Lotus Evora 400 unveiled in Geneva by Tun Mahathir

Lotus-Evora-400-Geneva-4

The Lotus Evora 400, the fastest road-going Lotus, was officially unveiled in Geneva by Lotus chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah and Lotus CEO Jean-Marc Gales.

Details of the car were revealed last month – the 3.5 litre V6 engine gets a new supercharger, a water-to-air charge-cooler and a revamped engine management system, which bumps up output to 400 hp – up by 55 hp from the Evora S – and 410 Nm.

The car also gets reworked muffler internals and new engine mounts, and the six-speed manual transmission now has a new low inertia flywheel and a reworked clutch disc for better shift quality, and Torsen-type limited slip differential has been plonked on as well. Rated top speed is 300 km/h, and the century sprint is accomplished in 4.2 seconds.

Production of the Evora 400 begins in the summer, with first deliveries set to start in August. The company also announced in Geneva that combined production of Lotus models is set to increase to 70 cars per week from September this year, and that it will be adding 150 new personnel to its production taskforce.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• well, it’s the least Malaysian can do to shine in the international stage. *sigh*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 19
    • because Malaysian stupid, dunno make high quality and good looking car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 58
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:41 am

In coming 3 years PROTON will go global. GDI/TGDI in progress with fc below 4L/100km and euro 7 compliance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:03 am

Are Malaysian ? If you not don’t condemn my country go to your country and make it better.

• bebel on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:31 pm

Syukurlah Lotus pakai enjin Toyota. Jimat minyak, kurang rosak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 19
    • trollmaster3000 on Mar 04, 2015 at 9:23 pm

proton punya global car mana..? dah sampai test kat jalan ada snow lagi.. takkan malu kot nak tunjuk kat geneva..? kata global maa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • BMW 325i Coupe on Mar 04, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Proton, are you guys gonna give big discounts on Lotus Cars too? xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
    • Atoy-ot on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Toyota, are you guys gonna give big discounts on Lexus Cars too? xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
    • rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:05 am

Do you have business? if you do you know what to talk about if you don’t please leave the professional do what best

• alldisc on Mar 04, 2015 at 3:36 pm

in order to turn lotus around and make profit,

maybe lotus should rebadge satria neo… or iriz. he he he

but anyone remember Lotus Carlton, fastest 4 door saloon in the early 90s (top speed reaching 180mph)?
    it’s roots came from humble Vauxhall Carlton.
    (or Opel Omega)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • PapaG on Mar 04, 2015 at 3:53 pm

Lotus Neo GTI… 1.6 CFE with LSD manual fearbox

Got a nice ring to it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Don Juan De Marco on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:54 pm

The Opel Omega version was raced in the DTM series in the early 90s. Lotus Carlton version was a rival to the Merc AMG 300E “Hammer”.
      Maybe Lotus should start exploring new model with a wider mass market appeal.Latest sportscar maker to do this was Aston Martin. Their core sportscar line up also need major revamps (investment)..

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Mar 04, 2015 at 3:53 pm

This is a dead car cause it’s launched by Dr.M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 70
    • rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:08 am

Who are seem can see the future ? If you do just look for yours don’t bother the others because nobody pay you for that and do better thing

• i dunno Lotus Carlton

• kenot on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:05 pm

I admire Tun M..at 90 years old this year, he still can go everywhere, driving car and contribute his idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 36
    • ProtonGSC on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:50 pm

And his Proton rip your hard earn money owning a car.

Admired him more so he can ask his AP buddies to gain more and you? keep paying your debt for your whole life…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 60
      • rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:14 am

You only pay your debt not others. If your think you can do better well come show me one

• George Abdul on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:54 pm

Admired him more, His and his AP buddies will love you even more…

Just pay your loans and debts for your whole life kampung people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 45
    • mahcai on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Yes you buy Proton and his buddies drive Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 27
      • Nazri on Mar 05, 2015 at 8:26 am

Yes, Tun M and his people all drive Porsche Cayenne Hybrids and GT, Bentley Silver Spur, Audi A8 Limo, BMW 7 series and Bugatti Veyron and so on.

• Al haffi on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:18 pm

lotus is struggling in automotive. After long time a ABENG facelift unveil. for malaysia sake tutup la proton and lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • trollmaster3000 on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:02 am

setuju proton kasi tutup.. tapi lotus sell to other company larr..

• abdullah on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:06 pm

This man is obsessed with Lotus.Flogging a dead horse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
  • abdullah on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:09 pm

This man is obsessed with Lotus. Flogging a dead horse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
    • rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:10 am

Please be entrepreneur as suggested by your prophet and stop from condemning people from doing something good

• Lotus also not that popular in UK!!
    L=Lots
    O=of
    T=Trouble
    U=Usually
    S=Serious

Dr.M bungkus lah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 61
    • frossonice on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:24 pm

James May would like to differ.

See Top Gear Patagonia Special. Lotus Esprit Turbo was superb, even on marshland!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • “ring, ring” … I’ve got someone on the line for you … it’s the 1960’s wanting its joke back … had my Elise 14 years now and unbelievably reliable … loved in the UK by all who see her ;)

• rogaz on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:12 am

Made in china is more trouble, BMW is more trouble, or Rover or Ferari

• thepolygonal on Mar 04, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Wah.. the dash looks nice. Almost mistaken it for a Ghibli’s dashboard especially the red leather.

If only the new Satria Neo have some of this design… hmmm

• Guan Yin Maa on Mar 04, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Since DR M suka LOTUS, so LOTUS is malaysia own brand la, so same as proton la, can dont have import and excise duty or not?

• trollmaster3000 on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:04 am

lotus is malaysia own brand..?? hahah.. keep on dreaming larr..

• thedarkside on Mar 04, 2015 at 6:26 pm

terbaek dr m…u the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Samad Jain on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:02 pm

enjoy the trip while he can….

• zamer on Mar 04, 2015 at 7:50 pm

did you all noticed the wing mirror? its very familiar..
    just copy and paste like that will do for lotus. LOL

• BMW E36 Coupe on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:18 am

HOEEEEEEMYGAWD… YEAHH!!! THE SIDE MIRRORS ARE FROM PERSONA SV. LOL!

• Souya Tempe on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:00 am

If only they can copy paste this evora backlight to preve in the next buttlift. I’ll book one for sure.

• old dog on Mar 04, 2015 at 10:05 pm

unlike the 90s, car without own Engine are pushed towards 2nd-tier internationally.

• kamal idrus on Mar 04, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Tun,
    with due respect pleasse offer an equity stake to
    Toyota and for sure the sales numbers will leap!!
    No use continuing and struggling to get the numbers
    year after year.
    Time to take this bold step for the future of P1
    and your legacy!!!!
    And how come JM Gales is CEO?
    I thought you worry a mat salleh will soon be a PM of
    Msia.?.?..

• Adik manis on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:59 am

Sorry lah Toyota rather supply engine to Lotus than buying Lotus shares. Make loss how to get dividends? Bodoh.

Better open new factory at Bangladesh with AhBeng as new manager gaji minimum RM800.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • lotus chairman…dr M? serious ka? since when he appointed?

• Proud Malaysian on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:11 am

Guys, there’s issues on government ruling, but yet there are issues that made us proud as Malaysian.
    Despite the struggles in Lotus, the team still able to produce quality performance car. Evora is a great example. Understand and knowing more on the company current work, Lotus actually having a bright future. Only time will tell.

• The Limiter on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Good luck spending couple of hundred thousand for that 4 sec of fun.. Coz it’d gonna have 110km/h top speed. Hahaha

• Jason Bee on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:41 pm

buy a lexus/toyota car better