Proton, Perodua to regain market share this year?

2015_Perodua_Myvi_facelift_vs_Proton_Iriz_ 001

National carmakers Proton and Perodua are expected to recover lost market share this year and close the sales gap with foreign brands, if not even regain dominance, The Star cites research reports as saying.

As incredulous as it may sound, AmResearch predicts Proton sales to grow 21%, driven by the Iriz, and Perodua sales to jump 6%, boosted by the Axia. In 2014, Proton sold 115,783 units; Perodua 195,579.

Citing strong demand for smaller cars as a factor, AmResearch also estimates the market share of national cars to regain dominance to 51% this year (from 47% last year), and the total industry volume to rise 3.6% to 690,724 units (MAA predicts 680,000, MAI predicts 700,000).

MAI (Malaysia Automotive Institute) also foresees the tables turning on the national versus non-national battle this year – it has predicted 52% in favour of the local players.

Mazda is expected to lead sales growth amongst foreign makes, with four launches slated in 2015, while Toyota sales could ease slightly, given a lack of major volume model launches and increased competition. The Camry facelift and Camry Hybrid (spyshot above right), both set to be locally-assembled (CKD), are expected to launch this year.

However, CIMB Research thinks otherwise – in an earlier report, it said it expected foreign brands to continue out-selling national carmakers this year, citing the narrowing price gaps as a result of the increased localisation of foreign carmakers.

“They will be able to claim back the amount that they have spent on localising their production in terms of reduced excise duty. We expect, as the foreign brands increase their localisation, the price gap between the foreign brands and the national brands to be narrowed even further,” CIMB Research reported. However, it added that Proton and Perodua’s new models could close the sales gap with foreign brands.

Proton sales to grow by 21% this year – do they know something we don’t?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• policeman on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 147
    • 3,2,1………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:02 pm

With the new model Saga R and Persona R coming up earliest this end year..Yes, PROTON will regain its position as No.1 automaker in Malaysia. PROTON engineers are working hard under Tun M to ensure they achieve success after 30 year establishment this years! Thumbs up to PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 105
        • nujum on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Errr nanti tak laku keep on giving RM8k discount 2015 old stocks….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
          • Proton One Big Liar on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Proton is a failure of a company. Their only hope was the Iriz but that also, sales so bad. Proton CEO lied and said got so much orders and long list of buyers and they cannot keep demand.

If this is the case, how come CNY Proton give such big discounts to clear 2014 stock? This alone shows Proton lie through their teeth.

If CEO himself can lie like that, the whole company itself cannot be trusted.

Anyway, how do you know sales are bad? Just ask yourself, do you see any Iriz on the road? I drive 150KM in Klang Valley alone, I hardly see any.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
          • Charlie Delta on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:23 am

There are many Iriz already on the road. Not sure how it is possible for you to miss seeing them.

• Close Down Proton on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:12 pm

It is solely because of Proton that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. Don’t know why Malaysians can trust Proton anymore.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

All because of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 22
        • trollmaster3000 on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:28 pm

perodua will regain.. proton just die..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 21
          • Perodua Vs Proton Workers on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:53 am

See below and you will know who will succeed.

Perodua workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done”

Proton Malaysia workers:
            “Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Low Budget on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:37 am

I guess no harm in day dreaming.

• ProtonGSC on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Rakyat hope P1 will close shop…

Rakyat hope P2 keep the price low and add more safety fixtures to the cars…

Rakyat hope MAI / MAA / MITI all will open to the market, we Rakyat suffer more then their ever imagine !!!

Cronies Right policy must be abolish !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 28
        • Blood Sucking Proton on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:18 pm

In the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies and new technology used. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM70,000.

The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM35,000). After discounts, the Toyota will be sold about US$18k and the Almera about US$8k in the US.

Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. We all know MITI controls all the car prices to protect Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of protecting the dying Proton. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an additional 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM 2 billions from LHDN.

We are fed up of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
          • lifeslikethat on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:26 am

Dude,no matter how much we complained,nothing is going to change..everybody knows what’s happening,but,there won’t be any changes.

#truestory

• nofact on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:06 pm

Corolla even used one in 80’s was about 15k lor

You said new one for 20k?

In your dream kid.

• Deus Ex on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Your tax dollars at work folks. Kaliber kakitangan PDRM kian merosot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Factual Correct and Political Correct are two different things when it come to prediction from research firms!

A lot of Proton fanboys huuhaa about the Iriz, but the sales? You can get it with RM8888 discount now (RM16888 discount is coming on Raya).

More national cars sold compared to foreign cars? Sound reasonable. GST is going to suck everyone now, of course purchase power drop.

But you can ask the national car owners: 9.9 out of 10 of them would choose foreign car if money is not an issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 26
      • steven see on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Your son also support proton saga as I heard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:26 am

You can hear whatever you want. I also heard Proton testing their hybrid at planet Mars now, that’s why take so long to launch.

After all, junks (e.g. Proton) are not allowed at home. It always attract pests (e.g. cockroach, steven see).

• fegger on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Your source are very ‘reliable’, no wonder you con other people to buy moving coffins

Hahahahahhahahahhahaha

• Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • helmi on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Your son or you got money issue must be, if not why bought a proton saga?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:30 am

My bonus is good enough to get a ES 250 every year. You think I would get a junk? Time to use your brain (if any).

• UMW sales man on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:45 am

I am toyota sales man like you, dont lie to public, we have Rm500 bonus last month throughout all branches. Sales commission only rm2k due to poor sales. With basic salary of RM980,i see more and more sales man quit their job.

• Same L0rrr on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Please work harder then. Ask yourself why can’t you sell cars like me, in average, 3 vios, 2 avanza, 1 camry EVERYDAY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • BLT_Club on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Iriz, so sad. New car already discount. But still tak jalan. 10 out of 10 would chose foreign car. Who wants to be caught dead in a cr@p P1 or P2?

• hahaha2222 on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:44 pm

U the first and last …

• ntah pa2 on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:34 pm

gila apa hang ni?

• policeman on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:53 pm

CIMB is wrong. Proton’s new model ain’t gonna close no gap. Their fake Accord won’t be a success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 32
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:57 pm

“However, CIMB Research thinks otherwise – in an earlier report, it said it expected foreign brands to continue out-selling national carmakers this year, citing the narrowing price gaps as a result of the increased localisation of foreign carmakers.”

What jyou readin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • etios on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Maybe this year we can wait spy shots of new Saga and Perodua Sedan. The biggest battle coming soon!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • dugongx on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:03 pm

The effects of too much dope. Don’t end up like this policeman

• kontikinte on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:10 pm

Still waiting for proton basher to start their functional job…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • 3,2,1…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • Matchy on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Proton to grow by 21%? Doubt so… Iriz is not as hot selling as expected (with the huge discount for 2014 stocks).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
    • syaza on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:09 pm

proton sales grow by 21% is reasonable.. proton output next month is 11k+..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Super on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:42 am

Output n sales is 2 diff things. Last year also they have a lot of output resulting this year stock clearance.

• etios on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:01 pm

The game changer? People still buy Toyota, Honda, Perodua. Nothing change much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • jambol on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:20 pm

the cdc team working very hard to handle incoming and outgoing iriz and the geng now. just for info.

• Cheah on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Proton should continue selling more safe cars. The image of Proton has improved a little bit nowadays after the released of a few models of safe cars like Preve, Suprima and Iriz. In the long run, the consumers will know the effort of the company. The company should not follow the tactic of some Japanese car makers of scarifying Malaysian lives for profit. The launching of Suprima S Standard is a mistake. Proton should cancel this variant to restore the image of all Proton Preve and Suprima are ANCAP 5 Stars cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
    • nujum on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:44 pm

Proton biggest mistake is always syok sendiri their car worth RM70K when it’s not. Now too much old stocks collecting dust baru nak bagi diskaun. Why don’t they sell it 10K-20K cheaper at first place and kill off the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • ProtonGSC on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:21 pm

Simple answer that Proton never admit, protection on cronies and DrM pride and ego that Malaysia cars are cheap !!!

Malaysia to 2020 will only be a waste of time and effect and money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Cheah on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Agreeable. Proton has been struggling between profit and market share for many years without a firmed strategy. Maybe selling affordable safe cars could be the right strategy.

• Super on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:43 am

And yet the most Proton seliing cars are Saga n Persona…

• Just hang around the authorized service centers, and count how many Preve, Suprimas and Exoras come in. A lot not when 1 year old, but all sorts of quality problems. Backup camera fogging up, panels loose, handles broken. Takes 1-2 weeks for parts to be ordered, and system is dam slow.

• Low Budget on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:50 am

Agree with your statements, being owner of 3 proton cars before I switched to Perodua, please do not think Perodua build top quality cars, p2 càrs are only slightly better, my 5 month old Axia already got problem with air con compressor making crock crock noise, need to go Sanden air con service center to fix the problem after this post.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:17 am

First priority should be focus on their after sales service and quality products. Look at the service center quality, low response, unable to fix the problem, number of lack of skill workers etc. Beside, Proton should focus on its quality control, reduce the rate of problem occur is utmost important.

Another big issue is pricing strategy. The latest models of Proton were set up incorrect selling price which cause the sales fall. Proton seems not paying attention on foreign competitor’s product and rivals selling price. They should have notice selling Surpima S at 80k most people will go for Vios, City, Almera and etc which have better brand name and quality than Proton.

Thumb up to Proton giving high standard of safety. So now Proton should focus on their QC, after sales service and pricing strategy. It takes time to re-gain confidence from public.

• I am wondering how Proton is going to regain the market. Their game changing product is worst than their top 3 models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
  • Fly me to the moon on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Something is a miss… Quick! Cepat Puji Kerajaan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:35 pm

This thing about MAI and MAA misses is that the bulk of the increase (if any) would be all lower priced-lower profit cars.

The Axia will account for at least 1/2 of Perodua’s production. There is a reason why Perodua isn’t allocating more production resources for the base E. They aren’t making much money compared to the accesories laden models. If they did, this year’s annual report wont be so rosy.

I doubt the Iriz despite being a decently made car, will gain enough momentum to help Proton if any. The rest of proton’s models is pretty much dead in the water… and whatever they sell will just be internal canibalization.

A big giant like UMW is still reeling from poorly spec’ed models not selling. Honda is selling more Citys and HRVs instead of Civics and CRVs. The cost to build models isn’t that far different from a B to C segment, but profit margins get a hit due to the bigger gap in sale prices.

I still don’t see how MAA and MAI can still predict higher TIV. There is no more consumer confidence in the economy, and without drastic price reductions, TIV will shrink, not grow.

I for one will be shopping for a good 2nd hand car where depreciation would have taken a hugh bite…buy it cash, not having the bank leech another chuck off my disposable income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • etios on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Most car buyers RM3K income group and below prefer buy Perodua.

While those above RM3K income will never bother buy Proton but better buy Toyota, Honda and all the way to Rolls Royce.

Proton either move out to Bangladesh or produce sportcars low volume.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
      • graduate b_jonkers on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:30 pm

previously yes.. but the trend now differed… wanna used myvi which already 11 years.. only fresh grade doing so.. but time by time.. they will change..

• Super on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:46 am

Which trend u r referring to?. Myvi still selling at 5-6k a month. How about Iriz?.

Myvi 11 years consists of 2 generations. Same like Saga 30 years 3 generations.

• Joseph Yeoh on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:38 pm

this MAI can close shop ! wasted tax payers money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • azrai on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:43 pm

I think they took account on G spending to buy more MPV (Mobile Police Vehicle) for Preve model, and not forgetting those superscale PONDANA. While for Axia the bulk buying trend from driving school fuel the statistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • das auto on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Brace yourselves. The proton bashers are coming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Proton fanboy on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Why buy a real sushi brand, our Perodua and inspira are ready for you Malaysian!! You all buta ke??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • We rather being called blind than feeding Dr.M!!!
      As 4 U,don’t forget your share of Proton’s coffin in coming years!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • This is good news. Proton has improved tremendously over the past couple of years. Their cars offer excellent safety and value. Even the quality is now up to par. Perodua is affordable but slightly lacking in terms of safety. Honestly, it is time for foreign makes to phase out models in the similar segment as local cars. This will allow local makes to achieve economies of scale. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
  • applegreen on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:32 pm

They introduced Iriz last year which looks quite promising, but then the facelifted exora? Puke Puke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • kenot on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:46 pm

for me, the forecast still questionable. Don’t expect proton can regain their market at that percentage. it is depends on proton itself whether they can introduce a new model/facelift model in this year at competitive price.

Regain sales cannot come simply like that. furthermore, other brands will introduce more new models aggressively. If proton still selling the same model like old saga, exora or Non-FL preve, then it will very hard.

• Tbh..i see almost a rarion 10 axia vs 1 iriz on road right now..not sure about the reality of p1 gaining market share

• kenot on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:50 pm

for me, the forecast still questionable. don’t expect proton can regain their market. it is depend on proton itself whether they can introduce a new model/facelift model in this year at competitive price.

Regain sales cannot come like that. furthermore, other brands will introduce more new models aggressively. If proton still selling the same model like old saga, exora or Non-FL preve, then it will very hard.

• Proton needs to keep making cars that look good, like the Iriz. It’s sad but true that Malaysians, including me myself put “look” as their main priority when they buy cars.

Only a good-looking car makes me interested in finding out whether it’s safe, saves fuel blah blah blah…

And they seem to have forgotten that the 50k-65k sedan market has no real competitor other than the Almera/Attrage. They need to focus on that and launch some really good products to capture that market. The aging Persona needs a successor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • nujum on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Iriz biggest flaw is ugly fat rear design (inherited from Savvy) and jerky gearbox.

Fix it both and maybe Iriz can kick Myvi sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Doggy Research on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:25 pm

According to a research by a little known but highly reliable source, TIV is projected to grow slightly or even maintain due to the increase demand of low budget cars with the expected downturn of the economy. Led by the Perodua Axia, local cars will outsold foreign brands by a small margin.
    National car maker, Proton will suffer it’s worst year yet with plunging demand of it’s cars. Profits will be badly hit with huge discounts offered to clear off old stocks. It’s foray into foreign markets will not impact on it’s bottom line due to thin margins brought about by it’s own inefficiencies and the highly competitive nature in the global market.

• nujum on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Proton’s 2 factories is a big waste. Better let Perodua rent it for contract assembly the Axia and new sedan car soon.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:43 pm

Proton, Perodua to recapture market share this year? I don’t know whether it is the companies, the country or both. Are we aiming low by comparing market share of entry level tax advantage cars with reputable marques. In my opinion, market share is not comparing apples and apples.

• nujum on Feb 25, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Market share is growing but Proton market is keep on shrinking. Soon they follow Ferrari produce, sell cars below 10,000 units per year.

• WaJib on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:02 pm

I doubt so..Proton will achieve its sales target by having Jualan Bonanza, Jualan Gempak and Jualan 0% down payment to attract crowds especially pendalaman area.

• sabahan gaman on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Im p2 user… Love it… Tapi new myvi ni… Aduh… Nothing new… Still same model… Kc tambah gigi jongang jak… P1 iriz… Owesome… But the buntut… Weird… So ikut suka kmubla mau beli keta mana… Chow…

• Proton shud just produce Iriz SV, Preve SV, Suprima SV, Perdana Accord SV, Exora SV. Do promo in Putrajaya (govt. servant will buy cheap Proton) n also promo in rural areas. Proton shud gila-gila advertise this promo to all, make it viral on the web also.

Proton shud also focus the high spec cars outside Malaysia (UK, China, Aus, Middle East).

• Aero (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:22 pm

21% projected growth ? That’s only if;

1) Proton can launch a replacement to the Saga FLX / SV by mid-2015.

2) Proton can facelift the Prevé by mid-2015.

3) Proton can produce enough Iriz (without compromising on quality control) to satisfy the demand.

4) Proton continues to sell the Saga SV and Persona SV.

5) Perodua does not introduce a Myvi MC or Axia MC with ESC this year.

• kemosabe on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:05 pm

I think what Proton really need is a new engine to rejunevate itself. Proton has over relied on its current one.

New car but same old engine….doesn’t really excite does it.

• mastermind on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Ford Promotion

Fiesta Sport RM 10,000 rebate +
    Fiesta Sedan RM 10,000 rebate +
    Fiesta ST RM 7,000 rebate +
    Fiesta 1.0 Eco RM 15,000 rebate +
    Ecosport Trend RM 9,000 rebate +
    Ecosport Titanium RM 3,000 rebate +
    Focus Sedan RM 17,000 rebate +
    Focus Sedan + RM 15,000 rebate +
    Focus Sport + RM 13,000 rebate +
    Mondeo RM 22,000 rebate +
    Kuga RM 12,000 rebate +
    Toyota promition FEB
    Vios J MT RM 1,000 Rebate +
    Vios J RM 1,000 Rebate +
    Vios E, G, TRD RM 2,000 Rebate +
    Altis 1.8 RM 1,500 Rebate +
    Altis 2.0 RM 1,500 Rebate +
    Camry GX RM 10,000 Rebate +
    Camry (Others) RM 12,000 Rebate +

Nissan
    Almera 1.5L (E) RM 5,00 rebate +
    Almera 1.5L (V, VL) RM 6,000 rebate +
    Grand Livina 1.6L RM 7,000 rebate +
    Grand Livina 1.8L RM 9,000 rebate +
    Gear X 1.6L RM 9,000 rebate +
    Sylphy 1.8L RM 9,000 rebate +
    Navara 2.5L RM 9,500 +

NOw we know PROTON BASHERS LOOK SO STUPID…..
    like PAPA LGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 15
  • blaster88 on Feb 25, 2015 at 7:33 pm

AMResearch,

Really? 21% in 2015? How much did the automotive passenger sector grow in 2014 and past years? Single digit? Logic dictates that in order to grow “strong” double digits, you have to aggressively take share from other brands…which means either you have to depress price big time, roll out some “out of this would model/technology/features” that your competitors do not have, provide super premium service and promotions or all of the above? At the same time expect your competitors to just do nothing while you are doing the above? Lastly, with current economic uncertainties, GST implementation etc etc. Erm…What have you been smoking lately?

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Tbh I don’t see this happening. For the first time last year, people actually bought more imported than local cars.
    GST will come in, and it’s gonna be a mess, at least for the first 3-4 months, prices are most likely gonna be higher.

I still feel the nationals will not outsell the non nationals, and if at all Toyota’s market share is gonna collapse even further, judging by the lack of a single decent model. I’m not having that much hope on the new Camry either, considering the Accord looks significantly better and more “expensive”.

• Took my 2 months old iriz for a long drive during the week end.
    Just love going through the corners,as if all tyres are being glued to the road.
    The biggest setback is of course CVT transmission.
    Maybe 1.6 manual will perform better and possibly help increase sales.
    By the way I am not a proton salesman or a proton fanboy……just an honest assessment…….and my 2 cent opinion on why sales are projected to increase.

• Tiher on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:11 pm

The guys at amresearch actually get paid for these kinda of ridiculous ” research”?? More like p1 sales will drop further 21%…and me will avoid amresearch for sure as an investor!!

• dinesh kumar on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:19 pm

Eventhough P2 is leading the market…but do understand that P2 is just a mere assembler of daihatsu clons..even with their own design..unlike proton who had started producing under own R&D..if proton could just utilise lotus to max,,then they can regain their position as a no 1 brand in malaysia..still proton havn’t thought of producing d super popular suv’s and pick up truck….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • they already did,hence the good ride and handling in the preve, suprima and iriz. their issue is in the powertrain department and Lotus doesnt make engines..and not to mention their CVT and built quality issues

• submarine on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:29 pm

Regain mkt share…
    First, put down your pride. Turnover your company and make it into an assembler or something while still providing after sales support for existing clients.
    Second, grow your biz in other directions (1st point) and stop sucking money from IRB.
    Third, stop the greed you gain from the automobile industry (including repricing cars to their rightful pricetags) – not a Proton effort, this. But you guys know whose…
    Forth, see the automobile investments come (back) here and let the industry grow…
    In a nutshell, cut down 2 things: Pride and greed. Oh yeah not forgetting using that money from IRB for something better, like healthcare and education?
    Just my 2 cents.

• Arell on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:57 am

If proton see perodua selling so well, instead of making iriz to tap into that market, why dont proton just sell all its machinery, close shop and take the money and buy perodua shares. then u can tumpang untung :D

• Albert on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:26 am

Areli,Brilliant idea.Its like Amanah saham,with huge dividends.
      Unfortunately,Perodua do not entertain LAZY BASTARDS who produce inferior products,refuse to innovate and keep producing crap.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:37 am

Financial research as I see it nothing more than an opinion and there are thousands of such opinions and it is not exact science, if not there would not be a financial crisis, slowdown, bailouts and bankruptcies where the best financial minds reside. Always compare such research. Reminds me of a joke “give me a one-handed economist so they would not say on the other hand…..”

• CyberPatrol on Feb 26, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Research company are representative of Bank which give approval car hire purchase loans and Banks reports decline on loan growth.
    So it not likely they tell a negative news and upset of car industry players.

Should Proton trend to downward of car price, other automaker try to drop prices soon to make up the shortfall of sales for 1QTR and for Banks to easier to approval loans. It also devalue of used cars.

This does increase volumes of sales vehicle but not necessary Proton increase of 21% cars sales. Proton does help to put pressure other automaker to follow the downtrend prices of car prices.

• Y.E.S. good thing on Feb 27, 2015 at 6:22 am

I sense bigger discount is coming before hari raya… this year end clearance sale also gonna be interesting… next year another price adjustment by proton… good news all around! Next year can replace my 13 years old iswara already woohoo!

• undertaker (Member) on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Ahbeng dgn ijora seport pariah low budget car hehehe

• ApaCinaMau on Mar 02, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Bersyukurlah Malaysia masih aman…