10k Proton Iriz units registered since Sept ’14 launch

Proton_Iriz_Review_-003

A total of 10,000 Proton Iriz cars have been registered in Malaysia to date since its official debut back in September 2014, according to Proton Edar CEO, Norzahid Mohd Zahudi. The 1.6 litre CVT variant appears to be the most popular variant, with 150 bookings per day, Norzahid told Bernama.

“The 1.6-litre automatic is the biggest contributor to Iriz sales, about 45 per cent currently, but the sales of 1.3-litre automatic variant is picking up,” he added. Proton is currently aiming to sell 4,000 units monthly for 2015. At launch, only two models were produced – the 1.3 litre M/T and the 1.6 litre CVT. Production of the 1.3 CVT begun in December last year while production of the 1.6 manual is slated to begin this month.

According to Norzahid, the reason for the relatively modest pick up of sales for the Iriz was due to local buyers adopting a “wait-and-see approach” – opting to go for the car only when a fair number of it has been spotted on the road. Also, Proton has neglected the compact car segment for some time and would take a while before it could breach the sector once again.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT

GALLERY: Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive M/T

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Agreed. Wait & see

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 19
    • BLT_CLUB on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:46 am

Wait to see at sales carnival. And still won’t book…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
      • sawwi on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:09 pm

So jealous with Axia even launched Iriz at same month Sept 2014.

What if Perodua Sedan car confirmed for sale also?

Lagi lah Proton gelabah semua macai-macai jumping beruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 62
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:25 pm

U think Proton so care about its sales figure?

Come on, they had begged for RM1600millions last year. I am not surprised if they ask for RM2000mils this year.

One way or other, Malaysians are subsidizing Proton. The Iriz, just another tool/excuse to ask for government funding.

There is a similar creature we called LEECH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 81
          • Iriz better than Axia on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Axia may be doing better with more sales but this doesn’t mean is a better car. Just like there are tons of Myvi on the road but it doesn’t mean is better than a Mercedes. Iriz is miles ahead of Axia in terms of safety, looks and performance

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 105
          • Low sales figure doesn't mean is bad on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:55 pm

It is actually a good thing to see an Iriz once in awhile on the road, I would actually turn my head and give the Iriz a second look cause at least is better than seeing a Myvi when you turn your head from left to right. Such a boring car to see them everywhere

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 81
          • A Class better than Iriz on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Iriz may be more rare with less sales but it just means that it is an unwanted crap car. Just like there are less Suprima on the road but it doesn’t mean it is better than a Ferrari. A Class is miles ahead of Iriz in terms of safety, looks and performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 62
        • Proton - King of RV Depreciation on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Malaysian public already know. Proton is King of RV depreciation. Buy today Rm50k, sell tomorrow also, want to get RM30k also you are lucky.

Nearly every Malaysian has given Proton a chance. We gave Proton a try from day one but got a shock of our lives when selling our cars. Have to top up loan! Even after paying loan few years also, still must top up loan when you sell your car.

Perodua is different. Use few years also, when you sell the car, only lose a few thousand. Say buy RM50k. Few years later you sell your Perodua, can even get Rm42k.

Proton is the King of RV Depreciation. Used car dealers also trade your Proton in for so so so low.

That is why sales are so bad. Malaysians, especially Proton and Perodua buyers are not that rich and we are very particular about RV. What is the use I pay my loan so many years and sell time, I still have to top up the loan??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 106
      • Friday the 13th on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Malaysians are waiting for Proton to close shop than to book the car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 69
        • Hey Mr.,
          You may say so on the individual basis but you totally have no right to represent other millions citizens of Malaysia on this matter.

As a matter of fact, i’m the one who is against your half cooked statement. and, i do believe i’m not alone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 99
          • Bersih 2.0 on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Of course you don’t want it to close shop, you’re one of the Proton cronies benefitting from the crooked company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 52
          • 1Malaysia on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Then we should have a GE to vote whether Proton should close shop or not. After all, most of the money to fund Proton comes from the G, which comes from the rakyat. The people have the right to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 20
          • Ultra2Disk on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:44 pm

You not alone ATMD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
          • Crony on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:25 pm

We are with you, ATMD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 23
          • Observer on Feb 15, 2015 at 1:15 am

From the feedback, looks like majority of Malaysians want Proton to close shop. Only the supporters are living in denial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Suddenly it turns to be a politic issue on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:18 am

Oh please… Suddenly it became a politic issue… This is not politics… This is all about your own mentality…

• tkhawk on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:56 pm

Fully agreed! Proton should have closed shop long time ago, then we don’t have to endure those “under-spec’d & over-priced” cars no more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 33
      • Pure Lies Lies Lies on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Government has been known to give false figures and statistics, so, it won’t surpise me if Proton is lying about their figures too.

There is no way Proton has registered 10,000 cars. Your eyes will never lie to you. When you drive around, do you even see an Iriz?

I drive at least 150 KM per day in Klang Valley because I am in sales. I hardly see any Iriz around. Most days I don’t even see a single Iriz. On the days I see, I see maybe one for the whole day.

How Proton? If we do see any Iriz on the road, most likely, you will see it in KL. I drive from KL to PJ to Shah Alam everyday, I never see any Iriz.

Come on Proton. Be honest. Don’t lie. It is obvious that sales are bad. On the other hand I see many Axia on the road. So, what lies is Proton telling?

Please be honest with the public. If you are a failure of a company and produce failure cars, just admit it. Don’t hide and pretend.

This is like the Savvy. Before the launch big hoo haa. Proton said got French engine and this and that. Said it was so happening. Proton also said for years after that sales of Savvy and Juara was so good.

But is it really true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 55
        • Please visit the registered optician to fix your eyes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 45
          • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:22 pm

To be honest, since the Iriz and Axia launched, I have only seen the Iriz on the road a couple of times, but sighting Axia on the roads is a daily affair since a a month back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
          • PreveVSVios on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Lol I saw less Vios, more Preve then the report came out and tadaaaaa, it’s still one of the best selling B segment cars in bolehland

What? My eyes or the report got faulty? Or Vios buyers use kapchai on weekdays and only drive on weekends while Preve owners love to drive it everywhere everytime?

Go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • yushu on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Honestly.. when I drive my taxi, Iriz more eye catching and I can see more compared to axia and new myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 6
        • Kimberly Ng on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:11 pm

With over 30k+++ registered Axia also not really frequent to see on the road, what else do you expect on 10K Iriz?

Is not like the whole fleet were purchased in the same area…

Sometimes, silence is better than giving non constructive comments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
          • Lee Heng on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:21 pm

O f course silence is better… if you’re crony. Will you hoo hah when people give you bribe or when your company under performs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 23
          • leekeong on Feb 14, 2015 at 5:39 pm

And for those who do slandering better keep shouting and barking here and there, talking kok day and night, lol

• Nut Job on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Even the numbers do not add up. If 1.6 CVT has 150 bookings per day, in 5 months it is already 13500 orders! And yet, total registered is 22.5k and there are only 2 Iriz models, and that 1.6 CVT is 45% which means 55% are 1.3, and yet 1.6CVT is the major contributor!! One last thing, 1.6 CVT has 150 bookings per day, and they are still targeting 4000 units per month for whole Iriz … really mind boggling. This means the whole statements are blowing horns, exaggerated here and there and end up nothing match up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
          • Math Teacher on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:50 pm

150*30*5 is not 22500? 13500 how you get? I wonder why no one ask this or all of you don’t know how to count?

• fak king on Feb 15, 2015 at 8:39 am

Registered and booked is 2 different thing..one is already bought and on the road, the other is not delivered yet..

Are you daft or dumb or what?cunt..

• Please quote and where you got that statement. Your argument is invalid if you just say “they said”. If you say you are in the sales line, I’m in the production line of a Japanese car in Segambut. So don’t quote half truths.

• Close Down Proton on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:27 pm

Better to just close Proton down. It looks like Iriz will meet the same fate of Proton Arena (Jumback)

It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?
        It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat.

Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 90
        • arghhhhh… yawn. Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 47
        • Aero (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:44 pm

How many times are you going to copy and paste the same thing over and over and over again ?

Why do Malaysians like to complain so much ? Get off your butt and work towards a solution lah. Complaining won’t change a thing, but education will. Oh, and education is based on facts, not your own twisted opinions, that would be politics.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 35
          • Yes, you’re right. We should boycott Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 33
          • Arell on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Closing it down memang is a solution la. After that no more haters!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
          • rickyll (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:28 pm

I’ve to agree that the same comment had been cut and pasted too many times. We heard you loud and clear and I am sure you had put across the message. Whether the 10K figure is true or not, we will find out soon because at the rate the Proton Edar CEO was mentioning, Iriz should flood the road in no time. I was victimised by Proton before,(Saga 1991, Waja 2001 and still keep an Iswara Aeroback 2007 as a spare car), I vowed not to buy another Proton. I must admit that Iriz is very tempting and after reading the review by Hafiz, I may give the manual 1.6 a try but that would only happen after I get a direct feed back from an Iriz owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
        • Aero (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Oh, I missed out one thing. Your facts need to be well-informed, verified and professionally presented.

Bullsh*t statements like;

“You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.”

and

“In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and …… our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.”

don’t count.

Can you show me one verified source which could back your ‘so-called facts’ ? As far as I’m concerned, you are a pushing random bullsh*t under the guise as facts to fuel your own twisted confirmatory bias towards anything that isn’t a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 31
          • cartrader on Feb 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Yup during 80’s 10 years old 2nd hand / used Corolla already priced RM16K.

He wanted to get new one for 20K?

Definitely in his wet dream!!!!

• 'They' look stupid... on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Yes… I agreed… Sometimes we can see that most of the bashers are so stupid telling the stupid ideas & theories in order just to bash Proton… If they don’t like Proton fine, but don’t show so much stupidities in comments… Because they look so stupid… Hahahahahha…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • 'Supporters' look stupid on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Proton and it’s supporters are still living in denial. Already losing sales and still want to claim their cars are better than P2. Claim all you want but don’t show your stupidity by comparing Iriz with Axia as they are different segments. Saying Iriz is better than Axia is just stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • medic on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Same crap different package. Stop copy & paste you retard. The same comment in almost every new post about proton. Grow up man, get your marbles together n think of something new to write. If not, you & proton not much of difference, dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
        • mcm bagus on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:42 pm

berapa DAP bayar lu bro copy and paste at every Paultan articles? tell me how much… i also to join. can make duit petrol monthly. jangan makan sorang haa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 19
          • Proton Taukeh's Daughter on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Heheh…
            I oso want…do not so kamsiap lor…!!!

• Proton Taukeh's Daughter on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:30 pm

Waaa…so long haa.
          I think u should write a book.
          Wish best seller!

• Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:48 am

Wait and see, not only at Proton but also Perodua, last-last walk into Perodua showroom and book a P2 car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:55 am

Hahahaha see who’s laughing now.

10k Proton Iriz and coming, we are the best and busy taking order !!!

Come order from us discount 8k for top spec… order now or you will regret not to booking !!!

Indo market and Bolehland market all same Iriz were best sell !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
      • Dishonest Service Centres on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:43 pm

Proton Iriz will be the next Savvy. A joke of a car. Malaysians are not falling for all the VSC and higher spec in this car. Nobody trust Proton la.

Many times I send to GLenmarie to service my Proton, I go home check got oil change, I see dirty oil in my car despite they charging me for a new pack of oil.

So dishonest behavious even from the main service centre in Glenmarie.

I go to forum, I see, so many people confirm the same thing. Kena charge for oil, Proton even leave the Petronas container in the car to show they changed oil, but go home, check oil gauge, see still got old dirty oil.

Now you know why sales are so bad Proton. Until you all become honest, people will buy a lower specced car like Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 42
        • Macha on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Janganlah blame dulu.
          Send your car to another service centre, check the dip stick after servicing this time. Or request to be near your vehicle when they’re servicing your car. Also kalau engine lama or badly maintained vehicle, the oil will remain dark even after servicing. Doesn’t mean the they did not change the oil. Could be high surfactant content of the brand of oil used, masuk terus jadi kopi.
          But if on top of all that, you’re sure they short changed you, kasi complain saja. It might just be true. You know la, apa pun boleh jadi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
          • Macai on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:19 pm

With Proton’s tidak apa attitude, i’m not suprised apa pun boleh jadi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
        • idealtech on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:46 pm

Oh my my my,u sir r denial :),
          I can assure you that I am one out of millions potential buyers of Proton Iriz, why? because we are tired of riding a Perodua Myvi. My family owns a Myvi and Im sicked of it. Hard ride and dont mention the boat-like EPS numb handling. As a student myself, me n my friends do find Proton Iriz is The Car for us. We believe that human can change and innovate. Talking about car volume? i see many Proton Iriz than Perodua Axia around Shah Alam. Once u driven a Proton of the New Age, u’ll never speak about the “fuel saving” engines of Daihatsu. Fuel saving myvi u say? stupid blatant liar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Customer complain you said they are denial. No wonder Proton sales are going down coz their salesman are really in denial of what’s going on

• This is said by many p2 customers too. So what’s your beef with proton? I can quote too. It’s your right to complain and check. It’s either you are a dumb consumer or just don’t have balls to stand up to cheats. My sister got cheated by p2 people claiming they changed to fully synthetic but when I open it and check it was the same color as semi so I confronted them and they refunded the money after I threaten to go to my contacts. So man up and grew a pair.

• Super on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Only 10k Ah Beng??.. 1st day launching they say booking already 25k.. why only 10k sold after 5 mths launching?..

joke of joke..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • customer on Feb 14, 2015 at 8:05 am

another false statement.

• Super on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Which part false?. I went to P1 launching day @ Bangunan Kecemerlangan Proton S.Alam n witness the booking figures. Didn’t you?

• fak king on Feb 15, 2015 at 8:50 am

Registered and booked is 2 different thing..15k loan not approved larr..ko bodoh ke bengong?

• Super on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Of course I understand booking n registration are 2 diff things.

Back to fact n figures. Axia booking reaching 80k n they manage to deliver 50% of it as of 31st Jan 2015. while Iriz, Proton claim to have same booking figures n yet deliver only 10k?. What a shame man.. U have 250k capacity @ Tg Malim Plant but this the result?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:09 am

From Sept 14 to 13 Feb (today), there are 5 months.

Within these 5 months, only 10k registered, which means 2000 unit are sold per month. 2000 only! Even my Vios TRD sell better than this!

Better wait for Raya RM8k discount… There are always ready stocks available, why so hurry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 41
      • IrizX on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Why you so stupid buy TRD? Pay extra 20k for plastic, rubbers and vinyls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 25
        • jacksonljs on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:35 pm

It’s actually extra RM30k – RM35k, only for it’s ‘luxury’ “T” badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Jimmy on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Same like paying extra 30k to ‘upgrade’ from P2 to P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 16
      • Albert on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:28 pm

Same Lorr,FEB CNY promotions Protong offering 5-8K discounts for Iriz.
        This is SHAMBOLIC,Just 5 months into launching,2 slow moving variants are parking in EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN sunshine.
        They are producing variants that nobody wants.Now they are producing 1.3 CVT version.What the f…,those shit deadwood in Shah Alam shaking syiok sendiri legs.2 factories capable of producing 1.2 million units cant even fulfill simple 1.3 cvt orders.
        Perodua sales people got no time to pangsai and make love,busy collecting non stop orders for blockbuster Axia and resurgent Myvi.Now ,protong sales people complain of slow sales due to screwed up production.
        Just close the damn company down,Proton.
        Excise duty laden Toyota has overtaken you.Now,you see the curse of too much perlindungan.SHAMBOLIC CAR MANUFACTURER OF THE YEAR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
        • MrDDR on Feb 14, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Where are that place “are parking in EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN sunshine” I want to know coz i want to complain to proton. My order from october until now still did’t get so as my college at Iriz FB community, lot of them still waiting their Iriz for month already yet proton dare to park at that “EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN sunshine” instead of fulfill their order. We need to complain.

• paulnut on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:09 pm

His son using TRD skirt for his black proton saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Iriz better than Axia on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:33 am

Axia may be doing better with more sales but this doesn’t mean is a better car. Just like there are tons of Myvi on the road but it doesn’t mean is better than a Mercedes. Iriz is miles ahead of Axia in terms of safety, looks and performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 15
      • Not sure if Axia is a better car. But Proton is definitely a lousy car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 54
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

At least Perodua and Mercedes don’t suck tax payers’ money!!!

Not everyone experienced serious accident require airbags deployment, but EVERY Proton owner definitely experienced break down at roadside.

Lastly, such a hatchback B segment still need 1.6l engine with serious CVT lag? that is what you proud of in term of performance? lol, I just can’t stop laughing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
        • paulnut on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:07 pm

Your son is still using proton saga that you just dont want to admit. Your neighour at your Cheras flat see it park outside your flat every night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • steven see on Feb 14, 2015 at 10:06 am

His son is 25years old. You think he can afford better car then proton saga?

• WaJib on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Both are still a Local Car. So whether Iriz better than Axia doesnt bother much or make any difference. Kereta Rakyat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:31 pm

One brand is perceived to be more reliable and economical to operate than the other, go figure out which brand. By the way I won’t take any bet from you, bcos I know you will guess the correct brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • IrizX on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Topic about sales. Not about which one better.

Safety Iriz is better no doubt…performance?? Meh…turtle acceleration (CVT). Looks?? It looks like a Myvi Facelift seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
        • jatvi on Feb 14, 2015 at 11:39 am

No problem withthat CVT. In saga it makes it faster than ordinary 4 speeder on BLM

• IrizX on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Why you so stupid compare different segment?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:49 am

Based on current production, there are still 6000 pending orders from customers. Proton must work hard to ensure Edar meet the etd. Good job Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 12
      • Adik manis on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Yes even better if assemble Iriz made in Bangladesh. Lower cost and price to fight off Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
      • 10K + pending 6K? That’s all? Itu je? seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Super on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:24 pm

Xpe. the remaining nnti kita simpan kat yard side by side with Preve n Suprima.

• Wait for Proton to close shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
    • This car is ugly especially rear view!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • BLT_CLUB on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:44 am

Wait and see? More like wait and see who’s gullible enough to buy an Iriz (and laugh at those suckas)…. Proton the writing in on the wall, your supposed game changer tak lakula. Please go the way of the dodo. Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.
    Haterzz Rejoice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 80
    • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:51 am

The wiser Malaysians actually want to wait and see if Iriz can prove itself in Australia, Britain, Indonesia Singapore, Brunei, Thailand, Bangla etc before making a decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • whatever it is, i must admit that the iriz is a good little car..it’s still highly dependable on others perception to the brand though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Penyokong tegar proton tak payah nak complain kenapa iriz tak laku banding kereta perodua. Korang nak tengok lagi banyak iriz atas jalanraya korang pergilah beli sebijik atau 2 bijik. Takde orang yang nak dengar korang berbising tentang ‘kehebatan’ iriz kamu tu kat sini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 39
      • Apa yang kau nak dengar kat sini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
        • Kalau tak reti nak berdebat tak payah nak letak komen adik ooooooiiiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
          • mehhh on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:25 pm

debat?? so your statement is considered debat la?? lousy

• Perghh. Kau memang power berdebat. Aku rasa dah lebih sepuluh keyboard kau rosak sebab kau sangat pandai mengutarakan pendapat dalam ni. Tahniah. Puiii.

• meludah ke langit nampak…

• dodgeviper88 on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:45 am

Proton Iriz 10k units while Perodua Axia 38k units registered. Not sure which one is doing better………..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 26
    • Iriz different segment mah. We need myvi sales same period to be fair comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • Super on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Jay – Myvi sold average 5k-6k a month. Way ahead to compare with Iriz. Earn peoples’ heart 1st before wanna compete sales with Myvi..

• savy velu (SV) on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:26 am

Hafriz still wanna buy Iriz? Hmmm…

• funny on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:37 am

150 booking perday * 30 Days * 5 Month = 22500 Unit.

Only can say : Underperformed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • It’s like you’re saying Hacks candy are better than Hershey’s because of more unit sold, rather than the latter which is less sold in a certain period of time. Ain’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • MoFaz (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:53 am

it was introduced almost at the end of the year. new car will be 1 year old in just few months and lost it market value. Many people would wait until new calendar year to buy a new car…. And production of some variants was also delayed.
      Axia is in different segment. Maybe you should compare how many Myvi sold monthly, before Iriz introduced and now. But then again, Axia’s low price factor also affected Myvi sales, so no surprise why Axia has bigger number than Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • ayooo on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:55 am

I guess it will be like Preve. When I first bought it, it was the rarest creature on the road for a whole year. Now I want to muntah already so bored seeing so many of them on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Don’t worry. Your preve is still rare on the road. Not many on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
      • ayooo on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Of course it is rare for you. You wont see one in the cave you live in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
        • Dude, creativelah sikit. Just because your supervisor taught you all the word “Cave”, you have to use it so often. Nak tipu pun, pakai otak sikit la. Tak perlu banyak. Sikit pun cukup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
          • frossonice on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Nah, really ioma, you’re living in a cave full of crap. Only hatred is what you can spew every time Proton is even mentioned here.

Preve is everywhere and if you’re driving and not seeing one, you’re probably blind and should not drive in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • customer on Feb 14, 2015 at 8:10 am

preve antara model terbaik proton. makin ramai yg guna kerana ciri keselamatan, ruang dan performance yg baik.

• Persona on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:57 am

10K unit registered since launch that’s about 4 month periods. Very good number. I think with the release of 1.3 CVT on this February that number would be even bigger in next coming months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:38 pm

Proton should add a boot to the Iriz 1.3 and name it Saga Ver. 3, then only got chance to have more on the roads.

• anonymous on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:10 am

considering the last compact model was that infamous Savvy, saying people are adopting a wait & see approach is to put it mildly. I think people wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole no matter how improved Iriz is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • mugiwara on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:25 am

why compare with Axia ? Why not compare with Yamaha LC instead… Poor haters..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • murtabak on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Proton supporters mmg bodo. First, they say:
      “Axia may be doing better with more sales but this doesn’t mean is a better car. Just like there are tons of Myvi on the road but it doesn’t mean is better than a Mercedes. Iriz is miles ahead of Axia in terms of safety, looks and performance.”

Then they say:
      “Iriz different segment mah. We need myvi sales same period to be fair comparison.”

For comparison, they like to compare Iriz with Axia. For sales, they don’t like to compare with Axia. Hillarious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
  • No one.. on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:27 am

People today more prefer A segment car..axia 38k registered is no suprise…haha..waiting for saga R..

• saya seorang yg jujur on Feb 14, 2015 at 9:49 am

lagi 5 tahun keluar la saga r… dah tak lama dah tu…

• Still, whatever news about Proton, haters gonna hate. Get a life haters. Such a third class mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Try find something good on someone whom had screwed you for 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • karma on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:28 pm

30 years rakyat kena hantam. Now rakyat hantam Proton boycott don’t buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Boycott is the wrong word to use. ‘Wait and see’ is the correct phrase.
        We all ‘wait and see’ when Proton can become tip top quality car manufacturers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • You still want to wait? You think by not buying their car, you are not affected? These people constantly look to suck the nation coffer non-stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • olile on Feb 14, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Any proof or evidence they get money or you just talk kok?

• Ismail on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:37 am

Whole year potong all models combined sell 50k units lesser than one model of Axia unit.

2015 I hope potong market share decreased to 5%

Disgusting crap junks!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
  • sudonano (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:47 am

It’s a very accomplished car, considering Proton’s past products, Preve included had some serious flaws to them.

Having said that, Proton’s marketing on this Iriz is very peculiar. They know for a fact it is an underdog car. Why not boost marketing? Start promoting in malls, newspapers. Have roadshows at places people go to. Don’t be cheap, go bring the cars into places like MidValley Megamall, or higher end places like Empire Gallery. This is where the middle class or upper middle class who may buy a subcompact/compact for their college going kids shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Do you watch TV? Don’t you know they advertised EVERYDAY on TV? Advertising on TV also cannot what you want them to do? In the end is not the advertisement but the attitude of the company that matters. And they screw this up by doing something stupid like calling their car “BMW of Asia” some years ago even when they can’t solve simple car problems. Till this day, they still maintain this “Syiok Sendiri” attitude. Attack other brands like P2 and T all you want but in the end, Proton will lose more customers. Start humbly and honestly and you may regain customers. Bringing the car to high end places won’t help as no one will walk near within a 10ft poll. I’m sure the advertising cost won’t be cheap but let those who buy Iriz enjoy paying for the cost

• Huzaifah on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:00 am

Because of CVT Problems and the price, Proton sale were so slow. BTW Kudos Proton for their effort to come wih new face of Quality Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
  • “Local buyers adopting a “wait-and-see approach” “Mean people not confident with ur product

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
    • There was no “wait-and-see approach” prior to the Axia’s launch, with 5-figure booking orders. Speaks volumes on the buyers confidence in Perodua’s products, compared to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Saw it on the road.
    Sorry it looked bulky and heavy
    sort of a Darth Vader helmet.
    Definitely wont make heads turn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
    • Darth Vader on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm

if head dont turn how do you know how i look… you eyes at the back?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • customer on Feb 14, 2015 at 8:29 am

haha use your brain before complaining. wake up!

• saya seorang yg jujur on Feb 14, 2015 at 9:57 am

itulah kenyataannya… gemuk petak punggung kotak berlampu exora …iriz memang hodoh pun..

• okkar on Feb 14, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Iriz conti design, kalau nak banding dengan design Almera dugong dan Vios catfish memang macam langit dengan bumi

• this iriz is really a good looking car! but i guess Proton should just came out with the standard version or SV version without those essential safety features.. price will drop drastically n maybe more people will start buying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • ashrafraniza on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:17 am

4k per months?? Should have 20k-24k registered. But the reality is only half of it.

Upgrade your CVT proton, then only sales in will increase. Trust me

• Giget on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:23 am

Proton, change your engine to 1.5 3SZ-VE DVVT……I’ll buy anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • If you buy a proton, you have to service it at a proton service centre.

I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:30 am

I have never see even 1 Iriz on the road before.
    But Axia is everywhere

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • kl fella on Feb 13, 2015 at 2:18 pm

i saw my first iriz yesterday, after like 5 months

• Rojak on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:40 pm

of cos you see axia everywhere la since ur office is p2 showroom and ur house is just beside ur office.

• proismesolisten on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:33 am

lier. not even 7k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • jerrytan on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:38 am

I still do not think that the Iris is a game changer as I seldom see a few IRIS on the road in Ipoh .To be honest I have given up hope on Proton as in my last experience with my Preve CFE one and a half years ago ..the gearbox humming noise is horrible ,engine could not stop even pressing the START and STOP button ,vibrating noise inside the dashboard and my friend PREVE also have a few issues as he says he is selling it off after only 7 months.If the quality issue continues with this brand it will be very difficult to catch up PERODUA as my next small car will be AXIA .My FIRST SAGA ,WIRA had better quality issues than the current PROTON cars and I think it is a fact .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
    • ayooo on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Go to carbase.com.my and give comment there. No point complaining here. Unless of course you are just lying….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • IrizX on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Bro, the Iriz has the same humming noise and loud engine noise…maybe even worst. It even has humming on idle…Kennot brain Proton engineers…all deaf punya…maybe listen to too much death metal music. Or maybe just no bajet to buy better gearbox…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
      • mcm bagus on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:13 pm

lu kencing bro. no humming noise when idling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • binin on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Humming noise is when moving only but it’s not all the time, as the gear changes there’s no more humming.

I wonder what could proud Audi owners feel when their car engines farting all the way when accelerating

• Yes,proton article on friday! After work can tapau popcorn. good weekend read

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • azrai on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:52 am

1. wait & see
    2. comment & bashed
    3. think & then make decision to buy Axia.

Proton should know Typical Malaysian demographic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • WaitNSee on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Now… where’s that supposed to be Proton Engineer who said the Iriz has over 70,000 bookings?

Well… maybe he’s still right cause these are only figures for registered vehicle and booking for 1.6cvt variant only.

None the less, congrats to Proton for these figures does indeed exceeded my personal expectation and observation.

• azrai on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Those 70k’s are booking numbers maybe while 10k figure above is the registered one.

• das auto on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:07 pm

More like wait and see how much discount la. I see many ads with 7-8k discounts for 2014 Iriz now

• das auto on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:08 pm

And suddenly the price seems very tempting.

• IrizX on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:19 pm

10k registered. Not bad. I was expecting it to sell much worse. Anyway, again have to say, totally dissapointed in the Iriz. The engine and gearbox gotta go. At least minimum, gearbox. Loud, noisy car. Sit inside is torturing my ears.

Now that another Mawi FL launched, expect the sales of Iriz to drop somemore. AXIA is still going very strong. Proton won’t be even able to sell half of Mawi sales, let alone Axia. Some people keep saying segment blah. The truth is Axia has a bigger boot and maybe even longer legroom than Iriz at the cost slightly narrower width. Still winrar anyday. Malaysians want big car and good FC, that’s all. Proton still can’t get such simple concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • sawwi on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:36 pm

What if finally Perodua allowed to sell sedan car? Masuk ward ICU lah Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Albert on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Sawwi,Your Excellency,do you know Proton’s suppliers and bankers are waiting for the geenlight to BUNGKUS the company?
        Tell me,if you lose 400-500 juta each year,do you think the Arab is so patient as to do national service?
        Protong with ailing stepchild Lotus,are actually being lowered into the coffin box,waiting for the undertaker(Perodua and UMW) to hammer the nails.They are not in ICU anymore,you got it?
        For CNY,for Protong…. it is not KOR SIN NIAN,KOR SIN NIAN .It is” BOH LIAO,BOH LIAO,SEE LIAO,SEE LIAO”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Low Budget on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Move their HQ to Indonesia and set up Indonesia National car project there. The brand name can also change to Garuda

• nabill (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:42 pm

there are 2 in my condo and 2 in my work place , one thing u notice immediatly is how bigger and chunkier its than what u see in the pics , and all the once i see is the 1.6 premium..i can understand why ppl approach it with wait and see attitude , jus to regain trust i suppose…but honeslty im jus glad that it exists n see it more often than the other boring lifeless alternative(Myvi)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • better on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:37 pm

at least it does not handle like one when cornering compared to the smaller and less chunky p2 car.

• kenot on Feb 13, 2015 at 1:08 pm

iriz-one of the best car i have in my garage…hope proton also update preve. make sure the quality on par compare to iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Kesian, the best car you have in your garage is only Iriz? I have Porsche in my garage and the quality is way better compare to Iriz. That’s why i don’t drive Iriz if people ask

• for some reason i prefer to see the car ocassionally on the road. Not at every junction, saw it at left sidemirror, right sidemirror , on the sideways, everywhere! Like you-know-what-car. Boring! Please Iriz. Be rare not always bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • BLT_CLUB on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:00 pm

For a volume seller, being rare means it’s crap. This ain’t an Aventador we’re talking bout here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
      • invalid comparison with Aventador, it’s not even a volume car. Even the volume car like Swift and Fiesta(both are best selling car for respective brand) can you find it everywhere, like friggin’ everywhere? Nope, altho the blue oval company sets a hike of 50% for last year sales. And it’s not boring to look at.

• This ain't XXX on Feb 13, 2015 at 7:47 pm

He did say:”This ain’t an Aventador”, no?

• Super on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:44 pm

maafkan dia. Cikgu english dia mati masa darjah 6.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:01 pm

As I see it the 10k IRIZ though small relatively speaking is “advertisment” to Proton to either increase/decrease one’s confidence of its products and future trend.

• since last week, i saw 2 (green & grey).. now everyday i can see these 2 bcoz the owner working near my office hahaha..

• iriz sv fan on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Good news! flock proton showroom n book iriz now! Hear-say it has iriz sv 1.6cvt at 35% less on display!

• since sep2014?

so far i only see 1 iriz on the road since sep 2014.
    indeed a rare car…can resell higher price later ^^

• frossonice on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Ya… ya..

I still want to know how many Perodua MyVi sold since Iriz launched because that is suppose to be the real comparison.

Only idiots compare Axia with Iriz.

• dungduk on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Bosan la wei… bila Proton kuar kereta… ramai kutuk…bila kereta proton kuar… ramai gak kutuk…. kalu kutuk berhemah xper… allo makhluk Malaysia… can you imagine… if iris badge are change to Honda or Toyota or KIA or Hyundai or TATA or Cherry or other overseas badge.. sure ramai puji melambung… sure ramai yg beratur kan showroom… sebenarnya ramai benci PROTON.. so.. whatever Proton product.. sure ramai kutuk… So…. Kutuk la sampai penat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Toyota Yaris sampai sekarang sejibik pun tak penah nampak, hampir lupa keter ni jual kat sini.

Jangan persoal hak keistimewaan Godcar Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • tokmoh. on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Iriz CVT gearbox is crap, that alone is why it’s no game changer.

Proton really have no business sense. 30 years making cars, and it’s like they dunno it’s now auto gearbox market. Not only their CVT is crap, the cheapest auto is produced late. That’s the one people will buy most, yet they sell first manual and most expensive version.

Then cannot sell as much, blame us not patriotic. Bodoh sombong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Macai proton will defend the gearbox just like punch engineer on lowyat. if you have to resort to explaining the stupid cvt on forums, then it really has to be terrible to begin with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • transformer on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:27 pm

longtime no see tokmoh comment….. changed gravatar to Volvo…. where that helmet? lol

back to doing business, not just Proton. Need to have sufficient volume to amortize all R&D, Toolings, Machines & Manpower(&etc.) to recover its cost…. this Proton just don’t have enough economic scale….

• tokmoh (Member) on Feb 13, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Still am supporting Kimi :P Forza Kimi! Forza Vettel! Forza Ferrari!

Yes, I’ve fallen in love with Volvo, and can truly understand why they say it’s for life. Cuz Volvo really is for life hohohoho.

Really, I wanted to like the Iriz. It nearly got everything:

1. Safety (not a surprise for a Volvo fan eh?). I love it’s generous with ESP, 2 or 6 airbags. It truly feels European this way: uncompromised safety features even for cheapest spec. Well, almost, but I’ll let 2/6 airbags difference slide cuz it’s already class leading as is.

Perodua’s an arse for being stingy with ABS. Shameful. Aminar is a jeeeeerk

2. Interior. It looks properly designed. Older Protons were too spartan, they look nasty and really are nasty.

And the seats, great job actually! One thing I really love about Volvo is they made awesome seats, particularly great headrest. I’m surprised many other cars made shitty headrest, most are too far back (makes me feel like sitting on a stool rather than seat) or too hard. Iriz’s headrest not only look like Volvo’s, they work as good as Volvo’s – comfortable and provide proper support!

3. Exterior. It’s not really important in this market segment, but it’s a good bonus if it’s good. The front looks excellent, though the rear looks flat and a bit ugly. It’s no deal breaker though, if I’m buying Iriz, there’s other more important concerns for me to justify parting with my money.

But, Iriz doesn’t cut the mustard because:

1. Powertrain. S4PH means at core it is still a Campro. Shitty fuel guzzler, u can rename it VVT or whatever, it is still shitty campro. Worse, Punch CVT is pathetic.

I can drive manual, tak kesah la, but most noobs/pussy out there? They suffer, they maki, then Proton emo, sales down, make losses, beg billions for taxpayers’ money, then blame us for unpatriotic. F U.

If u think I’m nitpicking, well Proton’s naive to think they can go global with gas guzzler. Wanna become game changer jaguh global, fc too must be jaguh global standard. Volvo’s already working on meeting Euro 7, Proton can’t even do Euro 5.

I don’t need to be “automotive expert” like MAI idiots to know my beloved Chinese car will pwn Proton worldwide if Euro 4’s all they’ve got.

2. They withdrew 3 years free service. Dammit Proton, Perodua makan tahi, lu pun mau makan tahi?!!!

I know free service is mostly gimmick, but it feels good to feel as if you’ve pre-paid the service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Where got fuel guzzler? Vios also got the similar FC number with those sages, you can’t get very good FC on Myv 1.5l too eventhough it’s much lighter.

And CVT gets the car faster than the previous BLM. And CFE i salready EURO 5, and if you ask why not Euro 6, I will ask you again why no engine is Euro 10 now? Dun be naive

• Jimmy on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Excessive keuntungan: tangkapplusdenda .

What happened to toyotamak and kawans-kawans selling screwdriver rm2ribu sebatang ? Ada orang makansuap, ada supplier yang untung excessively with black and white evidence billnya.

Boilcoat or rmtwomil fine ?

I am not saying right or wrong, orang besar sepatutnya ber otak besar untuk dipakai sebelum bercakap.

• Urzu3 on Feb 13, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Perodua Axia 82,000 booking.. jauh sgt beza..

• thedarkside on Feb 13, 2015 at 6:18 pm

shame that the car is not doing well in the market. I thought at least proton have come up with a decent product not to mention Iriz was offered with a good overall package. it will take years before people will put their faith back to Proton and my hope is that Proton will never give up and respond with better cars in future

• Annoynimouse on Feb 13, 2015 at 8:22 pm

I’m just waiting for the R3 version.

• “Wait and see” is just a “Syok Sendiri” statement la.. in actual fact, no one wanna buy..
    Does Axia need to come out with such SS statement with their 80k booking?
    Proton will nvr learn if they still keep on SS all the way..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Corolla Altis 1.8G on Feb 13, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Never own a Proton but know people who do n many gave thumbs down. Mom has one too n yes she sent the car on time for maintenance at Proton service center. There are noises here n there tht just can’t be fixed as the service center has no clue how to or don’t know where it comes from. I pray i wud never hv to buy a Proton. It is a pity as the exterior designs are not bad at all like the Suprima n Iriz.

• Super on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:27 pm

Now I missed Pey noo so much. Those days he praised P1 like nobody business. Iriz will do this, will do that.. safety bla..bla.. rakyat smart oredi.. End up only 10k sales after 5 months..

I heard the news that he being appointed as Sales Rep at P1 Plant Bangladesh. Congrate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • nigger on Feb 14, 2015 at 12:52 am

niger please.. why so many hate..

• gad0s on Feb 14, 2015 at 12:01 pm

tak pernah guna proton, dah book proton iriz 1.6 cvt. sebelum ni p2 and mitsu..

• airsirap on Feb 14, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Apa yg best sangat AXIA tu. The car engine vibrates when reversing. The wall so thin. Please value your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • stranger2nd on Feb 15, 2015 at 1:53 am

Wah good news leh, 10k leh
    Just wait & see……….
    Cheh!
    Previous posted Iriz could hit 15km/l, which is normal for current car generation fuel consumption.
    Now wanna boost this news?
    Whats next? Iriz can fly?

• Dukemon Crimson Mode on Feb 15, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Campro CFE still the best engine ever.

Campro CFE rules!

• anakSarawak on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Am not comparing which is the best car of the two, but here in Sarawak, I can’t recall when was the last time I saw an Iriz, But Axias’ are swarming and buzzin’ along the so-called “Pan_Borneo” highway.Period.

• Royce on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:56 pm

Bro, Mirian here. I bought an Iriz in early Feb 15 & already drove it from Miri to Sibu! Considering the quality of our so called Pan Borneo highway, i gotta thank the quality of control, suspension & handling of iriz for saving me from backache. The only thing need improvement is the cvt. It always grumble everytime i want more power..i want to buy the manual but my wife prefered the cvt..sigh

• Royce on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Iriz 1.6 cvt executive owner here since early February 2015. So far so good. Handling, suspension and control are all great. The only thing that turn me off is the cvt n this wierd sound at the rear side. Already went to Proton service centre but they have yet to find out the source of the sound. Other than that, worth the money. Hopefully the quality will last. Wish me luck!

• ayamxxx on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:57 pm

still They supplied us the ancient 10 year old Campro engine, now coupled it with sucking CVT by Punch.

We consumer already complaining to Proton since CVT on Preve. What did they r doing? Making change to that CVT by Punch? Only minor changes to VT3+ which still suck up and creating fucking noise. Not to mention the fuel guzzler Campro VVT, CFE, Turbo version though.

If we consumer play out part by boycotting Proton, hopefully they will taken highly our consumer demand at high note. We want a better Fuel efficient engine and Better GB.

If you Proton still stick to the 2004 Campro engine on today market, here r our feedback. Smart consumer, market trend nowadays know engine technology far better than the last generation. Fuel Efficient Engine is demanded since the proven Toyota VVT-i vios floating in our market.

Just outsource better, newer tech, fuel efficient engine PLUS a better GB, (6 gear Automatic) in your car.

If not, then here is our Answer by our Smart Consumer. Your Quality still in Suck Level PRoton

• Manufacture car is a global business with high investment to innovate and need scale of economic. How proton can compete with other global plan ? Just government protection. Because to protect their future plan of hybrid car, we rakyat denied access to low tax hybrid car as the incentive end this year. Best for proton to close and acquired by other renowed brand.

• Wei wei on Feb 20, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Hope i can own a good car in future.

• CyberPatrol on Feb 22, 2015 at 9:07 am

There more than one reasons that people adopting “Wait & See” and here are my list and order of importance

1. Car prices (offers/promotion/discounts/voucher/gifts…)
    2. Banks approval of loans
    3. Quality (feedback of complains on the road after launch/materials used interior)
    4. Warranty (5 yrs or more offers for parts/labour)
    5. Features and Functions (safety/GPS/traction/BA/Interior space…)
    6. Competitors are better in Technology (latest engine)
    7. Fuel Consumption (EEV/better milage equal to EEV)
    8. Resale value (trade-in)
    9. Second car (second wife/children study in Univ/..)
    10. Design (subjective)

• same kot on Mar 17, 2015 at 5:30 pm

there there..only 10 k booking?but what about toyota yaris??maybe its for chin peng grand child to buy it

• wongchinkong on Mar 27, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Got my 1.6 manual Iriz one week ago. Sold off my 15 yr old 1.8 Satria GTI. This Iriz out-handle out-accelerate my old GTI. Only clock 200km on the new car. Already so much power and torque. Very satisfied with performance of car, only cost less than RM50k.