VW ‘Give Me 5’ winner Mr. Loo drives home a Scirocco

vw-gimme-5-winner

Volkswagen Malaysia recently announced the grand prize winner of its ‘Give Me 5’ contest. The lucky guy is Mr Loo Kuok Tung from Subang Jaya, who drove away with a brand new Volkswagen Scirocco 1.4 TSI.

Loo, 34, said: “Words cannot express my joy towards Volkswagen for this incredible gift to kick start my New Year. I am a die-hard Volkswagen fan and a proud owner of a Volkswagen Golf Mk6 so you can imagine the thrill when I came to know about this. This is truly a pleasant surprise that will undoubtedly brighten my road ahead!” There you have it paultan.org readers, from the man himself.

Volkswagen’s ‘Give Me 5’ contest, held from October 9 to 31 last year, is big on the number five. Besides five years free maintenance, five years free road tax, five years warranty, five years mobility guarantee and RM500 worth of petrol vouchers, those who booked a Volkswagen model during the campaign period received five chances to win the Scirocco. Of the many entries, one name stood out…

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jayden Koo on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:55 am

I believe he is the one who always appears as “Sam Loo” at Paultan.org. The RV guy, won a low RV car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 8
    • hailatt on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Wow, real life Mr.Sam Loo kah? Hahahaha

• Same L0rrr on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:19 pm

RM 130k 0 mileage but registered white scirocco for sale now. anyone interested?

• paulnut on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:47 pm

His son is driving proton saga black color as of this morning.

• Same L0rrr on Feb 08, 2015 at 11:13 pm

Your son’s grandma is driving a human power car called wheelchair as of every morning.

• damn you, good looking lucky bastard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Green Eye Envios ? on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:00 pm

why must he be a bastard ?

why not nicer words like “lucky happy” ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • 50 shades on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:06 pm

meh…what looks good on newspaper and end up looking ain’t good in paultan webpage.

• Hantam it for one month and re-sell it to VW or car dealer as pre owned car. Keep the cash, no more worries DSG crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • WWW007 on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:38 pm

LOL. Tell the lucky ‘bastard’ after reselling the VW to change to Mercedes or Honda cars. Ur comment is damn hilarious>))

• CrazyGuy on Feb 09, 2015 at 10:51 am

No one will do such stupid thing, well.. maybe you’re the one. For your concern, VW had released a statement regarding the DSG issue has been fixed, so there is no point for you to suddenly bring in the DSG topic.

• Cincai Kira on Feb 10, 2015 at 10:47 am

DSG crap? Ah, i dont get much free time to deal with all these VW haters, but once in a while, i will drop my comment to say that this DSG crap that you are talking about already been resolved almost like a years now. This brand new Scirocco got nothing to be worried about. Paultan himself already posted few articles regarding this problem, why bother mentioning? For the sake of hatred? Ah, i guess haters gonna hate, you should listen to Taylor Swift song sometimes. Use your free time to enjoy it, not to hate others. :/

• Famous DSG name on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Lucky is winning Sports Toto RM40 million. This is no luck. Everyday DSG judder and jerk is not real luck.

Waiting for the tow truck is not really luck

• Madness on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Hey dude, don’t be too jealous.
        How do you know the DSG is juddering and jerking everyday? Did you own a VW?

• unbelievable on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Now I believe mars can be occupied by human.

• Y Generation on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:56 am

Don’t worry Mr Loo, your Scirocco will soon break down because the DSG actually cannot be used in Malaysia. VW Germany AG already said, all their DSG is prone to continuous breakdowns if used in hot asian climate and countries where there are traffic jams.

In cold countries, the DSG won’t have a problem.

That is why in VGM has already 3 or 4 CEOs in 2 years. VGM insist that DSG cannot be sold in Malaysia but VGM Malaysia override their CEO and still sell DSG here.

To all the fanboys who will come here and say DSG is sorted out, well it cannot be sorted out la. VW AG already said so.

My best wishes to Mr Loo though. Please keep tow truck number in your speed dial Mr Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 34
    • BeemerFreak on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Stupid Toyota sales man……sales not good then try to belittle others…..look at Honda first before u strike others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
      • WWW007 on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:41 pm

Honda and its iVTEC and Vtec Turbo Yo! not like the dinosaur age Dual VVTi 4 speed toy car.

• mango on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:09 pm

sour grape.. typical malaysian mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Not a fan on Feb 06, 2015 at 4:57 pm

I beg to differ, the problematic DSG is the dry clutch type, the wet clutch, not to say faultless but the chance of defects occurrence is lower than the one in jetta, passat, or golf.

Btw, DSG is a problem disregard the weather, it happens whole over the world, just that the VGM after sale sucks too hard, they cant entertain their own customers, busy making money perhaps. Changing DSG mechatronics takes circa 2/3 hours only. Trust me, I know.

• TheMalaysian on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:52 am

Well..I believe that VW had improve a lot on their after sales service since the announcement of taking initiative on VW after sales released. Compared with last 2 years ago, their after sales have been improved a lot.

• TheAnonymous on Feb 09, 2015 at 11:05 am

I just realized that you always post the same content and you always share negative comment on those article that related to VW. I doubt if you are working for other car makers.

• embrace for the shitty vw aftersales and totally unreliable dsg-7!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Young Boy on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Young boy, he can afford to use up his annual leave and sit in the SC to fix his DSG up.

We family people cannot afford to use up our annual leave like that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • kl fella on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:31 pm

are you kidding me? you take annual leave to service and fix the car and wait for your car in the workshop? lol

• Retep on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Is his first name Sam?

• samloo?

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Congrats bro, at least you’ll have a spare car when your Golf decides to breakdown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • shaunD on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:10 pm

i die2 thought Sam Loo won a VW. i wonder if he will become a changed man if that happened.

• loleekok on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:13 pm

1.4tsi, 4 weeks later see u again in workshop :D

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Sam loo won a vw. He is too free nothing to do at toyota showroom. Business no good. So can join contest.

I’m sure he’ll ditch his vw for a vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Nazrullah Jamaluddin on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:33 pm

dont fighting,we can buy singapore scrap car,its so cheapest price,and clone the number,hehehe….

• roxas on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:45 pm

rich guy just getting richer..

• ae101 on Feb 06, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Why ppl here mindset so negative? He got this car for free man. He can sell it for cash to buy other thing. Why bother about the dsg breakdown? Damn lucky chap!!

• Supporter on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Yea.. You’re right. People should share some positive comment or congratulate to the winner instead of cursing him.
      BTW, if i were the winner, i will drive it rather than sell it out as the Scirocco really has good performance and good fuel efficiency. I won’t be afraid of the DSG issue, AFAIK, the DSG issue has been resolved.

• Wow! Such good-looking man, and he looks more like a model hired by VW to promote their “menang besar” event..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • mango on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:08 pm

Congrats young man..

• Is his English name Sam?

• WaJib on Feb 06, 2015 at 1:57 pm

First Sam Loo talk about Toyota Resale Value..now appear at Volkswagen showroom. Cakap tak serupa bikin..

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Lol ‘Of the many entries, one name stood out…’…really lah that Sam Loo..even VW wants to proof to him that conti cars are not as bad as he thinks it is.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Sam Loo.

Soon to be a household name on this site. The last I checked Sam Loo was someone that looked like Danny Tan, sounds like Danny Tan with an Indian accent, and walks like Danny Tan. But is not Danny Tan. Plot twist. …

• gayness on Feb 06, 2015 at 3:48 pm

ehhh…very good looking meh…r u sure u r 34? not 24 years old?

already married? got gf or not? wahhh..ur bicep is big, goin to the gym ah???

• This Sam Loo haaa………. fap fap fap

• Luckylucky on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Why are there so many jealous small minded comments here? Can’t people enjoy that someone else has good luck? Let us congratulate Mr. Loo with his new car and be happy for him. :)

• JoeRadzif on Feb 06, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Don’t see Sam Loo comment in this news.
    Wondering why….

• karipap basah on Feb 06, 2015 at 9:40 pm

drive it like you stole it!!

• 정남 on Feb 06, 2015 at 10:56 pm

If that was Sam Loo then he’d probably trade it in for 2 more Hiluxes ;)

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 06, 2015 at 11:16 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• huagen on Feb 07, 2015 at 12:10 am

This die hard fan can now call the SC his home.

• I really don’t get it why u guys want to condemn Volkswagen where you should actually congratulate the winner instead in this article. I have a friend driving this version of Scirocco and he got no problem also, please give such statement if only you’re driving this model and encounter problems and not spreading fake information just because you’re too active in the Internet reading other people’s comments.

• ben yap on Feb 07, 2015 at 9:15 am

see u in the workshop, pal.

• Ban You on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm

You cant simply say VW will cause lot of problems to its owner. yes, it did but it was a long time ago. Now, VW has released a pc and clearly stated that they will improve the service centers services and already resolving DSG issues. If its not your luck dude, any new car will eventually be sent to an SC coz of variety issues. Dont simply make an accusation. I cant believe you would spare your free time here, just to satisfy your hate!

• most of the haters here I bet never really own a VW and can only dream of one. I’ve had my Scirocco for 3 years now and the only time my car went to the workshop is when I had an accident a few months ago. Other than that, I’ve never had any problems with this car