Aston Martin Lagonda Taraf available for Malaysia?

Aston-Martin-Lagonda-Exterior-0032

We somehow knew it wouldn’t stay Middle East-only for long, but this comes as a very pleasant shocker. The British carmaker has announced a slew of countries that the Aston Martin Lagonda Taraf (this is probably its final production name) is now available in – and Malaysia is one of them!

Yup, the super-luxury saloon has been re-engineered for right-hand drive, and will be offered to clients through Aston Martin’s VIP sales programme, “with precise pricing details remaining confidential.” The prices are likely to vary significantly anyway, due to almost-limitless customisation options via the ‘Q by Aston Martin’ bespoke service.

The Aston Martin Lagonda Taraf launched in Dubai late last year, and was initially a Middle East-only model. The series is “strictly limited” to 200 cars. A 550 hp 6.0 litre V12 and a six-speed ZF auto bestow the carbon fibre-bodied vehicle with a top whack of 280 km/h.

Like William Towns’ controversial 1976 original (right), the Lagonda Taraf features slim headlamps that are ‘connected’ to the front grille – although obviously interpreted in a much less angular way. The thick C-pillars and sweep-up lower rear overhang are also clear nods to the old car.

Based on the Rapide‘s flexible VH platform, the super saloon is hand-built in Gaydon, Warwickshire, UK by Aston’s Q division (which also gave us the Vulcan, Vantage GT3CC100 SpeedsterV12 Zagato and One-77), in the same building the One-77 supercar was conceived.

“Opening up the Lagonda Taraf to an increased number of customers around the world was a high priority for me as soon as I joined Aston Martin late last year,” said CEO Andy Palmer.

Aston-Martin-Lagonda-Exterior-0031

“I wanted to be able to offer this exceptional saloon to the potential owners from around the globe who have been enquiring about it, and I’m very happy that we have been able to expand the Lagonda proposition,” he added.

If, by chance, you’re thinking of getting one and wondering how it’ll stand up to the Malaysian heat, Aston has tested a prototype in Muscat, Oman, where it covered 22,500 km in temperatures ranging from 30 to 50 degrees Celsius. And because it was painted black, cabin surface temperatures soared to a sweltering 80 degrees Celsius.

A taraf above the rest? You bet.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• kenot on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Aston Martin Lagonda Taraf..this car will “setaraf” with super duper rich owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • BOYRACER on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:09 pm

When you buy this then your Taraf will naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:17 pm

kerana Malaysia berTaraf dunia bolehlah Aston Martin Taraf datang ke Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Now, that is a looker!

• nabill (Member) on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:31 pm

they probably had an eye on the 1MBD n how so many milked it , so probably it will be sold out !

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:36 pm

A worthy rival to the sporty limo exoticas : Bentley Mulsanne & Maserati Quattroporte..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 02, 2015 at 4:38 pm

taraf or not…ia tak setaraf maybach aku….itu best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
  • puns… puns everywhere….

• Come to Malaysia & rebadge as Proton Tara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • keluangman on Mar 02, 2015 at 5:28 pm

I am not yet Taraf this car as salary not seTaraf

• Josh Ling on Mar 02, 2015 at 5:46 pm

that is one taraf that i want to upgrade myself too! omg, that name……..

• Hussien on Mar 02, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Well if this legend can come to Malaysia, rest assured it will be taken by those royalties. What do royalties have??? besides money. LOL. besides, it’s tax-free for them. They are above the law.

• Really on Mar 02, 2015 at 9:38 pm

If you need to ask the price, you are not at the Taraf of owning it…

• Dodol on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:10 am

Taraf Lagenda punya Aston Martin. that`s how the owner would introduce his car to friends family. :D

• the rear looks so ugly