2016 Toyota Corolla Hybrid and/or facelift previewed?

2016_Toyota_Corolla_Hybrid_01

Toyota Europe has released a few promotional videos of its new Toyota Safety Sense suite (includes Pre-collision System, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beam and Road Sign Assist) that feature a peculiar looking car model. It looks to be a current Corolla wearing the front end of the latest Auris.

Could this preview the oft-rumoured 2016 Toyota Corolla Hybrid or even the upcoming facelift model? While the rear of the car in question matches that of the Malaysian-market Corolla Altis, the front is all new – taken straight off the recently-unveiled Auris facelift.

Reports suggesting that Toyota is working on a hybrid version of the Corolla are not new, and this car’s hybrid meter panel pretty much gives the game away. Such a model could either have the Prius’ 1.8 litre Hybrid Synergy Drive (HSD) power unit like on the Auris Hybrid, or the Prius c’s 1.5 litre HSD combo as seen on the JDM Corolla Axio Hybrid.

Time will tell whether the final version will look like this or not, but at the very least, this gives us an idea of how a Corolla Altis would look with an Auris-inspired face. What do you think, does it look better or worse?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• mainboard on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:31 pm

issit just me or toyota no longer appeals to me ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Don’t like Toyota? Don’t worry, we won’t ask you to leave Malaysia/Japan if you do (unlike the Proton fanboys). Please consider Lexus if Toyota no longer up to your expectation.

After all, there is solid reason why Toyota sell car the most in the world: People know Toyota can deliver what they want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • paulnut on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:12 pm

You shall buy altis for your son, not saga

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 05, 2015 at 8:48 pm

Junks is not allowed at my house, it attracts pests (cockroach,paulnut).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • mrlorenzo on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:50 pm

lexus?? no class bro…i better put my money to Genting lor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Why Toyota copy Myvi bumper design ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Wow, this looke great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Just feel that toyota car, facelift all the same… vios, bigger vios(altis) , Biggest vios(Camry)… look so similar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Too bad.. anythg hybrid or electric vehicle will never come into malaysia with a affordable price tag… support clean environment konon…

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Except for the Prius C. And Prius. And Jazz Hybrid CBU. And Audi A6 Hybrid. And Mercedes S400 Hybrid. And E300 BluTec Hybrid.

Malaysia does give 100% tax cuts for hybrids… before it was all hybrids below 2000cc IIRC, now it’s all hybrids assembled in Malaysia. The only big problem is that those cuts are only valid till the end of 2015 so far, and car makers need more time to be able to plan and get back their investment.

• drMpower on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:45 pm

i can only see the benefit of such uncertainty is proton is coming with the hybrids / range extenders / evs. Thats why they are doing the tax break on short term, annual basis

But correct me if i am wrong. For hybrids / evs apart from native Japan, I cant recall anywhere in Asia Toyota produce such type vehicle. i mean for Asia market. So why not malaysia? Honda managed to do that and doing very well at the moment.

• Bristol on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:45 pm

Toyota junk is not in my list because that car brand only store for corpses

• gajen on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Toyota Safety Sense suite (includes Pre-collision System, Lane Departure Alert, Automatic High Beam and Road Sign Assist).
    UMW will introduce the above in 2025

• UMWtoyota Suxks on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:36 am

UMW huge profit!
    Selling high price, low spec.
    I would say it’s CAR WORST OF THE YEARS!

It’s not TOYOTA’s fault!
    It’s UMW!

That’s why getting more and more ppl go for Honda, Kia, Nissan instead of Toyota.

Everybody agree Toyota’s reliability.
    But now, all ppl disagree to Toyota’s poor safety!

It’s unbelievable that Yr 2000s Altis with Traction Control. We cant find it in latest Camry and Altis!
    Toyota Global, Moving forward!
    UMW Malaysia, Moving backward!