2016 Toyota Innova leaked: all-new looks for next-gen

toyota-innova-leaked

A solitary pic of what is allegedly the next-gen 2016 Toyota Innova has been posted by FlyWheel. Looking worlds apart from the MPV we’re familiar with, the new Innova has taken on a rather angular appearance, with discernible body creases, a strong shoulder line and an interesting kick-back D-pillar.

The face will divide opinion – a huge front grille contains two chrome bars that intrude into slim headlamps (appear to be projector units). Sources have told FlyWheel that the interior will get a completely new design, whilst being more upmarket and luxurious compared to the current car.

Reports speculate the new Innova to be based on a new ladder-frame platform that will underpin the yet-to-be-unveiled all-new Hilux and corresponding Fortuner. There’s also talk that a new diesel engine is in store – if this is so, we can expect the motor to feature in the new Hilux and Fortuner too.

Malaysian-spec 2013 Toyota Innova facelift

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• someguyonthenet on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:35 pm

seems like another facelift….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Toyota is on a roll at making their cars painfully ugly, its the only car manufacturer that can do it with such ease.
      Well done to sam low! Well done to toyota!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • Sam proton on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Why bother about Sam, he is only a Toyota sales man who bought his son saga last year from cheras proton eon branch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Toyota Salesman Crying! on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:15 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. This Innova also cannot help them. Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
        Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
  • Holy cow! Finally a replacement to the decade old design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Still looks ugly but better than the current FL model. My bet is on no VSC and 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 8
    • JB_KIA on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:16 am

rear drum brake kot..

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Ladder frame MPV in this day, really Toyota?

The front does remind me a bit of the Kluger/Highlander large SUV, but the proportions look awkward. As the current one it looks like the rear is a bit on the tall side, a bit disappointing considering how the newer MPVs tend to have a slightly tapered roof line to make it look more aesthetically pleasing.

I wonder how the ride is going to be, cause the current one is hopelessly bouncy on the rear most row, not sure how I survived in the last row on a 3 hour road trip when I was travelling in India.

• sama lu on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Umw will spec in
    2 airbags
    0 vsc
    4 speed gear box

Haha just kidding.. hope this time this will be good in terms of-
    comfort like camry
    safety with 6airbags vsc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • pfftt on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:07 pm

say something useful why don’t cha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • UMW Malaysia, if you are reading this, and before i (and many of the readers here) lose all respect for you, please, for god’s sake and for good conscience, give us adequate airbags for this car which is an MPV and will obviously be carrying a larger number of persons compared to a sedan.

Do show us, for once, that UMW Toyota is a socially responsible corporation, rather than purely a money-making company. And judging by how popular Toyota vehicles are amongst Malaysians, you should know for sure how many lives you could potentially save by installing adequate airbags into your vehicles.

Would you prefer to be known as a company that cares about the lives of your customers (many of whom are your loyal customers), or simply a company that generates record profits for your shareholders? Think about it.
        I suppose we will know your answer to the question when you launch this vehicle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
        • ohmyohmyohmy on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:47 pm

Do we really have to beg umw to sell better cars….customer comes first or customer will buy others….we are the boss…they will loose sale..umw is now half deaf or they really think they dictate what customer should have…proton learned a very hard lesson…the hate factor is raising…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • sama gua on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:10 am

It is Toyota’s cutting edge 4-AT

• dreaming of maserati on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:15 am

Most uneducated ppl ( think dvd sellers/hawkers/pasar malam traders) are tricked into buying UMW junks like these thinking it has good RV and low maintenance. But they get a rude shock when they pay the bill at UMW service where the bill can easily match conti cars like BMW and Merc.
      So they suffer silently ( so that ppl don’t know and hopefully can maintain good RV of the car) and the only way out is by raising prices of their goods to make more profit. That is why you see most of them raising prices even though petrol,diesel and soon electricity will drop too.
      UMW chop them kaw kaw so now they chop you(customer) back.

• buruk siot on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:43 pm

It is hideous… Is that toyota? Hideous….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Matchy on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Wow… is this an ad from the 80s? Looks old enough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Back To The Pasar Malam on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Seriously Doc, this looks like Marty McFly’s car from 1984!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • huehuehue on Feb 26, 2015 at 6:58 pm

if umw get with acceptable safety features without placing a crazy pricetag on this car for sure can beat any mpv. at least vsc as standard and 6 airbags

• wrigley on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Pariah car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • UMW Malaysia, if you are reading this, and before i (and many of the readers here) lose all respect for you, please, for god’s sake and for good conscience, give us adequate airbags for this car which is an MPV and will obviously be carrying a larger number of persons compared to a sedan.

Do show us, for once, that UMW Toyota is a socially responsible corporation, rather than purely a money-making company. And judging by how popular Toyota vehicles are amongst Malaysians, you should know for sure how many lives you could potentially save by installing adequate airbags into your vehicles.

Would you prefer to be known as a company that cares about the lives of your customers (many of whom are your loyal customers), or simply a company that generates record profits for your shareholders? Think about it.
    I suppose we will know your answer to the question when you launch this vehicle.

• Please change the engine……
    No more VROOOMMMMM at the start pls…

• Lol so true! I remember when my neighbour had the Innova. I can hear it when they leave home every time xD

• Nathan Ferdinand on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Lol, it’s true! Even dogs around my house are barking when they hear that vrooom xD

How about change the 1TR-FE for a 2ZR-FE or 3ZR-FAE, with 6-speed manual as standard?

• heybadigol (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Im not a Toyota fan (except for the Mark-X & GT86), but this new Innova doesn’t look too bad. I drove the current one (rented one when I was in Sarawak), and I found the steering surprisingly nicely weighted (it was actually heavy).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Toyota – the only car with Advanced Reliability.

Innova – 2000cc RWD is more powerful than Serena and Biante. Many complian Serena and Biante 2000cc is underpowered. Due to FWD system is used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Zaini Khalib on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Hopefully they will put in at least a five-speed cvt gearbox. The current 2.0l engine will suffice though

• Lala Land on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:26 pm

pretty!!!!! pretty ugly!!!!

• Berann on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Toyota please give us better specs, pricing and design for your upcoming new model. Jan 15 Honda has overtaken Toyota as best selling non national car (6522 vs 4064 units) Accord, City, Jazz and Cr-v is best selling in their segment. HR-V is selling like hot cakes. Toyota is dying slowly…huhuhuhu

http://www.motortrader.com.my/news/new-vehicle-sales-in-january-2015-by-brand/

• Sam Boo on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:57 pm

you still have faith to toy otak ?

• dreaming of maserati on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:18 am

Why are you nincompoops begging toyota? No other cars in the world to buy?

• January and February is great time to buy Other car cheaply.

There are many 2014 Stock Clearance with Huge rebate.
      Cons – beware of getting December flooded New car.

If u have study 2014 January sales, Toyota suffer too.
      They dont have old stock to sell cheaply.

eventually, Toyota rise back high up to the spot within few months once other Car such as Proton, Honda or Nissan fail to give high rebate to clear Old unwanted stock.

• blabla on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Sam Loo? Happy now?

• intermilan on Feb 26, 2015 at 9:49 pm

Wah… so sporty looking.. meletop!

• Nathan Ferdinand on Feb 26, 2015 at 10:43 pm

For god’s sake, airbags please… Can you please take a look at Indonesians Innova that had DUAL SRS AIRBAGS AS A STANDARD FEATURE TOGETHER WITH ABS BRAKES, EVEN FROM 2.0 J GRADE?!

• idealtech on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:07 pm

better get a china van Hiace-wannabe, the same frame and ladder architecture :), its just a fancy van, yes even a van is multipurpose duh

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:07 pm

The problem is this is a third world car meant for third world countries, so of course it won’t have good safety. The market doesn’t demand it, and developing this tech for such a market is not worth it. It may be trivial to put in many airbags and stability control when the car was developed with those things in mind, but if not…

If Toyota wanted to sell a safe people carrier, they need to bring in a model meant for Europe, US or Japan.

• hunter on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:29 am

Then how do u explain why other makes can do it but not toyotolol?

U say about models is developed for 3rd world markets, care to explain why the 3rd world car vios cant provide the safety features as say a a 3rd world car honda city at a same price bracket?

Its just about greed. Nothing else. All car companies a greedy. But this umw greed is just downright stupid crazy and dumbfounded!

• Ishaq on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:59 am

Safety features are improved, because now IMV cars had to be exported for European market. I see the All New Hilux spied in England, so probably Toyota will add more features?

• farghmee on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:01 pm

i’m in doubt about this.

some car are made to suit the market demand,
        suzuki swift in india is not the same as malaysia.

try read indiansautoblog to know more regarding this matter.

oh ford ecosport too.

• Moving Forward..Ops..Backward on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:04 am

2016 car but design looks like early 00′ car.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:47 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
  • IrizX on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:21 am

So fugglllyy…..ptui.

• Sem Foo on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:22 am

Sem Foo approves!!

SPORTY, PRACTICAL AND RELIABLE. the design surely will give the BMW X6 a run for its money!! The sporty design is more garang than the X6, 3 more seats than the X6 and better drive than BMW!

Innova should add SBLV to its prefix:

INNOVA SBL-V (Sporty Beautiful Large Vehicle) 100/100!!

• Yuzdi8 on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:45 am

Outdated model assembled & sold in Indonesia. Please stop selling in Malaysia. UMW Toyota, Y not you look for a better model : NAVI/NOAH/VOXY?

• samad on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:21 am

this hideous creature already priced more than rm100k, just imagine if noah or voxy brought to malaysia, maybe the price a little bit cheaper than umw alphard & estima but a long jump from innova sale price

• Ishaq on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Nav1, seriously? With that “loaf-bread” exterior shape?

No pls, even Nav1 had poor sales in Indonesia too.

The best way is to bring a Toyota Caldina or Avensis (?)

• Sammy on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:26 am

The design look like a certain China brand car…

• BoringRakyat on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:04 am

What is that thing ?

• farghmee on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:05 am

from the pics on the web, i think it’ll look decent.

toyota should provide good safety eq. & turbo-diesel engine for this thing.

• Shud giv 2.5L diesel… 2.0 no power. Like dragging a cow to climb a tree

• If the spy shot is true….it is damn fugly..

• abeng on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:05 am

exora pun 4 airbag.. with asc.. lol

• WaJib on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:06 am

The shape look like Cherry Eastar.. Wtf…

• Song Tung Sing on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:08 pm

U people forget about ugly butt innova. Come buy my china made Van, better can sit 20 people inside. My van comes with 3 year free warranty, 3 year free service and 3 year free chinadoll.

Oso dont buy exora later will become BBQ. Better buy my van. Interested please PM me ok!

• shawal on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:24 pm

2 airbags and disc brakes – exceptional safety standards…

high ground clearance – to thread pot-hole ridden roads…

thick silicon wipers – for those rainy seasons…

The best for developing nations….

the new innova , innovation begins today~!

• NTHNF on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:36 pm

The design… Not everyone’s taste. Still looks average but much better than the current face which has “overlarged” grille. 2011 facelift design is much better, even best innova design I’ve ever seen. Some features are improved… LED projector, LED DRL, shark fin antenna, keyless entry, and so on…

We need more power. I mean, please put VNT on the current diesel which only spits 100hp and 26.0 kgm. We need those 170hp and 37.0 kgm. We need acceleration less than 10 seconds. We need improved fuel economy.

Petrol engine? Please change that 1TR-FE with 3ZR-FAE, or 2ZR-FE for cheaper option.

Features? Ah, 2 airbags isn’t just enough. We need more than 5 bags. We need ABS as standard. We need TCS and VSC for safety propulsion. Head unit? Pick from Altis.

• david on Mar 01, 2015 at 6:06 am

first glance i tot its a degraded exora

• Ugly FRONT FACE on Apr 08, 2016 at 11:34 am

worst ugly facelifts ever!!!….this car has ruined people’s love for innova,rear design is awesome, but the front face looks much uglier than previous models.
    It could have been much better in the front with little boxy view and by reducing the VAN like structure.