Mercedes-Benz Malaysia issues recall for E-Class, CLS

MercE40033

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has issued a recall for the W212 E-Class and W218 CLS-Class. Only limited batches of both models are affected and all vehicles have been identified.

We contacted MBM to yield that with regards to the E-Class, the models involved span 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 production years, primarily covering the facelift, though late versions of the pre-facelift W212 are also included in the recall (the facelift was introduced here in August 2013).

In the course of its worldwide product monitoring, Daimler AG in Germany has discovered an issue with the rubber seal of the engine compartment in certain E-Class and CLS-Class vehicles. Locally, MBM – via its authorised dealers – will begin informing all affected customers and conduct rectification work in mid-March. The work is expected to take less than one hour.

“Mercedes-Benz Malaysia adheres to the highest standards of safety, and will attend to all affected vehicles promptly. We are committed to ensuring that customers have the best ownership experience,” assured Roland Folger, president and CEO of MBM.

For more information on the recall, owners can contact MBM’s customer care centre at 1800-88-1133 from Monday to Friday, 9 am to 5 pm.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s press statement doesn’t go into details on what the issue is, but it’s worth noting that earlier this month Mercedes-Benz USA notified the NHTSA of a recall involving rubber seals in the E-Class and CLS-Class as well. We can’t confirm if the Malaysian recall is related to the US recall.

The NHTSA notification goes into more detail with the US recall – apparently in affected vehicles, a rubber seal at the back of the engine bay that is designed to seal the bulkhead to the closed hood to isolate noises, odours, humidity and heat.

The seal may temporarily stick to the hood when it is opened and then may fall into the engine bay when the hood is closed. If the rubber seal falls into the engine compartment, it may contact parts of the exhaust system, increasing the risk of a fire. The remedy involves attaching four retaining clips to the rubber seal.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• fiore on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:19 pm

After Inspira owners now it’s rich buyers’ turn to get facepalm. Sama-sama komplen okay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:41 pm

Thank you MBM. Nobody shall blame you. Nobody is perfect. Preventive recall is better than ‘just keep quiet’.
      Thank you Proton for recalling Inspira.
      No recall in Malaysia is not always good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:06 am

Yes, no product is prefect. If E class is subject to recall, what make you think your Proton/Kimchis are better as there is hardly any recall on them???

You never do body check doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

Defects are always there. Recall is a responsible action. No action mean “you die your own business like I will care”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • RicoT on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:33 pm

MBM will call affected customers sometime in mid-March.

I am curious which seal they are referring to. I changed the spark plug seal before, as it is leaking engine oil, flooded the spark plugs and killed one of them.

• And yet in another thread, you bash Proton for doing the recall. Bravo to your one-sided, blind-eyed, view of the same things!

• kzm (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:22 am

i hope MB go to Thai next time to make CKDs car n export to boleh…

• Mathgrind on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:08 pm

When come to Mercedes-Benz recall nobody complain ..typical malaysian keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
    • Ron nard on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Yeah.. But when it comes to Lexus’ recall, everyone starts a war here.. Typical..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • lexushit on Feb 24, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Who cares about that glorified Toyoda?
        No one will unless he is same lorrrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Mercedes Owner on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Because we Merc Fanboi are very free and like to attack Lexus and BMW.

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:23 am

BMW is crap too in after sales service, my wife X3 creeks like a proton, but proton can be expected. Creeky sound persists.

• Ah Beng Vios Turbo TRD godcar on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:06 am

That is why you should always buy vios. The most reliable and safest car money can buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • KarTiN (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:43 am

MB is not good at after sales service, i cannot get a warranty claim for my E class, bought new with them. Too cheap they are?

• Sam loo1 on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:15 pm

You see!!! Luxury carmaker also recall. Toyota is the best lah. C’mon lah Malaysian please wake up!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • Toyota kena recall for sticky pedal few years back. Meaning the car will accelerate unwillingly.. u forgotten or u were still young that time?

• rajarizal on Feb 24, 2015 at 8:33 pm

Typical Malaysian Bashers.

• rajarizal on Feb 24, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Manufacturer need to address recall properly. All SC must be ready to carry out work fast& efficiently.

• James on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia adheres to the highest standards of safety, and will attend to all affected vehicles promptly. We are committed to ensuring that customers have the best ownership experience,” assured Roland Folger, president and CEO of MBM.

Bulls@$#£! MB reseller, C&C Bintang wrecked my E class of less than 3 years when sent in for warranty checkup. They repaired my car at the cost of Rm108k and ask me to take back! Bought the car for RM400k and they are willing to buy back at RM150k! Roland Foldger didn’t even want to meet up or reply my email. MB ensures Customer have the best ownership experience, my f@@T.See them in court. The recall is just in case they face multi million Ringgit lawsuits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • BLT_Club on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:08 am

Don’t bluff la. What is the your car problem that needs 108k to repair? I know you angan-angan want to drive Mercedes but can afford Myvi only… You have been troll€d

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • KarTiN (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:26 am

I feel your pain, my E class warrantry is not being complied.

• If bought recon car how? Will mercedes malaysia fix it or have to send back to original country?

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:28 am

If you bought from outside second hand / recond car dealers, MB will probably not honour the warranty. not sure if they will service for your either?

• MB will service a recon(AP) car. No problem with that, because that is revenue for them. Warranty I’m not sure. I have noticed that MB service will change a lot of unnecessary items, when you question them, it is as per the service policy. I sent my 2012 E250 212 model once, after that no more as I feel it is not value for money. I don’t know if my car is also effected by the recall. I still don’t understand what the recall is for?

• Fastwork on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:59 am

if you have bought the car (either CKD or CBU)from MBM through its resellers, I don’t think you can go other outside workshops for servicing as it will definitely affect your warranty. I bought my car from HS in 2012 and one of my front sensors was having some minor problem, HS changed it as it was still under warranty. I find HS service very good perhaps, you can try on next service.

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:29 am

i will try with NAZA one last time to get my front crazy sensors changed, service due in a couple of weeks anyway.

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:41 am

MBM do not do a good job or at least NAZA MB do not. i bought one of these in 2012 and the front sensor keeps going beserk. i have complaint serveral times and brought in several times and one answer i got is its very sensitive ?? this front sensor goes full bar tilt to red and beeps like someone stole it. why MB would not replace this under warranty? WHY?

• hello,

My car W203 CDI caught fire by itself overnight in these conditions:

1. the car was stopped, cold engine.. last move was 4 hours ago on a distance of 10 km.
    2. When I got off the car engine obviously neither reached temperetura and not show messages error.

Now I want to find out:
    Questions:

1. If my car it may have something which helped to do autogenerating of fire itself and this was due to a parts factory or wrong project!!
    2. If have nothing to do with this and or fire was made by a person to harm me.

If needed and helps I can send you pictures.

• BLT_Club on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:17 am

H_C,
      if 1. no idea what you’re saying. Parts Factory? Wrong project?
      if 2. no one wants to harm you. Very bad to harm OKU person like you.

• KarTiN (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:36 am

cannot follow your statement. generally, a parked car catching fire will be faulty electrical – most common. the other reasons could be poor service staff or shoddy work or even arson. serviced by MB or outside workshops?

• Bash kena … tak bash also kena … typical human …