nice one porsche. manual rocks even though i cant drive one.

• GT3 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:43 pm

It’s never too late to learn to drive manual, dude. I fully support u. It may not be the most efficient or fastest transmission, but the most satisfying transmission to drive. Especially if u have a sports car, u know, layan corner sorang2 in Genting and Bukit Tinggi during weekends.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 9:13 pm

cant blame him entirely….one of the cheapest route to a good manual is the suzuki swift sports….other cars…..want a manual ah? willing pay another 100k for the car or not and wait a year for the car to come? …..no ah? bye bye

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 12:58 pm

The Porsche Cayman GT4 costs 85,779 euro (RM351k) in Germany, US$85,595 (RM305k) in the US (including destination) and 64,451 pounds (RM348k) in the UK

So UK and Germany paid 15% more no body bats an eye
    If its in Malaysia, it will be complaint fest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • tokmoh. on Feb 04, 2015 at 2:29 pm

UK VAT 20%, Germany’s GST I dunno the rate, should be close to UK’s. If our infrastructure, public transport like UK and Germany, Msians also won’t complain.

But we pay 9000% tax, get taxi rapists, bus samseng, Komuter slow slow, Monorail sardine, people killed near LRT construction, internet mahal tapi slow, TNB make record profit yet still wanna increase tariff etc etc.

Become highway concessionaire is effectively guaranteed profit, yet PLUS manage to have RM1b accumulated losses. Duit kite bayar tol tu gi mana? Then taxpayers have to bail them out.

Tak pe la, cukur negara aman, harga minyak turun. I <3 PM, BN, XOXO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
      • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:39 pm

Please show me receipt of 9000% tax that you did paid
        Tell me other countries taxis got no rape, latest i know of is India
        Public train not packed never been to trains like japan/hong kong?

There are things I dont like about the government that doesnt mean i should be blind and politicized every issue

• There are things we can assume, there are things we can speculate. But there are things we CANT lie, especially those that can be proven.
        For instance, I have taken the new ETS from serdang to midvalley and it was on time and very convenient indeed.
        Also have you been on the new 4 car monorail? You should try it, just to disprove your sardine theory.
        And you must literally be blind if you can’t seen the construction going about around Klang Valley.

• How much is VAT in UK and Germany?

• blaster88 on Feb 04, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Coz it Bolehland is never about 15% etc. which I can live with… If it ever lands here it would cost at least Euro 200K!

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Did you try to understand why?
        Or you were being told its because of greedy manufacturers and government policies?

• blaster88 on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:43 pm

I know its government policies and greedy manufacturers…enough said. I know where this is going….

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:17 am

Please tell us how you know
            I’m keen to gauge how greedy manufacturers and government policies can be

• Does it matter to you that in ANY country, only the rich can afford this? So why pick on Malaysia?

• blaster88 on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Why? becoz not even the rich can afford it in Malaysia…only the SUPER rich! I rest my case…

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:18 am

Whats your definition of rich then?

• 385HP only. no dual clutch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • GT3 (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:45 pm

U don’t need more power when u have one of the best sounding engine, best chassis and best gearbox.

• ah chai on Feb 04, 2015 at 3:58 pm

fugly.. axia look better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Three Pedals on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:48 pm

God bless Porsche! Even though most of us couldn’t afford it, but we’re glad that this car exists, especially in 2015.
    Now I shall re-organize my list of favorite sports car.
    This glorious Cayman GT4 tops my list, together with prev-gen 997 911 GT3 RS.

• hazamiey on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:50 pm

No PDK? OK. Cayman GTS is the best. Period.