Toyota Avalon facelift spiffs up for Chicago 2015 debut

The current Toyota Avalon may still look fresh, but with the fourth generation nearing its third anniversary, the world’s largest carmaker has seen fit to give its full-size sedan a mild nip and tuck just in time for the 2015 Chicago Auto Show.

Visually, the 2016 model year brings in a few tweaks, including some borrowed from the facelifted US-market Camry. There’s a downturned chrome-laden lower front grille, a narrower upper grille, slim front indicators that replace the previous fog lights, revised LED head- and tail lights, as well as a chrome accent on the rear bumper insert. New 17- and 18-inch wheel designs complete the exterior overhaul.

In contrast, very little has changed on the inside, just grey accent stitching in combination with a light grey interior. What has changed, however, are the streamlined trim levels – from now on, V6 models are available in XLE, XLE Plus, XLE Premium, Limited and Touring trims, while the Hybrid gets XLE Plus, XLE Premium and Limited variants.

The larger seven-inch Entune Audio Plus touchscreen, premium woodgrain trim and a Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS) are now standard across the range. XLE Premium adds Entune Premium Audio with Navigation as well as Qi wireless charging, while sportier Touring models get a more aggressive front fascia, LED headlights and dark grey 18-inch wheels.

The range-topping Limited is distinguished through new Super Chrome wheels (18-inch on the V6, 17’s on the Hybrid) and optional advanced safety systems such as automatic high beam, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Pre-Collision System and Lane Departure Alert. With the rejigging of trim levels, the suspension has also been revised accordingly, with a softer setup from XLE to Limited, and a sportier tune on Touring models.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:10 am

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars, especially Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • BLT_Club on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:35 am

But not UMW’s Toyota, which skimp on safety for the sake of profits.Sam, the CEO of UMW was formerly from NAZA-KIA. Looks like the sushi loves the kimchi too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Naza is not a korean company you ignorance! Wanna get better safety, we got higher specs with Altis and Camry. Our Prius/Prius C/86 are with 7 airbags and VSC.

Then you will be complaining expensive you can’t buy lar this and that…

Why so expensive? Thanks to Proton.

Why you can’t buy? Please work harder.

All Lexus are 5 star rating in Euroncap or IIHS. Please don’t blame the car simply because you can’t afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • Fair Enough ..

However, why other competitive brands like Honda provides comparable prices but with much better safety equipment??

I think UMW is taking of Toyota brand’s reputation to squeeze more profit out of people ..

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 5:47 pm

Honda has worse RV and build quality no way close to Toyota. In term of maintenance wise, Honda owners need to spend MUCH MUCH more.

Selling you a reliable car with so little maintenance cost and you won’t buy your second Toyota in 10 years. Isn’t it fair to make it a bit expensive? Else we all need to close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
        • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 16, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Wa,do you see that people? That’s the metality of UMW salesman!

‘Got higher specs with Altis and Camry’,Poor Vios owners or potential buyers,he don’t consider the Vios to be safe (tahu pun!). How to get better safety when the specs are same across the range? Instead they put body kits,that’s damn funny,hahahhaha!

Corolla oso,why got ‘Optional Safety Package’? Wa,you think other players in this class (heck,the world) does that ah? well its so 90’s man. LOL

Camry pun,how many airbags..excuse me? 4? That’s it?! 4! #gofigure. Camry overseas pun more than 6 airbags! Those extra profits goes to ppl like Uncle Same!

Also,we don’t compromise to buy hybrid or coupe just to get those safety specs,haiyo you ar..

Not everyone can or cannot buy,but your garbage specs is not worth our money. Ain’t nobody got time to give bonuses to Uncles like you LOL! How about you please work harder to tell your CEO to give safety to the people,don’t be lazy!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Your safety in your car are not relying on the airbags. There is no point having 100 airbags if you don’t buckle up!!

Your safety is relying on how you drive your car. That’s why you still see people died in Preve/Surpima S. Those 5 star crash tests are conducted at 60km/h only! Don’t be naive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 16, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Yes,you are right,it does not rely on airbags alone…but VSC as well! Another thing your ppl at UMW failed to put across the model line up as standard. Along with that,you might as well take 7 airbags & VSC out of the Prius,Prius C & 86 you mentioned la kan? Who knows the drivers of these cars wear their seatbelts or not kan? It’ll give you the option to price it cheaper,or keep those extra profits to yourself & your friends to enjoy..and we’ll watch Toyota’s sales silently rot in hell with your greed.

Your Toyota crash tests also done in 60km/h,so according to your logic,ppl still die in your cars,and with higher chances due to lack of safety features.So how about You don’t be naive about how not wearing seatbelts and driving styles are the only causes of accidents. Proton is now aware for the safety of the people. You & your Toyota? It looks like You’re the one who is so ‘syok sendiri’ thinking your cars are perfect! LOL! You’ll only see your sales soar in your wet dreams if you continue being lazy!

• BLT_Club on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:42 pm

Your blind dedication to Toyota is admirable though misplaced. Funny you should mention the CBU units as the standard bearer of safety. The most numerous Toyotas in Malaysia are the Vios/Altis/Camry which unfortunately are pathetic when it comes safety which really is a shame. The fact is this, the Prius/C/86 are niche and if consumers have to get a niche car for safety, then I stand by my statement. Why should I pay so much for a badge if I only need a Vios/Altis/Camry.

You can support Toyota all you want, fine. But UMW Toyota has got to go. And this year, I do hope Honda teaches you a lesson and wipe the floor with UMW’s Toyota.

Oh did I mention anywhere that Naza-Kia is Korean? Why, can’t stand that your beloved UMW has got a Boss which oversee Kimchi cars? Kimchi-salmon sushi, what a combination.

• BLT_Club on Feb 16, 2015 at 6:45 pm

And yes, you’re right. I can’t afford a Toyota. I dream everyday of owning a car which is inherently lacking in power, safety and technology. I’m sorry to offend the mighty Toyota, the shittiest “Japanese” car you can buy today. Btw, I’m being sarcastic.

• Ur Money Wasted (UMW) on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:39 am

Nope..it does go wrong what..you dunno? Update yourself la -.- They take out safety to reap more profits! Toyota is the worst of the lot! Do NOT touch disgusting garbages like that.

• paulnut on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:32 pm

You still buy your 35yrs old don ptoton saga if sushi car is better?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Poor paulnut forgot to take medicine again.

Why would I buy a piece of junk with my hard earned money? Junk is a thing people won’t even want it although it is free.

• Samah Khan on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:02 pm

My uncle said dun go for Toyota, no worth to buy

• Hyundai Sonata have better VALUE than this rubbish.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Sonata is indeed great value for money if buying used.

Trade in price for 18 month old unit will be less than 50% of ori price

• Toyota mane blh pakai lagi, mkn minyak banyak, susah maintain krn harga spare parts mahal, Vios tak save minyak pun.

• Bruise on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:09 pm

What car is that? So ugly, i dun like

• Bristol on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:12 pm

I will choose Kia Optima or Hyundai Sonata or Ford Mondeo or Chevrolet Malibu or Mazda 6 or Honda Accord and etc… Never think to buy any car from Toyota

• Mustang on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:49 pm

yeah~~ Ford Mondeo!!!

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2015 at 2:33 pm

When people say they will choose this choose that bla this bla that. They usually can’t afford one.

That’s why you see Iriz so many Proton fanboys huuhaa but no one buy.

Our Vios everyone bash still better selling than the City.

Empty talk is dirt cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:24 pm

Hello, Avalon is the larger sibling of Camry.

Size wise, is is about the same as Genesis, but you don’t really compare sushi with kimchis.

Kimchis are in the same league as China and India manufacturers

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2015 at 8:07 pm

Yes, I agree.

But just not UMW’s Toyotas.

• Why did I read Toyota Abalone?

• nigger on Feb 16, 2015 at 12:40 pm

nigger.. this toyota look dope.. why so much hater

• No matter what kind of design from Toyota, All look ugly and boring, enuff say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • esquire on Feb 16, 2015 at 1:51 pm

looks similar to Ford Mondeo. Toyota designers are getting out of ideas.