Acura’s version of the Honda HR-V to be called CDX?

am_sh1304003H

We reported earlier this month that Acura was considering its own version of the Honda HR-V (Acura Concept SUV-X pictured). Now, according to AutoGuide, Honda has trademarked “CDX” with the US Patent and Trademark Office, covering “automobiles and their structural parts.”

If it comes to fruition, an ‘Acura CDX’ will sit beneath the RDX (recently facelifted) and bigger MDX. Its closest competitor is said to be the well-selling Buick Encore. The Encore is basically an Opel/Vauxhall Mokka with a ‘premium’ badge – pretty much like the relation between an ‘Acura CDX’ and the Honda HR-V.

2016 Honda HR-V

However, just as the respective relations between Acuras RDX and MDX and Hondas CR-V and Pilot (third-gen recently unveiled) aren’t obvious, the Acura version of the Honda HR-V should wear a different enough dress. Something along the lines of Shanghai 2013‘s Concept SUV-X, perhaps?

Acura reportedly sold twice as many crossovers as it did cars last year, and for it to even think about introducing such a small SUV in big-car lovin’ America is surely testament to the universal appeal of the B-segment crossover.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:04 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • jinggo on Feb 24, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Tak habis habis dgn RV ko.. haprak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:03 am

You makan 10 years ago, you still makan yesterday, and you will be eating tomorrow also. Tak habis-habis pun???

When truth is repeated, it is called EDUCATION.

• No. Its called telling a lie so often that you yourself believed that it is true despite the fact.
          Unfortunately there’s enough Malaysians willing to believe your “truth”

• Jimmy on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:15 pm

FWD Acura = lame.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:17 pm

er..most Acuras are FWD, with the exception of the SH-AWD RL and the long dead NSX…and SUVs.

I know FWD is not the best driven wheels, but I would stop short to call the Integra and RSX…”lame”

• Jonathan on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:16 am

Acura will probably sell it as an AWD-only vehicle here in the United States. They can use their SH-AWD system and if they can sell it for under $30K US they will have a winner.

• danny on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:20 am

Proton exora the best

• Enough of your shit RV la. People are sick and tired of your repeated stupid comments…..!!!