Volkswagen Red Campaign invites motorists on a hunt for the God of Prosperity, 20k Ang Pows up for grabs

VW Carnival (720x720)

In line with the ongoing Volkswagen Red Campaign, Malaysian motorists are invited on a hunt for the God of Prosperity, who will be making its rounds around the Klang Valley region over the next three days at ten major locations. Interested parties can keep track of his progress via Volkswagen’s Instagram account.

As the God of Prosperity himself will be traveling in a red Volkswagen, one can opt to track him down the traditional style, as well. A total of 20,000 ang pows containing a cheque of up to RM25,000 for discounts on pre-owned models will be up for grabs at each stopover point.

Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 2.04.21 PM

Apart from the hunt itself, members of the public are also invited to drop by participating Volkswagen dealerships around the country to enjoy up to RM25,000 in rebates on selected pre-owned Volkswagen models. On new cars, Volkswagen is offering a rebate of up to RM9,999 on selected red models.

Additionally, the Volkswagen Sales Carnival happening around the Klang Valley region offers prospective customers the same attractive rebates. The Active Safety Test Drive experience also awaits potential clients. The Sales Carnival is slated to take place at these locations.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Ah Beng Kia on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:26 pm

More like Hunt-For-The-Tow-Truck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Haha no one buy…

Proton Iriz still better then this junk !!!

Wait until Iriz crossover launch HRV or Volks has no challange at all… Rakyat will be rush to buy that car !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • God of DSG on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Better to look for the God of DSG because the DSG actually cannot be used in Malaysia. VW Germany AG already said, all their DSG is prone to continuous breakdowns if used in hot asian climate and countries where there are traffic jams.

In cold countries, the DSG won’t have a problem.
      That is why in VGM has already 3 or 4 CEOs in 2 years.

VW AG Germany insist that DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia but VGM Malaysia override their CEO and still sell DSG here. That is why the CEO turnover is so high.

To all the fanboys who will come here and say DSG is sorted out, well it cannot be sorted out la. VW AG already said so. Only the God of DSG can help the current owners in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • yookie on Feb 08, 2015 at 1:05 pm

God of DSG will be handing out lemons and all the car owners can go to the corner and suck it.

• TheAnonymous on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:40 am

Well.. this statement had made long time ago, for now, the DSG issue has been resolved by changing gearbox oil and update its software as well. No point to raise up the DSG topic again.

• DSG DSG DSG on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Hunt for faulty Borg Warner gearboxes. Very easy to find. Look at any DSG cars

• Matrix on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:53 pm

hahaha.
    Poor DSG, always breakdown 1.
    City is much better. Smooth CVT~
    no problem at all.

And also, City handle is much better than Golf. Hence, price is cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • RicoT on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:17 pm

Honda City had its fair share of clutch-type CVT problem in the past. It is great to know Honda is improving.

• Drivetrain Selalu Gagal on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:36 pm

There is a reason why people call it Drivetrain Selalu Gagal. Facebook comments stink so much.

• City whaaat?? on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:51 pm

You say whatt??? hahaha better? hahaha. good joke to end this long weekend. Thank you bro!

• Famous DSG name on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Now everbody knows about VW DSG scandals. That is why RV jatuh like crazy. Want to sell Passat 1 year old car also at 100k also nobody want to buy.

Down RM70k also nobody want to buy. Used car dealers so so so scared of VW now.

• Orange on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:47 pm

why say so? what happened to the used car dealers?

• hasteknight on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:31 pm

Passat 70k 1 year old ???! I buy from you. give me your mail i send my contact via mail

• Matthew on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:19 am

Really? I’ve owned a Golf 1.4 and it doesn’t have any dsg issue. Moreover, this car had really good performance and IMO, this car is far better than City.Honda City is cheaper than Golf because City doesn’t have much decent specs as Golf.

• DSG
    Damn Stupid Gearbox
    Durability suspect gearbox

One of the best gearboxes when its working.
    Avoid if you plan to use it for more than 3 years.

• WWW(member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:44 pm

LOL. Hahaha. Yes. my lovely GTI many times meet up with the tow truck in less than 2 years. Not as popular as the upright H badge cars but still better built.

• Fools on Feb 09, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Why did you say that?
      MY cousin had driven his Golf 1.4 for 1 and a half year and so far, it doesn’t have any issue. He just send his car to the service center for normal servicing and no other issues.

• for DSG made after 2013, less problems.
      VGM need to continue to improve their after sales service.
      As one of the DSG ride owner.
      I would say, the drive train is really shift fast.
      It’s high tech.
      For durability, it might not as long life as conventional/tradition gear box.

DSG problems usually not the whole piece of gearbox.
      It’s clutch worn out.

DSG, makes you love it on performance.
      DSG, makes you headache while a clutch change is needed.
      HOpe VGM continue the RM1888 clutch replace campaign for after 5 years car.

• mayb DSG do hv issue problem but now solved, no issue anymore. pls refer to the article below

http://paultan.org/2014/10/20/volkswagen-malaysia-dsg-resolved/

• protonsucks on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:42 pm

haha last month u raised the price, now u put it as a promotion….sorry not worth it!

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Probably feeling the pinch and the boycott from the public after they up the price for their entire line up when every other brand is lowering their prices.

VW is a good brand making good cars..but the people running it here don’t have the same mentality as their counterparts in Europe whereby they treat their customers with up most respect.

• anepmat on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:18 pm

doesn’t SACC stand for Shah Alam Convention Centre?

• Eagle Eye on Feb 07, 2015 at 11:01 pm

The venue is correct, the address is not. Was there earlier.

• No… its correct.. Setia Alam Convention Center in Setia Alam.. already pass by the place..

Like it or not (DSG bla bla bla), lots of deals being done

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:04 am

Who dare to buy vw now? With all the rumours spread across everywhere. Even if they give Rm50k discount oso no ppl dare to touch.

• john grease on Feb 09, 2015 at 4:26 pm

people buy what they want, what they love, whta they afford.. why not dare to buy vw if u afford n love that.. rumours means rumours.. anyone can spread if they want even they do not own vw.. hahaha

• FLAMEFLAMEFLAME on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:31 am

When one has excessive money to buy what they want they can do whatever they want and they have the money to repair it whenever they want. I own a golf although i don’t have excessive income but i take good care of my car hence the good condition of the car. DSG DSG DSG. Its the knowledge about how to drive the car. Not all cars suit everyone’s driving capabilities. VW should come up with a book called VW for Beginners.

• First of all rumours is just rumours. The problems with DSG problems had already resolved which is mostly the older models. Current models have almost no problems at all since some problems may also arise due to slight defect or the driver’s driving habit. I really don’t see a point why people still bashing on Volkswagen since they already tried to make the best every of their users by resolving the DSG problems. And Volkswagen giving out discounts also those haters wanna complain. If you dont like it, then it’s not your problem already what, too free got nothing to bark at eh ?? I think those complaint come mostly from the non-users than the current users lo.

• weiseng.9122 on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Wuahh.. If they really give RM 50k discount I definetely will go for VW lor… save so much and they had also released news regarding their DSG problem has been resolved and they will take initiative to solve their after sales service. With all the reference to support, I m not afraid if I will encounter any problem from VW lor.. Aren’t they afraid their reputation will be affected? No company would take such risk.

• gruntman on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Lucky i traded in my DSG always fail car passat but at prime loss niama bought at 170k 2 years old trade in for 89k only curse you VWmy new accord feels better no more headache wasting time waiting tow truck to come and pick during hot hours. Really a nightmare owning this VW!