SPYSHOTS: 2015 Peugeot 308 spotted in Malaysia

2015_Peugeot_308_Malaysia_01

It was just two days ago that Nasim announced the 2015 Peugeot 308 will arrive in Malaysia next month, and here it is in the flesh, as spotted by reader Fitri Haslina. This gives us a first look at the local-spec C-segment hatchback before its launch here.

Fortunately, the Malaysian-bound 308 wears the nicer mid-range front bumper (below the warm GT and dressed-up GT Line) instead of the base model’s blander unit. The headlights, too, are the upgraded full LED items with integrated daytime running lights. No reflector lights here.

2015_Peugeot_308_Malaysia_02

The rear photo shows that we’ll get the large 18-inch ‘Saphir’ wheel design, which is a cost option in most markets, where non-GT models get either 16- or 17-inch alloys. As the car is black, it’s yet unclear if the new 308 will get a panoramic roof like on the current 308.

Already crowned the 2014 European Car of the Year, the second-generation 308 looks set to be a match for the Volkswagen Golf Mk7, the 2013 winner. From what we know so far, only one variant will be available – the turbocharged 1.6 litre THP165 model with a six-speed automatic gearbox.

GALLERY: 2015 Peugeot 308

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• azhar on Mar 05, 2015 at 9:45 am

looks more like a wagon than a hatchback..nice rims though…boot space should be good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • john lim on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:09 am

I am owner of 308 turbo
    All I can said is, I won’t ever touch a Peugeot again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 94
    • Gracke on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:24 am

Why?!?? What makes you have such hard refuse, it would be the more reliable and less disturbing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 05, 2015 at 3:18 pm

See! Now you know why people stick with Toyota so much even though you guys bash like no mama.

You will never go wrong with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • dozy888 on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:29 am

Please enlighten us!

• lookingood on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:29 am

Hi all, any comment on Peugeot 308 turbo? My friend plan to take one second hand 2012 unit, quite worth but any dissatisfaction of the owner or problems with the car?

• Crony Clown on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:20 pm

308 turbo experience. Drain battery, cant find out where is the problems in SC.
        Battery dead 5 times in 2 years.

I like the car handling, and the panaromic roof. Sad to sell it but no choice!
        It made me crazy, battery always dead on the time I need to use car to rush out!

• With regards to dead battery, i have to say that a lot of owners don’t use the correct battery specification (even from SC). Most owners that i know of use DIN55, instead of DIN62. Both are of the same physical size, but different capacity (CCA and AH).
          I encountered the same battery issue during the 1st 15 months of ownership (changed batter twice), but after swapping to DIN62 on 3rd and 4th time, each of them lasted at least 18 month.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Ask them to check for leaks, and contact the French headquarter. Google for the problem too. Had that on my old Renault. Couldn’t be fixed. In the end they contacted the French headquarters, and they told my workshop that there is some small cheap item that can sometimes short out the car, leading to an empty battery when returning after 2 hours. Once that was replaced the car was very reliable. It’s probably something similar with your Peugeot.

• You are the same R*tard who comments on every peugeot post, and reply to your same account with a different name. And your reply will be the same guy who owns a decade old 308. Get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • jemah on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:39 am

who care???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • King Kong on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:41 am

Kindly to elaborate why you never want to touch PUG again? What is that major issue you had?

• TooSilly! on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:45 am

Hi John, are you the johnlim123 that used to be quite active in the 308 topic of another forum? Hows the car now?

• please share with us what happened to your peugeot…………………………………………………

• Jeremy on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:55 am

I’m an owner too, I approve this.

• gentlemen on Mar 13, 2015 at 4:55 pm

what’s wrong with your peugeot?
      since when you bought your peugeot?
      mind to share your experience?

• I am owner of 308 turbo
    All I can said is,i am looking forward for another peugeot if the model suit me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • Me too. No major problem with the car so far after 5 years of ownership apart from battery (1st 15 months) and the CSC3 tyre (had to change 2 of them within 10k km). However, i did not do any modification to the car, and use only recommended oil (such as Total 5W30 ECS and Mobil1 ESP Formula 5W30)

• simon on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:26 am

I was a 308 turbo owner & I totally agree with John lim.

• customer on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:35 am

FINALLY! I’ve been waiting for you!

• cendol (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:03 am

PUG is such a cold brand in Malaysia.
    I bet more Porsches are being sold than PUG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
    • intermilan on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:42 am

you should read auto sales monthly market reports published by motortrader website. For the month of Dec 2014 and Jan 2015, more peugeot were sold than vw, let alone porsche.

To the ‘uninitiated’, its better to evaluate properly purchase of any peugeots with 1.6 turbo churning out 140bhp or 156bhp as both versions were reported as quite problematic.
      This is the crux of the problem that had and is hampering peugeot sales and reputation locally.

The 163bhp version, which shall come with 308 facelift (it’s already being used with a few other models) is supposed to eliminate engine-related issues associated with the 140 and 156 engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • GTR36 (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:17 pm

The ones with the new engine (156 THP) and 6-speed gearbox had least problems while the 4 speeders were problem magnets. I had a colleague who borrowed my trusty car (Waja) at least once a month when his brand new 308 turbo broke down. He sold it after 8 months and drives an Inspira now.

• Ironi on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Many times my friends told me Proton is much more reliable than French car. I thought it was just a joke. It seems like few people already experiencing this. Proton really is more reliable than Peugeot seriously true :)

• driver on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:12 am

http://i.imgur.com/So1MmuC.png

RV drop over half its original price within 2/3 years

• Jason Lim on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:28 am

until they improve the car’s reliability and make the parts more affordable, my next car won’t be a pug

please don’t charge us with exorbitant labour charge Nasim!

• Megane on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:01 pm

Why install 18 inch alloy wheels. The tyres are expensive. 16-17 are enough.

• European Standard!!!! Must go high end!!!
      Buyer 2 dump as much money as possible
      Unlike the Japanese, cars sell with good RV & service in return..

• If i want to go back to japanese car, it will only be those CBU from japan, and not from thailand or indonesia. Have had bad experience (major failures) with 3 of our family cars before (City, Camry and Serena). No problem however with Estima and Ipsum.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Malaysian buyers want it that way. In Europe this car comes with 16″ steel rims… alloy rims and bigger ones are optional.

• Berann on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:35 pm

Yeah! plenty of 2013 Peugeot 308 turbo on sales for less than half the original price. 55k +/-. Better wait for 2 years later and buy for half price with 3 more years warranty to go :) Unless you have plenty of money to burn

• TooSilly! on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:00 pm

I sold my Nov 2009 308 VTi (bought at 96K), for 34K only in Aug 2014 (less than 5 years of ownership).

• rchoo on Mar 05, 2015 at 12:52 pm

I am an owner of Peugeot 508 Turbo premium. No complain whatsoever, very satisfied indeed ……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:04 pm

why do they insist on bringing the 1.6T …they have a perfectly adequate 1.2T with 6 speed Auto..more than capable enough , and it will definatly have a lower starting price…but whichever variant , this looks very premium n classy….!

• peugeot fan on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:29 pm

yes, indeed i would have preferred the new 1.2 puretec engine which is cleaner and fuel saving. All peugeot cars here should be equipped with this latest euro 6 engine.

• Crony Clown on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:25 pm

small capacity lesser reliability…
      our hot weather. if my Nasim bro no do local test.
      PIston crack issue might happen as Twin charger engine.

• this model hv a very good review. nice.

• Current peugeot owner on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Currently own a 508premium. Nothing to complain abt. The 308 depollution issue was on older 308 models. There always lemons with any car brands. I also have proton, perodua n jap cars in my family. If you buy conti inc ford n pug, you may need to wait for spare parts sometimes. SD is worse than naza in this respect. Naza has improved on spare part tremendously.

• Bernard on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:37 pm

How much is it?

Is it a ‘reasonable’ 1,000,000? :)

• 008 Lion (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 2:53 pm

i am an owner of 5008. really enjoy the ride. no complaint at all. looking forward for another pug model, especially this 308 or the facelifted 208.

• Just like that on Mar 05, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Same ppl like toosilly slamming pugs wherever he goes. Bmw malaysia also have many interesting stories with its cars. No one wanna comment on that? Audi cars? No comments?
    A famous story abt a guy who pasted adverts around his honda, saying how bad it is. No comments?
    Cars are mechanical n electronic. If you want a car 100% proof, pray a lot, you lucky son of a gun, or take a bus/lrt

• TooSilly! on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Sorry… have you owned a pug in Malaysia before?

• Just like that on Mar 07, 2015 at 10:25 pm

Yes, i do own a pug at the moment. Problems do arise just like my local or jap cars.

• Crony Clown on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:29 pm

I believe BMW got problems too.
      Just because it’s number of new car are not as many as others brand.
      And, BMW warranty is 60k mileage.
      New car owner will jimat jimat use.
      so less problems posted.

Erm… let say u invest a 300-500K by a BMW.
      Even it’s a lemon, you will diam diam too..

• A former colleague of mine had to swapped engine on his E90 320d few years back. Spend about 2 months in service center. Luckily it was covered under warranty at that time, although he did some modification to the car (i.e tuning box)
        The point is, almost every brand will have lemon cars, and reliability issues. And its best to follow service recommendation, and not to modify the car so much if reliability is a concern.

• SKy Kyousuke on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:01 pm

I am the owner of 308 Turbo 2012, Warranty Period: 3Years. It’s a good car indeed but only once in my life.

Handling: ☆☆☆☆☆
    Performance: ☆☆☆☆
    Warranty Period Maintenance: ☆☆
    Value for money: ☆

We all know Peugeot Maintenance will rip your wallet. It doesn’t matter because you already knew when you are about to purchase it.
    The nightmare begin after you have it. If you have plenty of times to do servicing and maintenance, this baby gonna suit you. I can say my Pug keep hospitalizing after one year usage. One Year? Absolutely.

One time hospitalizing required 3 days.
    Gearbox Jerking: Exactly after one year, had been sending to service for several times. Problem: Still exist.

Compressor: Two years usage, spoiled. I still remembered, this problem annoyed me for about 4months because of trusting wrong guy?
    You might had a question mark. Before this issue reach to the manager, I always hand it over my car to one of the staff for servicing. He did claim the servicing parts but he keep in his pocket and do minor fixing to my compressor only, and it’s still within warranty period. I had been struggle into the situation without aircon for 4months until I had no choice and try to reach to their manager. Yea, finally… After reaching to the manager, he immediately claim a brand new compressor to me. Problem: Solved

Engine: Engine Problem? Yes, it is my terrible nightmare. This issue had been appealing since after two years i purchased this car. The car losing it’s power, no pickup, noisy sound while driving and no turbo. The most terrible problem is when the “Engine Faulty” alerting you, you must be careful because your car will be shaking like you’re making love inside the car and you must pull over to let it cool down for hours. Now the warranty period already expired. Fortunately, this issue had been recorded inside their system within the warranty period and I did appeal about this issue for quite a several times. Jerking issue could be Engine Issue?
    First servicing: They try to check the engine and the turbo oil is drying and engine leaking found. They did a minor servicing for changing the parts inside. Problem existed.
    Second servicing: They immediately file a report to HQ and HQ agree to change a brand new engine but the car must be putting there for 3months since last year Christmas til now.
    Why required 3months? To get a brand new engine required few days only but to get JPJ approval required a month to complete the process like changing chasis number, and etc.

Battery: This is common issue. The battery cannot last long. The longest is about 1 year+, the shortest is about 7months. All of the Pug owner might face this problem.

Booking & Servicing: Based on what people comment, I heard it is quite difficult to book the servicing with Nasim and it’s always fully booked especially at Pug Glenmarie?

Overall, this is the amount I had to pay within the servicing period After warranty with Pug.
    Cooling gas: RM50
    Gear Oil: RM80
    Bearing: RM700 (I heard Bearing is eligible for warranty for 2013 model and above but mine one is not.)
    Brake Pad: RM400 per piece
    Other Expenses: Engine Oil, Battery.

Haters gonna hate. This is my experience with Peugeot 308 Turbo. It might classified as exception case. Try to Google yourselves for more about this car’s issue. It is a great car when comes for handling and performances. It will also tear your wallet into pieces when comes for maintenance. It’s all depends on YOUR LUCK & WHERE YOU SERVICING YOUR CAR. I’m wasting so much of my time to send it in over and over again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Crony Clown on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Mine previous ride was 6 speeder pug 308 turbo.
      experience air con and battery issues.
      Can not fix! Car sold less than 50% price.
      I believe your gearbox issues belongs to 4 speeder.

• SKy Kyousuke on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Bro.. It’s a 6 speed auto..
        Based on my air compressor issue, I think it won’t last long even i changed it? Perhaps it’s my mistake for always putting it to maximum power. But hell ya, Malaysia is a hot country especially summer… Black tinted JPJ pun saman..

• ninjaboy on Mar 05, 2015 at 7:14 pm

I am current owner of 308 T (Registered March 2012).
        Handling: superb (Based on my test drives, only lose out slightly to Ford Focus)
        Reliability: Totally out. Every time masuk workshop at least have to wait 3-4days. In my 3 years of ownership:
        1) Engine jerking like hell (happened during this CNY holiday, had to tow back to KL)
        2) Turbo cracked (got it replaced but had to wait 6 weeks)
        3) Fuel pump problem (twice)
        4) Thermostat faulty
        5) Battery only last one year
        6) Brake problems

It is so nice to drive the car, but be prepared to visit the SC. Last advise is for you to have a spare car, because you will need to leave your car a few days and Peugeot will not provide you with replacement car….

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 05, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Did you treat the turbo nicely? Let it warm up before vroom vroom and let it cool down before reaching? The SA should give instructions on how to treat the car when handing over the keys.

• Vroom vroom no need on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:23 pm

I think you don’t need to vroom vroom a Proton, it will still running okay. My last Myvi also no need to Vroom vroom its running fine everytime.

I am hearing too much Peugeot problem. My uncle is stuck with it, my best friend always keep his Pug in the workshop, I always kutuk best friend for driving his reliable Proton Exora but not his so call great 308 Prince engine.

I am too scared to touch Pug.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Bring in 308 GT 1.6 e-THP 205 with 6-speed manual gearbox please!

• Crony Clown on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:36 pm

All my kaki bring in conti brand. they just sell, ignore after sales.
    They bring in low, selling high.
    but when come to spare parts, cant escape…

• Mirsy on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:42 pm

Yes, wife owns a 5008 for almost 4 years. Really enjoy the ride until the last few months of it. The car electronics went berserk with one after another defects ever since the battery konk off in the middle of the NS Highway and had the car tow back home. Problem is the service center could not pinpoint what the real problem.

So had to let it go reluctantly cos it is really inconveniencing all of us with all the alternative transport arrangement when it goes in out of the service center.

So my advise is monitor the battery carefully.

My wife and myself still cherish the time with it – the drive, the handling, the pick-up and the cockpit/safety. But when you have a family it is very difficult to live with the inconvenience.

Maybe 8 years time when all the children grown up will consider another Pug.

• macanmakan on Mar 05, 2015 at 4:51 pm

proud owner of 2012 308, so far ZERO problem.
    My first battery last me ~ 18 months !

• heskey on Mar 05, 2015 at 6:38 pm

My vios battery lasted me 3 years

• Will be Toyota man on Mar 05, 2015 at 11:35 pm

You know what. I can see myself buying Toyota or Honda or even (Proton maybe as a second car) now. I know, Japanese cars are boring.

I had 3 cars, 2 conti one myvi. All cars were bought brand new. I let go the myvi to my cousin so I keep the two conti in my small garage. Then menyesal cz the Myvi was actually the most reliable car of all the three cars.

So I take back my words to my dad for not buying Japanese. Next time I will definitely highly consider a Japanese car over conti. Just my opinion.

• a dull looking car indeed

• hanep on Mar 06, 2015 at 12:16 am

Owned 208 currently almost 2 years (few months left) without major issue. I can say that if i have the option, i’ll go for this peugeot.

like any conti brand, must expect the maintenance must be slightly higher than japs. parts need to wait (but in my case, of all i claimed took less 3 days time with available stock here). service is for me, expensive, on par with vw.

performance, stability and comfort very satisfied compared than japs car. fuel considered efficient.

best part about peugeot is that the car price is cheap but you got bmw/higher class spec of car.

• John lim on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:43 am

haha,
    I was a Peugeot die hard fan b4,
    206cc was my first Peugeot, follow by 308 turbo.

I Though I know how to take car of my lion, I was working with Nasim for few years..everytime when I see a customer banging the SC table..I will think that because they r too stupid don’t know how to maintain their car…

I nearly change my family car to 508sw. But Heng Heng ah! Once warranty finish.. this 308 wake me up..

Aircon, depollution, turbo, gearbox..

Every few months give u suprise..

in bolehland, car dealer only want to sell car La, ur car got problem is ur own pasal, I only want figure, sell more car..Nasim, VGM semua lebih kurang…

I need a car to work for me. I don’t have that stupid time to send my car to SC, ask someone to send me back. Leave my car there for few days.. keep repeat the same procESS.

Good luck to all the Peugeot fans!
    I am aboard Liao… sayonara!

Said hi to Honda and Toyota.!
    Reliable.. and most important.. they really care for their customers..

I boleh rasa, they r not talk only

• intermilan on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:01 am

Hopefully Nasim will offer more than 1 variant.
    Differentiation between them could be based on trim level or engine or both.

However, the reliability of the new 1.2L turbo is unproven, best to bring some units and conduct long-term test in Malaysia conditions first.

Test unit should be able to camouflage among 308FL with ease.

Should learn from previous experience (i.e. bring in car with new engine too early / without extensive long-term local testing.

French manufacturers have long history of improper and poor acclimatisation standard and implementations (of their cars) when it come to our weather conditions.

Perhaps the big jokes on Peugeot presented by Clarkson and May in Top Gear Season 22 Episode 5 is with merit. Watch the board meeting scene.

• Krasher on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Does it come with a proper glove box for the right hand drive market this round?

• Anti Peugeot Gal on Jul 10, 2015 at 6:46 pm

I have enough with Peugeot 308 turbo and quality of their repair centre.

Bought car in YR2011. within 3.5 yrs, battery only lasted for 1 yr, 2 count aircon breakdown, 3 counts of coolant & oil leakage and now smoke & strong burning smell from engine compartment.

Since Jan 2015, my car spend month in workshop and problem remain unresolve. Money is onething but the breakdown had impacted my life fully.

No transportation when we live in a country where public transportation is 3rd world standard.

In summary, I am rushing to dispose the car and opt for Toyota which is more cost effective and economical. Peugeot really look polish but not reliable especially for lady that know less about car.