SPYSHOTS: Kia “Niro” B-segment SUV caught testing

Spy-Shots of Cars

Some of you may be aware of the China-only Kia KX3 B-segment SUV, which was first previewed as a concept at the 2014 Guangzhou Motor Show. As shown by the popularity of compact crossovers these days, it was only a matter of time before Kia made the next move to produce a KX3 for other markets around the world.

Which brings us to this – spyshots of a prototype of the Kia “Niro” B-segment SUV undergoing winter testing. Apart from the name change, Kia’s incoming competitor to the likes of the Honda HR-V, Peugeot 2008 and Ford Ecosport appears to possess an uncanny resemblance to the KX3.

Despite the heavy camouflage, the front end of the test mule mirrors the upright, slim Tiger Nose grille found on the China-only crossover. At the rear, the tail lamps do differ slightly from the ones on the KX3, but the overall silhouette still has hints of a squashed Sportage rear end – much like the KX3.

Spy-Shots of Cars

With that said, this isn’t the first time that Kia has teased the public using the ‘Niro’ nameplate. A couple of years ago, the Korean automaker exhibited the Kia Niro concept – which presented an ultra-futuristic glimpse into what a compact crossover could look like.

Said concept was powered by a turbocharged, 1.6 litre Gamma mill with 160 hp and was hooked up to a seven-speed dual-clutch unit. Additionally, an electric hybrid system – powered by regenerative braking – provided an extra 45 hp to the rear wheels.

On a more realistic note, the same powertrain/gearbox combination found on its China-only sibling is likely to make the cut. That would mean a naturally-aspirated, 1.6 litre mill with 123 hp and 151 Nm of torque, paired to either a six-speed manual or six-speed automatic gearbox. A more powerful turbo’ed 1.6 mill with 200 hp and 264 Nm of torque, hooked up to Kia’s new seven-speed dual-clutch unit, caps things off.

GALLERY: Production-ready Kia KX3

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Kimchi RV = Sushi RV on Feb 13, 2015 at 12:38 pm

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000. So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.
    It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars.

You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Alan Harris on Feb 13, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Only 8 million out of 7 billion in this world. Yes in this world we have 8 million faggots & pariahs, it is ok only 0.1%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Can… People let’s buy the Cheap Kia or Hyundai.

let’s help to boost the sales volume which currently only at about 1000 units/month in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 3:07 pm

If you buy a car only to use for 10 months, then better buy Korean, coz it is cheap, its RV for 10 months can’t drop to anywhere.

Go compare a 10 years Vios and 10 years Accent. Then you know what I meant of RV.

By the way, Samsung phone still crap. In term of build quality, Android smoothness, temperature ventilation, system software support, it is still no way close to sushi products (e.g. Sony, Panaonic).

As I always said, Kimchi cars are ok, but No RV. Want good build quality and RV, you can’t go wrong with sushi products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • esquire on Feb 13, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Everyone knows the Hyundai Kia of old has no RV. The recent models however command much better RV? Are you still living in 10 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 13, 2015 at 10:49 pm

The Hyundai Kia can shout of any price they want when they wanna sell off their cars, but no one bother to buy.

I met so many friends/customer/colleague who drove second hand sushi cars… second Hyundai Kia?? Not even one.

If RV so good, why I have to see sours faces every weeks at my showroon? Simple question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14