GALLERY: Honda Civic Type R debuts at Geneva 2015

Honda Civic Type R Geneva Live 37

Here we go – live snaps of the 2015 Geneva show-stopper on the stand. The “race car for the road” that is the new Honda Civic Type R simply couldn’t ooze more aggression when viewed in the metal.

More so when you gloss over all its juicy bits – 2.0 litre VTEC Turbo with 7,000 rpm redline, 310 PS at 6,500 rpm and 400 Nm of torque at 2,500 rpm, six-speed manual, 0-100 km/h in 5.7 seconds, 270 km/h top whack, ‘+R’ button, four-point Adaptive Dampers, mechanical limited-slip diff, Brembo stoppers… Honda is saying all the words we want to hear.

Bearing fruit too, it seems – the Japanese carmaker has announced the Nurburgring lap time for its mental machine: 7 minutes 50.63 seconds. That’s almost four seconds faster than the current front-wheel drive lap record holder, the Renault Megane RS 275 Trophy-R (7:54.36).

Unfortunately, the boys can’t go to town just yet, as the record run wasn’t official. But rest assured – if we know Honda, they’ll be seeking to go back to the ‘Ring with the Trophy in their sights.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Biggbro on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:12 am

Woww, my boyhood dreams making a grand comeback…it’ll be insanely priced out though once it reached here.

• lpost on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:36 pm

previous tyreR was rm199k official.

• JonnySmallBoy on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:15 am

My spider senses are telling me this will be priced somewhere around RM220K to RM260K

• ctrslow on Mar 04, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Wasting time car, bodykit like crazy quad tail pipe 400nm still cannot even reach 4 secs century sprint

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • GT3 (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:29 pm

So, straight line acceleration is ALL that matters to u in measuring performance cars?

• applegreen on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:22 am

5.7 sec, i thought this car faster than subaru wrx sti

• neemfa on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:26 am

Shame that they reverted back to suspended type accelerator pedal.. organ type is nicer to use for daily driving.

Overall nice car but seats are too red.

• Jules on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:45 am

Another fight for Renault now…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:58 am

this car makes me wonder if the wrx sti is still significant or not….subaru needs to improve its act

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:01 pm

fantastic beast

• DonkeyKong on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Overpriced ah beng car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • heynekko on Mar 04, 2015 at 12:47 pm

The car was slipping all the time on Nurburgring. With better sets of tyres the can easily cut 3 seconds or more from the lap time

• GT3 (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:31 pm

Must use ‘stock’ production tyres, so that the car as close to production spec as possible to attempt this run.

• Francis on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:55 pm

How would you guys know what kind of sets of tyre they were using attempting the run? Is there such tyre that doesnt slips?

• Honda on Mar 04, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Wait baby i come for you sayang. But for now.. Drive my viva..

• Nissan on Mar 04, 2015 at 1:21 pm

370Z nismo is a better buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • berserker on Mar 04, 2015 at 1:32 pm

You wanna know to win a Renault? Because that’s how you win Renault.

• Carrer (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Hey Honda, you really make me want to buy it.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Finally, pictures of the engine. Looks very nice in red. It says there Earth Dreams (ED), so could this be a 2.0 litre version of the Accord 2.4 ED, but with turbo? Or is it a completely new engine block.

• Levin on Mar 04, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Btw, did anyone notice the Idle Stop button below the aircond controls on the dash?

• Like facelift only… yawn.