GALLERY: Infiniti QX30 compact crossover previewed

Infiniti QX30 Geneva Live 1

Here’s a live gallery of the Infiniti QX30 Concept from Geneva 2015, looking very much production-ready to take on the BMW X1, Audi Q3 and Mercedes-Benz GLA in the compact premium crossover segment.

The QX30, as it will be called when it goes on sale next year, is the SUV sister to the upcoming Infiniti Q30 hatchback, which will try to win sales from the Audi A3, Mercedes-Benz A-Class and newly-facelifted BMW 1 Series. Both the hatch and crossover have been spied on test recently.

Both bodies will sit on the same platform as the one underpinning the front-wheel-drive Mercedes A and B-Class Standing at 4,430 mm long, 1,815 mm wide and 1,520 mm tall, with a 192 mm ground clearance, the QX30 Concept is about 30 mm taller than the Q30 concept.

Infiniti QX30 Geneva Live 16

Styling cues that emphasise the outdoorsy crossover persona include black wheel arch surrounds, 21-inch wheels and rugged-looking body addenda – amongst them a satin chrome front bumper with big intakes and dynamic-looking side skirts. Also on are roof racks that ‘frame’ the rear passengers’ view of the sky, Infiniti’s signature crescent-cut C-pillar and a rear skid plate containing twin pipes. The head and tail lamps are LED.

Inside, you’ll find four seats that “have been streamlined for a suspended look.” The materials used provide a visual feast of colour – there are Connolly saddle and quilted leather here and there, as well as customisable LED mood lighting.

The QX30 concept is powered by a direct-injected, turbocharged 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine and a seven-speed auto, but Infiniti says the vehicle has been designed for a variety of petrol and diesel powertrains. Definitely not a wallflower. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• what a superb design this is!

• Jimmy on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Mazda are more tidy, sleek and yet able to maintain sporty look.

Read carefully this comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:25 pm

I read your comment carefully many times. Mazda Mazda Mazda Mazda Mazda…!

But hor…

I put CX5 next to it, but the first thing I see CX5 already made me nauseating. Mazda yuck…! CX5 everywhere on the road. Malaysians are just poor taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • antiP1 on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:19 pm

so kimchiiii..

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:21 pm

I used to shun all Infiniti design concepts… But this QX30 is rather interesting…

• venven81 on Mar 06, 2015 at 5:25 pm

this is the only Infiniti that catches my interest. very nice indeed

• spongewai on Mar 06, 2015 at 11:01 pm

lai lai, come to Malaysia…

we love you more than your cousin sis, Merc GLA

heheh, lol