2015 Peugeot 308 to be launched in Malaysia in April, all-new 408 sedan and 508 facelift range later this year

New_Peugeot_308_Allure_EO0T5198-1

Nasim, the official distributor of Peugeot vehicles in Malaysia will be busy this year, with planned introductions of the 2015 Peugeot 308 hatchback, the all-new 408 sedan and the 508 facelift range. These three models will be launched in 2015, as revealed by Nasim’s GM of product and marketing, Yasser Awan today.

First to arrive will be the new second-generation 308 – the 2014 European Car of the Year – which will be here as early as next month. From what we know so far, only one variant will be available – the turbocharged 1.6 litre THP165 model with a six-speed automatic gearbox.

Next in line is the updated 508 range, currently set for a Q2 local launch. Details are yet unclear, but you can expect it to mirror the current 508 line-up rather closely, but with the base THP156 engine upgraded to the newer THP165 unit.

The all-new Peugeot 408 will be the last to reach here, sometime in the second half of 2015. Built on the same EMP2 modular platform as the 2015 308 hatchback, the new model promises to be quite an exciting sedan. We’ll have more information on these models when they are available.

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 408

GALLERY: Peugeot 508 facelift

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• George Abdul on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Finally a real Global Small Car is here… and not the so called self proclaim GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Top Gear on Peugeot on Mar 03, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Go and see last weeks episode of Top Gear. Jeremy Clarkson officially announced that Peugeot make junk cars.

The whole team at Top Gear said Peugeot produced the best cars in the world 30 years ago. But now, their quality is so so so so so bad. So memalu kan.

Once you see that episode, you will realise what a fraud Peugeot is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
      • George Abdul on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Fine if Peugeot make junk car… P1 worst then a junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • going to top gear for car review is like going to a zoologist to learn rocket science

• somebody still believes those bias top gear guys here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • SKYjack on Apr 14, 2015 at 7:53 am

It is silly to conclude from watching Top Gear. No proper evaluation takes place, it’s an entainment show. Sometimes the show is simply stupid & shameful on the choice of material.

• It is well known that top gear’s team is still dug in England-France very old war…but it is true that Peugeog has still some improvments to make in order to reach Honda’s reliability (German cars are as reliable has French cars). I had 4 peugeot, no major problem, some details managed by the service.

• In China the 508 are available with an all new 1.8THP engine, produce 200bhp and around 280NM of torque, I wonder if this engine will be available for M’sia?

• Berann on Mar 03, 2015 at 1:11 pm

Peugeot?? hmm . 2013 Peugeot 308 Turbo now is selling for RM 54k. Depreciate almost 60% in 2 years! Who dare to buy? Not to mention their expensive & unreliable parts and lousy after sales service. No doubt Peugeot 508 & 308 are nice with good specs and reasonable pricing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 60
  • Peugeot is offering good car with reasonable price.
    put a side rv,this is the brand of choice with balance of quality and price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • TooSilly! on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • If you can name a car with 6 air bags ready with esc and 160hp 240nm 0-100km/h in less than 9 sec only at price less than 120k.
        it has to be peugeot,nobody else.

• TooSilly! on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:40 pm

If that is the ONLY criteria you have for a good quality car, then good for you. I prefer a car that is durable, rather than having all the bells and whistles, but breakdown fairly often, fairly early into ownership. I dont need a car where I have to take care of it more than it is able to solve my problem.

• Vios base model suit you the best.

• I dun want a car with so boring look interior and exterior. Durable? Also not criteria to determine as a quality car.

• GTR36 (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Not when after-service sucks and spare parts are expensive. Also Peugeot is very good at cutting prices to get sales going, in the UK, they even give you loan financing with low interests.

• how you know the service suck? Have you owned one before or are you just saying what others are saying?

• 008 Lion (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 11:20 pm

how come my experience with sc (perak) is way better than my experienced with the perodua?? you sure own a pug?

• Can we have a diesel 308 with a manual box please

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:12 pm

The 308/408 look like a nice package inside out. The facelifted 508 however is not – that new front face is not a pretty sight.Simply ungainly. Peugeot should had just tweaked the current 508’s front end design slightly. What a big shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • nice!

• 208/308 sedan mana? If got I straightaway book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • bro neither of those exists

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 7:16 pm

308 sedan only in China. The 308 LWB sedan is called the 408 and you can buy that now. Please go to your nearest Peugeot showroom to place your booking.

• labix7 on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:39 pm

408 rear lamp looks like nissan sylphy.
    anyway … don’t talk about resale value if other than T & H brand in m’sia.

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:42 pm

The new 308 is a real stunner. Looks 11/10 in the metal, though a pity we won’t see the 1.2THP.

The 408 looks OK, but the new 508 somehow feels less resolved compared to the older one. Having said that the rear light bars look pretty nice.

So looking forward to the 308.

• Don Juan De Marco on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:22 pm

The facelifted 508’s rear lights looks very nice, too bad the whole design package was spoilt by the fagly front end(grille)!

• pity. Let’s hope when the 208 FL arrives here (probably next year) it’ll have the 1.2T

• 008 Lion (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 11:25 pm

perhap the look of the 508 is a subjective matter. i prefer the facelifted design, while i’m not saying the prefacelift is not good. both has its own strength. completely agree with you on the 308.

• Pug_pain on Mar 03, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Totally agree, on the specification wise I think Peugeot is a good buy, just wondering have anyone had any experience with Peugeot service center? my wife car is still waiting for his faulty “car seat cover”. Her car was purchased 3 years ago, pray hard that the other parts will be working fine.

• If u want a fast 1, collect them at the “industri ringan Kempas” junk pile…sure get! I’m not joking!

• x-city on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:31 pm

I own the 508p no major issue till now, still happy with the car, for the service centre still ok for my opinion
    But hey…i still glad that i choose 508p than passat.

Peace..

• How long have you been owning 508?

• x-city on Mar 03, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Almost 2 year

• TooSilly! on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:42 pm

Wait one more year… Third year is when all problems start to surface. First to come is all sorts of engine oil leaking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • 008 Lion (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 11:28 pm

i own the 5008. totally agree with you. i’m happy with my ride and the service centre. very friendly

• sick&tired on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:01 pm

the newer peugeot’s have really improved leaps and bound over the older models. I have had the opportunity to sit in the 508, and the interior quality is a really superb.

• Pug 208 Gti on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:59 pm

I am 208 GTi owners and have 10 members in our club, none of us have any complains in our car.

To be fair to Peugeot their quality has improve in the latest platform based car

• WUV69XX 407 Kuantan on May 16, 2015 at 10:30 am

I am 407 owner… my friends of mine (datok) own BMWs sport and BMW X1… He told me Peugeot 407 is much better ride than his BMWs… ma…. He plans to own one in near future… Come on Peugeot haters read my statement… This Datok got a couple of BMWs… really appreciated me as peugeot owner!!!
    No money dont talk about peugeot maa….