Mazda CX-3 set to arrive in July – CBU Japan, 2WD, single variant, HUD and six airbags as standard

2015-Mazda-CX-3-026

Great news, Mazda fans! The Mazda CX-3 SUV will arrive here in Malaysia sooner rather than later, we’ve been informed. To take on the well-received Honda HR-V in the booming B-segment SUV market, the new CX-3 looks set to make its Malaysian debut in July 2015 – matching the timeline mentioned in a research paper earlier this year.

Sources at Bermaz also revealed the Malaysian-bound compact SUV’s preliminary specs. Only one variant will be made available, apparently, but one that’s “very highly specced,” we were told. Imported from Japan, the front-wheel drive CX-3 will have six airbags and Mazda’s head-up display as standard, among others.

No official indication on pricing yet, but the previous research paper did forecast a sub-RM130,000 entry point. If so, that will make it appear competitive next to the RM120k Honda HR-V 1.8 V. Don’t forget too, of course, that the CX-3 will have a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine with a six-speed automatic transmission.

So folks, will it be the HR-V or the CX-3?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Steele on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:10 pm

Believe me, you’ll get halogen reflector headlights on this one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 33
    • 130K should get full spec..bermaz please don’t buat pasal lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • >Japanese CBU
      I don’t think Mazda Japan will allow that, otherwise it’ll be a very shamefur dispray.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • aaron on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Brlieve me, Bermaz won’t be so stupid to throw in a reflective halogen headlamp on this unit. After all it’s a 130k car, competing against the likes of 2008 and HRV which equipped with projector headlamps. The reason why Mazda2 is equipped with reflective halogen is because it’s main competitor were equipped with halogen reflector too. Eg : honda city, vios J and E spec & almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • wajib on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:44 am

U forgotten the new Vios with TRD bodykit comes with cheapo@brothers light blue led light at the bottom of the kit.

• CX-3 all da way babeh!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • kimi_ on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Economy not good this year, higher cost of living due to GST….IF GOT BUDGET around 100+k, better settle for HR-v and save 20k for rainy days or (maintenance and petrol expenses).

IMO, HRV looks good enough(if not better than cx3) and more practical with better interior space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
    • Sonny on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Yee Hah, giddy up Mazda Malaysia!!

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:20 pm

HRV for those who need space & practicality. CX-3 for those who want to zoom-zoom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • The Godcar on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Only a fool will always think zoom zoom is power.

my godcar can smoke your zoom zoom with one eye closed. Mazda owners are syok sendiri like pervert owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 66
      • Deus Ex on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:21 am

What’s a godcar? Wait, you saying you drive the Popemobile? Dude, that’s pimp!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • AntiTYT on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Apparently CX-3 have a bigger leg room and space compared to HRV

• satu indonesia on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:22 pm

six airbags fully imported japan made? screw the hrv i will take this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
    • Built Quality,fit and finish much better than our stupid locally assembled Melaka Hondas. All the honda fans i know have shared their painful experiences with me. Some even cancelled the booking for Hrv and are waiting for this cx3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • if they price it close to HRV…many ppl will buy this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Sonny on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Yeah, baby! BERMAZ pls pls strategize your marketing to make CX3 similarly priced as HM’s HRV. It would be definitely a hit at all the right spots if your pricing is slightly cheaper than the HRV’s V spec. Hope that it can be done by your team as cost of living in every aspects are going going up in Boleh Land!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Different life style between people who choose the HRV or the CX3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Berann on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:35 pm

This interior will be cramp vs HR-V. Look at the rear seat leg room.. Just like Mazda 2 interior way smaller than H.City. No doubt CX-3 looks better than HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • cendol (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:40 pm

6 airbags become 2 airbags in Malaysia. 4 airbags lost in transit.
    Projector lights become Halogen lights in Malaysia. The projector missing in action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
  • Sam Loo may be right after all on Feb 16, 2015 at 3:54 pm

Mazda is better in exterior and interior styling. Honda is better in packaging ie. usage of space.

If the difference is only RM10k for a full spec CBU Japan vs a semi-full spec CKD Honda Malacca, your first impulse is definitely to take the Mazda CX3.
    However, when you think of resale value of Mazda… I’m not trying to be a Sam Loo here but if you want to sell your car for a newer one after 7 years of paying installments like most Malaysians do, then I will think again.
    Sad, but true…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • Deus Ex on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Well…..personally I would advise anyone thinking of taking out a 7-year loan to buy a RM100k+ car to seriously reconsider their financial priorities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Not everyone has RM50-80k in cash! Even if they have, they willing to simply throw all in for a car, which is a depreciating asset??
        That’s why RV so important!

Imagine you own a Vios, after 7 years you still get back RM45000, check out 2008 Vios in Mudah.my

Imagine you own an Elantra, after 7 years you only get back RM31000, check out 2008 Elantra in Mudah.my.

RM14,000 difference, it is 10% of the CX3, plus the price difference between Elantra and Vios in 2008?? So how much money vaporized from your car?

Without sense of RV, no wonder you guys forever stick with your kimchi or proton, because your car can’t give you back anything after years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 37
        • ZERO Toyota Sales on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Toyota Salesman still condemn Korean cars. Hello bro, everybody already knows Toyota sales is so so so so so so so so so so bad because of the HRV. Now, the CX3, Toyota sales will be ZERO.

Don’t sour grape la bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
        • Krasher on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:03 pm

I agreed. Lesson learnt from bought a kimchi, after trade in also not enough for down payment of new car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Seattle on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:12 am

Why don’t you compare CX-5 with CRV resale value?

• paulnut on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:21 am

After all,sam bought his 25 yrs old son black proton saga . Proton has good RV.

• Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:39 pm

So if you reached your 6th year of owning Vios and plan to sell it off next year and keep it in good condition,and before you know it,you got into an accident with your car badly damaged that you suffered injuries,and later succumb to your injuries in the hospital..you’re dead already. RV oso cannot get. How? That’s why safety so important!

Uncle too greedy to put features into his Toyotas,he is clearly laughing all the way to the bank with money from people who aren’t aware of safety! Just put safety & more ppl might buy your car la! Win-win situation! Coz if RV is a reason you buy Toyota now,you may not even live to see the day you’ll sell your Toyota for RV money.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Not everyone driver meet accident, but everyone will change cars in their life.

What keep you safe is not the airbags or VSC, but your driving attitude! With so many airbags and VSC, still people die in Preve/Suprima S, so what?

The crash tests are all done at 60km/h, so don’t be naive. Your driving attitude keep you away from accidents, not your airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm

That’s UMW mentality right there. Driving attitude is the problem,he said. ‘Not everyone driver meet accident’,he said. But do you know you still charge a rip off price for Toyota? Continue selling that way without features,let your sales be overtaken by Honda. So what?

Naive uncle,you sell this way overseas people boycott UMW. Just say goodbye to 90’s specs or retire. Our driving attitude is not the cause to keep us from accidents alone. Anyone could come into you at any moment to mess up your life.

• Shaun on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Hi bro,I wonder why would you even want to force yourself to change your car after 7 years?? Personally I would be more than happy to drive my solid Mazda for more than 10 years. How much difference in resale value would it be for a 10 year old Mazda and Toyota?? It is pathetic to choose your car based on resale value..

• drMpower on Feb 21, 2015 at 2:28 pm

whatever man
            U want to change okay go buy new one
            U dont want to change cars then its up to u

Personally u dont want so fair enough
            But personally many others like to change cars so resale value is important to them

Dont say all rv not important just because u urself dont care about it. Rv is always important anywhere and on everything. It just people some people refuse to acknowledge it

• seancorr (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:01 pm

130k price is too close to the base CX5 model…has to be under 120k to make sense and compete with the HRV.

Prolly a better idea to wait for the CKD version so it’s easier on the wallet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • lalaboy on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Until Ur CKD quality breaks down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • heybadigol (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:23 am

While that would be nice, I suspect Bermaz will want to cash in on the demand, and price it as high as they dare – and then later revise the pricetag when demand drops due to whatever new competition is out there then.

• Lolol on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Fantastic! Love it!

• spybeck on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:02 pm

i want AWD~ Pls

• takNakP1 on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:20 pm

130k for a car.
    Congratulation!!!
    Malaysia is already a high income country!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
    • Thumps up for P1 on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:48 pm

Just book an Iriz few days ago. Very spacious and good FC. Cant wait for it. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
  • Kak Tipah on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Sempit kot CX-3. Baik makcik beli HR-V. Ruang nak simpan ikan besar lagi kat boot belakang.

Pastu, laki makcik ada sakit lutut. Kesian naik CX-3, silap gaya boleh kena ACL…susah plak nak baik, maklumlaa, dah tua….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Rent A fanbase on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Cue the Honda fanboys and their HRV comparison. Just waiting now…

• Knowing Mazda design language, this CX3 definitely will be small. So far I dun see ppl complaining their CX5 is too big.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • hmmmmm which 1? on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Mazda CX3 : RM128,888
    Merc GLA 200: RM238,888
    MINI Countryman : RM218,888
    Audi Q3 1.4 : RM216,888

• jinggo on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Honda got HRV
    Mazda with CX3
    Toyota? Where is your B segment SUV? Still sleeping kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Go umw! on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Toyota lush!

• ahchai69 on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Price will be first priority for most m’sian in buying car..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:39 pm

good vincent tan….beat up syed mokhtar kao kao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
  • shawal on Feb 17, 2015 at 2:32 am

There would be more HRVs then cx3s due to d fact that honda launched first, it is cheaper and more practical (ultra seats, and class leading 400 litre boot space vs 264 litre) ,

That being said however,
    Bermaz has no problems reaching or even surpassing sales target because the cx3 is such a good looking car with the right price and specs

• blaster88 on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Gen Y and young professionals would dig this! Mark my words…only if Bermaz price it right. Looks department is out of this world, CBU plus with a 2 lit and 6 speed gearbox vs 1.8/CVT for the HRV. Only thing going for HRV is the extensive network and 5 year warranty (was told it comes with all sorts of conditions, do insist to see the terms)

• UncleCX3 on Feb 20, 2015 at 10:42 am

I’m contemplating to get a compact SUV soon for retirement usage. CX3’s silhouette and taller stance might just be the zoom2 factor that sold us! And anyway, like Semi-Value’s quote- better to support anyone else than to give my hard earned money to a crony of GOM!!!

• In a way, Bermaz owners are also cronies la. So does Honda, Toyota, BMW, Merc, Lexus, Hyundai, Kia….. You name it. Better don’t buy any car in Malaysia then. Even the importers (recons and parallels) are cronies.

• tiger on Feb 22, 2015 at 11:16 am

Mazda Malaysia, if price close to HRV sure people will choose cx3. If too expensive, HRV is better with 5 year warranty. Why can’t also Mazda provide 5 years warranty? Or Japan cbu not good enough to warrant for 5 years?

• car-fans on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Both HR-V and CX 3 car price still still high – Should be below RM110K for Highest Spect and Lowest Spect with RM90K.

Surely going to be good ‘B Seg SUV Game’ !

• layman on Jun 19, 2015 at 8:28 am

How about Subaru XV? It is now with big discount, OTR below RM120k.

• layman on Jun 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Pls ignore my question above. I called Subaru HQ and few branches, 2014 XV Premium all sold out. I have missed the boat.