VW Polo – zero downpayment, RM999 for seven years

CKD_VW_Polo_1.6_review_Malaysia_ 091

Want something other than the usual B-segment suspects? Volkswagen Malaysia is offering the Polo and Polo Sedan with zero interest and zero downpayment, with monthly instalments from RM999 for seven years.

Starting now, the ‘Polo Goes Zero’ campaign will culminate in a carnival at Bukit Jalil from March 6-8, providing customers the opportunity to test drive both cars. Visitors can also participate in the ‘Volkswagen Experience Drive’ and safety experience training at the event.

“The ‘Polo Goes Zero’ campaign emphasises our aspiration to bring Malaysians closer to the brand and to experience our cars. The offer is targeted at new car buyers who are young urban professionals,” said Martina Berg, director of marketing at VW Malaysia.

The Polo variants, which are locally-assembled in Pekan, are powered by a 1.6 litre MPI normally-aspirated engine (105 PS/153 Nm) paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission with Tiptronic. The five-door hatch, launched in January 2014, is priced at RM89,888. The Honda City/Toyota Vios-rivalling Polo Sedan retails for RM91,888.

Volkswagen Polo Hatch 1.6

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Polo sedan is good. Although it’s not really that fast, but you immediately can feel the differences between the Japs and Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 17
    • George Abdul on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:49 am

Good offer but for owning a car in Bolehland are expensive !!!

If I had RM999 /monthly for “7 years”… I will just keep on the FD and investment purpose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
      • savy velu (SV) on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Something is fishy if the deal is too good zero interest easy payment. A German Proton by any name. Achtung!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:55 pm

This is what you see when everyone is buying the Myvi, Toyota or Honda…

VW is German Proton? Don’t praise Proton in another way. It is not easy to find another junk class cars maker like Proton in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
        • Spootid on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:13 am

savy velu… it is zero downpayment… not zero percent interest…

• It is BOTH zero interest rate AND zero downpayment. Interesting.
            Their previous promotion was for 999 for first year only.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 135
      • Torque Converter GB on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:43 pm

The ckd polo 1.6 comes with a 6spd torque converter gearbox, not DSG.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 8
        • 2014 Passat Owner on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:23 pm

I bought my Passat in March 2014. In 9 months, my car has broken down 4 times. Each time, it was DSG total stop ie gearlock and cannot move.

4 times I had to stand by the side of the road waiting for tow truck to come and get my car. In my tie and smart office shirt, I got to wait in the hot sun for a tow truck to come and get my car despite paying BMW prices for my car.

Middle of the year, VW started their complimentary car service. So, on my 3rd breakdown, I got a complimentary car. Two days after suing the complimentary car, that car also broke down.

What to do VGM? My car broke down and my replacement car also broke down. I ask service technician, all say DSG pasal.

How VGM???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
          • hahaha……….

• maryjanewong on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:24 am

1st time I heard about complimentary car breaking down man and btw I’ve seen you commenting on almost every Paultan article telling the same story again and again. No use telling how bad it is and not doing anything right? I mean normally if someone really encountered so much problems like what u said don’t have much time to even comment on every Paultan article la, they will be busy going try to fix the problems. Same story and no solution from here also not bored mehhh bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Lawson on Jul 05, 2015 at 12:22 pm

I am wondering when our gov will implement the lemon law!. Singapore already implemented it for a few years. If anyone would make a car sticker that says “let’s have the lemon law” I shall stick it to my car even if it is not VW. All car buyers deserved this law, more so, when our car price and spare parts cost are higher than Thailand!

• Warranty Conjob on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Be careful. VW only got 2 years warranty. The additional 3 years warranty is insurance warranty.

So many VW owners complained on FB that the insurance company reject their claim. Many had to pay RM50k for a DSG box after the 2 years is over.

Don’t believe, go and see VW Facebook Malaysia page. The insurance decision is discretionary. If you unlucky, as in most cases, they reject your claim.

So, how to buy a 2 year warranty car with so much of DSG problems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Arell on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:16 pm

The VW service centre is busy repairing all the faulty VWs. You wont have slot to service your polo …

• Seriously please take up some time to read finish the article before start bashing about car breaking down or DSG issue, everytime also same thing service centre not more free slots all. Simple thing, if a toilet is occupied will you just stand there and wait until u had to let it out on where u stand OR u will go and find another toilet?? Same thing what, if a service centre is fully occupied long waiting list, just find another one la.. You cant blame Volkswagen for having so much demand from the consumer what.

• dingding on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:31 pm

dude you read the article or not, the car not using DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • hadi75 on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:45 am

Next time, read first before commenting la…the car used torque converter auto not dsg

• alldisc on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:38 am

should have come with free maintenance program (at least 3 years) and full manufacturer warranty (3-5 years instead of 2+3 insurance scheme) to attract buyers.

this is the scenario in malaysia nowadays.

1. good looking cars
    2. established brand
    3. good rebates offer
    4. outstanding warranty program
    5. free maintenance program

other factors which may not appeal

6. after sales support network (no of service centres)
    7. resale value
    8. reliability (JD power rating)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • good analysis.

Aparently it is the last 3 point what drive the Branding and Reputation in Malaysia.

Your first 5 points can only contribute to short term sale.
      which if not done right, harm the branding and cost arm and leg in practicing so.

• LatukBandar on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:49 am

at the rate things are going. we are all going to ride a horse to work or the day will come when we will pay RM999 rent per month to rent a car for the rest of your life.

wait, with 7 to 9 years loan. almost all malaysians are renting a car because at the end of the 7th or 9th year, the car is as good as junk and need to be replaced, thus the ‘rent’ from the bank cycle begins again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Ever read your “Hire” Purchase agreement?

So yeah, Malaysians have been renting thier cars….

This is another way of discounting the cars, without making it obvious. 999 x 84 = 83,916.00. So this is a discount on top of being interest free (unless the actual T&C states otherwise).

Its a decent deal considering 84k isn’t going to buy you much of any of its competitors even before you factor in interest (add another ~10K).

VW must be reeling from bad sales resulting from its PR nightmare….. even now, RV of some models are even worst than Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • mortoor on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:42 am

have been using a 18 year old Proton as my daily ride. A car is a good as it is being maintained. only issue is that the safety of an older car will not be as good as a newer ones.

but yes, we pay too much for cars :)

• hadi75 on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:51 am

No one is forcing anyone to buy a car every 7 or 9 years……if

• abeng on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:55 am

my wife friend got gearbox issue after used 1.5 yrs (CBU)..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • car-fans on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

abeng – Izit same model or difference model of VW ?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Buy Jap cars that are not locally assembled.

Alternatively, get a used Hyundai. Really great value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
      • das auto on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:51 am

I have noticed used nissans are better value. Not sure why the RV is much worse than kimchi. A 5 year old sylphy can be had for 40k only.

• azhar on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:36 pm

DSG is it?..polo not using DSG gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • tishaban on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:56 am

RM999 x 84 = roughly RM84,000

Assuming a 3% interest rate, actual selling price is RM84k divided by 1.21 = RM69,421

In short VW is giving a RM20k discount on their VW Polo and Polo sedan. With a reliable engine and transmission but less well specced in safety or luxury compared to the old CBU version, this isn’t a bad price.

I wonder how many people will bite. I don’t see a lot of VW Polos on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
  • goguncas on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Hmm the only VW I would consider owning due to is basic nonturbo engine and six speed autobox. (no fancy TSI or DSG) Some carmakers like to complicate things. Now if only they could make it look less boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Satyadev on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Hi,

my name is satyadev ,an expat(INDIAN) working in KL.
    can i get the zero downpayment?

Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • start a fight on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:36 pm

hi,
      my name is start a fight, an expert(local) working in cyberjaya.
      Can i know what the hell you are trying to do here?

thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
      • Sam Capati on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Hi,

My name is Sam Capati, an expert(local) working for Toyota.
        Please buy Toyota which is known as God Car.
        For tosai like you, i can intro you to my beng Ah Loong. He will give you very snakey loan plus 1 free massat in puchong.

Deal ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • usually expats cannot get loan from bank. u will have to pay cash, or get your employer to buy the car under company name.

• kevin2 on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Have been driving one since Dec 2013…have done over 35k km… yup… worth buying now. Solid handling n different feel from the usual Japan makes. High seating too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • gaviny on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:28 pm

999 will be the second hand value of the car after 7 years ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Youcantseeme on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:46 pm

Seriously are u kidding me? Have u actually went out to survey on secondhand car value in the market before giving comment? Volkswagen cars have good secondhand value due to the high demand in Malaysia, unless u’re saying about Peugeot, Hyundai or Renault..

• leekowchai on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:34 pm

0 downpayment, RM999 for seven years. This is a great deal! Proton starting to give huge discount for their new models too. Let the price war begin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Well, considering that my friend’s VW Polo was in the shop twice in two years for one engine problem and one gearbox problem, I guess his Polo… Really did go zero.

• alldisc on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:06 am

dont forget the first model Polo sold in Malaysia was actually 1.2TSI with DSG. it could be this one?

the 1.6 version has less specs but better reliability. it is unlikely the engine/transmission will give problems.

• Heskey on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • carCaarcAArrr on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:39 pm

Great news ! Now you can finally get screwed for less. Finally you will get to own a “continental” car. It doesn’t matter if your conti is constantly in the workshop and you have to take the bus, because you can always brag to your friends, ” my broken car is better than yours”. You’ll need to fork out a lot of money for expensive repairs, and there will be those who make fun of you. But remember, they’re just jealous because they’re in their cars while you get to ride the LRT. VW’s new tagline is : “They hate us coz they ain’t us” .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Anyone asked what’s the catch in this promo?

Also thanks for the updated look of the website on the iPhone 6. It looks so much better now.

• woot! on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:54 pm

Also have the updated website look on Android. Its really smooth, I like =D

• Tampin on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:27 pm

I own a VW and can tell you this that when come to service the car…
    1. Have to deal with don’t care altitude service center people
    2. Have to wait the whole day just for a regular maintenance service
    3. Have to come back again when need to replace spare parts as most of the time they don’t have it here and the price is ridiculously expensive

Another experience I bump into when at their service center around lunch time – all their front office counters closed and they don’t accept or entertain customer. They ask me to come back again after their lunch hour. I ask them why don’t they have shift system so part of the staffs take lunch in different hour. They just ignore and walk away. Then found out even their service staffs also no shift.. all go for lunch break at the same time. So, if you buy VW and need urgent service during lunch time… BAD LUCK!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • TheDayAfterTomorrow on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:11 am

May i know which service center was that?
      AFAIR, other service centers also same as they don’t want their staffs to have lunch at different time as to avoid data leaking or hack their system.

• Matthew on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:30 am

Well..I think now their service center has improved a lot already since the VW expert program launched where the 12 German experts came to Malaysia to train local staffs and take initiative to improve local’s after sales service as well.
      I can see their complaints are getting lesser if compare with last time.

• Painter on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Just got my Polo from VW Goh Brothers. Just used for 2 months and the air-cond making sound already. Also the right reverse light is out. Only 5000km.

2 years back, my friend sued VW because his Passat got engine leak. Is it common for VW Malaysia to be this shitty?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:59 pm

Time to consider a used Hyundai.

Very Dai Mai one

• Ah Seng on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:56 am

I got myself a used Kia. Good, cheap, reliable, and cheap to run I’d say. Been serving me for 5 years already.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:10 pm

No point taking legal action on VW when you have signed your life away when buying. Do have a look at the fine print that is printed in font size 4 on the blue and green duplicate copies of your sale and purchase invoice

• Painter on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:56 pm

So true.

Applies to all brands. They want your money, they come to beg. They got your money, it’s your car and your own problem.

• tokmoh. on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:24 am

It has right reverse light? I thought it doesn’t, there’s rear fog light in its place

• Madness on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:52 am

Bro.. I think u should send your car to the service center instead of making noise through online. There is no solution can be found on paultan.org.
      Just send it to the service center, the technician will fix your car.

• TheRock on Apr 23, 2015 at 8:30 am

lol the right reverse light is never there

• Tiger on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:20 pm

Maybe want clear stock and new replacement model coming? The new Audi A4 out aleady right…the Golf and Polo sharing same platform if not mistaken…the existing model looks good even when old, unlike City and Vios somehow appears ugly after new paint losses their shines and ungainly body bodykit

• Arell on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Only cars that no one buys will offer like this. Think Naza Bestari… All can buang in so-hi basket…

• ucantseeme on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:02 am

Hello sir, there’s so many discounts given by car manufacturers these days. Mercedes, BMW, Toyota, Proton etc all also giving discounts la. So all the cars also nobody want la right??

• Time to stand up and do some justice for this car, CKD POLO OWNERS!!

• baboonbutt face on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Wow very good deal for unsuspecting new prey. Increase price then give zero interest payment GREAT JOB VW. Might as well include some good tow truck and courtesy car packages!

• People increase price u also complain, now people give zero downpayment promotion also complain. Customers’ always right is it? Other than just complaining nothing better to do already isit? I really been wondering where u haters come from, real world Volkswagen users also not so hardcore haters like u guys man. 60% of my friends are driving Volkswagen including myself also never really complain about it. And also this 1.6 Polo not using DSG la, so the tow cars and courtesy cars can just used to keep dust la HAHAHAHA.

• jonjonbonbon on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:24 pm

Ya ya my 60% bla bla bla shit talk only… why you so purrrfect want to complain other people? Tak boleh kah ? Nothing to do is it because your shitty pity polo in workshop already???

• Kua Boon Song on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:25 am

Bought Golf Gti MK7. Its been 5 months and sent to centre 2 times because gearbox problem. So regret not to do some research before buying.

• WeCare on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:17 am

Afaik, all the new models shouldn’t have DSG issue as VW had claimed that all the DSG issue has been resolved.
      So.. is your car fixed now?

• Golf MK7 Owner on Mar 23, 2015 at 2:27 am

Sorry to hear that bro. How’s your car now ? I had my own bad experience with VW. Car battery died at Temerloh. Called VW “Premium” Road Assist hotline, they told me no one can help me in Temerloh as the nearest assistance (tow truck, technician or watever) can only be sent from either KL or Kuantan. WTH? that’s like almost 2 hours away from me. What am I supposed to do during this time? And due to the nature of my car, battery can’t be changed on the spot because of lots of stupid excueses given (Exp: complicated ECU la, car bought from different dealer la etc.). Need to send car to service centre for battery change, and guess what, a battery change took me 10.00 am to 5pm. Great !

• Yuen Mei Chan on Apr 02, 2016 at 12:07 am

I would like to purchase VM polo. Kindly contact me.