Mazda 3 CKD expected in March, including hatchback!

Mazda3_Leather_Malaysia_003

Last month we cited a CIMB research report which revealed a slew of details on upcoming Mazda models for Malaysia. Now a source from Bermaz has told us that the locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda 3 is indeed heading towards a March launch, and guess what – we can expect the curvaceous hatchback too!

According to the earlier report, Bermaz has already test-assembled eight units of the Mazda 3 at the Kulim, Kedah plant, and as a result of local assembly, the C-segmenter is expected to cost under RM100k for the mid-spec variant and under RM120k for the high-spec, considerably undercutting the RM139k asked for the current CBU sedan, which is in Mid Spec trim.

The 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine and six-speed auto are expected to carry over (rumoured plans for the sub-RM90k 1.5 litre model are said to be shelved so as not to eat into Mazda 2 sales), but what about specs and equipment?

mazda3-driven-australia 098

Will toys like the central rev counter-digital speedo instrument layout, head-up display, dual-zone air-con and cruise control feature on the high-spec variant, and will the mid-spec lose anything in CKD translation?

The hatchback should be interesting – differentiating it from the sedan, apart from the obvious, is a black rear diffuser-like element, out of which poke twin tailpipes. The hatch is 120 mm shorter than the sedan, but shares the same cabin dimensions. The boot holds 308 litres compared to the sedan’s 408.

In Japan and Australia, the hatch and sedan are priced the same, pretty much spec-for-spec – like how it is with our Mazda 2 hatch and sedan. Could the same happen with our CKD Mazda 3?

Malaysian-spec Mazda 3 Sedan (CBU)

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Lolol on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Great News Indeed!!!!!! Hurray!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Mazda 2 too pricey on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Mazda 2 – RM90k
      Mazda 3 – RM100k<
      Who is dumb enough to buy the Mazda 2 now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Mazda 3 ckd tin kosong lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 114
          • ZERO Toyota Sales on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:40 pm

Bro, everybody already know that Toyota Salesman now so desperate. HRV killed you guys. Now the CX3 bury the dead Toyota body. With Mazda 3, nobody will even smell Toyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
          • Sometimes people go for the Cheaper Honda Civic?? eh nono… nobody buy Civic anymore..

ppl go for the Cheaper B-segment Honda HR-V.. Test drive HR-V already.
            I feel every single potholes Malaysia road have. Honda typical hard suspension is not a nice ride for rear passenger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Nowadays ppl only look for:
            (1)CHEAP (2)FAST (3)BETTER SPEC (4) Low maintenance/reliability

Honda: Cheap, Fast (new model intro & goods delivery), better spec

Perodua: Cheap, Better spec-Axia.

Could mazda3 starting from 100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • taknakT on Feb 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

After several days I saw today altis . It ‘s very rate now ans I understand why because it’s overpriced with less safety gadgets inside.

A.B.T. = asal bukan toyota

• gheust on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:12 pm

Eh what la same lorrrr your underpowered altis can’t even overtake preve turbo!!!!!!!!!!

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha
            hahahahahahahahahshahahaha
            hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:40 pm

What so special a turbo car is faster than a non-turbo car? HAHAHAHA!

Preve turbo would be the Junk of Junk if it couldn’t even beat our non-turbo Altis.

Bear in mind that your non-turbo Preve can’t even beat our cheapest hybrid Prius C.

No one buy Altis for speed, same as no one would buy Proton for reliability, good fuel consumption, comfort and good RV.

Proton is for those race-car owners wannabe with no budget in their bank account. Thus we see so many Saga/Waja/Wira/Preve modded into Impreza, RX8, Audi, GTR… etc. The Power of Day Dreaming in the Car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:28 pm

LOL! Poor syok sendiri uncle! Ppl don’t want Altis,its a terrible package coz there’s no safety! VSC,airbags,all take out coz of greed,like the Camry VSC story. The damage has been done & we don’t a kosong car from a greedy uncle!

Uncle’s OS only stuck in Gingerbread,who wanna buy Proton for racing,we want it for safety! Ppl don’t buy Altis for speed coz they have higher chance to die! The power of the Moving Coffin!

• blaster88 on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Huh? Buy that piece of crap and rip off called UMW Toyota – 2 airbags and no VSC but still charge an arm and leg!!!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:39 pm

It is not unusual to see ppl bash Toyota simply they can’t afford that. My only advise is: Please Work Harder!

You can bash huu haa talkok anything you like (i.e. Proton fanboys said the Iriz is faster than F22). Sales figure tell…

We still selling well and Toyota still the best selling foreign cars brand in Malaysia in 2014.

Don’t believe? go check out second hand price of Altis on mudah.my compared to same year Civic/Elantra/Forte…

I am sorry if you still can’t afford a used Altis. Good things normally not cheap, cheap things normally…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Hahahaha LOL! Damn terrible wei Uncle Same’s brain,need to go to ICU ady! So syok sendiri thinking people can’t afford,but in reality sales is dwindling and no one wanna touch your garbage. You think Push Start across all variants gonna help Vios’s sales ah? We all smart already,while UMW so stupid. Advise to you: Think & Work harder why your sales couldn’t be better,tell your people don’t be lazy standing outside the showroom smoking ciggarettes!

Sales figure indeed does tell: Honda pun overtaken your sales ady what,even Paul’s article shows that!

On passenger vehicle sales alone,you’re not gonna stay no.1 any longer.

Pity you if you think people cannot afford your cars,you’re a tired soul. People like you with cerita basis thinking gotta retire someday.

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:58 pm

IIRC analysts also claimed the 2 will cost 70k… We’ll have to wait for the official figures.

• Captain Obvious on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Bermaz, the company that f’s with its existing customers or soon to be customers. First it was the CX5 2.5 fiasco, now the M3. How would those customers who just bought their Mazda 2 feel? Just a mere 10k difference between the CKD Mazda 3 mid spec and the current CBU Mazda 2, which is not that highly specced (safety wise) to begin with. Of course, the price Jonathan is saying here may not be legit.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:40 pm

cbu vs ckd….low spec vs high spec….u also can buy mercedes c200 cheaper than a45 amg….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • samelored on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Buy axia . Suitable for you. Much better than your oldjunk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:14 pm

sorry la bro…i need subsidise ur touch n go kard for rapid kl…..but try use more of GoKL buses…those free u now

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:03 pm

The spec list should be the same as the CBU, if not better else what is the purpose of the CKD version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:58 pm

…er… to make more money for the greedy distributors?

The base 3 2.0 CKD is going to be very likely quite Tin Kosong.

If anything, only KIA somehow manages to keep most of its equipment in the move to CKD. (thier first batches are normally SKD)

But I’m surely intrigued if they manage to price the base 3 at anywhere under 100k. The Civic, Altis, Cerato, Elantra and everyone else selling a C segment all suddenly end up looking overpriced.

• Sam Lorrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:32 am

@seancoxk

Dont thumb up your own comment and please put your inspira picture dont put f30 to show off thing not belongs to you pakcik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Midspec under 100k? on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:24 pm

If they price the midspec under RM100k this will definitely kill their Mazda 2 sales which is at RM90k. Monthly installments just pay a couple hundred more for the Mazda 3 from the Mazda 2

• I think CKD mid spec will take away the LED daytime running light with HID , replace normal bulb running light with halogen projector headlamp same like the picture shown above.

• Was told by SA, 2 variant 115k & 125k. Difference in the 10k comes in the form of i-activsense and HUD unit on the 125k variant. And still no leather. The rest should be same unless more things are being left at Japan! But, should be available only in May and that means the price have yet to include the GST!

• Confirm bermaz rip out tons of stuff.

• Reality on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:33 pm

2015 many Toyota’s salesman will search for jobs vacancy in Mazda or Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Berann on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Mazda 3 2.0 CKD mid spec under 100k? Typo? If really true then this well sell like hot cakes! 2.0 162hp C-segment even better value than low spec B-Segment 1.8 HR-V!

• azhar on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:39 pm

knowing mazda, it wont be under 100k for mid spec..too close with mazda 2 price

• 162isnothing on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:49 pm

High HP (162hp) is not so important for heavier C or D segment cars or SUV, the more important thing is torque.

210Nm torque is good but at what RPM? At 4000RPM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • meshup on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Lol true even exora turbo got better torque spread and drivebility with high flat torque 205nm from 2000-4000rpm. Turbo kicks in yo!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • aaron on Feb 17, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Bro you’re so ignorant. What engine is this? It’s a naturally aspirated engine. Go out and browse all toyota honda and nissan, try to find a 2.0 car with better torque than this. You can’t go around and compare a forced inducted engine with NA engines, their torque figure and delivery are totally different. Now go and find.

• Yes finally! I’m pretty sure the price is going to be around 110k-125k like the Focus & 308.

• cyberbanana on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

Please provide an option with 6sp manual and high spec

• desolators on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:35 pm

already spotted a unit of white Mazda 3 in Inokom Kulim plant.

• stevie on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Too bad… many oledi booked hr-v..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Henry Ford the XII on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Lose the sunroof/moonroof and add the Sport Mode (like that in Mazda 2) please, Bermaz…

• ricer on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Even in sport mode it still loses out to racechipped preve, lol

• Urzu3 on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Mazda2 Skyactive CBU unit is RM90,000… with fully loaded spec.. hopefully CKD unit will be RM85,000 below maintaining all the specs

• Captain Obvious on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:33 pm

2 airbags.. halogen headlights.. is not fully loaded..

• urzu3 on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:38 am

no need to compare to other market specs.. compare CKD with what we got with CBU unit.

even freelander 2 in malaysia didnt have all functions like UK did. same goes to L200, navara and so on and on and on and on..

• nabill (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Well,its normal to expect only a little bit decrease in price but alot of specs to miss out…id rather get da cbu…being ckd will surely bring with it that little bit of that flimsy feeling interior n quality…over the course of 7 or 9 yrs of the loan sum,its nt really much of a saving over the loan period…

• BLT_Club on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:55 pm

They should keep the CBU specs. Please Bermaz, don’t be a skimp like the lowlife UMW.

• Not possible to have a 2.0 litre C-segmenter priced around 100k.

• Captain Obvious on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Bermaz, the company that f’s with its existing customers or soon to be customers. First it was the CX5 2.5 fiasco, now the M3. How would those customers who just bought their Mazda 2 feel? Just a mere 10k difference between the CKD Mazda 3 mid spec and the current CBU Mazda 2, which is not that highly specced (safety wise) to begin with. Of course, the price Jonathan is saying here may not be legit.

• junkard on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Please keep that M3 for real bimmer, mazda3 handling is not even bit similar with it. Not to mention its ride, even ford and p1 are much much better

• kapish? on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:07 am

duh? obviously the lowest spec only will be below 100k.
    and that one will be tin kosong.
    Kamon la anything under berjaya group is expensive and cheapskate. I know cos I worked with them once.

dont put your dreams too high.

• Mazda Fan on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:22 am

AM of Mazda told me for CKD version there is no soul red metallic and titanium flash mica colour available….C’mon Bermaz… please wake up..

• Korean Fan on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Steve Job said, “never be afraid that your own product will cannibalized your other products because if it doesn’t, then your competitor will”.

• Ipoh Mali on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Mazda 3 suppose to be very potential c segment car.. malaysia’s spec is totally awful, cant compare to thailand at all.. where they using full spec..

• car-fans on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Mazda 3 CKD – Impossible for RM100K … If really RM100K – Surely selling like Pisang Goreng!

Quantity More = More Profit – Listen Mazda Malaysia

Don’t be so greedy just like your Mazda 2 (took out this n that and with such high price).

• I owned mazda 2. I believe if they did not take out this and that, i believe no body can affort it. Is just a small car but it is really comfortable car to drive. Indeed, it is for people who like to drive!