New Kia Optima to be previewed by Geneva concept

kia-optima-new-concept-geneva-teaser

At the Geneva show in March, we’re set to see a concept that previews the next-gen Kia Optima – the Korean carmaker has released the sole teaser image you see here. We wouldn’t be surprised if the real thing turns out pretty much like that.

In considerable contrast to the sober Hyundai Sonata LF, the pictured vehicle sports a very slim Tiger Nose grille framed by sharp headlamps that look like they’re LED units. The front bumper is angular and edgy, incorporating what looks like a hexagonal lower intake and silver bars.

Aggression shines through in the depression along the side of the body, long bonnet, rakish windscreen, high shoulder line and huge shuriken-style alloys (please, let those wheels make production!). Those tiny wing mirrors and concealed door handles won’t, of course – and what kind of side gills are those?

Be that as it may, it certainly looks a treat, and we simply can’t wait to see the rest of it.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BeemerFreak on Feb 10, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Absolutely gorgeous….However the Kimchi bashers are coming. Those bunch of sore loosing lunatics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 32
    • Latest Facelifted launched 12 months ago.

http://paultan.org/2014/01/16/kia-optima-facelift-introduced-rm150k/

Almost the same. About the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • Toyota Salesman, pls Don't Jealous on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:51 am

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000. So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • If we change car Every 1 or 2 years. we dont mind buying cheaper Korean Cars or even the more “expensive” Korean Cars.

We drive car for 10 years. This is why we buy Lexus, Benz or Toyota or even the cheaper Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:30 am

Kimchis can be as gorgeous as Paris Hilton or Taylor Swift, but they will never have RV.

For KIA, they cannot even be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 40
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:38 am

Another same thing is that KIA cars cannot be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
  • Absolutely gorgeous.. Gonna upgrade my forte to this beauty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Look good but gutless. I hope kia can throw in a bigger cc engine and give more punch.

A turbocharge is more yummy…

I think if kimchi throw in a turbocharge engine to their d segment will give a good fight to sushi.
    Kimchi and sushi always fight on same thing no shiok. Sushi will always have advantage on brand and sam loo rv philosophy.
    But if turbo, a lot youngster will look at it.

Don’t forget the old ah pek is getting older. The 10 years younger generation is picking up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Korean cars no need to say la…beautiful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 17
  • paulcos on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:52 pm

amazing design Indeed.. while the current optima still look fresh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:33 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:25 am

looks lovely….while hyundai is going backwards lately

• tayk_kucheng on Feb 11, 2015 at 2:20 am

boring…not much different, same body style,only change headlamp,grill,side vent,n a little bit on interior.. better call it optima fl 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • nobrand on Feb 11, 2015 at 6:49 am

So many jealous toyota salesman here. That a sign than kia will damage their sales harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • It does look good but driving ability and quality still behind hyundai. Most importantly Proton far behind Kia

• ARJUN on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:24 am

toyota owners and salesman enough talk nonsense.. hw long wana talk bout trade in value.. smart people buy car to enjoy the features.. the safety of the car.. n the beautiful look of the car.. whn u drive K5 people wil sure luk at ur car..feel so proud in tat moment. in some view K5 luk more attractive thn BMW. Toyota nw just for uncles.. enough being jealous.. cos most of car out thr nt attractive like K5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Wanker on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:41 am

I agree. The kia looks good nowadays. Feature and safety wise even beat the bmw logo. What’s more the kia reliability is much better than bmw and their warranty is longer as compared to bmw which is only 2 years old.

As for service center of both marque, although bmw lounge looks nicer somehow naza kia is catching up. I feel more comfy in naza kia than bmw. Perhaps it’s the way some of the arrogant SA or snobish folks in suits treat people.

I owned both marque, kia and bmw, what is seriously lacking in kia now is a good turbo charge engine in malaysia. If they can offer the same torque experience as VW or the BMW, it will even capture more market share due to affordability.

• Ha Gnih on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:47 am

The K5 is one handsome machine. Its just too bad alot still have their reservations towards the brand itself. My K5 has been in the family for about a year now and all I can say is, its a wonderful kimchii with a dash of bimbimbap and a whole lot teokbokki. Haters gonna hate but let them hate. As long we are happy with our own decision. Because after all, we bought those cars with our own money instead if their’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • K5TheGameChanger on Feb 11, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Electronic Parking Brake
    Air-ventilated seats
    Five 18″ Sports Rim + Ori Tyre
    3 Mode – Sports/Eco/Normal
    Sunroof
    super spacious
    4 auto windows
    8 inifinity speaker
    6 airbags
    Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Electronic Brake-Force System (EBD), Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), Traction Control System (TCS), Brake Assist System (BAS), four front and four rear parking sensors Assist System, speed and impact sensing auto door lock, Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) and ISOFIX lock-in child seats anchoring and four auto powered and up/down windows with safety auto pinching.
    5 yrs unlimited mil warranty

and many more .. for price at around RM140k (after disc)
    it’s definetely worth than any ride on road , even worth than beemer 3 series

• buat terkejut je on Feb 11, 2015 at 3:28 pm

wow new proton percona r… cantik gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • NazaKia..just bring in the new Kia Optima with a 2.0 Turbo engine with 274HP & 364Nm of Torque..the same engine Kia offered in the US. Will happily upgrade my almost 5-year old Forte 2.0 into this