Daihatsu Sirion-badged Myvi facelift launching in Indonesia this month – exports have commenced

new-sirion-indonesia

The Indonesian-market Daihatsu Sirion, essentially a Daihatsu-badged Myvi exported by Perodua, is set to receive a renewal in the republic. Word is that PT Astra Daihatsu Motor will launch the B-segment five-door hatch this week in Jakarta.

The refreshed Sirion comes after Perodua introduced the Myvi facelift in Malaysia last month. Uncovered units of the Sirion have been spotted in both countries, and the cars look identical save for different badging, which comes as no surprise as the Indonesian Sirion has always been a rebadged Myvi. The Sirion made its Indonesian debut at IIMS 2011.

At a Chinese New Year media luncheon this week, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said that the Rawang-based company has already exported up to 180 units of the Sirion to Indonesia for launch preparations, adding that the target for the model is around 350 units per month this year.

If that sounds pretty low, it’s because the Sirion isn’t exactly a bread and butter car in the Indonesian market, unlike in Malaysia where the Myvi has been the best selling car for many years. People carriers like the Toyota Avanza, Daihatsu Xenia and Honda Mobilio are default choices in the MPV-dominated market, and there’s also the Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) segment for the budget conscious.

IIMS 2014 Daihatsu Sirion “Adventure Concept”

IIMS 2014 Daihatsu Sirion “Street Racing”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:38 am

Malaysia demand also belum fulfill. Skrang mau export lagi. Mmg tamak perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • oh ho … you prefer like proton? low demand but struggle to deliver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Because you can’t spend all your salary, you reject the upcoming angpow, increment and bonus?

Good car always hot on demand, looking on our Prius C is a good example. When it was launched in 2012, global huge demand put the customer waiting for 6 months! Did they stop selling Prius C then?

Good cars, ppl willing to wait and wait…

Bad cars, ppl reject RM5k discount now and wait for RM8k or RM16k discount on Raya… There always ready stocks, why so hurry???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Proton Iriz the true Global car.

Tun DrM promise himself Iriz the game changer and even Joking love Iriz !!!

As DrM say Rakyat don’t buy Iriz are uneducated and stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:43 pm

So scare Tun M pointing on your nose and say “Kamu ni bodoh!” ??

Go buy Iriz then… Please buy 5, to show the world you are SUPPORTING by actions! Talk is cheap!

Don’t buy Proton, Tun M say you are stupid; buy Proton, whole world say you are stupid. So what is your call? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • Proton Learn from Perodua on Feb 12, 2015 at 3:26 pm

Proton, look and learn. See how Perodua is doing so well whilst your Iriz is struggling. Look and learn. We Malaysians have suffered enough of Proton. Better to close it down.

How can Perodua be making so much of sales and money and Proton, which is older and gets so much protection and money from the GOvernment can be loss making?

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

If Proton cannot learn from Perodua how to make money, then something is wrong with Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
    • Super on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Which demand are referring to jolly_idiot?. Myvi already fulfill the market. The one that unable to cope with the booking is axia. Banyakkan membaca jolly_idiot (nama pun mcm orangnya)..

• trollmaster3000 on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:40 pm

lol.. butthurt much..? must be a proton employee then.. better go concentrate on meeting demands for your syiok sendiri global car larr weh.. haihh..

• Rebadging a rebadged car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • jolly_idiot (Member) on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:11 am

No… they’re putting back the original badge on a rebadge car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Rebagdeception

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Shukri Hashim on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Yo dawg, i heard you like rebadge. I rebadge a rebadge car so you can buy a rebadge car of a rebadge car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Super on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:12 pm

Weee – give me Daihatsu car that Myvi baharu rebadge from. tq

• azrai on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:12 am

Wow!!180k unit in Indonesia!Congratulation.Oopss…wait… no k? Only 180? What?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Rebadgeception

• gaboi on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:15 am

Go go go perodua.. Daihatsu Indonesia rebadge Perodua? Kah kah kah!

• lazyf on Feb 12, 2015 at 11:19 am

Wow!!!
    Daihatsu rebadged Perodua Myvi is it…lol

• In B4, perodua REBADGE Daihatsu/Toyota. Did you know? :3

• Super on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:11 pm

lazyf – why suddenly get shock. Baru bukak Paul Tan website ka lately. The Daihatsu Sirion rebadged Myvi since 2006 from 1st gen to 2nd gen. Oo mungkin masa 2006 ko masih Form 1. Baru nak berjinak2 dgn automotif skrg..

• Can proton export inspira as lancer for neighbouring country or not?

• AkuAnon on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:03 pm

In B4, Perodua REBADGE Daihatsu/Toyoto. Did you know ? :3

• Mary Minah on Feb 12, 2015 at 12:56 pm

Is Malaysia getting this version too. I love the design so much. Very sexy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • BLT_CLUB on Feb 12, 2015 at 1:05 pm

Meanwhile Iriz crying in the corner. Or should I say rakyat crying in the corner cause more grants heading to Proton.. Sad state of affairs. Eff that, Sad State period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • When can I book Street Racing version of Proton Iriz above? cun liao…

• DAIHATSUNEWS.COM on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:37 pm

I LIKE THIS.

• DAIHATSUNEWS.COM on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:40 pm

DAIHATSU = ASTRA DAIHATSU MOTOR 86 % LOCAL
    DAIHATSU = PERODUA

• DAIHATSUNEWS on Feb 12, 2015 at 7:52 pm

PROTON BAGUS PERODUA JUGA BAGUS

• karipap basah on Feb 12, 2015 at 8:28 pm

All show, but no go……

POSERS…….

• the other way round on Feb 12, 2015 at 9:39 pm

you should call our myvis here Myvi-badged Daihatsu Sirion. dont say like its daihatsu copying the model from perodua!

• Not understood on Feb 12, 2015 at 10:44 pm

Underspecced as usual. Perodua is also ripping u guys with outdated tech and spec and yet u people keep on buying?

• Faizal on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:00 am

Owh that why i see this car on a trailer last tuesday at elite highway with sirion badge not myvi.

• Bruise on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:20 am

No interested in any Perodua car model, all look like expensive cattle car.

• Bristol on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm

No interested in any Perodua car model, all look like bullshit.

• Lembut on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:55 pm

there you go again..

this is why i love paultan ^_^

*grab popcorn*

• maxadi on Apr 06, 2015 at 9:04 pm

what u all talking nonsenses.just buy what car u likes and enjoy ur drives..carefully..