BMW 520d Sport introduced in Malaysia – 50 units

2015-f10-bmw-520d-sport-exterior-002

The F10 BMW 520d has been updated for the 2015 model year in Malaysia with the new B47 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine, which now outputs 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque, up from the 184 hp and 380 Nm of the engine it replaces. The car was officially introduced at the BMW Malaysian Open 2015 in KL.

Along with the new engine comes something very interesting – something to ‘celebrate’ the introduction of the new mill. The car is a limited-edition variant called the F10 BMW 520d Sport. It has extra equipment over the regular 520d – 18-inch double-spoke Style 613M alloy wheels with staggered 245/45 and 275/40 tyres, an M Sport steering wheel (no paddle shifters), and an M Sport exterior kit.

It’s not a full-fledged M Sport car like its more well-equipped sibling the 528i M Sport, so it’s missing certain M Sport equipment such as the BMW M badges and side sills.

2015-f10-bmw-520d-sport-interior-012

The 528i M Sport also features black window surrounds (the 520d Sport uses the normal chrome surround), black headliner, aluminium trim (the 520d Sport uses high-gloss black trim), paddle shifters, a Sport Automatic Transmission and sports seats.

Only 50 units will be made available, after which you’ll still be able to buy the 520d with the new 190 hp, 400 Nm engine with the same equipment as the 2014 car – these include adaptive LED headlamps, 17-inch wheels, iDrive with navigation and Siri support, Dynamic Damper Control and a 10.25-inch Multifunctional Instrument Display that replaces the traditional analogue instrument panel with a fully digital one.

The 2015 BMW 520d Sport will retail for RM354,800 on-the-road without insurance, which is the same price as the regular 520d. If you like the M Sport steering and the M Sport exterior kit, sounds like a bargain.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cendol (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:05 pm

2 years warranty only.
    No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
    • Burong on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:28 pm

BMW is for the rich. So this is for status, not calculator buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • BMW bukan utk orang kaya. Kalau kaya better terus beli porshe atau jaguar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
        • Bulu Ketiak on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:37 pm

From your comments it shows u have shallow knowledge about cars.

Pls do not simply talk rubbish otherwise you are showing your ignorance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0rrrr on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Ppl get BMW when they want the “rich people” status badly. See the BMW RV then you know. You can get a 2005 3 series cheaper than our new Vios now.

Truely rich people stick with Lexus. They know they can trust on Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
        • alldisc on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:15 pm

BMW ialah utk org kaya. di mana2 tempat seluruh dunia.

hakikatnya mereka ada 7 series, 6 series coupe, 5 series (dan M5 monster).untuk sesiapa yg kurang mampu, ada 3 series.

masih lagi kurang mampu, ini sebabnya mengapa 1 series dan 2 series dihasilkan.

jadinya mereka yg tidak begitu kaya masih boleh merasa kereta yg berprestij dan teknologi tinggi cuma perlu berkorban dari segi saiz dan kuasa.

• mrlorenzo on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:47 pm

pity on u…u mau duit ker??? haha

• then why MB/Audi is giving 4 years warranty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • Because without 4 years warranty MB/Audi can not sell, this simple fact you also don’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
        • rally_fan (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:13 am

bmw still outsold mercedes and audi in Malaysia. so maybe they give 4 years to try and entice more customers to buy their brands.

• alldisc on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:40 pm

BMW has several tricks up their sleeve.

these include Basic Service + Repair Inclusive package of between 3-5 years.

these service package gives “warranty-like” coverage and even longer than Merc & Audi. and it comes from BMW, not insurance company like VW.

• Alan Tan on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:15 pm

if rich why get bmw ? CKD car and so slow

• antiH on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:32 am

it’s not meant for you.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Now my 1 Million Question: Bila Euro 5 Diesel gonna introduce in KL/Selangor???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:10 pm

almost the same price as the tax free hybrid E-class

• maXref (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:11 pm

One last update to sell the cars before G30 models. Unless they throw massive discounts to sell these cars, i wouldn’t recommend anyone to buy em at this time. Their values would plummet down by the end of this year / early 2016 when G30 5 series are out.

• maXref (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:12 pm

any info on how fast this car is with the new engine? 0-100?

• Jimmy on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Sporty luxurious vehicle without sunroof = detached bungalow without swimming pool.

Sportscar without < 6 second 0-100km sprint = detached bungalow < 16 points & < 4000 sq feet.

Minimum standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Bulu Ketiak on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:38 pm

Sunroof is hardly relevant in our humid climate.

• antiH on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:34 am

Ko ni duduk negara mana yg beria sgt nak Sunroof? Nak kena bakar dgn Matahari ke? Byk sgt komplen. Mcm nak beli,

• sick&tired on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:34 pm

why only dual climate control???? i personally would take the 520d. don’t buy from auto bavaria, wearnes or ingress is better.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:42 pm

i think e class hybrid is better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • maXref (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:35 pm

For those concerned with RV, diesel = poor RV. Hybrid = even poorer RV
      Diesel Hybrid = go figure

• Bulu Ketiak on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Thats because youre just a dirty old man :)

• maXref (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:33 pm

poor guy BMW. Every update, every facelift, every new model gets bashed with the same comment.. 2 years warranty. BMW car sales still going strong regardless. People who buy em still buy them. Haha, its like paultan readers don’t know anything else to comment on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:48 pm

Its not the readers don’t know anything else to comment on
      They are typical keyboard warriors, all complain but do nothing
      Day in day out complain X country car cheaper, Y country oil cheaper, z country salary better, but in the end still here complaining and haven’t migrate yet

• but the truth is the 2 years warranty really is pathetic by today’s standard. Thats BMW malaysia taking you for a ride

• Sandiwara (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Truth is, manufacturer’s parts defect will showed up within less than a year of usage
          That is the basis of a warranty against defect but not wear and tear, it is only pathetic by your standard

Good quality products wont need a long warranty, a long warranty may show that a manufacturer does not have confidence in its own products

The real pathetic part with long warranty in Malaysia is where idiots abusing it to claim for wear and tear/abusive usage of the car
          Thats car buyers taking manufactures for a ride

• Merc Boss on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:53 am

Haha…I called all my kuncu kuncu to bash kao kao mah…

• Gracke on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:59 pm

F30 320d come on……come on….hurry!!!! :-)

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:29 pm

Basically it’s just taking the standard one and pasting the M Sport bodykit and steering.
    A new steering with airbag is about 7k, then the M Sport exterior kit was about 18k for the last gen, with installation. The rims are easily about 20k fitted (tyres itself for 18″ RFT is about 2.5k a piece so…)

Kinda good bargain actually… The fact is by end of next year the G30 is out, at which point the F10’s value will collapse. Those who have had the car for about 3-4 years won’t feel it too much, but the final batches will really feel the slide…

• c14man on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:29 pm

So is there paddle shifters or no paddle shifters?

In one paragraph, it says “Along with the new engine comes something very interesting ….. an M Sport steering wheel (no paddle shifters), and an M Sport exterior kit.

In another paragraph, it says “The car also features black window surrounds….. aluminium trim (the 520d Sport uses high-gloss black trim), paddle shifters, a Sport Automatic Transmission and sports seats.”

The interior pictures don’t seem to show paddle shifters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • “The 528i M Sport also features black window surrounds (the 520d Sport uses the normal chrome surround), black headliner, aluminium trim (the 520d Sport uses high-gloss black trim), paddle shifters, a Sport Automatic Transmission and sports seats.”

No paddle shifters, its only for the 528i M Sport.

• Leonon on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:43 pm

The 528i M Sport also features black window surrounds (the 520d Sport uses the normal chrome surround), black headliner, aluminium trim (the 520d Sport uses high-gloss black trim), paddle shifters, a Sport Automatic Transmission and sports seats.

READ first few words.

• Wally on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:23 am

This guy cannot read arr..cincai oni write stuff

• mrlorenzo on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:21 pm

who care about RV..i have a lot of money….

• 2 years warranty on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Limited units- same price with additional equipment. Good bargain and nice gimmicks. …

Unfortunately 2 years warranty…

• jinggo on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:30 pm

BMW1916 number plate anyone?

• mamatwhyla on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:49 am

Banyak Makan Wang

Big Money Waste

If u are filthy rich, none of the above concern u.

Kekeke

• big nose on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:32 pm

+ Banyak Masuk Workshop bro. most of bmw customer is hypocrite 1. they said their car got no problem unfortunately lg byk spend masa dekat workshop dr pakai. LOL

• LoveBMW on Mar 05, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Frankly Speaking, The Car it self look very handsome.Only Worry about the on the road stability.

• elson on Mar 12, 2015 at 9:11 am

got money I can import my self la, 50unit just a sales technic, and what look so special? so vios TRD also limited edition? e class look much much better la