OFFICIAL: New Honda Civic Type R revealed in Geneva – 2.0L VTEC Turbo with 310 PS, 400 Nm!

Honda Civic Type R-01

This is it, the new Honda Civic Type R. Honda has revealed the much-anticipated hot hatch to selected media (we’re not in the list) a day before its proper debut at the 2015 Geneva Motor Show, and with that are official pics and info.

The “race car for the road”, as the latest Type R is billed, is powered by a 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo engine that can push the six-speed manual (thanks, Honda), front-wheel-drive car to 270 km/h – that we already know.

What’s revealed now is that the Earth Dreams Technology direct-injection unit makes a massive 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and max torque of 400 Nm at 2,500 rpm. Redline is 7,000 rpm in keeping with the high-revving Type R tradition, but we’ll miss the north of 8,000 rpm Type R redlines of the past.

That’s just 10 horses less than the new Ford Focus RS‘ 320+ PS, which is made with 300 cc more. In any case, Honda says that the Civic Type R boasts the most performance in the FWD hot hatch arena (Focus RS is now AWD) and is the fastest one too, with a 0-100 km/h time of 5.7 seconds.

Honda Civic Type R-08

The CTR was subject to exhaustive aerodynamic work, through computer-based CFD modelling and wind tunnel testing at Honda’s dedicated motorsports facility in Sakura, Japan (home of the company’s F1 engine development), and prototype testing on the road and on tracks such as Suzuka, Nurburgring and the in-house Takasu facility.

An almost completely flat underside aids airflow and combines with a rear diffuser to optimise downforce. The structure of the rear wing – angle, height, shape and vertical end plates – have been selected to optimise downforce without causing a big increase in drag at higher speeds. A wide front splitter and deep side skirts also manage airflow and reduce lift, while the front bumper has been shaped to inhibit air turbulence around the front wheels.

Heat management was another major focus, influencing several prominent external design modifications. Enlarged upper and lower grilles up front allow greater volume air into the engine. The airflow is channelled to outlet vents above the wheels on the front quarter panels and vents at the trailing edges of the widened front wheel arches to provide greater cooling and ventilation for the turbo motor.

Honda Civic Type R-12

At each corner are 19-inch alloys wrapped with bespoke design 235/35 tyres. A Brembo brake package is standard, with four-piston front calipers grabbing 350 mm drilled discs.

The new CTR marks the debut of the ‘+R’ button, which sits on the opposite side of the push start button. When pressed, engine response is heightened, with torque-mapping changed to a more aggressive setting. The electric steering receives reduced power assistance (more responsive) and basic damping force from the new four-point Adaptive Damper System is increased by 30%.

Speaking of suspension, the front is held up by “Dual Axis Struts” that help to reduce torque steer by 50% compared to the standard Civic’s suspension, aided in its cause by a mechanical limited-slip differential. At the rear, the torsion beam is constructed with a bespoke “crushed pipe” that improves rear roll rigidity by 180%, Honda says.

Optional is a GT Pack that adds red highlights to the front and rear splitters, front and rear parking sensors, auto headlamps/wipers, dual-zone auto air con, red ambient lighting and electric folding door mirrors. Integrated Garmin satellite navigation is added to the Honda Connect infotainment system, linked to an eight-speaker 320-watt stereo.

The GT Pack also includes Honda’s Advanced Driver Assist Systems. This comprehensive suite of sensor-based safety technologies includes Forward Collision Warning, Lane Departure Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition system, High-Beam Support System, Blind Spot Information and Cross Traffic Monitor. City-Brake Active will be fitted as standard on the Civic Type R.

To go on sale across Europe this summer, the Civic Type R is available in Crystal Black (pearlescent), Polished Metal (metallic), Brilliant Sporty Blue (metallic) and Milano Red, not forgetting the signature Championship White, of course.

UPDATE: As promised, we now present to you a comprehensive gallery of the latest Civic Type R in all its winged glory, fresh off the stand in Geneva. Have a closer look and let us know if this monster has been worth the wait!

GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R debuts in Geneva

2015 Honda Civic Type R

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ah Chong on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:10 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 128
  • no question or doubt on the car performance.
    question is will it come to malaysia and how much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Jonny Smallboy on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:19 am

I think at least RM220K. Up to RM260K also I not surprised.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:17 am

welcome back honda

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
  • Don Juan De Marco on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:20 am

Not a surprise anymore considering how many times we’ve seen the car’s image since last year. But I’m sure the public would be curious how the new Civic Type R would fare against the new Focus RS in real world performance.Can’t hardly wait to see the comparison test..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • new focus RS is AWD..so not quite on the same catagory now. should compare with megane

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • neemfa on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:23 am

Wow.. the spec sheet is so not the traditional Honda.. so many gadgets on a track-ready car.

Now, where is the Nurburgring record???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • know why I hate good looking concepts? look at the rear of this car….

other than that, 310ps to the front wheels…. MADNESS

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:43 am

it is. but then its also a technicaly impressive car.

However, the performance numbers whow the limitations of the FWD chassis. I owned 2 cars with similar power outputs, An Eagle Talon/Eclipse with the Turbo 4G63 and a Camaro Z28 with the LT1. both made roughy the same power as the CTR , the camaro being the weaker and heavier of them.

The turbo 4 AWD runs to 100 in 4.8 sec and the heavier RWD camaro in 5.7s same as the CTR despite bing much heavier. Both cars will hit 270 as well. Both runs the 1/4 mile in near identical 13.5 and 13.8s

and Danny, this turbo mill is nowhere as high reving as the old legendary CTRs….even my 4G63T will rev to 8200.

but then again, credit is where credit is due…the CTR is going to be a fun car like past CTRs…and will likely turn my 2 cars into its breakfast on a short circuit.

but I still think the Ford RS will be better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
      • Don Juan De Marco on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:23 am

On-paper specs would suggest that the Ford Focus RS would be superior to the Civic Type R, especially if the Ford’s AWD sytem is configured correctly (e.g sharper handling).If it’s more towards understeering in nature (like what normally found in Audi’s Quattro system) than it could be a different story.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Today, carmakers are offering this level of performance while adhering to strict emissions standards and offering acceptable fuel economy. Those things were alien concepts back in the day :)

• Even with all that power, I bet it won’t go round The Ring faster than the Seat Leon Cupra or even the Megane 265. The only race this will win is top speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
    • raffix on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:18 pm

It already did in June 2014.
      7 mins 50 sec.

• Peace on May 22, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Done that..

• Cabrillo on Aug 11, 2015 at 10:05 am

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_N%C3%BCrburgring_Nordschleife_lap_times

Here’s a list of all the car it beat…
      it’s time is 7:50

Just to name a few, it’s faster than the Hellcat, M3, Porsche 911, Ferrari F430 F1, Corvette C5 Z06, Skyline R33, and a lot more..

Here’s a video proof
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSt02xpRe9Y

• TROLOLOL on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:30 am

OMG~!!!

• The Japs are back in the performance segment!

Having been in the segment alone for so long, the WRX STi has finally got a friend! (or rival?)

I do hope these techs filter down to normal road cars while maintaining good prices though.

• forrest the tree on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:43 am

Hhnnngggghhhhh!!!!

• hvannees on Mar 03, 2015 at 8:56 am

Lajen… Awesome

• chrislai on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:00 am

HOT

• azhar on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:09 am

proton fans gonna hate this car coz it used torsion beam set up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • mitsu on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:30 am

i think people get it okay? no need for two comments. try hard sgt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • So I guess that there’s no integrated rear lights to the rear spoiler as shown in the concept.. Pity as I thought that idea was exciting and awesome!!!

• spongewai on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:16 am

310bhp instead of 280bhp

yea man, Type R is back

• eventhough i’m pretty sure can’t afford one,

but torsion beam doubt me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Woohoo

• earthcaliph on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:23 am

Gen-2/Persona tail lamp detected..!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Annoynimouse on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:24 am

Being developed to cater the European market, this CTR should be easier to live with on a daily basis. The outgoing JDM version was too hardcore for daily use compared to its European sibling albeit being faster on the track. Not having an AWD system should keep the price relatively low…hopefully.

• John X on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:33 am

Rear torsion beam? That’s straying away from the usual Honda performance set up. I remember when the Hondas used to have independent wishbones at the back. I hope someone can explain to me why this new CTR has a torsion beam over an independent set up.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 03, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Because this CTR is based on the City/Jazz platform, as was the previous one. The EP CTR was the last CTR based on a Civic Platform.

But don’t let torsion bars deter you. The Megane makes do with one well enough….you wont fault it for a lack of handling would you?

Even with wishbones, the rear is hardly “independednt”. You still have an anti-roll bar tying each end together.

The fact is, modern cars are very well set up, irregardless of its suspension type…only the most hardcore of us would be able to (or mad enough) tell the difference .

• John X on Mar 03, 2015 at 1:49 pm

Well thanks for your input. I hadn’t known that the Megane was on a torsion beam set up. I figured that modern cars using a torsion beam is cheaper for production as there are fewer parts and less complex than your multilinks.
        Food for thought.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Yes. Cost and Packaging. Torsion bars allow you to have a really really big boot.

The only real benefit of a multilink and double wishbone (with toe control link) is that it might allow suspension designers to allow for minor geometry changes on loading/unloading to give a little quasi “rear steering”. Look up Mazda’s DTSS if you have the time.

But on a normal road going car, a torsion bar is more reliable, less links to get bent, and less rubber bushings to go rotten on you.

• JeremyNg on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:33 am

So the multi-million dollar question is “Did they break the FF record at The Ring ?? ”

That’s the main aim before they make this car right, to be the world fastest FF car and also fastest FF on Nurburgring

• Josh Ling on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:34 am

come to papa! can’t wait for the next hot car to come up, honda, please revive the integra type R!

• rockybalboa on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:39 am

It may look flashy but it’s ugly….

Give me a VW GTI anyday!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:48 am

400NM (which happens very early on at 2500rpm as well) is still a lot of torque for the front wheels to handle. Now they need to detune that engine and put it in the our Civic here.

No more complaints about Hondas lacking low rev pace now with the turbo in service. So no need to rev it so high to extract its performance potential. Though i’m sure the driver will still rev it like there’s no tomorrow, cos hey, it is a Type R after all.

• samad on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:11 am

samad minat kereta ni tapi samad tak berkenan dengan bontot civic ni sebab tinggi sangat, yang lain samad rasa dah memang cun,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • kenot on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:21 am

wow!vtec+turbo.

• sepul on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:22 am

Nice! To those who lament the use of torsion beam, remember the smaller Fiesta ST, Clio RS, and 208 GTI also uses torsion beam rear suspension. Nothing wrong with such design. They handles like a pro.

Anyone knows all Corvette generation uses leave spring at the rear? Including the new C7.

• neemfa on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Many of those who lament the torsion beam probably couldn’t tell the difference on the road.. just bash for no reason.

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:16 pm

They bash for a reason, they read somewhere or some publications that torsion is bad/less superior and suddenly all torsion beams fitted cars are dangerous cars that will loose control during cornering

Same shit when there were articles comparing disc vs drum brakes
        Suddenly driving in cars fitted with drum brakes even on the rear will get your family killed because its less superior than disc brakes

• applegreen on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:36 am

cant afford A45 amg? now you have alternative choice!

• samad on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:52 am

please put this monstrous engine into the current FB body, i like all the design and features except the REAR BUTT coz very high and hideous

• fareez on Mar 03, 2015 at 11:46 am

Honda follows the line of Nissan (Skyline). Basically, a computer on wheels.

• sipolan abu on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:13 pm

what an ugly car if proton la…welcome back honda!

• the rear are so different from the concept…the concept rear much more better…

• ibrahim on Mar 03, 2015 at 12:57 pm

ibrahim pon rasa macam x mampu beli. sbb rim 19 inci. jalan di Malaysia begitu awesome. Jadi ibrahim save as kat pc opis untuk dijadikan wallpaper. Welcome back Type R.

• therealmaserati on Mar 03, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Brilliant brilliant car! I test drove the previous CTR and it was magnificent.

This is probably one of the greatest cars to ever come out from Japan. Of course still have to bow down to the mighty GTR.

Cant wait to test drive the latest one! My goodness 310HP and 400NM Torque is monstrous.

This will be one car that will destroy a lot of hothatches out there especially the Golf R.

And you guys are saying the Koreans are on par with the Japs? Hahahahaha.. not anytime soon or in the near future.

• Enthu on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:07 pm

The Golf R sprints to 5 sec dead in 0-100. What the heck are you talking about.

• therealmaserati on Mar 03, 2015 at 2:32 pm

I am not sure if ur dumb or what but pls ask urself this question.

What happens after 100kmh? So meaning the golf r wins the 0-100kmh sprint means he wins the race? Use ur brain and think la.

CtR has more hP. In a long race, the CTR will blow the Golf R away.

• droll on Mar 03, 2015 at 3:58 pm

the golf R is still a very fast car even beyond 100km/h. 0-100 is part of the performance figure. beyond 100, we’ll have to pit the two cars side-by-side to see how they behave. and then there’s the matter of how it goes around a corner.

the competition for Honda is stiff. but one thing I remember all Type-Rs for is – M.E.N.T.A.L!!!!!!!!! and that should be the true mark of a Type-R!!!

• thedarkside on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:50 pm

my proton CFE can smoke all these cars anytime lah..with my lotus handling all these japs,korean, german car companies can go back to kindergarten and learn how to make proper car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • MitchelJohn on Mar 03, 2015 at 3:58 pm

I’m probably the only one that wants to see how does the backrow seats fair up to the rest of the line up

• MitchelJohn on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:04 pm

I’m probably the only one here that wants to see more of the interior especially the backrow, seeing how it fairs and also the space.

• thedarkside on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:25 pm

proton is responding with a twin turbo brand new 2.0 engine that can do 400bhp and 550Nm!!! take that honda,toyota,bmw m division, amg, renault, pagani,subaru,mitsubishi, VW and the rest of the world!!!

• wajib on Mar 04, 2015 at 1:57 am

Proton is busy giving discount to clear out the 2014 old stock. No time for other thing la bro..

• Dingopete on Mar 03, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Two comments.
    1) It says the aero maximises downforce – actually suspect it minimises lift – unless the coefficient of lift Cl, is negative, this car develops lift, not down force!! In my memory, only SW20 MR2 had a negative CL and therefore genuine downforce?
    2) LFA RWD massacres big dumb AWD GTR as a driving experience

• Dingopete on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Dual axis struts – Toyota introduced the same thing 15 years ago on Corolla (super strut) and other manufacturers have introduced it since. Honda Yawn. Be honest.

• Levin on Mar 03, 2015 at 5:45 pm

Torsion beam? The last CTR (FN2R) that utilized torsion beam was heavily criticized for the poor handling. Hopefully the JDM version will be more aggressive than this and they better workaround that torsion beam.

• fsdfsdf on Mar 03, 2015 at 7:25 pm

you all so exited for wat?…Honda Malaysia wont bring in also…unless go for grey import..which u knoe ~

• Goreng on Mar 03, 2015 at 9:15 pm

What’s the point if it doesn’t enter our market…

• Really on Mar 03, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Honda should consider making a sedan CTR as well. The rear design of the hatchback is not very good looking. Some will say it’s the performance that counts, not looks. But honestly, when you already pay a premium over a normal Civic, don’t you expect it to look better than a normal Civic too? To think that the concept looks good just rubs the salt in.

• bryan on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:43 am

Finally, the match made in heaven,

VTEC + TURBO

Heavenly…

• Sammy on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:50 am

More power with turbo is good.
    But I somehow still miss a NA 8500rpm high rev engine with weight control build in… I guess I am the rare soul that wish Honda stick to the old formula.
    The biggest regret for me is I didn’t get the chance to buy a S2000 when it was still available. Couldn’t afford back then.

• danedz on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:00 am

I will wait for the Mugen package version for this type R.

• hpmurah2u on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:50 am

awesome! ok bai

• elson on Mar 04, 2015 at 9:41 pm

only believe in turbo, the vtec only have 10% chance to kick in lolx

• Danny on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:01 pm

A bit over done for exterior look, too much torque on fw drive will create torque steel if I not wrong, that”s will mess the overall handling I guess.

• sambalbabi on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:52 am

depending on its price,(assuming it costs below RM300k) i’d still put my money on the new wrx sti.

• troll on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Iris vvt turbo will have 700nm la..this one will be outdated soon..way to go Proton!

• armandd on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:50 am

Thanks Honda for making 6-speed manual the only available transmission. This would filter out a lot of posers.

• Malaysia car price 1 hp = 1 k, should be around 300k.

• Mat Honda on Jul 04, 2015 at 2:18 am

Aku nk beli selepas PRU 14, mungkin dah xada GST. Apa pun abang baru dah nak smpai, yang lain kasi hormat. TURBO bro !!! 306HP standard, belum modified engine lagi. Pergh Maybe boleh sampai 4++

Thats why them called ” The Power Of Dreams” GoGoHonda