App-based transport services affecting taxi drivers’ incomes – PERS1M submits memorandum to govt

easy-taxi-super-easy-taxi 259

The Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) has protested against mobile app-based transport services like Uber, GrabCar and Blacklane, claiming that Klang Valley taxi drivers’ incomes have fallen by 50-70% due to their existence, Bernama reports.

PERS1M deputy chairman Kamarudin Mohd Hussain said the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) is not doing enough to transform the Malaysian taxi industry, and that he has submitted to the Prime Minister’s private secretary a memorandum containing 10 demands concerning the welfare of Klang Valley cabbies.

Besides app-based transport services, the association brought up the excessive issuance of taxi licences (including to travel and tour companies) and asked for a standardisation of the taxi system, amongst others.

“We want only one system. If the meter system is good, then it should be implemented in all areas. If the coupon system is good, then only the coupon system should be implemented,” Kamarudin said, citing the dual system at the airport and saying it caused confusion amongst customers.

uber-x

PERS1M also proposed a plan under which taxi drivers would get individual taxi permits at the end of their hire-purchase agreements. Many drivers currently have to lease permits from companies that hold them. It also wants the government to exempt them from the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

SPAD has determined that as long as Uber complies with national transport laws, the service will not be suspended nor banned. In an operation held in Johor Bahru, the commission seized five private cars for allegedly offering illegal Uber services.

A SPAD survey carried out in 2012 and 2013 found 71% satisfied with Klang Valley public transport, but last month, the commission said it received over 24,000 complaints in 2014 – nearly 10,000 of which were taxi-related. Taxi drivers refusing to use their meters was the top complaint.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tokmoh. on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Bodoh sombong takleh diajar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 1
    • Confession of a Lady on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Kamaruddin, one of your demands should be, ask your teksi drivers not to talk dirty sexual things to ladies.

I am a lady and I take cabs daily. At least once a week I encounter taxi drivers talking dirty sexual things to me. This is sexual harrassment and intimidates us women.

Don’t be jealous of Uber. First and foremost, sort your teksi drivers first. They are so pervertic and half the time, they are always trying to peep into the skirts of women.

I have caught so many drivers trying to peep into my panties whilst I take out money to make payment. It is disgusting

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 16
      • MacchaGreen on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:48 pm

No guy will not take an opportunity that presents itself (the peeping part). so keep your legs shut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 79
        • Protonist on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:19 am

They won’t peep you if you are not born a lady (the opportunity that presents itself). So your father is to be blamed!

What a nonsense of “the opportunity that presents itself”!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
          • Give up your licence! on Feb 26, 2015 at 5:10 pm

All the lazy teksi drivers here complaining, pls give up your driving licence.

there is a long list of people willing to take up your cabs next day itself

Even if every single teksi driver boikott, within a week, so many people willing to replace ALL the teksi drivers in Klang Valley.

Don’t aksi so much. You are replacebale anytime!

• kaneeneh on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:36 am

Maccha, tell that to your granny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Red Light Teksi Friends on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Malaysian teksi drivers should all be prosecuted. They get commission by pimps to bring clients to them. Most single men, either Malaysians or tourist enter the teksi, straight away teksi driver ask whether they want prostitute or spa.

Then when the passenger says yes, the teksi driver gets a commission from the brothel, rumah tumpangan or pimp.

This has been going on for years and yet, the teksi drivers try to play innocent here and complain.

They profit from dosa and make Malaysia the sex capital of Asia by encouraging, promoting and aiding and abetting such crime.

I hope our transport ministry see into this. Remember, our taxi drivers are promoting red light practises as well as sins of the flesh in Malaysia.

Don’t forget, they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:42 pm

No one could benefited from it if there is no one interested in prostitute/brothel.

So what is the point blaming the supplier while there is DEMAND.

You smoking get lung cancer you blame BAT or yourself?

• Louie on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:01 am

MacchaGreen, are you saying women should be punished when they are raped?
          I see another uncivilized-non-gentlemen who agree that rape is the fault of the victim.

Here we are talking about social ethics and all you can take note is the peeping part.
          If ever my wife got killed in a snatch theft incident , do you suggest that it’s my wife’s fault for holding a handbag? and not the authorities for not keeping the neighborhood safe?

• das auto on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:57 pm

3 taxi drivers spotted lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • brown kid on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:19 am

stop wearing then!!!
        Duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
    • das auto on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:59 pm

50-70% drop because they can no longer scam and rip off customers of by charging exorbitant rates.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 0
    • Teksi Kutu on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Lu bodoh la. Kami punya demand simple. Nak pakai meter start RM8. pas tu RM4 per km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 78
  • Taxi user on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:29 pm

What are their 10 demands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Confession of a Lady on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:03 pm

Kamaruddin, one of your demands should be, ask your teksi drivers not to talk dirty sexual things to ladies.

I am a lady and I take cabs daily. At least once a week I encounter taxi drivers talking dirty sexual things to me. This is sexual harrassment and intimidates us women.

Don’t be jealous of Uber. First and foremost, sort your teksi drivers first. They are so pervertic and half the time, they are always trying to peep into the skirts of women.

I have caught so many drivers trying to peep into my panties whilst I take out money to make payment. It is disgusting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
  • Aiyer. If the Taxi drivers just stick to the meter charges and be more honest like SG cabbies then this wouldn’t happen in the first place. ONLY THEMSELVES TO BLAME.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 1
  • I believe the app actually helps those taxi drivers that held their dignity to charge fairly to customers.

For those 50% to 70% income drop, u guna meter kah? Would definitely like to hear from you on this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • karipap basah on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm

spoilt cry babies…….cannot be independent and competitive….

Before complaining, just looks at yourself in the mirror……The taxi in KL all got problem and mostly behave like thugs….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
  • Serve them right on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Serves them right.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 0
  • Painter on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:00 pm

They say they want single system. Even meter system they can’t comply, how to talk about single system?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 0
    • Key Mark Betul on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:55 am

LOL Yea bro. The single system they are asking for is called the meter… which was introduced to them a decade ago. This PERS1M should stop using cheesy 1 Malaysia type names and remove the thug taxi drivers. MyTeksi app is a pretty good system where the users get alot of information about the taxi driver and the fare and also able to share the travel details with others at the current rate. Now thats a system we can support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • PERS1M is giving a bad name to 1 Malaysia. But its not like PM Najib had patented the name, so I guess anyone can use as they like

• albag on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:00 pm

sendiri charge mahal mahal masih mau bising cam anjing… puiiiiiii

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
  • stupidgvmt on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:23 pm

Rakyat can submit our memorandum to this stupid PERS1M too

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • rakyat marhaen on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:26 pm

If the cabbies all around Malaysia are honest in their services to all the rakyat, the emergence of this app-based public transport wouldn’t even interfere with their business. Most of the people are sick and tired of their daylight robbery activities in not wanting to use the meter for every ride. Slapping the customer with 2-3 times more than the actual fees are the ones that’s putting their business into a lot of trouble. I for one, am happy that this is happening to the cabbies so that they know their blatant act will not go unpunished forever.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
    • dingleberry on Feb 26, 2015 at 3:54 am

Figure out yourself.

Uber black. Brand new nissan teanna.
      Vs. Decrepid old iswara.

Scott garden to mid valley. Same time. 2 different days.
      Uberblack. 18.00
      Normal taxi. 20. Refuse to use meter.

If that’s the reason your earnings drop. Then you deserve it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 1
      • drMpower on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:12 am

there is no problem with uber as long as they comply with the rules. that means the drivers and the vehicles used must consider the existing taxi / passenger carrying purposes.

the brand new black teana wont make a different to the poor executive who been raped in india (the indian express, 2015). it turns out the driver mr yadav had several cases under his belt which include molestations and one under Arms Act (illegal fire arm possession)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:45 pm

The bulk of UBER Black and LUX cars are from 2-3 limo contractors. The new Black Teanna are all limo service cars, which aquired a good size fleet recently. I had gotten 3 different once on 3 occasions.

I’m not too sure about UBER X as I have yet to use them.

I’m sure many share dingleberry’s experience…. if UBER drivers can make money with better cars and charging less, why are the local taxi charging so much.

Its a short trip from Scott Garden to Midvalley…. if a normal taxi runs on meter, maybe only cost 5 bux (maybe it was Jammed).

• stupidtaxi on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:26 pm

go to pudu station and see how many taxi there really use the meter…LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
  • Teksi buruk, berbau, kecik, kurang ajar dah mahal ada hati nak marah teksi cantik, baru, bersih & laju..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:51 pm

I’m Ssssooooo happy reading this, finally they feel the threat!!!! Go! Go! UBER, etc…..
    Btw to our Minister, competition in business increases “fairness & quality”. In the end customer is the benefit most. Let “us” decide.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • khalis711 (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:55 pm

Market demand is changing..face it to you all taxi drivers! Can’t beat them then join them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Former Taxi User on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Its easy to sort our taxi system. Just enforce. I have been numerous times took a taxi either drove by a foreigner, a dilapidated condition taxi or even not using meter. So to SPAD and also JPJ… Just enforce. Dont talk. If not, the taxi issue either will continue contribute problems or contribute bad image to our tourist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Lolol on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Serve them right. Last time no transformation in the industry dowan to change. Now got better service, say not enough. PERS1M really talk alot of crap. Hey PERS1M and members. Serve you right for tampering with SPAD’s meters and also not using meters. Serve you right for holding us consumers ransom by charging us RM30 from Pavilion to KLCC during rush hour. All of you taxi drivers who complain but dont want to change serve you right! Siapa yang makan cili padi, dialah yang rasa pedas! Padan Muka!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
  • Lazy Lazy Teksi drivers on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:22 pm

Most teksi drivers don’t work hard. They are so lazy. All sleep in their cars or congregate in groups and smoke.

Malas betul.

Now, they want to complain about hard working people like Uber.

Jealous and lazy. If you work hard, keep your cabs clean like London black cabs, there is no need to lose clients.

Every single cab I enter smells of smoke. But Uber cabs don’t smell of cigarette smoke. That alone speaks volumes

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • Hamid Gurkha on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:26 pm

I work closely with taxi in my line of work, yes there are a few system, using coupons, meter rate and in some hotels, they are imposing a flat rate to certain area. In all the years i’ve worked in this industry, i’ve never encountered any guest or tourist that ever say that they confused with the system, because these system has been in their countries from long ago, even with the locals who frequently use the public transport system, i’ve never heard any complaint except the coupon system is a bit expensive compared to the metered system.
    Regarding the app based transport service. I don’t see it as a threat to other taxi driver, if uber other transport service has apps, taxi driver also has myteksi and easyteksi, so what are the fuss is all about, as long as they follow the rules, run by meter, there will always be people who want to ride taxis, also follow the trend, if everyone is using the apps, we also should use the apps, don’t be stubborn, i have personally met few drivers some use the apps, some don’t for the one using the apps, they have no complaint, their business increased by between 50 to 70% compared to those who don’t and keep whining about their business is slowing down. When asked why don’t they use the apps, they said they are not IT literate, c’mon, even my 4 years old have her own smartphone now (inherited from my wife when she got the new phone).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • trollmaster3000 on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:04 pm

why ask for exempt from GST if gomen says it’s a good thing..? should have thank gomen instead maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Alex Chong on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:14 pm

The cabbie drivers “also” wants the government to exempt them from the Goods and Services Tax (GST).”

So, these driver earning RM500,000.00 anually, and still say they under paid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Leafable on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:27 pm

If you can’t evolve you are dying like the dinosaurs.

• salgoodguy on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:02 pm

klang valley cabbies ha?? do a survey before propose your memorandum..act like samseng jalan raya..demand somemore??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Littlebear on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:09 pm

If their taxi services are good, commuters will still use them. For all I remember, public taxis in Malaysia are smelly & expensive (without using meter).

• crk928 on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Bunch of greedy buggers. Nothing is ever enough for them .

• Come on lah brother, dont bashed on them, driving taxi is what they do for living, they follow all the necessary documents and requirements and the income is not that wealthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
    • Ask them to apply to be Uber or Blacklane drivers, or change jobs.

Otherwise you can go back in time and try to support beca/rickshaw pullers when cars came along.

• Lunch hour! on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:10 am

Ahaha.. yeah bro. They follow documentation on how not to use meters and also hold potential passengers ransom.

• Sammy on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:01 am

They signup as a taxi driver knowing full well what they are getting themselves into..
      The boundaries of rules in which they should operate are clear.
      Don’t break the rules as they like.

• hondaman on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:07 am

rapidKl needs 200+ bus drivers due to shortage, their drivers are getting income from 2500 to 3000+ (incl OT) with good medical benefits (incl their family). If the taxi’s drivers felt that they are not earning enough, pergi laa apply… jangan jadi malas..

• Bawak itu bus tak boleh lepak-lepak isap rokok, tak best la… haha

• mojo1ne on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:22 am

U must not be from Malaysia.

• takNakP1 on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:45 pm

many other countries have improved their taxi service bcos they learned & understood the meaning of good & honest service to maintain competitive.

here in Bolehland is all about short term gain & doesn’t bother about service. always cry & blame others when lose out to competition.

padan muka!!!

by the way, blame the G too for not implementing the public transport genuinely due to political interest, cronism & p1 protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • Bla... Bla.. on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:55 am

We understand that its ur children typing ur comment. Adults or grown ups know and understand the topic and not pulling it to others. Call me… I treat u to ice-cream so that u wont do something stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Aik. When wanna implement MRT, you “people” raise all kinds of shitstorm in a teacup. Im just glad that the Gov ignore all these Luddites and push ahead with the project

• nabill (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:13 pm

With their attitude , no one is feeling sorry for them…like those bikers, u might find one or 2 in a million who are decent humans, bt majority are thugs…maybe spad should not issue anymore liscence for new taxis for few yrs, bcos the supply is way more than demand….too many taxis…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • sepot reem on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:16 pm

98% of taxi drivers are merely a-holes.
    coming from low income group, try to cekik darah from their passengers.
    each time i take a cab, ‘mau pegi klcc, boleh’?
    the answers ‘sini keramat au3 mau pegi sana rm50, boleh?’
    so what is the purpose of the meter?
    taxi drivers are plain idiot, enuff said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Samad Jain on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:30 pm

the taxi driver buggers are lazy bunch of ppl. Why??

1. They are ever selective with their customers, and prefer to chit-chat that doing their job.

2. These drivers dont use meter, and change suka suka. and sometimes use vulgar language when their demanded fee isnt met.

3.Drivers purposely not to return change (with excuse on no loose change). Sorry, their act is too common and everyone knows that the drivers donwan to give back change to customers.

4. Drivers donwan to turn on A/C, claiming A/C rosak. etc while charge fare the same as other taxi.

5. Smelly taxi, with ciggy residue etc. Very uncomfortable esp. during long journey.

6. Drivers playing their own song on the radio. Syoik sendiri.

7. Driving dangerously, and endangers customers in the car.

8. Not helpful with customer having baggage. The drivers just sit in the car and customers have to open the booth and deals with their luggage.

9. Bad manners.

10. Take multiple customers in their taxi, along the journey and earn extra profit.

So, PERS1M just clean up your bloody stupid act first before even thinking of submitting your memorandum. You are a nuisance to the rakyat, and create a bad image of Malaysia.

Sedar la PERS1M. Malu la PERS1M.

YOU ARE THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM YOU ARE IN TODAY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
  • dodgeviper88 on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:30 pm

“We want only one system. If the meter system is good, then it should be implemented in all areas. If the coupon system is good, then only the coupon system should be implemented,”

You might want one system, but since you mentioned taxi driver’s income has fallen 50-70% obviously the meter system is not good. Bodoh punya orang wanna try to argue with facts but your own facts shoot your own foot

• darkermarker on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:32 pm

All organization or campaigns with 1 or SATU seems to be going down the drain…

The same goes to PERS1M…

• justsomerandomdude on Feb 26, 2015 at 12:23 am

These guys are not serious… in from of my condo they line up and “select” where they want to go.. because of that mentality you can literally see 10 taxis and still have to hail another oncoming taxi because they don’t want to go to your destination!! What kind of stupid crap is that? only in malaysia.

• Nissan on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:50 am

If u do not know how to operate business in open market, just close shop.

• Josh Ling on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:07 am

wanna earn more?? try not to be so cocky to hang up people’s calls or ignore the request of sending a taxi to certain areas lah!! had some really terrible experiences with taxis in kl/selangor areas.

• droll on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:01 am

simple market dynamics. people will choose the best value for money, no? if you are losing out to the competition, it means they are BETTER at meeting the demands of the market THAN YOU.

• Man Universal on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:46 am

Taxis should be run by companies not individuals just like in other developed countries so that it is easier for the authorities to regulate the industry. What does SPAD have to say about this?

• The Phoon Deck on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:05 am

The key issue plaguing the taxi drivers are mainly due to taxi licenses. When some companies get the licenses, they tend not to hire drivers and train them. What they do in return is to rent the taxi to individuals at a daily rate. (eg RM100-150 per day excluding petrol) its like a car rental company. Hence the drivers can be anyone who is willing to to “rent” the taxi, so go figure on the “quality” of the taxi drivers. Therefore, when taxi drivers begin the day, they are down RM150 already. Thats why they charge high prices to cover cost and anything above the RM150 is they income.

PERS1M is you are really serious at looking after your members, please improve the service and stop errant taxi companies from renting taxis out and actually hire and train taxi drivers.

• Sammy on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:51 am

PERS1M, is not about one system or 15 systems, is about the quality of your drivers you dumbass…
    They give crap services to the public and they expect to earn more??
    You are losing business is because we are trying to weed you out.

• concern user on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:26 am

what Malaysia need is to implement what British currently implementing. Taxi permit/license can only be obtained by attending a taxi course for 2 years, memorizing all routes in the state/country, learn ethics, and must pass the final examination. after got the permit/license, they must register with government body. other suggestion to Malaysian government is to enforce GPS tracker device, meter & panic button installation on all taxi, connected & controlled by a centralize control station. And the most important thing is to strictly enforce without corruption or loop holes here and there.

Cheers!

• BoringRakyat on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:57 am

Hi bro ,

Confused with your statement.

“attending a taxi course for 2 years, memorizing all routes in the state/country, ”

Enlighten me more about this because i used regularly black cab and mini cab in London and they are using GPS to navigate.. Even sometimes i have to used my own Waze to guide them ..

• I think what concern user meant was those Black Cabs in London. Black Cabs can be hailed from anywhere in London, and they follow strictly the meters.

Then u have those mini-cabs (like Blackberry and Swift Cars), who charge a fixed amount from point A to B (but can only book online/call).

Source: lived in London for more than a year

• hondaman on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:28 am

guys, please highlight your grouses to the mass media to show that the rakyat doesn’t support the taxi drivers. They don’t visit paul tan becuase most of them prefers reading Utusan & Metro.

• sepul on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:29 am

Turn all taxis and their drivers as a government-owned entity. Taxi drivers will be considered as government servant and subject to the same level of benefits/disciplinary enforcement as other government servants. Fares are controlled, employment process and requirement to be the same which should include exams in related matter, vehicle services controlled and monitored.

Take examples from London taxi services and how they manage everything.

The same should be applied to bus services and all public transport in our country that uses paved road.

• Next you will get all kinds of comments like drivers only start work at 10am, tea breaks at 3, off at 4. Only work on days they like. Serve you like a bureaucrat. etc etc

You can’t please everybody

• Nazren Omar on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:30 am

First of all, the taxis we have are like so old and dirty and they often smell funky (wonder what these taxi drivers do in them).

Secondly, I have to agree with some lady commenters here. Some taxi drivers are so lewd and cheeky. They will talk sexual degrading topics to whoever that comes across as slightly interested (or not) and they usually have the word “Horny” written all over their faces, indeed very disgusting and not to mention, dangerous too.

Then, there’s the ever-so-famous ‘bargain’ M.O. You drive a taxi, you switch on meter to charge and not bargaining with passengers. If you don’t wanna use meter, then its totally your own undoing and don’t blame anybody else.

Typical Malaysian lah tu. Sikit-sikit bising. Sikit-sikit bising. Stop whining and clean up your acts first. If you don’t clean up your acts, we, the citizens have the freedom NOT to use your lousy services. Pandai-pandai la….

• Just change lyrics “Aku Tanya Apa Khabar” song to “Taxi KL Memang Kurang Ajar”…

• Is Khamurudin Representing the Thugs ?????

Honest taxi drivers earn more than the meter readings by getting tips.

and Taxi apps has only helped to weed out these thugs.

Gov should just throw this to the dustbin better if they don’t accept it. Idiot !

• Ananz on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:59 am

You reap what you sow. That’s what i would say about the taxi drivers that does not use the meter and provide poor service. Not only do they charge a cut throat fee but they are also very selective on their destinations. Laziness and poor service will cause a big majority of people to shy away from taxi services.

However the hardworking ones have started to use apps like mytaxi etc which has helped to increase their revenues. Normally the taxi which does provide good service and uses the meter, customers will get their phone numbers and use the same taxi frequently which is a win win situation. Be more hardworking and keep up with technology instead of sitting around and complaining.

• If taxi drivers start using meter their earnings wont drop, I experienced this in may places like, KL Central(Near to Mono Rail), Cyberjaya where they dont want to use meter…these guys should face consequences now…

• CyberPatrol on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:26 pm

PERSIM members are still living under the jurassic period and not customer centered services, how can someone in the right mindset to request to protest the used of IT technology mobile app-based transport for business growth and investment in technology. Instead of protest against why not PERSIM invest on mobile apps.

Next PERSIM wants the Custom Dept government to exempt them from the Goods and Services Tax (GST). Interesting story to follow up, as how Custom Dept can give GST exemption to taxi companies with revenue of RM500,000 and as public transport fee already GST exemption.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:04 pm

No need 10. Rakyat hand them 5 Demands also enough.

1) Run on Meter.
    2) Resonable qualily and condition of vehicle
    3) No right to refuse a fare or destination (unless violent or dangerous)
    4) Strict adherance to traffic laws
    5) Courteous to customers

Once I was asked 15.00 (no meter) for a short ride from Pavilion to KLCC (was raining). Flagged down a Blue Executive taxi (which runs meter) and it cost me 10.00

Now I just walk on the covered pedestrian walk.

is it just me or anything thing with the ‘1M’ abreviation just sounds rubbish and rotten….BR1M, KR1M, 1MDB, now this PERS1M…..

• I don;t know about you but BR1M helps alot of underprivileged citizens especially the aged whom have no savings, no income, and no relatives that can be relied on. And of course KR1M do help when its available.

Not to forget Produk 1 Malaysia should be a proud achievement of our efforts.

• Hazri on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Tried MyTeksi last week from Cheras to KLIA. Very good driver. Got discount RM2 somemore.

2 days later, went back to Cheras from KLIA and got another normal metered taxi. Oh gosh. he took the loongest way. More expensive from My Teksi. The worst thing, he slept while driving!

• dregen on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:56 pm

i really wish person in charge of PERS1M & man in power (gov rep) reading all above mention comment.

stop blaming others. take action where it’s due.

p/s : guess what, i don’t even knew UBER etc before. thanks Paultan. i’ll be non-PERS1M user no more hehehe

• dregen on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:57 pm

i really wish person in charge of PERS1M & man in power (gov rep) reading all above mentions comment.

stop blaming others. take action where it’s due.

p/s : guess what, i don’t even knew UBER etc before. thanks Paultan. i’ll be non-PERS1M user no more hehehe

• “Mana Na gi? Midvalley, RM20..” Meter X pakai ke?
    “Meter X chun” Habis cam neh.. ikut ler ku punya meter kat otak…

• mojo1ne on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:21 am

The problem are not the apps, the problem is their arrogance and their immorality in executing their job. They make us feel helpless by making us beg for a ride and paying high rates. I guess they know how we feel now.

• anyone on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:45 pm

Not all taxi driver are the same.
    My neighbor is a taxi driver and hav own permits since 20 years ago.b4 dis,he never complaint bout his jom but lately yes since all taxi driver with own permit need to change their car for ezora which price nearly 70k because it is factory equip ngv.

lets see more facts that i think most of us didnt know
    -Car can only last for 10 then need to replce with a new car
    -Bank only appv 80 of the 70k exora which is 14k deposit( bear in mind,they are taxi driver with no fixed monthly income)
    -3.8k insurance per year( you can ask proton at sungai besi )
    -Maintenance( what do u think of proton cars for your own use? and what about proton car traveling 2-3 hundreds km each day? Surely maintenance is way more high)

So think again before u complaint because not all of them are the same.
    Still have among them that are honest.

• A Lim on Feb 18, 2016 at 3:02 pm

En Kamarudin,

I am concern with taxis, Can you contact me via my mail address please.

Lim