Suzuki Malaysia recalls Swift 1.4 – both CBU and CKD

Suzuki_Swift_CKD

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile has issued a recall for the Swift 1.4, involving 6,991 units (900 CBU, 6,091 CKD) manufactured between March 12, 2012 and October 30, 2014.

Owners are asked to send their cars in to have their steering system checked and if necessary, replaced for free. Further details have not been divulged. Older Swift 1.5 models are not affected.

The recall campaign will run until January 30, 2016. Contact 1-300-88-6699 or visit www.suzuki.net.my for more information.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Could it be related to Takata airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Matrix on Feb 04, 2015 at 6:48 pm

haha. Lousy Suzuki.

Honda is the best. Especially city. Problem free

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 81
    • WWW(member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Honda unfortunately is not the best. Many problems especially the ckd models from Melaka. Cheapskate quality unlike CBU from Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:29 am

Surprise only 12 comments?? Where did these kiasus that kaki kencing and tounge spinner go???? They did even bother when non-proton cars got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • theanswer on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:58 am

unlike cbu from japan? u should read about numbers of city hybrid recall in japan.

• Deus Ex on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:28 pm

I’m guessing you didn’t hear about people dying in Honda vehicles from exploding airbags/shrapnel to the face, huh?

• hope suzuki malaysia wake up from their dream to sell more cars here with more competitive price and specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 11:36 pm

suzuki swift sport is rather good value….but the market isnt really into performance cars lately

• presna (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:22 pm

It would be nice if we were to adopt the same reporting system as in the US for fault reporting by automobile manufacturers.

Not sure if the article is reporting word for word on the recall procedure, but with no detailed information on the nature of the problem (beyond just steering wheel…) or its severity how are customers/public supposed to make of this?

I hope Mazda Malaysia isn’t playing cloak and dagger just to avoid any potential lawsuit in case of manufacturing defects that could possibly or have lead to accidents or injuries…(like the incident prior to the recent GM recall in US)

• kzm (Member) on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:35 pm

mazda?

• presna (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:20 pm

sorry, typo….Suzuki… but still the gist is the same… doing a recall without providing adequate information especially the severity of the issue….

• On another note BMW f30 also has steering rack knocking sound issues. This is very common and I’m surprised they have not announced a recall.

• michiru on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:40 pm

I think it’s not regarding airbag problem. In Thailand there is a big problem about steering column going on, but it has been no recall what so ever. The problem is when you drive you will hear some noise under your steering wheel on various road conditions. It’s really hot issue among Thailand swift 1.2 users that make Suzuki sales drops so far.

• Regular Reader on Feb 04, 2015 at 8:47 pm

The Swift is still a great little car, so fun to drive. I want one for the wife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • does this affect the new suzuki swift sport?

• Muhammad Noor on Feb 04, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Matrix, I have both Honda and Suzuki Swift and I begged to differ. Superb car in Ride and Handling, and value for money the Swift is.

SSS, Swift Sport is 1.6L. Recalled one is for 1.4 – both GL and GLX.

• Hondaman on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:37 am

Oh my, my sister’s car is one of those affected, actually has been hearing sort of not smooth steering turn at the boss sterring area… That must be the culprit.

• shyama on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:39 pm

I hv just booked the swift 1.4 …on the 4th of Feb..and the next day I read about the recall. I need some advice. Should I go for another choice of car.

• Davids on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:06 am

Yes you should proceed, the recall is for previous batch and yours has been rectify. To clear up everything you can ask SC to get a guaranty that your batch is clear from problem.