Proton Saga gets big discounts – from under RM30k

Proton Saga Discount

Click to enlarge.

With the Iriz, Preve, Suprima S and Exora already enjoying considerable discounts, it’s now the turn of the entry-level Proton Saga to get the same treatment.

The most significant of all, surely, is Proton’s most affordable variant, the Saga SV MT. A 2014 model gets a big discount of RM4,100 – a full 12% of the RM34,033 asking price – and is now available for RM29,993. Even a 2015 model is offered with a RM1,888 discount.

You can refer to the image above to see the offers available for all seven variants of the Proton Saga. As usual, you can get full detailed specification of all of them on CarBase.my.

Proton Saga SV

Proton Saga FLX Executive

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• bungkus on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:03 pm

Profit per unit just RM500 but can give discount RM4k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 28
    • Matchy on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:26 pm

Thats how they give it back to rakyat… so no more complaining our cars are expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 70
      • Hahaha Proton wo~ on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Finally protong admitted their car is expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
        • Woohoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • Untung RM500 tapi Diskaun RM4000 on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:31 pm

If Proton can sell RM4000 less now, for sure they are not losing. 100% sure they are still making money despite giving RM4000 less. The BIG question here is that, why in the first place you cannot sell RM4000 less?

Proton was created to lessen the Burden of the Rakyat in 1985. That is why all other cars were forced to push their prices up the past 25 years. To protect Proton.
          So, Proton’s purpose was to help the rakyat with cheap cars.

Why isn’t Proton doing this? Why perah the rakyat more? It is obvious, if you can give RM4000 less, it means you can reduce a lot and still make untung. Nobody will lose money to clear stock. All the more Proton when it is losing money every year.

Why make your own people suffer? Orang orang kampung are the ones suffering the most. Why overcharge Malaysians when Proton was created for the rakyat to give them cheap cars?

So Proton, why in the first place you cannot sell your Saga for RM29k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 15
          • kadajawa on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:27 pm

If you buy Proton SV(Super Value) in Langkawi, it becomes Proton NV(No Value)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • jiece on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:13 am

Tax tax tax
            Pls grow up

• You want profit better put on properties

• Proton KING of RV Depreciation on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:35 am

Never buy Proton la. I was a strong fan of Proton until I had to sell my 2 year old Waja. Bought about RM63k then, want to sell, I only got back RM28k. I had to struggle and top up my loan despite susah payah 2 years I paid for my car.

That is Proton for you. You buy this Saga even today, want to sell tomorrow also, you get RM20,000 also, you are very lucky.

In 3 years time, you get RM8000 also, wah! you struck lottery.

So, to all Proton buyers, don’t get excited you are buying RM29k. When you sell time, you will cry as you will need to top up the loan by thousands. You will ask youself, what have I really paid all these years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • kamal on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Try buy brand new BMW …. and in 2 years try to sell it back …. you’ll be suprised …

If you don’t want to lose money …buy a house not the automobile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • Dishonest Service Centres on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:44 am

Saga is a joke of a car. Malaysians are not asking for all the VSC and higher spec in this car? Nobody trust Proton la.

Many times I send to Glenmarie to service my Proton, a 5 year old car, I go home check got oil change, I see dirty oil in my car despite they charging me for a new pack of oil.

So dishonest behaviour even from the main service centre in Glenmarie. That is the MAIN service centre.

I go to forum, I see, so many people confirm the same thing. Kena charge for oil, Proton even leave the Petronas container in the car to show they changed oil, but go home, check oil gauge, see still got old dirty oil.

Now you know why sales are so bad Proton. Until you all become honest, people will buy a lower specced car like Perodua.

Proton is full of lies and lies and lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • Ayo brader. Ur car already 5 years old, using Ron95 some more, do you really expect your engine oil to be new yellow colour after every service? Even if you use oil flush also, after u drove it home, it will immediately turn black lah..doesnt mean they cheated you..aiyoo..dont know the fact some more spread lies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
          • youfail on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Dun bluff, in 2 years already 20k? Lol, 8 years waja can fetch 13k. If 2 years do your math unless you fail in numbers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Is Proton going to stop operating? Stock clearance non-stop. LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Bashers huuhaa2 everywhere barking like dogs. PROTON salesmen busy taking orders for Saga, Exora, Preve, Suprima and Iriz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 68
        • cincau on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Nanti Hari Raya ada kasi free Modenas kapcai kah? Kalau kereta bermalam kat service centre pun tak apa, ada moto naik pegi kerja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:55 pm

And somemore here Buy from me extra discount RM 450 !!!

Seriously no joking order from me.

We Proton supporter will never LIES !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
        • Most Dangerous Car on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:11 pm

This SAGA in the UK and Australia is considered the most dangerous car in the world. Jeremy Clarkson himself said it was a death machine. No safety features. In an accident, sure to be vegetable.

In Australia, all magazines confirm this car is a joke and they cannot believe Proton can treat its own country Malaysians with such low regard for their safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 42
          • torkok on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:19 pm

Link please or just talk kok. ANd dun forget Iriz sedan will be its successor

Review in Australia praised s16 ride handling , can beat all those Aus10k higher priced cars, like Auris/Ascent lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
          • Really on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:57 pm

I am not a Proton supporter but i can see that Proton is in a good direction in making their cars safer. Their latest models are leaps and bounds better safety-wise.

Meanwhile, Malaysians need to change their mentality of preferring more accessories (such as bodykits) over safety features. Only then, will all carmakers join in on offering better safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
          • David on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:41 pm

In Australia and UK the Saga is considered as one of the most safest car.
            Prime Minister David Cameron himself said it’s a surviving kit. All safety features. In an accident, sure to be in a Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • UK Resident Confirms on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:48 am

I live in the UK and I have brothers living in Australia. It is true, Proton is considered the worst car here in the UK.

All the guys saying it is a good car in Australia and UK are all Proton staff doing damage control.

Here in the UK, we don’t tolerate cars with NO basic safety features. It is better to drive at 200KM on the highway half drunk without safety belts than drive this car with no VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • UK residens ka on Feb 28, 2015 at 9:03 pm

I wonder you are referring to Proton which year model? If you want to compare please compare apple to apple for example Preve vs Vios vs City if you are comparing in terms or price lah. If you comparing 1990 Iswara vs current Vios it will be unfair right?

• Dishonest Service Centres on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Proton has been sucking our money so so much. Even top spec Toyota Camry in US is only USD$20k. So, what about cheaper C segment cars?

• torkok on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:02 pm

@UK Resident Confirms
            You dun believe ka?
            Here I copied paste:

Ride & handling is where the S16 stands out. Of course there is nothing in its price category that I could compare it to but even putting it against cars costing $10,000 more it still comes out ahead. Proton makes a big deal about their cars benefiting from Lotus ride & handling technology and you only ever really notice its validity when you’re going around a corner at speed in a car with tiny 13-inch wheels and it’s not missing a beat.

Read more at caradvice australia.

Go out from cave, you dun even know where UK is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Top Gear on Mar 01, 2015 at 1:23 am

You ask for it:

We don’t know what Malaysian motorists did to upset the gods, but it must have been something pretty serious, judging by the punishment they seem to be getting. Still, at least the domestic audience thinks this stuff is the norm – what on earth do they think they’re doing bringing it to the UK? Walk away.

http://www.topgear.com/uk/proton

• @Top Gear
            Lol you would listen to that clowns? JC is no engineer, designer nor car racer.
            That programme is for fun and laugh, only some will take it seriously

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • Typical on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Malaysians are like this, ask for link but when shown the truth of others criticise the ‘almighty’ Proton, cannot accept it. Clown? JC driven more cars than you have in your life, he knows more than you

• driver on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:41 am

then the same goes to almost all toyota’s in msia as the spec is rubbish.

• Rubbish Driver on Mar 02, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Rubbish because you can only afford rubbish spec like Saga. Haha

• ABDUL RANI KULUP on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:49 pm

go fxxx yourself

• Who is Lying? on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:16 pm

If Proton can sell RM4000 less now, for sure they are not losing. 100% sure they are still making money despite giving RM4000 less. The BIG question here is that, why in the first place you cannot sell RM4000 less?

Proton was created to lessen the Burden of the Rakyat in 1985. That is why all other cars were forced to push their prices up the past 25 years. To protect Proton.
        So, Proton’s purpose was to help the rakyat with cheap cars.

Because of Proton, all cars went up nearly 2 to 3 times in prices just to protect Proton.

Why isn’t Proton giving cheap prices in the first place? Why perah the rakyat more? It is obvious, if you can give RM4000, it means you can reduce a lot and still make untung.

Why make your own people suffer? Orang orang kampung are the ones suffering the most. Why overhcharge Malaysians when Proton was created for the rakyat to give them cheap cars?

Please Proton CEO, please don’t tell me you are losing money by giving RM4000 in discount. You are very well making money still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • geety on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:35 pm

Why Japs Koreans and China also have protections? They perah their own people, yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • ProtonGSC on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:42 am

Go compare the country selling price… and stop comments if you don’t know anything kid !!!

• UK Resident Confirms on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:06 pm

You kerja kuli in the UK also, you can make about 2000 pounds a month. I know, I used to work as a kuli. I used to make 2000 pounds a month.

Brand new small car with 8 airbags and VSC cost about 6000 pounds. I don’t eat for 3 months also, I can buy this car straight from the shelves. 2 year old car even better, I can even get about 2000 pounds with still 3 years warranty intact.

In Malaysia, kuli earns less than RM800. Cheapest car is RM29k. How long does he need to save to buy this car?

• Japs cars sold in USA more expensive than in Japs, so what?

• siddle on Feb 28, 2015 at 1:50 pm

Foreign cars in Korea are rare, they have sort of protection too. Too many kids playing truancy here. Lazy when kid , when get adult none would want to hire

• TheNeutral on Feb 28, 2015 at 2:52 pm

@ProtonGSC

How about compare the roadtax and insurance price as well.

• ProtonGSC on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:22 pm

@TheNeutral

compare to our salary based to UK salary based.

and compare public transportation with Bolehland.

• youlazy on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Kerja malas ada hati nak compare dengan UK dan USA

Bolehland is not developed nation, neither has enough volume to make cars as cheap as in there

• excuse on Mar 01, 2015 at 2:21 am

Just close down P1 lah so that there are no more lazy Proton workers to produce low quality cars

• gesss on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:41 am

Low quality? CFE ady better than any n/a Japs engine. 1.6l for insurance is much cheaper too than any equivalent 2.0l.

• That’s not quality. If you don’t know the meaning of quality, i suggest you check the dictionary. Any Japs engine can last longer than your CFE engine

• Eh …tak boleh macam tu.
        Your Chairman said must sell expensive so the car can be perceived as good quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • Alex Bino on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Whatever Proton lose, the money will still come out of our LHDN income tax money.

So, indirectly, you are paying for the RM4000 discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • unclekok on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Talk kok only give proof lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Katak Bawah Tempurung on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:50 am

Don’t live like katak under tempurung. It is all in the news how Government feeds Proton with billions every now and then to sustain the company

• unclekok on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Where where where? You just talk kok

• No VSC on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Why Saga no VSC? Saga not safe?

No VSC = coffin car according to supporters logic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Kid when you will grow up?
          Saga is savvy based which is old.
          Vios is ady generations here but still no VSC
          Why why why why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • kiddo on Feb 28, 2015 at 1:37 pm

If old, why still sell the junk to the people? Just close shop lah

• gervsain on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Even 2nd hand cars without airbags are still sold. Saga will be EOL

• driver on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:48 am

typical basher..
          then all perodua’s car?
          toyota’s?

The Vios/Hilux/Avanza/Innova/Rush/Fortuner is well equipped with a safety package that inspires confidence when you drive. Elements such as ABS braking and SRS airbags coupled with a high tensile steel structure, create enhanced protection against untoward circumstances.

ESC/VSC?

• sam proton on Feb 28, 2015 at 4:45 pm

SAM regret buying saga for his son last year.

• jacksonljs on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Let it be lah, sales not good already (people already boycotted) since nowadays ‘jamban made’ UMW Toyota cars (except Vios J manual) is as good as scrap metal with four wheels, no VSC even for Totally RetarD spec, somemore selling price is ‘sky high’ (selling price and even maintenance cost like new Mercedes, but quality worse than few years old perutdua cars). That’s why have to buy Protong Saga for his son. We should remember that what goes around will comes around.

• Yep, what goes around comes around. Can you give a link of sales no good for Toyota? If not, you just talkok and you know that the sales no good are only for Proton(maybe people boycotted like you said) as the car with Punch CVT aka the ‘jamban’ car jerks like you’re doing your business in the toilet. Fanboys will say it is old platform but Proton still dare to sell the junk to the public, no VSC even for their upcoming newest latest generation super hot R3(Retard x3) spec and maintenance cost like Lori as it drinks more fuel than a Lembu drinking water but quality worse than World War 2 cars. That’s why Sam regret his Saga, so he sold his Saga to scrape and trade in for a Lexus for his son

• ProtonGSC on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:28 pm

And those who say SV only profit RM500…

Where are you guys come out and support your lies and unreasonable support to your beloved DrM and Proton !!!

Proton lies, Proton CEO lies even Proton supporter also lies !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 17
      • Who is Lying? on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Proton CEO last year said that each car, they only made a mere RM500 profit. IF they make RM500 profit on each car, how come now they give RM4000 (RM8000 on Preve) discount?

Does that mean that now, each car they rugi RM3500?

We all in this forum remember clearly Proton was crying like a baby saying their profit from each car is RM500. Proton was then begging the Government for free RM2 billion (besides the hundreds of million they get annually on so called “grants”.

Come on Proton, what are you trying to pull here. One end, you say you make Rm500 per car. the other end you give RM8000 discounts on Preve and RM4000 on Saga? Who is lying?

Was Proton lying last year to get more money from the Government?

At the end of the day, all the money comes from our income tax LHDN money. So, we Malaysians seem to be sustaining a company that does not seem to be telling the truth.

To make matters worse, the people who bought Preve or Saga, your ardent Proton fanboys, now suffer, because 2nd hand value will plummet. So, 2014 2nd hand Preve will now go for RM30,000.

2014 Saga will now go for RM20,000. Is this fair to all your fanboys Proton? They must top up their loan if they sell their cars now or 5 years down the road.

Proton, can you please stop telling lies to the Malaysian public. If each car is facing RM7500 loss now, the money is coming from our pockets. We have the right to know.

So, betul ke you all making only RM500 each car despite all the protectionism Government has given to you all for 30 years and hundreds of billions given to you all for free?

Oh btw, the thing that most of us cannot understand, now in private hands like DRB also, Proton still asking Government for money? How come?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Untung RM500 tapi Diskaun RM4000 on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Proton CEO last year said that each car, they only made a mere RM500 profit. IF they make RM500 profit on each car, how come now they give RM8000 discount for Preve and RM4000 for Saga?

Does that mean that now, each Saga car they rugi RM3500?
        We all in this forum remember clearly Proton was crying like a baby saying their profit from each car is RM500. Proton was then begging the Government for free RM2 billion (besides the hundreds of million they get annually on so called “grants”.

Come on Proton, what are you trying to pull here. One end, you say you make Rm500 per car. The other end you give up to RM8000 discounts. Who is lying?

Was Proton lying last year to get more money from the Government?

At the end of the day, all the money comes from our income tax LHDN money. So, we Malaysians seem to be sustaining a company that does not seem to be telling the truth.

To make matters worse, the people who bought Preve, your ardent Proton fanboys, now suffer, because 2nd hand value will plummet. So, 2014 2nd hand Preve will now go for RM30,000. Is this fair to all your fanboys Proton?

The Saga 2014 model now will go for RM20k as Proton themselves now throw prices to RM29k. Who loses? People who bought Saga last year.

Proton, can you please stop telling lies to the Malaysian public. If each car is facing RM7500 loss now for Preve and RM3500 for Saga, the money is coming from our pockets. We have the right to know.

So, betul ke you all making only RM500 each car despite all the protectionism Government has given to you all for 30 years and hundreds of billions given to you all for free?

Oh btw, the thing that most of us cannot understand, now in private hands like DRB also, Proton still asking Government for money? How come?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • tapau on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Orang bagi discount bising. Tak bagi bising.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 78
      • Abu Sayur on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Close shop then all no bising la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
      • Proton ZERO Safety on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Orang bodoh sahaja bayar kereta mahal mahal dan tak tahu harga kereta dunia sebenar.

Safety in Saga also ZERO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • ProtonGSC on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:37 pm

And this should be make it to head line

“Proton ex-CEO at conference says Proton only profit RM500 per car BUT after a year later the car given discount RM4K for the same spec???”

Let the world laugh at Proton and MAA / MAI / MITI how bolehland LIES to their Rakyat for 30 years industry !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 19
    • kimi_ on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:48 pm

LET ME GUESS , TOMORROW SATRIA WILL GET DISCOUNT!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
      • My guess is Persona

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Albert on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Gentlemen,….berita terkini…..All models of Proton, made in 2014….NO MORE PARKING SPACE at even test tracts….all full of sunbaked Protons.
          They have sliced 2015 productions and will EMBARK on a MASS RETRENCHMENT exercise very soon after April 1,2015.
          Even Ah Beng,the hardcore salesman will kena layoff soon.He will have to join Same Loor and work for UMW too.
          Ah Beng is still in dreamland.His company is losing half Billion RM for financial year ending March 31,2014.
          Maybe,he is waiting for a huge golden handshake from the mamak.
          Do u know,even their service centres are having only a few cars to service a day?.Better cari lubang,and start selling blockbuster AXIA.
          PROTON…THE DISCOUNT KING OF BOLEH LAND

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
          • Lol try to book apt at SC especially during festive seasons, 30 cars to be serviced in less than 6 hours!

• Adik manis on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Ah Beng finally going back to Bangla. Hooray

• Blood Sucking Proton! on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:05 pm

In the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies and new technology used. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 10 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM70,000.

The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM35,000). After discounts, the Toyota will be sold about US$18k and the Almera about US$8k in the US.

Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. We all know MITI controls all the car prices to protect Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of protecting the dying Proton. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an additional 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM 2 billions from LHDN.

We are fed up of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 16
          • You were kid then, Corolla used one ady 16k in 80’s

• David on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:45 pm

In the 1920’s you were able to get a Ford T model for less than US$1000 (RM2700)!

Close Proton and than we will have cars for less than RM2700!

• Altis in US- Rm30k on Feb 28, 2015 at 12:12 pm

My brother about a brand new Corolla (Altis) with 8 airbags after discount for US$10k. That is Rm30k in Malaysia. Here the Altis is RM139k for 2 airbags.

Can see ah? Rm30k vs RM139k? Still talking about 1920 ah bang? He bought last year lah bang!

• So what, p1 oso got taxed high, and 180k accord in Thai when there is no p1 there

Close down p1 and the tax still remains

• David on Mar 01, 2015 at 5:36 pm

@Altis in US:

How much income tax your brother has to pay in the US?

And as there no free medical service there: How much for hospital bills or health insurance?

• Guan Yin Maa on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Well.. Profit per unit is the money Proton earn from the car they sold to dealers. The price you see is the standard price marked up by dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • syclone on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:25 pm

i think this is more of stock clearance of the current, and this is also the sign that the Saga 3(replacement of the current Saga) will come up soon…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • das auto on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:37 pm

The dealers are making 4-5k per car la. Old stock no choice. Don’t clear stock will lose more. That is normal for any business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • cincau on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Last time Inspira free Modenas kapcai RM5k. I don’t see Honda Civic give EX5 kapcai just to clear off stocks.

• They say profit RM500, most likely profit by saleman. Commission RM500.

• batanghijau on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:37 pm

if u check the 2nd hand value of the saga, you’ll know why they give big discounts. it’s basically a car that has terrible resale and nobody is going for it despite it has bigger room than the axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • berjuntai on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:35 pm

So now Saga SV is cheaper than Axia?

• das auto on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Even the 2nd hand value of p2 is horrible these days. A 2 year old viva elite auto is asking for 22k only. Down from 40k original price. so what are you talking about batanghijau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Don’t bluff la. It is still fetching 27K for 2012 car. Proton bila habis modal, start nak tipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • viva owner on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:42 pm

22k is asking price la. Selling or Trade in price is much lower. I brought my 2012 viva elite auto to sam loo for trade in and he give me only 14k. He said he just only makan a 2014 viva elite for 18k. Ask me to see for myself. I am crying now. I still owe affin bank 30k. T.T

http://www.mudah.my/Perodua+Viva+1+0+A+Auto+Elite+Tip+Top-33023279.htm

• Yeah … I found this too.

http://www.mudah.my/Perodua+Viva+ELITE+1+0+A+-33731972.htm

• ioma bodoh on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:55 pm

LMFAO. 2012 viva can fetch 27k? Who going to buy when new Axia auto is only 33k? I guess you must the only one.

• Close shop la… y so Susan wanna struggle to stay alive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 16
  • Shane_loo on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:01 pm

Better buy a 2nd hand Jap. Buy proton, sure regret…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 22
  • Nthg proton do will win back rakyat heart… continuously giving rubbish… early of the yr only wanna giv big discounts?
    sad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • Rakyat waiting 4 the next big thing
    =Proton to close down
    There will definite a Big celebration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 27
    • korox on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Lol then you are not worth to stay in bolehland, no patriotism

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Qoros on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Buy Proton car is Patriotism? What a joke! Supporting Proton cronies is not patriotism lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • korox on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:53 am

That’s a joke, cronies or not still bolehland people, no? Supporingt is not necessary to buy!

Shame to all Japs, they dun cronies or not!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Wtf are you talking about? Stop saying rubbish. Did you bought the latest Iriz to show your “patriotism”? If not, you are not worth to stay in Bolehland! Please move to Indo/Bangla

• korox on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:18 pm

Lol no one forces you to buy p1, who are you to dictate people?

• Looks like you are the one that dictate people first. See your own sentence:

“Lol then you are not worth to stay in bolehland, no patriotism”

• korox on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:45 am

Dicatate? That’s my view, did I say you have to go to other country? No, it’s just your stay in bolehland is not worth any. You may run than defend this country if attacked.

And you ask people to buy p1, that one is dictating, no?

• Patrotism is to close down proton so the country dont suck into a bigger economic problem.

• Hamzah on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:04 pm

Proton is abusing the protection given to it and is basically dumping its cars.
    It’s way overdue that they should stand on it’s own feet and MITI should open up the local market. Just like what they did to fuel subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • syclone on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:30 pm

i think this is the sign that Saga 3(replacement of current Saga) and Preve facelift will come up soon considering the massive discounts given to 2014 and 2015 batches of both cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • farhanatan on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Saya dah perhati lama.
    Byk carmaker guna terma ‘diskaun’ instead of ‘price reduction’

Saya syak carmakers or distributor ada tarik untung dari bank interest.

Kalau harga dari diskaun, interest still kira base on loan of normal price minus downpayment.

Tapi kalau price reduction, downpayment pun atleast 10% of reduced price which is much cheaper.

Itupun ada lagi yg bodoh ambil diskaun yg diberi untuk kurangkan pembayaran downpayment.

Tolong bagi pencerahan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • Achtung on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:47 pm

VW Polo offer zero interest loan, probably the first by any carmaker here. Not sure how VW arrange it with banks or actually discounts converted to offset the loan interest and make it appear as ‘zero interest’. Desperate time, desperate trick I guess.

• Have you seen the discounts given by other big car manufacturer like Mercedes and BMW? From what u said means all these big car manufacturers also being desperate in tricking we Malaysian customers is it? Some of u guys really funny, normally when ppl get discounts should be very happy, but instead u guys complain. So maybe i think these car manufacturer should increase their car list price only u all happy la ? hahahaha

• car-fans on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Good Job Proton! Every model give more discount! When Proton’s Co also for SALES? Let those who really know about automobile to take over Proton – easier – Msian Happy – Proton’s Management Ppl also happy – tak kena curse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
  • wise guy on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:46 pm

I wonder why all posts on proton promo/discount not classified as “AD” unlike others hence they’re commentable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • DoubleA on Feb 27, 2015 at 2:51 pm

For such a price, it is acceptable..

• when is the close-down sales???

• Waiting to buy Proton Accord at a discount. …80k maybe..hihihi

• cslee on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:07 pm

Really shit proton. Just went to jalan ampang outlet, they said all 2014 saga sold out. No more stock. Big liar indeed.

• Albert on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:42 pm

In Bolehland,we have
    MUSANG KING
    SAMPAH KING
    and now
    CAR DISCOUNT KING.
    HIDUP PROTON,RAJA PEMOTONGAN YANG SYIOK.
    This sad story of Protong is cos of the curse of UNCONTROLLED AND EVERLASTING PERLINDUNGAN.

• You butthurt SA?

• You talked as if only proton is offering discount. Go check how much the mighty UMW is offering for some of its models and you will be surprised.

• abeng on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:45 pm

VW lagi kuat bagi discount.. lets stop buying new car and purchase when only got discount…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • It’s to clear all the stocks so potong can close shop once and for all.

• They are disposing all the stocks now. It seems like the company will change hands again.

• cendol (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:54 pm

If anybody asks you if it is good to buy Proton.
    The standard opening words will be , “If you don’t mind Quality, then go for it.”
    QUality is the key word

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • cincau on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:20 pm

After bought it, standard service centre words by mechanics, “Biasalah Proton”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • That’s much better than buying T with std opening words “jimat minyak” later regret coz the FC is not that good.

RV is very high (RV = regret value)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • jacksonljs on Mar 01, 2015 at 3:28 pm

not like that, Malaysia ‘T’ have double high RV, that is once they crash their beloved ‘T’ and lying few month in hospital that supposedly could be avoided if there’s VSC present.

• You talk like your Saga got VSC? Where is it? Cannot beat P1 triple high RV like Exora lah. Before they crash their beloved ‘P1’ already on fire itself and become “Roasted Pig” if they don’t get out of the car. I guess supporters like the “Super Value”(coffin+cremation) provided by Proton

• Amran PEKIDA Ori on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:55 pm

beli jgn x beli…

jualan penghabisan stock before tutup kilang.

• Other brands oso got hot discount, kilang assembly tak tutup pon

• Amran PEKIDA Ori on Feb 27, 2015 at 3:56 pm

all these Proton promo is unpaid right…that’s way the comment section is enable..

hehehe i see what u trying to do.

• Sy sokong PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • cincau on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:35 pm

Bila dah nak sign loan, tetiba cakap model 2014 takde stok, terpaksa beli stok 2015 diskaun kurang. Kena tunggu lagi. Entah apa-apa ntah.

• Sy sokong PROTON cls shop

• Samah Khan on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Wah…cheaper than rubbish AXIA

• Same Same Lol on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Yes, rubbish is cheaper than Axia

• axiarubbish on Feb 28, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Axia is rubbish!

• sagarubbish on Feb 28, 2015 at 6:21 pm

So is Saga!

• axiarubbish on Feb 28, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Cannot beat tin milo axia!
            Axia is more rubbish!

• Seriously the group of proton staff inclu you are not helping proton here. Together with your marketing delp,you are making thins worst. Proton at this this sorry state are party contributed by your action here. Stupid and arrogant. Yes.. bodoh sombong.

• grrrr on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:38 am

Why not? You scared ah?
            Kahkahkah

• Scared Saga more rubbish. Haha

• Low Budget on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:42 pm

This could be the downfall of Proton, people will simply not buy Proton during the 1st year of introduction to new model and wait for Proton to announce substantial price cut in the 2nd year.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:20 am

Precisely what the Naza did. When they switched from CBU to CKD. big drops in price.

Now the Koreans even to this day has a stigma of low RV to contend with. 15 years later.

But proton is caught in a no-win situation. They have to clear the old stock. And discounts are the only way to do it. But they could have done it better though. Instead of blanket discounts, just do interest free so your prices don’t get eroded.

• Daniel Mohd on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Dont buy now wait for hari raya promotion sure lagi big discount, tunggu lagi 3 bln kah kah kao. You all will regret if you buy now.

• Proton Saga cost RM 14000, after G tax RM 28000, and after add profit is RM 33600, Proton want round up the figure so plus another RM 400 but the boss wrongly told media said Saga earn less RM 500 per unit.

FYI, AXIA only cost RM 7000, after G tax is RM 14000, Perodua greedy add profit margin 200% for each car, so top spec sell RM 42000. Actually that car not worth it to buy and only for those Aunties and poor “Aunties” love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Nenek Kau on Feb 27, 2015 at 11:02 pm

Aunty kamu pun tak mahu Saga. Saga untuk ‘S’issy driver like you

• Bristol on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:52 pm

YES 4G, Proton is the best!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Bruise on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Hooray, Proton boost sales for next month, Toyota n Perodua lost the huge % in sale vol already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Albert Sam on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:57 pm

Feb sales market, Proton increse 14%, Toyota drop another 6%, and Perodua decrease 11%

• Atoy-ot on Feb 27, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Saga…the legend begin, hahaha.

• Why everybody point Proton? Something wrong?

• SV trim should be the most affordable for people. Instead, they put the highest profit margin! You’re such a scumbag Proton!

• IrizX on Feb 27, 2015 at 5:46 pm

I just want the Yes4G. PM me discounted best price. Tq.

• Buy new car save money

• karipap basah on Feb 27, 2015 at 8:09 pm

I think real soon, Proton will do sales like pasar malam or pasar lambat….

Just like selling kangkung at pasar….

• CyberPatrol on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:20 pm

Its for CNY promotion period and it can happen again for next major festive season. For the purpose of clearing of 2014 stocks but no sure how much of 2014 stock left. Will it make a sales dent in Proton sales, lets wait the March vehicle sales volume reports.

• Sam Boo on Feb 27, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Was booking for Saga 2014 SV Manual on Jan with same discount 4.1k, loan already approved, however end up stock habis (all colors)… how come they still advertise this discount? to caught public attention?

• Clearance…stock…..before outcoming new replacement saga

• Boo Hoo on Feb 27, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Ala, Toyota selling crap cars also laku in Malaysia. So don’t la talk like safety and value-for-money is high priority for Malaysian. Toyota Vios is a great example,a joke. Tell me what do you get in a brand new Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Whynot on Feb 28, 2015 at 3:41 am

The cronies does not need Proton to make money but to remain in order so as to make more money with its AP’s policy under the NEP. It is therefore ending up paying twice the price as comparing to other much more developed country like US for example. This is extreme burden to a developing country like ours. If a rich country like US can make profits with half the auto price we are selling. Imaging what is the facial expression of our many rich AP’s kings? Is Malaysian richer then the American? Looks like it if we still insist on these NEP cronies policy!

• Hakim on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:16 am

Pls close shop proton! I beg you!!!

We are all sick and tired of your presence!!

Just close shop for the sake of all Malaysians!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • doggy on Feb 28, 2015 at 1:54 pm

Keep it to yourself, you din represent majority

• He is right. The majority has spoken. This is why p1 is at this sorry state. Sudah nazak

• hnjgt on Mar 01, 2015 at 9:34 am

Who is majority? Since when got poll/survey?

• The sales figures fore the past 10 years is the survey. Much more accurate than questionnaire.

• Haters will be haters, even if the saga is out for free! Some people will always look for a tiny mistake

• frossonice on Feb 28, 2015 at 10:35 am

People keep asking Proton to close door. For what? You think car prices will decrease after that?

Fat chance! You still have to deal with excessive excise duty at more than 75% for ALL cars. It’s not G will abolish/decrease the tax once Proton gone. It is their source of income since they lack incomes nowadays.

And then you have to consider Perodua too. They are still officially a national car maker. So they will still be protected. Blind hatred people like you guys never solved anything, only know how to yell at the weak @ Proton. Why not yell at the G to cut tax or better yet, vote them out. Other parties are willing to bring down car taxes but people still choose the one who start it.

• hipokrit on Feb 28, 2015 at 11:56 am

You will not buy Proton in duty-free Langkawi or Tasik Kenyir, Terengganu lah.

• Simple on Feb 28, 2015 at 2:02 pm

Why want Proton to close shop?
      Simple: Proton close shop, crony close shop

• kessler on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:36 pm

p1 = crony?
        Go out from cave

• You should get out from your pathetic company and see how the free market works.

• Why always cave? You caveman is it?

• They are lead by the same supervisor. Just look at the words used like cave, butthurt, my sister using proton so far ok. The construction of sentence also about the same.

• Simple brain on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:16 pm

You are wrong. The biggest crony is UMW bloodsucker

• What? on Feb 28, 2015 at 2:07 pm

What weak Proton? When take money from the rakyat, Proton is not weak. Now rakyat no longer support Proton, baru beri discount

• dscout on Feb 28, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Huh? Discount is normal , every year got, p1 and other brands

• Doesnt matter if gov still collecting taxes. At least 1 big fat parasite is gone.

• Arell on Feb 28, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Proton having closing down sale. All must go. AFter that close shop….

• fazron on Mar 01, 2015 at 12:20 am

Iriz pricing was way off from the get go. Whose responsible for that mistake? Iriz image already down. how to fix that? Not like this. dont know what is happening to proton. use stupid punch cvt as their auto transmission. Everytime launch new car, the price makes potential owner buy other cars.

• Are you driving one with CVT?

• driver on Mar 02, 2015 at 8:43 am

just the price?
      what about safety equipment? i dont think that you appreciate your safety from your statement.

• persona sv big discount on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:30 pm

HA HA HA saga sv now sell at 2.5k loss… first buyer kena con by proton.. sell at 500 profit konon. sv have just got super sv… hari raya coming saga sv be ome super duper sv with extra extra discout

• undertaker (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Too many pariah sports cars on the road

• triple h (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Pariah sports cars

• nancytang on Mar 28, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Why the new saga tail lights are so small compared to the older blm models ?!! Everyone commented that they looks stupid … Proton should fire that silly designer before he/she create more stupid tail lights in their future models !!!

• michael wong on May 16, 2015 at 7:01 pm

Proton saga blm/flx fabric seat’s designs are very funny & dirty looking … didn’t buy the car because of them.

• Susan Chong on May 21, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Deciding to buy saga flx or axia … like the axia but worried it might be underpowered … the saga is ok but dislike the whole tail portion … not impressive at all especially the tail lights ! Anybody has any suggestion to offer , tq

• Susan Chong on May 21, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Deciding to buy a axia or a saga flx . Axia may be underpowered … saga flx is ok except the whole tail portion especially the tail lights are not impressive at all . Could anybody offer any advices. TQ !

• Foong Sai Yook on Jul 11, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Not buying the new saga flx no matter whatever the promotion price simply because of the silly looking tail lights … it’s possibly the smallest compared to most other cars !!! Will hold my purchase until next year in the hope that they can design something less silly!