Perodua sedan based on Myvi facelift rendered!

perodua-sedan-myvi-based-theophilus-chin-1

Master automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin has visualised a Perodua sedan based on the 2015 Myvi facelift. From what he says on his site, he isn’t too happy with it – deeming it a “fail attempt,” he believes the actual vehicle will look better, judging by the looks of the Axia and the Myvi.

Well, we actually think this is Theo’s best-looking attempt yet at a four-door Perodua! He’s used the Myvi 1.3‘s tamer face here, which surely avoids an overstyled front end. The side profile is no less appealing too, with a low-ish shoulder line, black window frames and an upswept lower swage line adorning a simple but pleasing silhouette.

The rear is perhaps the most visually interesting part – a classy chrome bar bridges the gap between Audi-esque tail lamps that emit a warm red glow. There’s a cheeky ridge at the edge of the boot lid, and the rear bumper incorporates some SE-ish vents, separated by a subtle depression.

Talk of P2 considering a sedan has been buzzing about for quite some time. There was KLIMS10’s Bezza concept and KLIMS13’s Buddyz concept, the latter of which Theo tweaked a bit. The rendering maestro also famously created the Jaguh brochure hoax in 2013, which involved reskinning a Toyota Etios. He has also rendered an A-segment Perodua sedan.

Learn more: ,

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• my god. what year liao? 90s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • sawwi on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Perodua sedan = Final nail to Proton’s coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 45
      • Abu Sayur on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Yup. Proton fanboy all nangis already. Hope this happens but i doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • 1MDB - 1 Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Whatever Perodua comes out, it will do well. Because it is a well run company. Proton is another story. Too many lazy workers. Lazy like hell. That is why Proton doing badly. 1MDB – 1 Malas, Dolop dan Bodoh

Problem with Proton is like our Civil Service. Employ 10 people to do 1 person’s work. That is how lazy Proton workers are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 62
      • leonardo on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:14 am

I could say the same thing about car workers – that they are lazy and stupid, without any facts. But I won’t, and I just let you take all the credits.

• ABTguy (Member) on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Wow, I saw a Audi A3 sedan tail lamp here, somewhat :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • trollmaster3000 on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:39 am

it’s good enough to go against saga..

• habisla proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
  • So ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
  • Driver on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Perodua will keep using MYVI until 2089. Myvi Myvi Myvi Myvi and Myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:07 pm

Really? let me guess.

Axia Super Advance
      Myvi Super Advance
      Alza Super Advance

Perodua could just take an Old toyota sedan and redesign its bumpers and lights and double its sales…But, it does have an issue with pricing. With even the Myvi priced to an absurd 60K, would anyone buy a 70-80k Perodua Sedan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Yeah … eat your heart out. P2 can use old old Toyota and make profit from it. Proton can have their VSC and teh tarik hook and kereta tak terjual-jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
      • Sendiri punya sampah tak boleh jual, ada hati nak ajar orang jual kereta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Toyota have been using corolla name plate for 50 over year, Honda using civic name plate also very long already. So you suggest all change name arr?

• SamTheHaiLatLou on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:48 pm

not the name….talking about the look of the car….total ignorance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota & honda still use the Corolla & civic from 1970s…whats wrong with perodua if use myvi trademark until 2089??

When its about non national brand its always right..when come to national its always wrong…what the type of typical malaysian..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • You think like Proton? nama nak canggih-canggih… Proton Iris tapi sales tak laris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
  • Habisla Audi A3 on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Looks like a budget A3 sedan…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Habislah Saga SV on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:12 pm

If now Saga SV profit only RM500/unit, after this perodua sedan released maybe Proton offer buy 1 free 1 Saga SV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
      • Albert on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:58 am

habislah SV,you are partially correct.If they have to ‘buy one ,free one” they would be insolvent by then.Its not like contact lens,buy one free one or buy one condom free one condom.
        Perhaps,Protong should give 1 dozen free condoms for 1 purchase of Saga SV,since profit is only rm 500.Proton needs some dignity to maintain sales volume than slide into a deep shithole.Everlasting Perlindungan is working for Perodua but not working for Protong .

• gmorque on Feb 10, 2015 at 1:56 pm

bukan betul kuar macam ni pun.. ni cuma rendering syok sendiri and poyo jek.. ader jugak yg percaya betul2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • mgorque on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Tapi cukup untuk buat macai2 Proton tidur tak lena di malam hari.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
    • Macai P2 xde otak, x perlu beritahu perkara sebenar…semua org hanya syiok sdr je

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Frankly speaking, I do not understand the obsession with a sedan. An A or B (moreso the A than B) segment car does best with a hatchback body style for a compact but spacious and versatile interior.

Mazda once tried it with the 121 Sedan. Boy, was that an excersize in futility.

Cars like the Jazz is much more versatile, and if you don’t mind the extra lenght, there is always the Airwave or Civic Tourer (both on the same platform), which unfortunately, is not available here.

Im sure Perodua will have a large selection of toyota platforms and parts bin to raid, if they finally end up (er.. perhaps “allowed” to) making a sedan.

But that said, even the worst Theo could come up with, would still better than what monstrocity Perodua in house designers managed to muster in the “Buddyz”, which looks like a oddly proportioned booted Swift.

• Dream on. P2 wont come out with sedan model as there is no sedan in Daihatsu line up. Unless they use sedan from Toyota.

• OMG.. really? this ugly? come on la theo.

• MitchelJohn on Feb 11, 2015 at 1:22 am

Then please, by all mean…

COME UP WITH A FREAKING RENDER YOUR SELF

instead of cock talking on the internet like a loser

• Skeptical on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Perodua will definitely launch a sedan by next year, but I’m skeptical on how it will actually perform.

They do not have any experience designing a car from scratch, not to mention a Sedan. Daihatsu does not have any Sedan in their lineup so it will be an unproven design if it was derived from the Myvi. Of course they can try to get a Toyota, maybe the Low cost Etios, unless Toyota allows a re-engineered Perodua Vios.

Perodua had the advantage of producing cars that were on the road in other countries before finally bringing it into Malaysia. Hopefully they do not experience the hardships Proton had when they started producing locally-designed cars.

Of course with Perodua, I doubt Perodua had much say in the R&D anyway and most of the actual decisions and development will be still done by Daihatsu in Japan. Maybe this time around Malaysia will be the first production market for a Daihatsu Sedan?

• google daihatsu altis, daihatsu camry

• Skeptical on Feb 10, 2015 at 4:14 pm

Of course that exists, but that’s a Toyota developed car rebadged as a Daihatsu. And there is no possibility the Perodua Sedan will be based on the Altis anyway.
        The point I was getting at is that Perodua is ‘Daihatsu Factory in Malaysia’, and only a Factory at that. Only the 2011 Myvi was acknowledged to had SOME input from local engineers, meaning most likely all car development activities are still handled by Daihatsu Japan.
        I would love some insiders info on how Daihatsu does work after being bought by Toyota. Do the engineers have access to Toyota’s car design know-how? Or is their entire development been taken over by Toyota and they just follow whatever they are told to do ala Perodua?

• altisbest on Feb 10, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Yeay after this can buy p2 Altis for 60K!!
          That’s quite bargainnnnnn!!!!!!!!!

• look like VIOS 2nd generation

• anonymous on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Enough of this shit. Stop ppsting p2 sedan. Post only if it is actual.

• Annoyymous on Feb 10, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Photo only you already gelabah worried, what more if real actual p2 sedan produced? Proton macai easily afraid out of nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • I really hate it. It’s the matter of hope. I really hope this is(p2 sedan) real, but when it’s not, it’s really dissapointing.

• donno on Feb 10, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Met with a few perodua guys on.the way to south korea a few years ago, and they say they are doing a sedan project. And surprise surprise they went with a familiar company that usually does technical designs for proton…

• Yea. … I met few Americans telling me they are doing the next top secret fighter jet project. No one knows about this project except me because the Americans told me the secret.

• Perodua? Put a monkey as their CEO, it will still make a profit.

• Proton? Give them Carlos Ghosn also can bankrupt because the rest are monkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • I think you also monkey. Monkey in Proton cause losing money but if monkey become ceo, Perodua still make money. How come ah.. So which monkey are you, perodua or proton. But in fact it is the same monkey. Hahahahaha…….. Think before you write….. So act like monkey……

• Rilekla proton. Baru gambar je dah gabra … macam mana nak jadi global player?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Takde nye perodua noob make this shitty design. Omg if they make this design, who want to buy. Who created this? I dont think perodua created this

• Porsche guy on Feb 10, 2015 at 11:31 pm

Myvi this , myvi that… Its not even original, the sedan will come out if daihatsu has design one!

• Perodua own by Toyota and manage by Japanese but enjoy national car status. All their model are rebadge and technical backup by Toyota engineer. It is actually Japanese quality car sell at national car price, of course saleable. And this so call sucessful?

If Toyota move out, see whether Perodua can survive or not. Dont so action.

• Apam Madu on Feb 11, 2015 at 9:19 am

If P2 redesign vios 2nd generation and put in VSC , sell at 50K , P2 will be NO.1 .

• Ainon on May 21, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Please don’t use this car, or any car, for racing on public roads.