Dye used in RON 97 fuel does not affect quality – Shell

RON 97 petrol

In response to a video currently circulating on various social media platforms, Shell Malaysia has issued a statement stating that the amount of red dye injected into RON 97 fuel does not affect the quality of its products. A spokesperson from Shell told The Star that the natural colour of petrol and diesel is light yellow.

“As mandated by authorities, fuel dyes are added for visual identification of different grades and types of fuel,” it was stated. “RON 97 is mandated as red in Malaysia and RON 95 is yellow. The fuel dyes do not have any impact on fuel quality and engine performance.”

The difference in colour shades are attributed to the different amount of dye used, which ranges from five to 18 ppm (parts per million). Furthermore, the methods employed to apply the dye – be it either automatic or bulk mixing – will result in a discrepancy in the colour intensity.

As for the difference in colour of RON 97 in the video, the spokesperson added that the fuel could have arrived from different terminals. There is, as stated, no difference in the fuel quality whatsoever.

Datuk Zulkifli Mokti, deputy president of the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia, advised consumers to send a petrol sample to the relevant facilities should they detect something amiss regarding the quality. “Take a sample of it and send it for chemical check and make a report to Sirim, then they will look at it.”

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• my name is jeff on Mar 06, 2015 at 7:55 pm

the problem is… maybe he compared the Shell ron97 RACING with ron97 regular…. we don’t know about this fact…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 37
    • RicoT on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Both his nozzle is from VPower 97, the second one could be RON97 mixed with RON95, hence the lighter colour. I am surprised that the colour of the dye can differs this much. If it is not because of shady petrol station owner mixing RON95 into RON97, then it is Shell has crappy quality control where the amount of dye used differs this much, or worse, they are inconsistent in their secret formula blend which suppose to churn out their “high” quality fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
      • lemonguy on Mar 07, 2015 at 9:11 am

I know the best quality of petrol is mobil but now no more already. BHP petrol is the best quality now then follow by Petronas then only Shell. My opinion only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 14
    • KLGUY on Mar 07, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Bro.. V-Power Racing pump handle in red colour.. And V-Power fuel in bleu colour.. I think u don’t have any experience on V-Power Racing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Pening on Mar 06, 2015 at 7:58 pm

Amaaaa….will the consumer have to bear for cost of the lab test or the ‘suspected’ petrol station to bear the lab test cost? Does the lab test cost to include the 6% GST starting April 1st too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
  • drMpower on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 189
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:25 pm

You must be the lawyer helping Najib suing DAP’s Tony Pua… right…?

You’re worse than a patent troll…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 42
      • drMpower on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Give me one reason why shell cannot do anything with regard to the lie that guy did?

Tbh dont give a shite about najib vs pua. If i were najib i just ignore pua hes nothing more than an insect

Suing him not giving me votes. Explaning the mess caused by pua is the key. I do that sure pua lost deposit next time

But i doubt he lost deposit ever because nutty like u so many in malaysia these days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 43
        • the guy lied? he edited the colour of the petrol is it? i saw he simply pump it straight from the nozzle for the video. its an honest straight forward comparison to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • what this guy did was good regardless of whether he was right or wrong. Let all the petrol station operators know that consumers are watching them. There have been numerous cases of these people cheating the public. Let them be on guard of their unethical business practices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 10
      • drMpower on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:34 pm

So lie is good. Thats logic for u. Because if people dont lie then we might never know the truth. Dont bother to check the truth just lie first. Or make defamatory statements. This guy even better defamatory video.

And shell, heres another nutty guy u can make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 80
        • black dog on Mar 07, 2015 at 11:41 am

I totally agree with you.

Nowadays in social media, keyboard warriors just attack anybody without any knowledge themselves. The victim is always defenceless and damage is done by their stupidity.

If you not not an expect in that field, stop all the the stupid comments. You make yourself look more ‘bodoh’.

Shell should sue that guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
        • Did your mother drop you when you were a child?

• And maybe they should hang you. How about that?

• albag on Mar 06, 2015 at 8:57 pm

but let’s think of another angle, do all petrol stations are honest to provide real fuel to customers? i mean REAL fuel without mixing any other substances which will compromise the exact quality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
  • There are many things in life you should be worried about..your car will change over time but your body doesnt..damage to the car can be fixed..so be worried about what the pollution can do to you not your car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • member of public on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:15 pm

PDAM – shouldn’t you guys be the responsible one to regularly take samples for SIRIM testing instead of asking the public to do what’s likely your role while telling us about your dealer’s losses each time pump prices drop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Mar 06, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Dude, really?

First off, your camera itself shows a serious discrepency in the video taken. In your video taken in Johor (where you claim to be: I find it a bit hard to believe that the stations are open in the middle of the night in the first place), beyond reasonable doubt the left bottle is being blocked by the shadow while the right one is being lit by the lights.

Secondly, bro, you do realise fuel is not the only thing right. If you drive your car (I notice you have a Vios, which has a 4 speed auto) at a higher speed (i.e. if you were cruising at about 110kmh, you would have been at about 3000rpm) you would have used more fuel, while if you cruised at about 90 or so, you would be at about 2000 rpm. That itself is a 1/3 difference in rpm. More rpm = more revolutions = more combustion = more fuel used = poor fuel consumption.

Plus, if there was a significant effect of dye in fuels (which I can tell you has been here for some time), why have we not seen many cases with all the high tech Mercs, BMWs, Audis all going in to the dealers with petrol engine failures or carbonisation (I took the 3 Germans cause they have one of the most advanced – and most sensitive engines with all the sensors).

And finally, if you really doubt the quality, go to SIRIM? I understood what you were saying at the end of the video (about how reducing prices = reduced quality?) and I feel if you really doubt it, take it to SIRIM and run through a lab?

Oh and by the way, while you are at it, three things, stop using your phone at the petrol station, and for goodness sake, you were spilling petrol all over the floor, and you filled up petrol in an unapproved container that can break down easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 17
    • Wonder on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:13 am

How the heck you know this is a Vios? I’ve watching it for few times and i see nothing…when i look at the rim’s it looks like Honda City to me…

• Matchy on Mar 06, 2015 at 10:47 pm

Can’t the guy recording the video stop blocking the freaking light? One is under the shadow while the other is not.

• clogged up my carb

• Chandran Sukumaran on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:45 pm

It is a common practice by oil companies to do product sharing as all petroleum products are made to specification. RON 97 or 95 manufactured in Shell refinery Port Dickson and the same manufactured at Petronas Malacca refinery will have the same qualities. However, the dye used by these two manufacturers may be slightly different. It is likely the products in KL pumps are from PD, stored at Dengil and transported to the various Shell stations in the Klang valley. The product purchased in Shell JB may have been supplied by Petronas or other companies under the product exchange program. This arrangement is normally done to save transportation cost. So not to be alarmed by the difference in color from gasoline purchased from the same company from North or South.

• Chandran Sukumaran on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:46 pm

It is a common practice by oil companies to do product sharing as all petroleum products are made to specification. RON 97 or 95 manufactured in Shell refinery Port Dickson and the same manufactured at Petronas Malacca refinery will have the same qualities. However, the dye used by these two manufacturers may be slightly different. It is likely the products in KL pumps are from PD, stored at Dengil and transported to the various Shell stations in the Klang valley. The product purchased in Shell JB may have been supplied either by Petronas or other companies under the product exchange program. This arrangement is normally done to save transportation cost. So not to be alarmed by the difference in color from gasoline purchased from the same company from North or South.

• CyberPatrol on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:34 am

I’ remember long long time ago and some ppl does not even had a driving in license yet, Shell did show a video advisement how they check quality of petrol station when consumer claim fuels was mixed or contaminated.

That video is about the address of owner of petrol station who are the culprit that contaminate the source of petrol. We have Shell issues public statement, did not even mention how they check quality of petrol at petrol station instead spoke about dye colours instead. I don’t care what colours you are using all I want you know how SHELL monitor petrol station owners do not contaminate the petrol. That me we are not getting what we paid for.

SHELL should perhaps recall the video advertisement from your video archives and screen it again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Meltsh on Mar 07, 2015 at 2:01 pm

agreed, shell should audit the stations regularly, not only on the quality but also on their pumps. Couple of years back, I was driving a honda city and not really a big fan of shell, so I usually pump petron (esso and Mobil back then) and it’s about 37-38 liters max that I can squeeze in on an empty tank. Around the same amount for caltex, petronas And BHP. Some of the shell stations, I have tried couple of times, not all stations but usually it will go up to 40-41 liters…there was a time that it went up all the way to 43.xx liters!! From that time onwards, I always tried to avoid shell stations…43liters into a 42liter tank? Think about it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • aiyoo macha..
    dye is a colour la.. it served for indentification only – nothing to do with quality! if you want to talk about quality then you should send the sample to lab la macha.. of course.. your sample should be in approved and sealed container and your sample origin should be verified..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:04 pm

that weird moment when i am indian and i dono what the fler saying also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • the macha on Mar 07, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Dey semi-value. Shame on you telling that you dont understand what the guy telling. pity u poor guy. but pls atleast send your children to tamil school. cheerrss!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • cendol (Member) on Mar 07, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Can anybody translate what in the Tamil the guy is saying?

• blaster88 on Mar 07, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Million dollar question… Do you think you would get 100% Ron 97 in all stations in Malaysia?

• Heng Lee on Mar 07, 2015 at 7:22 pm

Do I get this right?

This guy complains about that his fuel is not RED enogh?

Unbelievable…

• Gerald lim on Mar 07, 2015 at 8:34 pm

U know why , cause shell some time buying fuel from Caltex depo . Shell fuel actually is buying other branding fuel sale to everything .

• Heng Lee on Mar 08, 2015 at 6:16 pm

This is common practise all over the world?

It simply doesn’t make sense for, let’s say, Shell, to drive with their tanker fleet trough the whole country to their own oil refinery. The oil companies have contracts and agreements, they will fill up their tankers at the nearest oil refinery, even if it’s from a competitor.

As only the fuel additives are different, they are mixed in later.

• Thinking and thinking .. hmmm

the culprit may be the petrol station and the lorry driver. It happen before in Malaysia. (maybe got illegal place where the lorry change the petrol)

Anyway let shell investigate and handle this matter

Good job to the video maker. Not every one brave enough to stand for the right.

• whynot on Mar 08, 2015 at 3:08 am

It will be always a possibility that Ron 97 is being mixed with Ron 95 to cheats! Other include meter fixing and pumping air to accelerate the meter. New law and regular checks by petroleum officers or govt agency to prevent this kind of abuses! Have a regular certificate or seal at each pump to prevent cheating please. Otherwise prepare an accurate certified container for the public at every station to do their own checking please!!!

• Marcus on Mar 08, 2015 at 7:47 am

too much of dye color will damage my engine or not?

• vios TRD on Mar 08, 2015 at 12:18 pm

matcha..the dye color is just a marking lah.. you can complain the factory use less dye on the right bottle..left bottle too much dye…cannot complaining the quality.. quality need send to lab test.. if like that.. better you cut ur finger and say your glucose hw much..colestrol..might +ve AIDS too

• logic please on Mar 08, 2015 at 7:29 pm

C’mon guys. There is no need to say negative things about the guy in the video. In a country where almost all businesses notoriously scam consumers, we members of the public have to protect our own consumer rights by making public our findings and let businesses know of our scrutiny. Why bang the guy who did us a favour?

Please dont tell me shell doesnt have a standard to tell manufacturers how much dye to use in all pump stations? All mnc practice standards, even mcdonalds where u eat. The guy in video highlighted that mileage was different when using fuel from same brand but different sources. If he is experimenting, he of course would maintain speed consistently. If you guys are rich enough to be scammed of your money, just accept things as they are. But like what the guy said in the end of the video, we are all paying for the fuel n need to check this. We dont like being scammed.This is about consumer rights.

• Brahs on Mar 08, 2015 at 8:23 pm

He is a liar, he edit the fuel colour, In the brighter is under the lamp, and one in other is not under the lamp,

• prabowi on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:10 am

Perhaps Paultan could do us a favor n perform this kind of test for us?

• marhaen on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

“Datuk Zulkifli Mokti, deputy president of the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia, advised consumers to send a petrol sample to the relevant facilities should they detect something amiss regarding the quality. “Take a sample of it and send it for chemical check and make a report to Sirim, then they will look at it.”

Now you know about it! why don’t you as deputy president of the Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia take a sample and send it for chemical check and make a report to Sirim as wakil from us rakyat marhaen!

• L.Raj on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:34 pm

All Fuel are good there is no reason to cheat.