Hyundai Elantra facelift launched in M’sia, RM86k-115k

hyundai-elantra-facelift-launched-30

The Hyundai Elantra MD facelift has officially launched in Malaysia, with the refreshed C-segment sedan having arrived at all Hyundai-Sime Darby showrooms nationwide.

Four variants are available: 1.6 Elegance, 1.6 Executive, 1.6 Premium and 1.8 Premium. Externally, the base 1.6 Elegance gets 16-inch alloys covered in 205/55 tyres, chrome door handles, reflector headlamps, rear fog lamps, rear parking sensors and a black grille. Inside, you’ll find two airbags, a tilt-only steering wheel, fabric manual seats, keyless entry (without start), auto-down driver’s side window, manual air-con and a basic radio with CD, MP3, AUX and USB.

Moving up to the 1.6 Executive nets you front fog lamps and a dark chrome grille, while inside, you get a tilt-telescopic leather-wrapped steering wheel with FlexSteer (normal, comfort, sport), leather seats, a 3.4-inch OLED Supervision cluster, sliding console armrest, auto-down-and-up driver’s side window, keyless entry and start, auto lights, rear air-con vents, MirrorLink Audio Visual Receiver and a 6.2-inch touch-screen with DVD, AV input, AUX, USB, micro SD, Bluetooth and reverse camera display. Still two airbags, though.

Click to enlarge spec sheet (left)

Six airbags and projector headlamps with LED light guides begin at the 1.6 Premium, which is otherwise identical to the 1.6 Executive where specs are concerned. Finally, the range-topping 1.8 Premium boasts 10-spoke 17-inch alloys wrapped in 215/45 rubber, powered Nappa leather seats with lumbar function, auto wipers, an eight-inch touch-screen with navigation, cruise control, auto dual-zone air-con and front parking sensors.

This time round, the 1.8 Premium variant is no longer offered with a sunroof. All variants get ABS, ESC, VSM, hill assist, manual headlamp levelling, electric folding wing mirrors with LED indicators and steering wheel audio controls.

Thanks to reshaped front and rear bumpers, the Elantra facelift is 20 mm longer than its predecessor at 4,550 mm. New L-shaped fog lamp housings, too. Inside, the oddly-placed air-con vents on the pre-facelift car now sit higher in a more conventional position on the dashboard. The centre console now features a darker theme while the gear lever now has a leather gaiter.

Mechanically, status quo is maintained – the 1.6 litre Gamma soldiers on with 130 PS at 6,300 rpm and 157 Nm at 4,850 rpm, while the 1.8 litre Nu continues to produce 150 PS at 6,500 rpm and 178 Nm at 4,700 rpm. Both engines are connected to a six-speed auto – no manual option this time.

Locally-assembled (CKD) in Kulim, Kedah, the Hyundai Elantra MD facelift is priced at RM86,328 for the 1.6 Elegance, RM96,116 for the 1.6 Executive, RM100,986 for the 1.6 Premium and RM115,616 for the 1.8 Premium, OTR without insurance. Creamy White, Carbon Grey, Phantom Black, Sleek Silver and Tomato Red body colours are available.

Offered is a five-year, 300,000 km warranty and 24-hour road assist. If you buy the 1.8 Premium between March 5 and April 5, a free three-year, 60,000 km service (at 10,000 km intervals) will also be offered.

Hyundai Elantra Facelift in the showroom

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• err…facelift?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Better buy second hand. I am enough of seeing your sour faces when you want to trade in your kimchi.

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 129
      • UMW Toyota Sucks on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Only loser cares about resale value and talk about it all the time. Toyota is not much better these days..poor sale record worse than low resale value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 34
        • Message to Jealous People on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:47 am

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time Sam Loo, De La Junk, Same Loor and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 14
          • Agreed with you. Toyota & Honda is too much over glamour. But still using old technology and design. The problem is with old mentality of people’s who trust too much this 2 Japanese brands. All start 25 year ago when continental car giving bad reputation & reliability and Japanese car come to the rescue with good pricing and reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • alldisc on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:14 am

bull shit. camry 2.0G 2014 also selling 133K. lowest also 126k
            http://www.mudah.my/Malaysia/Cars-1020/camry-for-sale?th=1&f=p&so=1&mds=2&mke=35&q=camry

searching for camry 2014 all came out with salesman advertising
            http://www.mudah.my/Malaysia/Cars-1020/camry-for-sale?lst=0&fs=1&q=camry&cg=1020&w=3&so=1&st=s&mds=2&mke=35

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Poor sale or not, sales figure will tell. Same like Proton fanboys keep on dreaming Iriz will sell good.

But they only dream, they don’t even support Proton by action (buy da shit)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
      • mrlorenzo on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:56 pm

if u want RV..better buy properties lor…….buying a car like u buy clothes lor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 21
      • Steven see on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Your son proton saga RV is worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • Bodoh Lorrr on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:28 am

Don’t bluff la. Same looorr memang bodoh to the max. Trying to con ppl here and there. My 2013 Camry 2.5V I want to sell for 120k also nobody want to take. Used car giving me only 98k. The so called high RV only sendiri cakap sendiri syiok. Bear in mind I paid a full 180k to buy that overpriced car bcoz my father say its a good car. UMW did not even give any discounts that time. Lansi salesman said take it or leave it.

Now I lose 80k in less than 2 years. If you believe TOYOTA has good RV, You must have very IQ or are retarded .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 17
        • Same Loor Tipu RV on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:56 am

I just bought a Camry 2.5 also. Only 9 months old. Registered June 2014. I managed to get it for RM100k on the dot.

RV jatuh RM80k in 9 months. Come on Sam Loo and Same Loor, please stop cheating people in PT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
          • Neutral on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:17 pm

After I saw the comments, 100k for 9 months old used 2.5V Camry, I searched the whole wide web also couldn’t find any. Liar liar everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
          • Sam Looser on Mar 07, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Brader, u must bargain la. You see, toyota high RV is like petaling street style. Open price high high to scam tourist only. The well informed will know that the final price is way lower. Eg. a fake rolex can be priced at RM150 but can be bought at RM60-70. Similarly, Camry asking unrealistic prices only to scam the fanboys like sam loo, same loor and de la junk. Asking price 120k but final price can sell for 100k. Shop around and I am sure u can get it. Best method is ask how much used car is willing to take that year model for. You add 1-2k to that price. Too many of them in the market you think all can sell at asking price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • Toyota low RV on Mar 08, 2015 at 1:56 pm

I traded in my vios full spec 2013 last month and I got it for 58k for 18 months old vios,depreciate 30k. Good RV..shame Lorr?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • alldisc on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:33 am

guys,

dont show stupidity here.

market value is all about selling price lah. not trade in. trade in of course cheaper or else, how the used car dealer want to cari makan?

• Ah Long on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:19 am

Elantra is Proton Model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:05 am

Kimchis are comparable with China and India makes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 44
        • Low Budget on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:37 am

Widen your horizon and read more on cars news on foreign market lah, don’t just hide under coconut shells and croak….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
      • Low Budget on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:35 am

It would be nice to have Proton Elantra after having Proton Lancer and Proton Accord.

• Toyota Salesman Crying! on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:51 am

Aiyoo yoo. Habis la Toyota now and their arrogant salesman. This HRV is the nail to Toyota’s coffin in Malaysia. Somemore Honda give 5 years vs Toyota’s 3 years warranty.

Nobody is touching Toyota now. Salesman all crying. It is known as the Moving Coffin. Bad luck to buy their cars. Before I talk about the rubbish Vios without VSC, lets talk about their Camry first.

Let us start with the Camry. The Camry, everybody boycott because at first when they introduced, it was the only Camry in the world without VSC. UMW thought it is better to reap more profits than the lives of Malaysians and took out the VSC. Then news went viral online and everybody started to boycott Camry. Sales dipped like mad. then UMW damage control. They recently put VSC back into Camry cars but people still remember what a useless company UMW is to give peanuts to Malaysians and sacrifice our lives. A 9 airbag CBU Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000 (RM60,000). Here, we pay RM180,000 for a Made in Malaysia car with 2 airbags and no VSC. (now got VSC). Now with this recall, who really wants a Camry?

The Altis, nobody is touching also. This car in the US, after discounts and bargaining is US$12,000. (RM39,000) My brother just bought it a brand new 2014 Corolla. Comes with 9 airbags and so many more features our toilet CKD does not have.

UMW Malaysia will get this car in CKD form direct from Toyota Japan for about USD$8000. If Toyota USA can sell the CBU in USA for US$12,000 and still make money, UMW for sure will be getting this car far cheaper.

In Malaysia, we get the jamban made in Malaysia model with 2 airbags and no VSC. A Moving coffin. When a car does not have VSC, it is known as a moving coffin. Half the parts are Made in Malaysia. But the car is sold for RM120k. That is why you hardly can see an Altis on the road despite nearly 2 years launched.

Why do we have CKD when the CKD cost more than the CBU? To support crony part manufacturers? Rm39,000 vs RM120,000.

Anyway, Malaysians know that the Toyota Corolla is a big failure in Malaysia. Do you see it on the road at all? Drive the whole day and you hardly can bump into the 2014 Altis or a Vios despite being launched 1 year plus already (Vios). Everywhere you see Elantra or City.

Malaysians rather buy Hyundai Elantra. The car after discounts can get RM85k and comes with VSC. Also, the car is a much bigger C segment than the Altis. No wonder why we see Elantra everywhere.

Malaysians already know that UMW regard Malaysian lives as dirt and don’t care whether you die or not. This Toyota Vios should be named as Toyota Moving Coffin because a car of this price, with no VSC is a risk to you and your family.

Malaysians have now dignity. they know UMW are big cheats. Charge so much for the car, yet compromise on our lives and safety of the family.

How UMW? Still no VSC? All over the world, Toyota comes with VSC as standard!
          Our lives not important UMW?

The Vios is a Big big failure. No need to write a lot here. The City with VSC beats it flat. Tak payah cerita panjang. Even the apek jual ikan also know City is more highly specced than the Vios. So Vios is dead.

Sam loo and Same Lorr also now hiding like chickens. They will come in here and say Toyota got good RV but in truth, nobody is going to buy UMW’s trash in Malaysia. Even now, their RV jatuh like hell. 11 months old Camry 2.5, you can buy RM120k, drop from RM180k. In 11 months, the car can drop RM60k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:03 pm

For what it is, it is horrifyingly overpriced, considering how the Cerato which is nearly the same car, is cheaper spec-for-spec.

Plus the 1.8 engine is honestly quite weak… Felt so restrained and coarse. Almost lawnmower-like. Funny how the Kia’s 2.0 was more refined, and why Hyundai never did a 2.0 Elantra in this generation…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
    • Kia Hyundai – Cheap, but never good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 23
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:50 am

Kimchis fall apart after 2 years/40,000kms

That is why most will sell at around the 18 month mark where the subliminal (I am about to kwai tai) signs are haunting the drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
  • BMW 325i Coupe on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:04 pm

All comes with traction control? Thanks Hyundai! With five year warranty, this could be the C segment bargain since the Forte. Well done! More sleepless nights for Proton now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
    • wah..compare with proton?? u shud compare with honda or nissan or errr toyota, even proton is a bargain with vsc, n airbags. who ever want to pay rm115k for a korean car where u can get a honda civic 1.8 at rm110k with vsc or kedekut (toyota) altis 1.8e at lesser price. driving a honda or toyota or nissan is more fun than driving a proton or korean car, japanese car is more responsive and has dynamic driving and most importantly reliability.european cars like VW, pug drive better but reliability is an issue. conclusion…price your car right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
      • ingres on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Japs cars have dynamic driving?
        Hahahahahhahahahaaa
        hahahahahahahahahaha
        hahahahhahahahaha
        hahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:45 pm

One should compare Hyundai with Honda/Toyota and not Proton.
      Hyundai has broke out from cocoon and grow into beautiful butterflies, meanwhile Proton is still hibernating in its cocoon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:11 pm

One should compare Hyundai with Tata/Geely/GreatWall/Mahindra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 29
  • Josh Ling on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:24 pm

the spec for 1.6 Elegance is a plain joke. and frankly a city 1.5V is a way better car than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Just wonder why they want to put 1.6L engine into a heavy car like elantra. Climbing hill sure drag like snail one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:46 am

They can put a 2.4 ltr engine & a 8 speed GB in a kimchi. At the end of the day, they will still have very very low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
      • Josh Ling on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:05 am

Sam Loo, may sound weird but i really miss your comment these days! thanks for showing up! lol……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • roxas on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:26 pm

are u sure there is LEd tail lamps?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Great news for me.

The current batch of Elantra will have their RV slashed to 40% for 18 month old units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 31
    • Big talk guy, I am here to ask for my 100k 1 year old santa fe. Don’t just talk only, show me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • car-fans on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:38 pm

Wasted price still high – else surely able to grab few % from market – VS those City / Mazda2 / Fiesta …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • azhar on Mar 05, 2015 at 5:47 pm

woww..96k for 1.6 exec..add up 3k u got 1.8S HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • brazbuz on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Otr+insurance price is almost the same actually at 99k for both

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Slime Darby pricing sucks. When Elantra was under Kah Bintang. It was always at least price RM 20k lower than Toyota Corolla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • Why u want to buy a City Jazz Interior Honda HR-V at RM100k?

Same interior design.
      HRV is less comfortable, more bumpy with the harder suspension, can feel the potholes.

more power? 1.8L doesnt feel more powerful than city 1.5L.. Heavy HR-V. Thanks to the not Advancedly Refined CVT gearbox too.

HR-V plain interior is a let down.

Good thing about HR-V: it’s CKD Thailand.
      Not like City or Jazz Assembled by DRB-Hicom which come with more defects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • Josh Ling on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:11 am

elantra is almost the same if not really the same story as HR-V in terms of performance wise. add that, and the fact that you can get a similarly decent car, i.e. City 1.5 V at a much lower price (than Elantra 1.6 Exec), with a way better resale value, you can see the frustration here.

not to mention, HR-V is like THE car at the market right now. try to imagine which car will turn more heads on the street, and you’ll get what I mean.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:10 am

When it comes to trade in value, HRV stands for High Resale Value.

As for Elantra, the current model 18 month old version will trade in at ~40% of purchase price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Spec for 1.6 Elegance really a joke, only tilt for steering adjustment and auto down only for driver side window.
    No auto cruise for whole range of 1.6
    Hyundai really kedekut on spec.

• ProtonGSC on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:17 pm

Not Hyundai, is Sime Darby Hyundai malaysia dealer that STUPID !!!

Facelift rubbish? and still sell at that price… Marketing team just can eat shit with the Directors that approve it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • Low Budget on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:44 am

Slime Darby is considered crony GLC, so you get GLC type of pricing, just like T.M pricing for your UNIFI.

• Low Budget on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Not Hyudai lah bradder, its Slime Darby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • zuchie on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:23 pm

On my experience, the Elantra 1.8 is my next car and already test drive. My target 1.8cc… I survey Honda civic, Toyota altis and last Nissan sylphy(this model is not in my list). And I so surprise when I test drive Nissan sylphy, the handling, the size, the interior… And last I already own the Nissan sylphy 1.8 high spec. My point is don’t just hear what your friend say,.. Buy Honda, buy Toyota… Just test,tengok poket.. And just buy. And now I enjoy while driving Nissan sylphy. Sorry Elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:50 pm

It’s nice that ESC is standard on all cars, but why is keyless entry and a touchscreen with DVD player and reverse camera more important than 6 airbags? Shouldn’t it be the other way round? 1.6 Executive adds 6 airbags and a few small things, Premium gets the touchscreen? They got the priorities all wrong…

It’s nice that they don’t follow the trend to bigger and bigger front grills though.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Also it’s nice that manual headlight leveling is on all cars. People need to make use of that. Complain that the lights are too dark? Well, maybe that’s because all the light is aimed at making other drivers blind instead of illuminating the road. Just lower the light and you can see the road.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:54 pm

6 airbags cost RM 4k. So 1K per additional airbag. That’s not too much. Why do you have to buy a ton of other crap in order to get the airbags? Why isn’t it standard on most models, I mean, 4K isn’t making a big difference. Heck, even on a Myvi… basic model, 2 airbags. Add 4K, get 6 airbags. Other options raise the price much more.

• ggujjhgh on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:11 pm

with this price and spec better buy preve cfe i think….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • hzhzhzhzhj on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:14 pm

preve cfe better than this i think…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Preve better??..hose turbo dh brp byk kaput..tu belum lagi problem elektronic wire harness..radiator motor kaput..isu reliability msh x teruk..kalau nk senaraikan mmg x cukup aku nk tulis

• old dog on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:22 pm

entry level price can buy a Suprima S top of the range la!! buy protong! buy protong! before it close shop and become antique …:P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • No one must know on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:10 am

Its Proton laaa. Dont be stupid plz. No one force anyone to buy Suprima or any other Proton car.

• Ben yap on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:25 am

Bermaz said wanna launch mazda3 Ckd by March 2015. Where’s the car? Delay again? Sign of mismanagement.

• fortezen on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:26 am

sometimes I wondering is Sime Darby dragging these superb korean makes backwards with this ridiculous offerings, in 2011 , I had purchased a car name 6speed Forte 2.0sx with more horses,others spec and features wish is more or less same as this highest spec 1.6 Premium though loses out on some gadgets like LED projector headlamps, hill assist but at least my safety features remains same or otherwise even have extra like cruise control , auto air-cond in comparisons. Pricing wise yet this foolish 1.6 Premium yet priced higher than my then 97k+ forte, but do take note it was exactly 4 yrs ago I bought mine, Sime Darby, see la your pricing is giving ppl cancer la!

• weakie on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:29 am

woah, Sime Darby so clever hor, eject Sunroof out as if nothing happens? Malaysian are not idiots leh, we survey kaw kaw only buy things de leh

• I own a Hyundai Elantra 1.8 Premium year 2013.

Advantages of Elantra with other C segment car, Altis and Civic.

– ElaNtra most powerful. Even powerful than Civic 2.0.
    – Nice design with sunroof.

Disadvantage

– Quite noisy in high rev
    – Gear shifting not smooth as Altis
    – Alignment not perfect even after bring to Hyundai few times.
    – Service Advisor has minimum knowledge on the car. They simply lie.
    – 17 inch sport rims super sensitive. When I went for servicing few customers complained that their rims dented. All my 4 sport rims dented as well.
    – Low resale value. But, i dont care because I’m not gona sell this car anytime soon.
    – Navigation unit in 1.8premium is useless.(Malaysian made).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:10 am

When you are denied promotions as your boss deems you as not trustworthy, your babe ditches you and you park far far away at family gatherings, the emotional drive to sell will plough your thoughts every single minute of the day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
  • khairi on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:52 am

1.8 Premium has no keyless entry?
    *stated in brochure

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Kimchis can have NFV key programmed into a Samseng Phone, and yet, it will always have low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • myname on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:58 am

RM30k extra from 1.6 E to 1.8P. 30,000 rm for 200cc extra, leather seats, touchscreen. Whoever buys the 1.8P must be bonkers.

• therealmaserati on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Keep bringing in rubbish cars. Drove a hyundai elantra prefacelift and vowed that i will never ever buy one . It was bad with a Capital B. Engine got no refinement. Rough and noisy when i floor the gas.

Handling is utter rubbish. On the highway, it handles about the same or worst than a Vios.

Interior doesnt feel premium. Feels cheap everywhr. At least Honda does a good job by having a nice design to cover up for it using cheap plastics . So even if they r cheap, they look good visually.

And mind u i was driving the 1.8 version and the power felt like a myvi 1.5.

As a conclusion, Korean cars are really really wayyyyyy behind Japs in every department conceivable.

Ppl who buy Korean cars are all impulse buyers who know nothing about cars and buy cars just based on the spec sheet and nothing else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
    • Nasir on Mar 06, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Dei maseru a.k.a therealmaserati…did your mother tell you Korean cars are bought by impulse buyers who know nothing about cars?
      I have owned protons,hondas and toyota for the past 15yrs before buying a Korean K5 which is serving me well for the past 4yrs.
      Korean car buyers nowadays do a proper research before owning a value for money car….not like those days your grandpa time….Toyol a.k.a Toyota no matter what.
      When I buy my first car…you might be a baby drinking milk from a bottle….dont talk bulshitto story here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Seng on Mar 06, 2015 at 6:57 pm

What a joker this masakroti. You must have weak chicken feet. I drive my brother’s Elantra 1.8 and easily smoke civic 2.0 and even camry 2.5 in karak highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • arief on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Haish.. what to say…
      I drove from kancil, myvi, waja, and even own bmw e90(which always give me headache) and 2011 vios..
      I work as toyota sales advisor only… u can get my sales advisor id no if u email me..
      And now im a proud owner of kia K3..
      Yes, performancewise its not as good as altis although the 1.6 cerato claimed to produce 130ps..
      But overall it was a good car, handling well , very comfort and the rv is still there.. just almost the same with the crap ‘tin kosong’ toyota..
      If u said who buys korean car dont know anything about car, its u who know nothing and just sitting under ur mom armpit under a coconut shell..
      Currently we toyota sales person have no answers tohonda city.. we now can just survive with avanza,and hilux only…

• Diesel Power!!! on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:04 pm

Why on earth ppl like to smoke this smoke that???

You guys just buy a family car thinking of smoking this & tht…???

Come on, be realistic,, those saloon car is built for comfort oriented, not speed…their respective 0-100km/h mostly in the range of 9.5-13 seconds for below 2.0cc and top speed of 180-220km/h..

For those shiok sendiri ppl who thought they Prevee can smoke C200lah, 320ilah, galardolah….plz thinklah…the driver of those car, do they reli wanna race with u? i think they just let u overtake them, coz dun wanna make them low class…I certainly wont race with other driver, coz our road is built for less than 110km/h drive..not AutoBahn speed!!!

• Ah Seng on Mar 08, 2015 at 1:05 am

But the Camry 2.5V challenge me 1st la. Cucuk me kaw kaw even I was doing 130kmh already. I am pretty sure he was racing and he lost.

Why ppl like to smoke here and there? To teach those kurang ajar toyota drivers always think they are king of the road.

• Commoner on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:14 am

I thought King of Road is Myvi. Myvi drivers always cucuk BMW and Golf Gti

• Time will tell on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:57 am

General Sushi car review.
    UMW toyota – Pro – Reliability due to ancient tech, Con – Expensive, poor safety, poor specs.

MOTAR Honda – Pro – Slightly better safety spec than toyota, Con – Expensive, poor Msia CKD QC/QA

Tan Nissan – Pro – Slightly less price among jap’s brand. Nice safety equipment except Almera. Con – least attractive design to attract Msian eye’s
    On average, Nissan doing good job to Msian consumer.

General Kimchi car review
    Naza Kia – Pro – Spectacular spec in safety,No.1 in accesorries. Con – Engine refinement.
    PS – Good job and keeping improve recent years. Keep it up.

Sime Hyundai – Pro – Best value and spec on Starex.
    Con – Expensive, less spec than Kia sibling.

American/Conti –
    Ford,Citroen, Peugeot, VW, BMW,Audi, Merc,etc
    Pro – Solid ride, enrich with safety feature, higher tech.
    Con – less relibility, servicing quality, spare parts delivery long leadtime.

BLACK HORSE.
    RENAULT FLUENCE. Pro – Value price, Rich features, attractive service package. Con – less attractive design suit to Msia market. Body parts leadtime is a question mark.

• KELVIN KONG on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:12 pm

nice car hyundai … buy elantra worth than u buy vios .
    more than 90k++ u pay for vios smallest car and whats u get ? outdate oldest technology ? low quality body frame ? simple function ? have safety feature ? 4 speed ?

RM 86k++ for elantra is worth …
    altis segment car … quality better than altis …

• daniel on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:49 pm

Would say a great job by Koreans. Buy what u like n what gives the Max. Malaysia is spoiled by brand sentiment n could agree on the poor snobbish Toyota n Honda salesman. Overly priced for a substandard car. If safety specs,style n price is good,why not get a Korean car. 2nd hand value is a talk of the past….

• ex-hyundai elantra 2012 on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:04 am

The car is the best. But actually handling is very poor and unstabel. Rear suspension feeling like swaying (sampan feel) when hitting pothole or uneven road. It is because of they are using torsion beam not multi link. RV also very bad. For me it takes over 6 months to sold it and all the 2nd car dealer take it very very low. Damn it i need to top up a money to the bank. Luckily there was someone who is interested in my car. Just sold it a month ago. Upgrading my car and now i am very satisfied. I hope Hyundai will change the rear suspension to multilink then the car become more stable.

• vandren on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:28 pm

When the car are available at showroom? as i had asked that red color 1.8 premium doesn’t have yet.

• C.A.D on Mar 13, 2015 at 9:26 am

I can’t find the diff. Can U put the current Elantra’s image side-by-side?

• rosemaryrpatterson on Mar 19, 2015 at 1:14 pm

good

• Hate Vios on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:38 pm

For heavens sake, dont buy the Vios. I bought one…worse decision in my life. Tin can. Funny noise from the drivers side wheel. These bums in toyota cant seem to rectify it. Sure they are waiting for the warranty period to be over. Feel cheated. Now one part is rusting. Can you believe it? What a rip-off!!!

• Woo hooo.. Its quiet hot in here.

I read all your comments and want to ask ya’all:

What attracts you towards a certain car?
    Shape/Features/Price/Reliability/Safety?

To me:

Toyota: Reliability only
    Hyundai/Kia: Price/Safety/Features/Shape
    Honda: Shape/Safety/Reliability
    EU Cars: Features/Reliability/Safety

Common Sense for Normal People to choose. Not stubborn ones.

E.g: Sam Loo i bet you have an iphone,Mac,Honda car. People like you are not smart neither your handphone is.. lol.

you talk about Korean Cars, similar you talk about Android & Samsung.

You talk about Toyota/Honda, similar you talk about ios & Blackberry.

Only pleasure the owner gets is in the name. the rest all is crap.

FYI: Hyundai is 5th largest car manufacturing in the World and 3rd in USA.

• shahje on Mar 16, 2016 at 10:05 am

Aiyer..one Elantra 1.8 just overtake me when I’m doing 120km/h on winding trunk road….whushhh..what a speed and handling.
    I just can’t compete with it. BTW..I just drive a Wira 1.5….don’t blame me..ha3..

• kathiraven on Jun 01, 2019 at 11:37 pm

How much is the price of the elantra now ?