2015 Honda HR-V launched in Malaysia, from RM100k

HRV_G_01

We’ve been covering the 2015 Honda HR-V for quite some time now – first at its world premiere at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show as the JDM Vezel, then its regional debuts in six markets: Indonesia, Europe (as a concept), Brazil, USThailand and Australia. Last month, Honda Malaysia teased potential owners through a nationwide preview, then took us to drive the car in Chiang Mai.

Its arrival, then, has been long and drawn out, but it’s finally here, unveiled at Symphony Lake Suite in KLCC this morning. As with its Jazz sibling, the HR-V is available in three variants – RM99,800 Grade S, RM108,800 Grade E and range-topping RM118,800 Grade V, all prices being on-the-road with insurance, inclusive of a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty as well as six times free service up to 100,000 km.

Previewed by the 2013 Urban SUV Concept, the Hi-rider Revolutionary Vehicle (or Hip and Smart Runabout Vehicle, as it’s now referred to) aims to combine the personal feel of a coupe, the utility of an MPV and the toughness of an SUV. The styling certainly echoes that, mixing rugged plastic body cladding, a distinctive “Solid Wing Face” front fascia, a steeply rising character line and hidden rear door handles.

The theme continues inside with an SUV-like tall driving position, a high hip point that aids entry and egress and a sports car-esque tall transmission tunnel. Similar to top-spec Jazz and City models, soft-touch plastics with faux stitching line the cabin, providing a more upscale look and feel. One feature set to polarise opinion is the trio of air vents ahead of the front passenger, which is claimed to provide optimum air flow around the interior (unlike the City, there are no rear air vents).

The Jazz’s centre fuel tank layout is retained, enabling the fitment of the rear Ultra Seats – aside from folding flat, they can also tip up to provide space for taller objects. Other nice touches include an instrument cluster with seven customisable lighting colours, an electronic parking brake that frees up space for two cupholders on the centre console, as well as Auto Brake Hold which keeps the car stationary at a stop when engaged – a boon at traffic lights and in jams.

Under the bonnet, all models get the Civic’s 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC four-pot, making 142 PS at 6,500 rpm and 172 Nm at 4,300 rpm. Sending the power to the front wheels is G-Design Shift CVT – the transmission uses a torque converter for better response off the line, endowing the HR-V with step-off acceleration that is said to be quicker than the 2.0 litre CR-V. A fuel-saving ECON Mode also comes as standard.

In terms of equipment, all HR-Vs come equipped with the same 16-inch wheels, auto headlights, LED tail lights, front and rear fog lights and a shark fin antenna. E variants get side mirror-mounted indicators, while only the top-spec V receives twin-projector LED headlights and chrome door handles.

Inside, the mid-range E adds keyless entry, push-button start, steering wheel audio controls and touch-panel single-zone automatic air-conditioning, while the V tacks on cruise control, variable interval adjustment for the intermittent front wipers, semi-leather upholstery that replaces full fabric on the other two models, leather-lined door cards, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear knob as well as illuminated vanity mirrors.

Different head units for all three variants, too – a standard double-DIN radio and CD player for Grade S, a Monitor Audio infotainment system with a five-inch display for Grade E and a seven-inch touchscreen Display Audio infotainment system with voice control, HDMI connectivity and a multi-angle (wide, normal and top) rear-view camera for Grade V. Four speakers are standard for the lower two models, six on the V.

Safety-wise, the HR-V comes standard with dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), hill-hold assist and rear Isofix child seat anchors. V-spec models get additional side and curtain airbags for a total of six airbags.

Lastly, the traditional Honda colours of Taffeta White, Alabaster Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and Crystal Black Pearl are joined by a new Ruse Black Metallic hue, which glows purple in sunlight. As is usual for a Honda, the HR-V is offered with two Utility packages and two Modulo styling kits, starting from RM1,550. The company is bullish with sales of the new B-segment SUV, setting a monthly target of 700 units.

Want to know what it’s like to drive? Read our review here. For full details regarding the specifications, equipment and option packs for the 2015 Honda HR-V, head over to CarBase.my.

Honda HR-V Grade V

Honda HR-V Grade V (with Modulo Sport Aero Package)

Honda HR-V Grade E

Honda HR-V Grade S (with Modulo Tough Advance Package)

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Peter on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:38 am

ooh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Appreciated if paultan.org could come out a useful chart comparison among competitors (ASX, EcoSport, Tucson, 2008, etc…) in term of Price-Spec & Dimension.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 6
      • TT@TT on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:19 pm

you can do that at http://www.carbase.my
        can compare up to 5 models

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
        • Toyota Salesman Crying! on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. This HRV is the nail to Tota’s coffin in Malaysia. Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
          Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 674 Thumb down 28
          • I don’t read your comment till the end but i like you bro…:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 8
          • Leafable on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Very educational. Every citizen serve to know the truth. But minor thing is Malaysia Ringgit is now depreciate to USD$1 = RM3.56

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
          • Yea Damn UMW. If u go to toyota usa u guys will definitely hate these Bastards even more.
            Ten airbags!!

In Camry, there are ten standard airbags for you and your passengers, including a driver and front passenger Advanced Airbag System, driver and front passenger seat-mounted side airbags, driver and front passenger knee airbags, rear seat-mounted side airbags, and front and rear side curtain airbags.
            Source: Toyota USA 2015

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
          • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:20 am

dont con la
            US market TIV 16.4 million units a year
            Malaysian market after minus P1 and P2 market which they cannot compete is only 355k units a year

keep copy and paste the same stuff and expect it to be facts

and you’re only picking on toyota
            wonder if you are salesman trying to con people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 106
          • Carlover (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:59 am

Can anyone explain to me how VSC plays its role in safety. I am new. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
          • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:30 am

@carlover, no need explain, as long as got vsc no need die

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:31 am

What comes to your mind straight when you see someone driving this HRV?

This guy wanna get a CRV but he can’t afford one. Full stop.

Enough say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 105
          • Altis is Completely Dead on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:00 am

If you are looking for VSC, Toyota Altis is RM139k. Honda HRV is RM99k.

Which would you choose?

Honda 5 years free warranty. Toyota 3 Years. Honda 6 free Service, Toyota, buntot sahaja free service.

Which would you choose?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:30 am

Ok. I have to admit. I cannot go on lying anymore. Sales are very bad in our showrooms. I just wish HQ and UMW give VSC in all our cars. We salesman really cannot make much sales anymore cause everybody knows about VSC

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
          • Vios is Completely Dead too! on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:39 am

Vios about RM80k. No discount. UMW sales tell podah if you ask less. Honda, they always give less. Existing customer also get RM1000 less. Can get about RM97k

80k for a tiny B seg or 97k for a bigger better car HRV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
          • I remembered 1 year ago when i was looking for a brand new D segment car, visited a Toyota showroom and checked on a Camry 2.5V. Asked why no VSC, salesman said u dont need VSC in Malaysia unless u in a snowy country. Can u imagine such stupid explanation that came from a Toyota salesman. Me , end up as happy Honda Accord 2.4 owner now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
          • stupid msian cars on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Yes, I totally agree with you all Malaysians should have all those safety features in a car.

Why?

Because Msians are an aweful lot when comes to driving. When they are behind the wheels all hell break lose. All turned into devils and an uncivilized lot.

Why?

The minute they get behind the wheels … The very minute til the end Msians drivers will break all the rules.

I can say one safety feature that should be omitted from the car is the indicator lever. How many uses it? I reckon this safety feature is far more advance than their brain where they find it so difficult to operate it.

Allow me to show you how to use it. Just a flick from your finger to move the lever to indicate left or right. Yeah, its that easy. But Msians have difficulties with it.

Why need all the safety features?

Because being uncivilized not knowing the rules of driving may cause hurt or death either to them self of to others or to both or more…. So with more safety features those idiotic rules breaking drivers hope that the additional safety can or may safe their life or lives. So sad….

I dare to say 100% of Msians drivers are bad drivers because all will break the rules of driving. Only when Msians knows the meaning of being civilize, courteous….. Driving will be a breeze.

Don’t believe me? Try driving in a civilized 1st world country…. The very minute you start driving the very next minute you will be booked.

Yes, and this is a fact and I always believe that the truth hurts.

So, please include all safety features for all cars except the indicator lever …. Hope this will reduce Msia high accident and death rate ranking in the world.

Cheers.

• Y Generation on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:50 am

Hi there. I am a Y Generation. All my friends don’t even look or talk about Toyota. To us, when we buy a car, our main aim and goal is a Honda City.

Nobody talks about Toyota anymore la!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
          • WWW818(member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:57 pm

http://www.toyota.com/camry/

Look under safety section. 10 airbags for camry. UMW toyota, where the heck are the other 8 airbags!? Selfish people….. Poor Malaysians.
            Honda Malaysia is eating into ur sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
      • You can do yourself, can’t you? Full of reference here. he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Message to Toyota on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:47 pm

I think its time to close down. Salesman, I think its time to join Honda or Hyundai. No point wasting time in office bad mouthing Korean cars anymore. Now, this HRV spells your sure demise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Message to Toyota on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Once upon a time, when you go to the Toyota showroom, the salesman all tak layan you. They all stand outside the revolving doors smoking and chatting amongst themselves. I have even stood beside their cars for 30 minutes also, nobody layan me.

So much of arrogance. Ask less also, the guy will never reduce. Take it or leave it was their policy.

See how time changed. Now, the Toyota salesman have lost all their balls. They virtually beg you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:38 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 109
      • A simple comparison of dimensions between B-segment SUV and some C-segment SUV. All are compared with the highest spec variant.

Car: HRV/Ecosport/2008/Rush/ASX/XV
        Engine:1.8/1.5/1.6/1.5/2.0/2.0
        Power: 140/109/120/107/148/148
        Torque:172/142/160/141/197/196
        Weight:1249/1289/-/1220/1475/1430
        Length:4294/4273/4159/4055/4295/4450
        Width: 1772/1765/1739/1695/1770/1780
        Height:1605/1675/1556/1690/1615/1615
        Wheelbase:2610/2519/2538/2580/2670/2635
        Boot: 437/362/360/-/416/310/
        Price: 119k/109k/120k/97k/132k/150k(Promo:115k)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
        • compare rush with asx & xv are you serious!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
          • @fsl

Go check Carbase and under B-segment SUV. Rush is a B-segment SUV and thus a competitor of HRV so it should be included in for a fair comparison and it is the cheapest of the lot albeit smaller.

I add in some C-segment SUV that is close to HRV size. While ASX and XV is under C-segment if you have ever been in one and seen it in the metal it is actually quite small. Look at the length/width of ASX and XV and its also similar with the other B-segment SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Ignorant alan pls don’t compare rubbish toyota rush with any other compact suv because if toyota malaysia have some dignity left they would have stop selling this rubbish rush long time ago…and of course i know asx & xv bec i used toown asx n now i use xv ps. pls don’t callout what other people car is/ ever been IN & yes i am the loser here bec i replied

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
          • @ fsl

Whether Rush is rubbish or not does not matter as it is still a B-segment so im comparing apples with apples. Rush being a B-segment is a FACT unless you can prove otherwise so do enlighten me about it. Do feel free to prove my ignorance.

I was just giving an example where anyone that has seen ASX and XV or been in one before will be able to compare their dimensions and interior to HRV which is a smaller segment SUV. Since i mentioned it as an example i never meant to imply that its YOU. No need to be so sensitive about it.

So do free me from my ignorance about Rush and state your reasons why its rubbish and is it or is it not a B-segment SUV???

PS: I doubt Toyota cares that much about the dignity you mentioned since it is still selling all these while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • The Overall Winner Subaru XV.
          Practical soft to off roader

115k promo price

Robust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • batanghijau on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:45 am

like real.. the subaru xv is only good on driving dynamics. the trunk is practically useless. not a winner to me.

• 2 double-0 eight on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Pug 2008 only weighs 1135 kg. Spritely on 120 HP/160 nm. But it’s a feline for ladies.

• Mustanging on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:57 am

Dont forget the coming CX3

• habal on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Honda don’t dare to bring the cheaper price HRV 1.5Liter version, takut nanti Great Wall M4 marah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • Sad Sad Sad Toyota Salesman on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Everybody is talking about Honda having VSC and this HRV. I heard so many already cancelled their Vios. Just add a bit more can get HRV. Toyol ta, please close shop

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:44 am

Talking is taking, buying is buying. Even more people talked about the Iriz, but how?

For Toyota, people don’t talk, they buy straight. Thus vios the best selling foreign car model in 2014.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
      • theanswer on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:34 pm

actually..lots of model got smaller engine..for example: lancer 1.5, sylphy 1.5/1.6,civic 1.3..but not worth it la. very tight market under 1.6 category.

• Captain Obvious on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:20 pm

It will be great if honda malaysia decides if they wanna give us the tube lights or not. It’s not in the preview car, not in the adverts but the tube light is all over the brochures. Apa lagi honda malaysia mau?

• Captain Obvious on Feb 08, 2015 at 8:11 pm

It’s amazing the amount of things they have taken out of this car. Just test drove the car, apparently Honda Malaysia have even removed the insulation / sound proofing (or left to a bare minimum), I was drowned by the excessive road noise. What a disappointment, even when compared to its own brother, the city.

• OMG…Nice car, nice spec, nice price and nice model…well done HONDA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • jeffry jaffar on Feb 02, 2016 at 12:36 pm

Feel proud to own a new honda hrv since oct 2015. But unfortunately only to start using the car recently after a major so called electronic failure.(Have gone in n out of the workshop) Todate also still have problems with the reverse monitor, alarm,seat bell alarm and abnormal noise from the dashboard and driver side. Great service personnel Nasri and Ashraf but they are limited due to technical support and spare which cannot deliver my car in time. Now have to use back (JRA 2422)and wait to be sent again after Chinese New Year in Honda Actmar Bukit Raja Klang Selangor. Hope HONDA can be of ASSISTANCE in this matter

• ProtonGSC on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:42 am

Good price but S spec for ???

• ProtonGSC on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:45 am

K= kosong

S= simple?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:28 pm

S spec for people who want nothing inside the car…heck Honda is selling auto dimming rear view mirror for RM1130…first time I see a manufacturer selling it as a cost option! I see what you did there Honda Malaysia…greedy greedy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
      • ProtonGSC on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:45 pm

This’s how the Government control MAI (automatically industry).

Pay extra get less in bolehland…

Cronies gain, Govt keep silent !!!
        Rakyat gain Govt keep complaining, Rakyat too much profit this and that !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 20
        • Where is Najib's Promise? on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Seriously, where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

More than a year ago, Najib promised every single of the 30 million Malaysians that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted for him and his BN party before the elections.

Najib swore that BN always kept their promises and we Malaysians had nothing to worry about BN not keeping their word. He told us not to trust Pakatan and he firmly said he would match Pakatan’s manifesto of reducing car prices by 30%. Nearly ALL BN Ministers kept on saying that we could trust BN and we should not trust Pakatan.

More than a year has passed, nothing has reduced. Infact, car prices have gone up! All the car companies in Malaysia are eventually owned by the Government. UMW for Toyota, Honda by DRB, BMW, Hyundai and Ford by Sime Darby. Virtually every single company is owned by the Government (GLC).

So, if they want to reduce car prices, they can. But they don’t want to. they blame the car brands but we Malaysians know that nearly ALL car brands are owned by the Government. It is up to the Government to just give the order to reduce prices.

How can we trust Najib, BN and UMNO if basic promises like this they cannot keep? This is just a basic and simple promise. What about bigger promises of tackling corruption, improving healthcare and education?

Has Najib lied to us? It looks now, they are trying to manipulate what they said and say just for imported cars.

Why make C and D segment cars only affordable to the well to do and wealthy? All cars must be made affordable to all Malaysians. We Malaysians earn so little compared to other countries and yet, the Government whacks us with super high car prices.

78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below. (That is from RM500 to RM2999). This was announced by Raja Nazrin last year quoting EPF data.

He was proving the Government wrong as the Government again lied to the people that we are on our way to earn GDP Per Capita of US$48,000 per annum by 2020. That is US$4000 (RM14,000) per month by 2020, which is 6 years time.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak refuted the governments claim and openly declared EPF figures say that 78.6% of all EPF contributors still earn RM3000 and below.

He also said 2 million households earn RM5000 and below which Raja Nazrin said was Government statistics.

So, how can people afford cars costing more than RM100,000? Why is it just exclusive to high income earners?

Do you think average gaji of Malaysians will go up to RM14,000 in 6 years time?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 32
          • Not this same (lorr) shit again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • GTR36 (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Yah go put a placard and protest in front of JPM, pleez!

• The car prices were indeed drop; by introducing lower spec equivalent tin kosong.

• ionlaw on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:58 pm

And they claim that it can save you 30% of the cost as government can’t charge under the car price…that’s how Nissan did it with Almera..

• GTR36 (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:10 pm

As if BMW charges less? These parts are imported so dont expect it to be cheap unless you make them yourself.

• IrizX on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:58 pm

No dimming lights mirror, you can die ah?

All these gadgets are useless. Most important is car come cheapest with all the most important safety features. Rest all cosmetic only and prone to more maintenance as electronic gadgets tends to die quickly.

• Interior looks like potong saga. I bet a lot of ahbeng will buy this car in drove and pretend to be same class as cx5 or crv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • dugongx on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:40 pm

S spec for Same spec as toyota vios S/ TRD la. Which means kosong in other words.

• Almera on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:22 am

Let’s see what extra goodies does the kosong spec HRV carries over your Ah Beng TRD Sportivo Vios?
        Auto headlight, electronic parking brake, auto brake hold, ultra seats, much bigger interior and space, 1.8L engine, 16 inch wheels, ECON mode, hill start assist, emergency brake signal, 5 year warranty and most importantly VSA.

Sure it will cost 5k more to get the HRV over your Vios but the only advantage your Vios have is leather seats and ugly Ah Beng bodykit which only function is increase weight. Warranty less, smaller engine, smaller tyres, less safety features and I’m sure NCAP ratings will be lower than HRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Looser on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:09 pm

HRV stands for?? High RV ? lol

• dugongx on Feb 07, 2015 at 4:11 pm

My bad. Even Honda’s kosong “S” spec thrashes toyota’s top of the line TRD “Totally RetardeD” spec.

• Well done Honda! This is the cheapest 1.8L in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 41
    • xflow (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:09 pm

Cheapest one still Inspira 1.8

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
      • advan on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:38 pm

And Elantra 1.8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
        • Its Wira 1.8. Wait…its long time ago..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
          • Sad Sad Sad Toyota Salesman on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:38 pm

Today, Toyota salesman go back home, goncang also air tak boleh keluar.

Same Looor today cry whole night

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • policeman on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:00 pm

And it’s the only one with a manual tranmission.

Reliable. unlike this CVT crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
    • How about renault fluence at 99k as well? 2.0 summore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:43 am

Beautiful car.
    Expect waiting list to be 6 months and above.
    99k for a 1.8L car (civic engine) is a steal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 11
  • Well done Honda! Cheapest 1.8L here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • Mozilla Chrome on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Additional accessories price are just pure rip off.

• Sad Sad Sad Toyota Salesman on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:40 pm

I passed Section 19 showroom in PJ, saw Toyota salesman all crying. For months they spend time online spreading rumours. Now, kena punish. Now suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • GTR36 (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:16 pm

They could not care less, still getting their salary and bonus, got Hilux to sell and their crap Vios to ah bengs and ah lians. Oh and camrys to taukehs since got 10-12k discount.

• The price is expected. Till CX3 launch here and test drive both, will decide

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • Wisdom on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:49 am

Nice…

• RON97 on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Yeaa, better than TC Xtrail (only dumb Penang people will buy)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 57
      • RON95 on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Lol so you’re a smart Penang person? Don’t drop us Penang people face and reputation by representing us with your dumb logic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • ntah pa2 on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:46 pm

hang ni gila ka apa?

• zaizaizai on Feb 06, 2015 at 8:54 am

Jangan mempersia-suikan orang Penang

• A let down.. Should have been a better deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • George Abdul on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Go ask the AP system members and excise duty(Cronies).

Why didn’t reduce the car price? Since drop of fuel price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 17
  • Great pricing strategy. Honda gonna grab the top non-national segment again this year. Gonna sell like hot cake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
  • TT@TT on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:02 pm

so tempting for grade s price wise and specs.
    but all i want is 4 extra airbag then i need to top up 10K more to get grade V..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Great to see VSC being standard accross the range. The S spec isn’t that bare at all. Makes good sense to even get the lowest spec. Well done Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • haudli on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:05 pm

should i cancel my city and book for this HRV?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
  • adam e. on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 189
    • AVH (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Ya, I agree, should have the same 3.5l V6 Twin Turbo with three electric motor as the Honda NSX than only can match the Myvi. Because every aunty doing the school run will need 550+bhp to rush the kids to school

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 2
    • alonso on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Please don’t downgrade myvi. Once i saw it can even smoke a 328 msport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 37
      • pegatti on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Please don’t downgrade myvi. Once i saw it can even smoke a X

X = ferrari
        X = lambo
        X = GT-R
        X = veyron

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • WaJib on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Bro, that day I saw a Myvi smoked a R35 GTR. How it smoke the GTR bcoz the Myvi exhaust bocor..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
        • autodriver (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:34 pm

The GTR must be the unlucky stuck behind the myvi during traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Wira 1997 on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:46 pm

Seriously? I like Myvi too. But again, seriously?? o.0

• OMG…Racong kah…smoke here smoke there…damn u pls dun pollute our environment…pls fix ur lousy Myvi. LOL

• Now 1.5L pug 2008 hv to offer 20k discount . Ecosport throw out spare tyre. Rush trash to River.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
    • wajib on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:42 am

Toyota Rush is basically Toyota Advance-za with different body shell.. Its a total joke for those who bought it. Only toyota salesman know..

• Yea bro i can understand you bec the salesman must be thingking why are people still buying toyota rushbish?…have you at least do some research or comparison?…why oh why malaysian still buying toyota crap& by crap i mean overpriced, underspec and outdated

• Regina on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:07 pm

Is it just me or does the HRV look really low?

I wonder if you will get that high “commanding driving position” thing when you drive in this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:10 pm

wait for cx-3…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
  • LLembu on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:11 pm

1.8L below 100K OTR. Well done! Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • azhar on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:11 pm

no pic for S spec interior?

• Kotembad on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Exterior is fine but the interior makes me want to puke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
    • Marieta on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:09 pm

I have to agreed, exterior wise it’s tempting but seeing interior kind a lost…3 louver vent above glovebox for better air flow is a bs…maybe can use it if you hate your wife, you can freeze her to death when sitting next to you..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
      • Marieta on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Damn…Not sure 12 people thumbs up because loath at the interior or hate their wife lol !

• proton not salesman on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:16 pm

but preve have 6 airbags. lelz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Wow the S spec is really empty…it doesn’t even have steering wheel audio controls!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • azhar on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:30 pm

i rather have multi info display than audio steering button..at least its better than city S spec

• sambalbabi on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:19 pm

the fact that it has rear brake discs makes it a no-brainer a good buy for this segment.

rear brake discs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • AVH (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:20 pm

still shit, will never sell at that price wan, need to be at RM68k starting price since its a B-segment mah. Another failure product from Honda Malaysia….also veri ugly

Now that satisfied some population of the commenters, lets move on to the the HRV. For the car itself, I think I’ve stated my point. several specs I still wished Malaysian spec car still come with, 17 in wheels or the dual-tone interior. But the most essential specs are there. With high spec car starting around RM3k below the 2008 but still come with decent amount of kit bar the panoramic sunroof and park assist, also the European car is by far the more premium of the two when it comes to interior quality. You do get Electronic Parking Brake , LED lights and a more powerful powertrain over the pug thou [which I believe is the Puegeout main archilles heel]

Personally its an all rounded small-SUV from a familiar brand, being more spacious than a C-segment Civic, and rather generous spec, not great, 6-airbags could be standard across the range but knowing Honda Malaysia’s game, this is not to be, oh well, ESC is still standard which I value the upmost……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 56
    • Sahipul on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Still a disappointment for me, our high spec is lower than the high spec in Thailand and Indonesia, last Sunday the newspapers reports on their HRV test drive and put the Thai high spec and Modulo HRV pics, making me geram some more because we’re not getting it. I’m converting to Mitsubishi!

• Corporal on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:26 am

It is good that you have decided on the car you want. However its better to test drive both the ASX and HRV first before comparing as this HRV has the same dimensions as the ASX if you see the post by Alan on top and for a cheaper price too.

• I think it is as per expectation of Honda. An all round acceptable package against the competition.

My gripes are they should make 4 airbags as standard for the lower specs and they removed the glossy middle panel that makes the Thai version looks more upmarket. (which already lost the cool gear-knob from the JDM version).

• Perfect Stranger on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Great. I’m getting the highest spec :))))

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • therealmaserati on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:23 pm

The E will definately be the best seller. Has almost everything the V has . And is only 109k.

This will definately destroy all the Korean jokers like Sportage , Tuscon and the rest of the Korean junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 27
  • LandoCar on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Tough for Ford to sell their Ecosport. Maybe Ford can offer RM20K discount now :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • car-fans on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:15 pm

LandoCar,

FYI – Now EcoSport – 2014 with discount 89K for Trend!

Hope Ford going to give even great deal – perhaps 2015 EcoSport Tit below 100K and Trend below 85K :)

• RON97 on Feb 05, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Keep dreaming MyVi owner.. work harder ok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • Such an insulting and ignorant comment. Who told you MyVi owners are all poor workers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • I bought my Myvi by cash ok. Bet you are still paying car loan.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Feb 07, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Poor means poor la. Rich feller will never buy myvi. They will value their life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Where the door handle for rear passenger ah? How to get in ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • at the side of the door

• Deus Ex on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:38 pm

I think it’s mounted on the pillar, slightly below eye-level.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:19 pm

You ask the front passengers to lower down the rear windows via the front switch and you climb in from the window

• just dont understand y low spec will cut out the 4 airbag?? Im a honda fans, but cut out safety feature is highly unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • oi honda! kasi standard 6 airbags lah! bloody kedekuts….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • car-fans on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:24 pm

DK – Diapa tak kedekut – Cuma byk greeeeedyyyyy…

• Toyota hisap bola on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Standard 6 airbags? Kedekut? At least ESP is standard across all range man!!! Look at Toyota, the bloody 100k plus cars don’t even have ESP!!! 100 airbags can’t even save you in case of emergency. ESP is equally important too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:25 am

for all the variants that dont get 6 airbags
      you top up for all the customers for honda to put it in
      since you talk like its free or cost only chicken feed

• Haiya..Honda website so slow now…

• Booked mine the V spec last month, expected to get it on my birthday in june..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • Logical on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Well well..the price is okey i guess. And good work with vsc at all model range. But what interests me more is that the price of 90-110k is the same as in thailand.

So what does this mean? Is honda malaysia generous enough to price it that low or are honda thailand greedy to price it that high? Isnt thailand suppose to have minimal tax on their car? So think..maybe thailand’s grass is not really greener eh…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
    • slk3879 on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Excuse me, but from where did you learn that the Malaysian price is 90k to 110k?

The Malaysian price is 10k higher than that in Thailand, and we are get lower spec, comparing the Malaysian S to Thai S, E to E, and V to EL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Logical on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Well yeah if you wanna be precise then its rm96k-105k without insurance. My bad there.

But i guess you missed the point of my post. Well then let me clear it out for you. What i was trying to convey was that even a ‘tax free’ country and a so called ‘detriot of asia’ such as thiland even charges ~rm90k for the hrv. And that is only rm10k less with our high tax nation. All the major equipment level are almost the same.

Im saying this because there is a lot of people that dreams unrealistically that this car should be sold at ~rm30k in which it is impossible. I dont believe that car prices will go down even if malaysia have no tax. Just look at thailand and imagine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • slk3879 on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:53 pm

Come on lah? Can you just name who are “These people” that dreams that this car to be sold at RM30k? That price is only good for our Sohai Agr. Minister la maybe.

By the way, who said Thailand is a tax free country? do a little research!!

And yeah, the Malaysian HR-V has already enjoy a lower tax bracket due to it’s CKD status.

And You had conveniently left out the points that while the Thai Model is only 10k difference, comparing grade to grade, their car is better equipped than ours. Their grade S is as well equipped as our grade E. So if you taken that into consideration, the difference is almost 20k.

Now 20k/110k = 18%, Now you tell me that is not much difference?

All the points that I can see in your post is you trying to angkat the G!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
          • If you do your own search, you would come across as an irrational, emotional nutjob who blames everything that is wrong to the government

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • azhar on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:39 pm

HRV is not CKD laaa weyyy..its imported from siam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Gojeng on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Since when stating the facts and reality can be considered as angkat the G? Please explain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • Replying John:

I read and read the earlier posts and I just couldn’t find anything in those posts suggesting either one of them blaming the high price of car to the government.

So maybe after reading the post thoroughly you can conclude that you are just too eager to polish the male organ of the government? Oh wait, it is already hinted by your nickname. Hahaha

• slk3879 on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Don’t get me wrong Gojeng, stating fact is not angkat, but stating twisted facts is another thing.

In logical first post, he stated untrue selling price of the car here to make the difference seem not as much, that’s twisting fact,

In his second post, he stated thailand as tax free country, that’s twisting fact,

Not to mentioned he also stated some peoples here dreaming the car to be sold for 30k, and ignoring the fact that the car here has inferior equipment compare to thai

So tired replying these post, BN is just too rich to employ so many retard cyber trooper

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:34 am

And you conveniently left out the fact that Thailand has 800k unit TIV last year vs Malaysia with 355k after you minus P1 and P2 protected units

You also conveniently left out the fact that last year Thailand’s car manufacturers exported 1.1 million units while we are in deficit

The slight price and spec differences is due to the amount of volume manufacturers are able to sell and export out of Thailand

• Acrix on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:33 am

So many people always like to compare prices with other countries and yet they ignore the fact that Malaysia TIV is much much lower then Thailand, Indo or the States for that matter. Our total TIV excluding P1 and P2 is not even a quarter of Indo and one sixth of Thai production. They have a much better economies of scale while we are just a small drop in the ocean.

• I’d say for the price, not bad.. It looks good, reasonably well equipped, I can imagine quite good resale value too as it has that ‘H’ badge.

But at this price point, offering leather on the highest spec is better. And throwing auto lights n wipers wouldnt hurt as well. Don’t be so thrifty laa Honda Malaysia!

Also I imagine it wouldn’t be that great to drive as well. Any new Honda for that matter. Somehow they’ve lost that driving dynamics magic ages ago, n by the looks of it, not planning to get it back either.

Still, this HR-V is a looker, it’ll sell like hot cakes. Can’t wait to see one live for myself. This is perfect for someone looking for a city runaround, high driving position n chunky tough looks, but without all the fuss associated wit SUVs/.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Auto headlights does come as standard across the range though.

• Govt Promise Car Price Drop on Feb 05, 2015 at 1:53 pm

Our Govt promised price drop:

Top Spec 118,800 reduction to Lowest Spec 99,800 = 16%

There U go, price reduction..

Are we that dumbo, MITI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • The BN used it as a election gimmick but it didn’t work. So if you didn’t vote for them, I don’t think you have right to make that demand now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 24
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Who is dumber ?
      The one who promise or the one who choose to believe blindly?

• Berann on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Good pricing from Honda especially Grade S 1.8 for below 100k. At least still come with VSA. 100000X better than smaller Toyota Vios TRD 1.5 without VSA at RM 95k!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Pls Help in Dilemma on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:07 pm

get 120k HRV or +20k more for facelifted CRV??

• Deus Ex on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Just ask yourself how much RM20k is worth to you and go from there. Personally, I would wait for Mazda’s CX3 and then evaluate, it could well turn out better than both these V’s.

• to Pls Help in Dilemma, as owner of current pre facelift CRV, I will say…if the car is mainly for family use then go for CRV and if the car is for driver use then HRV are better choice..

• Sahipul on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:49 pm

add another 12k and get the ASX 2.0 4WD with 17in wheel, panoramic roof, pedal shift, auto cruise, ABS, EBD, TCF (VSA), HSA, 3 airbags, 2-din LCD touch screen with GPS, 6 speakers, Llumar heat and safety tint, keyless entry and push button start system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Krasher on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:44 pm

ASX was a joke! They can’t even make a proper backseats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Acrix on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:47 am

HRV might not have panoramic roof, pedal shifts, 17in wheel and 4WD but it does have that ASX don’t?

6 free service intervals, same width/height/length, 226kg lighter, 6 airbags vs your 3, ABS, EBD, VSA, HSA, Emergency Stop Signal, seat belt reminder, LED projector headlamps, LED tail lights, LED DRL vs normal halogens and no DRL on ASX, rear fog lights, Ultra seats, 7″ touchscreen CD/MP3 radio with Bluetooth, Voice Recognition, HDMI input and 6 speakers, keyless entry and push start button, cruise control, Auto Brake Hold, Electronic Parking Brake and its 12k cheaper.

• Sahipul on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:24 am

With regards to dimensions, let us compare the INTERIOR dimensions, the width of HRV front seat is 495mm, compare to ASX front seat at 510mm, rear seat HRV the width is 1240mm, compare to ASX is 1300mm, while the interior space HRV is 1485mm, compare to ASX 1480mm. From here we could see that HRV have smaller seats compare to ASX (especially for rear passengers), but because of the space is widen, it gave the spacious feel to HRV but the fact is that you could only seat 2 adults at the back. My two cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Acrix on Feb 09, 2015 at 1:05 pm

HRV vs ASX

Interior Length: 1930 vs 1865
            Interior Width: 1485 vs 1480
            Interior Height: 1265 vs 1260

While in terms of rear seat width the HRV might be 2.36 inches less in terms of width but makes up for an additional 3 inches of rear legroom.
            Overall HRV has a total passenger volume of 100.1 cubic feet vs ASX 97.5 cubic feet. So all in all actually the HRV INTERIOR is LARGER than ASX so seating 3 at the rear is no problem. If 3 person can sit comfortably at the rear in the City or Jazz i don’t think there is a problem for HRV which is LARGER than both.
            Considering HRV is actually a B-segment SUV, ASX should be compared to the CRV which is in the same C-segment. But looking at the INTERIOR and EXTERIOR dimensions the ASX actually only matches HRV so in other words a smaller segment SUV actually ended up being bigger than ASX which would be considered a failure in my book.

So all in all for a price less by 12k on the HRV you actually get more bang for your buck in terms of spec, safety and space and you save the money. That’s my 2 cents on this issue.

• Krasher on Feb 09, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Forget about the measurements. It’s the seating position that sucks like sitting behind the single cab pickup.
            Try sit behind in a ASX from KL to JB and you will wanna get out at Nilai.

• Price is ok for a car that size, but Honda could have been more generous with the accessories.

The accessories are no different from that of the City, so the price hike is mainly due to the increased ride height and the 1.8L engine.

• alex88199 on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:09 pm

HR-V against Suzuki SX-4 Or Subaru XV, price aside, which is your consideration and why??

• takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:09 pm

all price not OK.
      nice to see, nice to touch, one bought consider broken (bank account).

• Sahipul on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Between those three, I’ll go for Subaru XV, its better in all aspects except for XV don’t have push button start system

• XV doesn’t have electronics parking brake, auto brake hold, magic ultra seat , smaller boots, no LED headlight and DRL, no illumination cluster, no SIRI, and…..

Test drove it, not bad but It CVT not so refine , one adv I is its AWD and 2.0.

• kenot on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:12 pm

for me, it will be nice if Honda can give 17 inch alloy rim and leather seat for V spec.

• that things u mentions only for facelift model 2.5 years later om

• Help needed! in Huge Dilemma on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:21 pm

120k HRV or 140k facelifted CRV?

• Questions:
      1. Budget: don’t over commit
      2. Space: get CRV if u have bigger family
      3. Looks: personal preference
      4. Safety: CRV: 4 vs HRV: 6

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:22 pm

The price is pretty decent I must say. Which brings it in between the City & Civic in the Malaysian Honda lineup.

Lets wait for the Mazda CX-3 and see how much it will cost here. Should be an interesting next few months.

• Josh Ling on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:29 pm

bound to be another huge hit for honda malaysia. now, honda may need to think of how to do perform the same magic with civic.

• selipar on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:36 pm

I expect the specs is far better than exora…but sadly not a huge gap.

The dash is not a looker. Anyway.. for Malaysians, they did make a good exterior for showoff :p

• For sure will sell like hot cake!

• azrai on Feb 05, 2015 at 2:47 pm

So my estimation for the price to be between RM98k-RM120k is almost there.

• takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:06 pm

my US colleague bought a Ford Escape 2.4 for almost USD30k, min down payment, 5 years loan with monthly repayment USD5XX. And his response is – car are expensive.

I told him the price here is double & pay monthly 4 figures loan for 7-9 years. And his response is – you guys are rich.
    Congratulation – Malaysia has achieve high income status.

Comments like “price is ok”, “price is good”, “value for money” for cars in Malaysia is absurd & insulting.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
    • mr_em on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:32 pm

You should also tell him that do not worry, we Malaysians are not just rich, we also don’t mind to subsidise our poor leaders’ and politicians’ lifestyles, so that they can jet around the world and mingle around with Obama… Plus we also like to help all our banks become huge organisations and big enough to harass all its rich customers who can’t afford to pay up their debts when the time comes.

Superb ain’t it??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Just adapt to the system if you cannot change it. Malaysians cakap banyak saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
    • my Indonesia friend pay car loan monthly in Billions rupiah….so are their world Super Rich ????

Compare la the $ in Value to value not amount to amount !!!

• takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:36 pm

compare also their income & ratio of monthly repayment vs net income.

• the main reason their car price are cheap are mainly due to market volume are 100% large than boleland.. so seller capital per car in term of production, marketing, after sale service are much lessees than boleland… and not all item are cheap there, for instead, Asia brand 42 “LCD tv are cost almost 125% more than us..

• takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:04 pm

u r right, but pricing it to a level that requires 7-9 yrs loan is something wrong.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:16 pm

And if you need 7-9 years to repay a car loan, there’s something very wrong with your budgeting strategy
            In other words you cannot afford it.
            Dont blame the manufacturers, they are not your parents and have no obligations to based their business decision on your needs solely

• I guess you never heard of currency conversion, eh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • takNakP1 on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:30 pm

i guess you guys never heard of “per capita income” & “purchasing power”.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:30 am

For one most readers here talk cock sing song
      The cars they praised nobody would buy
      The cars they hated are best sellers

Secondly you stay in Malaysia you pay Malaysian price
      Prices are cheaper especially in the states is due to the volumes of vehicles manufacturers can sell there

• what’s the clock in for 0-100?

• 3:23PM, 5/2/2015 : Honda Malaysia’s website is down. Too much traffic till server overload?

• pgdriver on Feb 05, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Honda Malaysia website is currently down. Too much traffic and lots of interest on this car.

• brazbuz on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Wow the s spec is not too kosong, still got vsa,rims,cool-looking meter cluster and the price is quite ok to me. This make s spec of city and jazz is really rip off in term of spec

• shawal on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:07 pm

renders the civic redundant……

lets just wait and see for the 1.5 turbo diesel cx-3 to arrive…..

118k for v spec is a fair price…..

• Deus Ex on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:09 pm

I don’t get the ‘Tough Advance’ package, all it does is add chromed bits. I suppose the running board is handy but the rest? How is the vehicle actually toughened?

• mana harga turun? on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Where the 17″ wheel?
    Where rear aircons vent?city has it
    Lowest spec is jz like shot,never mention kia shortage spec yet. Phui………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 05, 2015 at 4:48 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Shabita Krishna Devi Patoo on Feb 05, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Oh my godddddddddddddddddddddd. my bf have to buy me this car. i like it. i want want want it now. anyone have one we go for ride maybe. i c how. if my bf go to work ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
    • Deus Ex on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Dios mio…..

Dear Mr. Shabita’s Boyfriend,
      You can do better than this one, much much better.

• speedfire on Feb 05, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Sad… where’s the paddle shifters and Panoromic sunroof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Krasher on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:39 pm

It’s reserved for the Thais only.
      Malaysian needs to pay more but getting less in return.

• I don’t want to complain or praise this HRV.

I just want to know how to open the backdoor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 7:41 pm

When can Proton rebadge this car and rename it as PR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Krasher on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:06 pm

The Thais have better spec http://www.honda.co.th/en/hrv

• BLT_CLUB on Feb 05, 2015 at 8:52 pm

No way in heck you’d get a second look from those chicks if you drive this car….

• hybridlife on Feb 05, 2015 at 9:33 pm

after 4 years driving my insight without any single problem now I am shakingly waiting hybrid version to come out, pls honda malaysia!

• Krasher on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:04 pm

I guess you’ll need to wait longer until the clowns have settled down the NAP for hybrids.

• phahmeen on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Price ok kua…considering in thailand these 3 models selling at THB890,000, THB975,000 THB1,045,000…

• zamer on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:15 pm

the E and S grade is sufficient for most of us. But, a halogen headlight is too unattractive.

accord can be done with normal projectors with LED daylight..why cant HR-V do the same thing?

RM99.8k? nevermind, put LED headlight and price RM101k, no issue people deciding the purchase.

• XV owner on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:21 pm

For RM115k can buy a Subaru XV – 2.0 boxer engine, Subaru’s infamous AWD that can really go off-road, 5 year free service n warranty, bigger interior space… HRV nowhere near in comparison. But I guess there are many Honda fans in Malaysia willing to spend more for less. Looks like HRV will be selling well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • GTR36 (Member) on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:21 pm

Subaru not that famous here compared to Thailand or Singapore. XV is so ugly compared to HRV or CRV, some more really no resale value. Also boxer engine drinks petrol and is expensive to maintain in the long run. Salesmen are selling it with hugh discounts and overtrade.

• But….
      XV doesn’t have electronics parking brake, auto brake hold, magic ultra seat , smaller boots, no LED headlight and DRL, no illumination cluster, no SIRI, and…..
      Test drove it, not bad but It CVT not so refine , adv is its AWD and 2.0.

• Afraid on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:58 am

I beg to differ. I have sat in both and the interior space is smaller in the XV compared to HRV plus the XV interior looks more dated due to its cheaper looking hard plastics. Right now Subaru trying to clear out old stocks and give discount of 115k. Without discounts HRV will be the obvious winner as it is higher spec than XV. Only thing XV will win is the slightly more powerful engine and AWD but will drink petrol much more.

• the_hulk on Feb 05, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Few things to be expected:
    1. Prepare to see a lot HRV on the road
    2. ASX koyak
    3. Ecosport keep in the freezer
    4. 2008 bye bye
    5. Rush RIP
    And Honda will top the non national car sales again in 2015!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • agreed. HRV + city + jazz can help honda become top foreign brand in malaysia soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • fuyohhh on Feb 05, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Honda comes top again?!!

Toyota Japan sure take over UMW’S distribution

• Porsche guy on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:48 am

Finally a base spec new suv by honda i can buy without loan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Krasher on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:10 am

If TCM is willing to bring over the 1.6 Juke from Thai, that will put up a good fight with HM

• HRV is too expensive.
    See mazda. CBU unit, Made in Japan. Paid CBU tax.
    Price is close to Toyota, HOnda CKD unit.
    See the CBU spec, workmanship.
    It’s worth to buy CBU instead of CKD.

• azhar on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:05 am

the spec on S is comparable with the E spec on City minus the smart entry push button..but the S spec HRV gain foglights thats missing on E spec city

• In the previous article about HR-V pre-launching, you left a comment that there would be nobody who will book this car, but actually recieving huge bookings. Maybe you do not have enough intelligence or insight to talk about car or Malaysian market.

• You also mentioned in the above comments that HR-V is not CKD. It is procuced in Honda Malaysia’s Melaka Factory. What do you know about this car?

• syamness on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:12 am

What I see here is a complete failure of our NAP.

I am living in Japan now and bought the HR-V(know as the Vezel) last year for JPY2.6mil = RM80k. This was for the middle-spec hybrid (Hybrid X) + options + maintenance service for the next 3yrs. The top end spec here goes for about JPY3mil++ = 90k++. And from the specs I see here, Malaysians are being totally ripped off. Even my RM80k Vezel has paddle shift and city-brake active system (laser radar) + 6 airbags.

The JDM versions are made in Japan, and they can sell it for RM80k. The ones in Malaysia im assuming are sourced from Thailand (wayy lower cost) and yet they can sell it for RM100k++?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • Krasher on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Good choice, bro.
      But sadly that even the JDM Honda Fit gets city brake active system but we don’t.

• VEZEL FAN on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:09 pm

syamness, to be fair to fellow Malaysian, you also should highlight on the high cost of insurances, taxes and parking fees in Japan. If you are staying in Tokyo/Yokohama, it will cost around RM1k/month for parking space alone.
      So need to compare overall capex and opex (of owning Vezel)in Japan and Malaysia. I think, it will cost more to own a Vezel (in Japan) vs HR-V in Malaysia. On top of that need to compare specs too, sat in Vezel and saw the seat are made of cheap fabric.

Overall, I am OK with the price but will only fully satisfy if Malaysia HR-V could have the paddle shifter and full leather for V specs.

• Esther on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:27 am

Booked mine after reading Paul Tan’s first review. Now awaiting to have a full feel of it. Test drove yesterday. Powerful enough for ladies drivers, good inside space.
    Thank you Paul Tan :) I must say the service by KK Yap, the sales man at Sumber Edaran branch at Jalan SS13/4 Honda showroom is very encouraging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
    • kk yap on Feb 06, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Sorry esther, I do not know you, furthermore, I worked for subaru

• Contender on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:48 am

Wow, was at the showroom and was told by SA waiting period is now 6-9 months.

• Eason on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:58 pm

To be honest, still think the chick is hotter than the car. HaHaHa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Fire Marshal on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Anyone can compare this HRV and Kia Sportage?..which one is worth it?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:11 pm

You don’t compare sushi with kimchi.

Kimchis should and must be compared with India and China makes as a fair comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • ishh .. this guy har.. on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:25 pm

tskk….tskk… tskk…

such a harsh words coming from a dying-sales Toyota salesman

• Apparently my friend tongue has a problem trying to pronounced H I V. I was laughing my ass so hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Looks ugly in design. Not structured at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • well done honda on Feb 08, 2015 at 6:26 pm

nice car with good price. the look is modern, features are decent and it is SUV. expected this car will be hot sale in Malaysia. Well done, HONDA.

• RM118k?
    xtrail RM142K?
    better buy xtrail la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • aero solitude on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:48 am

Why nobody talk about the model beside HRV? darn wish people are more hamsap.lol

Ok HRV still tops other 1.8 in all term, IMO. How toyota can beat this, is to fight with RAv4, although not too sure of the price over here

• azhar on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:52 am

road tax supposed to be rm280 for 1800cc..no??

• Sparcov on Feb 09, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Was considering xtrail 2.0 and HRV before.
    Tested both car before.

X-trail no doubt is more spacious and more equipped compare to HRV

Is merely RM20K different compare to V-spec HRV and Xtrail 2.0

In terms of style, HRV looks better and modern while Xtrail or more conservative “baby murano”

So, as a guy in beginning of 30s, I prefer HRV over Xtrail.

• car lover on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Why there is no paddle function ? Thailand specs come with bigger rims and paddle as well.

• car lover on Feb 09, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Sorry its paddle shift . Thanks

• Desperado on Feb 10, 2015 at 12:42 am

Who is this Same Loo / Same Loor guy? A desperate sales person from UMW yet trying to show his pride working for UMW. Please be clear, you don’t own UMW and don’t be like a slave to UMW or any company you worked for. Argue with facts la..

You can say ” We Sold 7 Innova, 5 Rush and 11Vios yesterday (one day only).” but have you ever thought that Honda might have been collected down payment for 20 HRV, 5 Accord, 15 City, 10 Jazz within a day?

• IrizX on Feb 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm

If his sales so good, you think he bother to lepak here everyday???? LOL.

• Very dissapointed spec compare with Indon and Thai. Honda Malaysia…what r u doing???

• shahrulzs on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:36 pm

Its Msia govt should be blame first bcoz to many taxes..and AAM also..thats why all Msian get this HRV high spec with high price but less features compare with Thailand and Indonesia high spec…so annoying

• Fully agreed. Blame the government n not Honda or other car manufacturers here. If want better n more features, then higher price. Why the government not promoting n hv tax incentives for hybrid car. ???

• Kevin Tee on Mar 04, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Rear Suspension is “Torsion Beam” ?? a sendan Car Suspension ? the ONLY Fort EcoSport & H-RV SUV Using ??? the SUV standard is “Multi-link” Rear Suspension ..??

Cut cost or cheap Rear Suspension for better return on profit ? i believe not many people know it right ?

• ai like on Jun 18, 2015 at 12:10 am

hm. i still confuse wan to but this or axia. hmmmm

• Jay Law on Dec 31, 2015 at 11:55 pm

Honda HIV

• Beauty on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Nothing has been confirmed yet, but if it does pass Honda Malaysia’s feasibility study, we can expect it to be here by 2016.