Go no faster than 110 km/h – government mulling idea of installing speed limiting devices on all vehicles

speed limit

Here’s something that’ll absolutely delight all you speedsters. Bernama reports that the government is mulling with the idea of installing speed limiting devices in all vehicles, “all” being an all-encompassing term here – think along the lines of passenger cars and motorcycles, not just commercial vehicles.

The proposal – aimed at being a measure to curb the growing number of road accidents and fatalities – would see a maximum speed of 110 km/h defined by the limiter, Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah said.

“Limiting the speed of all vehicles is a suitable method to reduce road accidents in the country,” he said, adding that it would be in line with the law in Malaysia to set a maximum speed limit of 110 km per hour. “If this can be implemented, then we will become the first country in the world to limit vehicle speed car based on speed limits in accordance with national law,” he told reporters at an event.

speeder

Abu Bakar said that the speed limiting device was easily available, and it can be installed on all vehicles, including motorcycles and imported cars. “The device, which can limit speed as required, costs less than RM500,” he added.

He said police patrol cars, ambulances, fire engines and vehicles from other appropriate law enforcement agencies would be exempt from these regulations.

What do you think of this proposal to introduce speed limiting devices on all vehicles on Malaysian roads? Would it bring about a reduction in road accidents and fatalities as suggested? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MeToo on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:20 am

Such a great idea coming from the Great Minds of our Ruling Govt.

How about 60KMH limit instead? Since all car is crash tested at that speed? Even better!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1493 Thumb down 35
    • Speeeeeed on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:41 am

Not gonna happen … Those benefiting from speed summons will not allow it to be more than some random thoughts of some geeky dudes!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 340 Thumb down 12
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:49 am

Just another project to sapu duit, from government account into own cronies’ pocket.

You think the government officials can tahan 110km/h? Think again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 453 Thumb down 17
        • Kontrak Kontrak Kontrak! on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:02 pm

This is very simple. Government like to launch this and that. But the big contract will be given to the kakak ipar, anak tiri, cucu, bapa saudara, kakak kepada kakak ipar of some UMNO or Menteri. The contract will be worth billions but be given to a 1 month old RM2 company owned by the UMNO boys.

If it is not some UMNO big gun who gets this contract, it will be some clown who will get this contract.

This is how Malaysia works. Everything will be suggested but the main reason behind it is to enrichen some crony in town.

And even if it fails, the small RM2 Sdn Bhd will given RM500 million ringgit compensation like the AES.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 369 Thumb down 14
          • Ensaman on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:41 am

what if this rule been implemented, does the goverment family who had supercar which always drive faster on the road dangerously tru citizen path will also slow down and also obey the rule? I am not sure how this is going, but people might take another car

• Bodoh Kerajaan! on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:11 pm

Most countries will look into more airbags and VSC for the rakyat.

Our bodoh kerajaan, instead of looking into why our Camry has 2 airbags and global Camry has 10 airbags, is more interested in pulling a RM500 conjob on the rakyat.

Real bodoh kerajaan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 386 Thumb down 6
          • Barisan Nazi-onar on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:57 pm

Not only that, developed countries patched their roads and strictly observe road maintenance to prevent accidents due to bad road conditions. Here under Barisan Nazi-onar they come up with this stupid idea instead of doing what should be done to prevent more accidents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • mr mivec on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

That is because ada kroni yang akan supply benda tu so akn mendapat keuntungan kpd krono..tq government

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 264 Thumb down 7
        • Rahsia Kroni on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:25 pm

National Secret! Jangan persoal okayy!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
        • Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Now you know why Malaysia is heading downwards. All the Ministers know is kahwin empat and kongkek only as well as have mesyuarat and minum teh and makan kuih lapis.

Malaysia is so so stupid. This coming from our Science Minister. Even dengue and Malaria also got no cure and Malaria vaccines now coming from France.

Really bodoh. Malaysia so famous for dengue and malaria and yet France can invent vaccines!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 14
          • steven on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:39 pm

from BolehLand to BodohLand…

Singapore…from KiasuLand to currency 2.7=1.0….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 1
          • That Guy on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:23 am

teh and kuih lapis? racist detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
      • Sohaii on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:16 pm

He will not resign for his stupidity. Here in Bolih-Land, the more stupid, the longer a menteri hold their position.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 8
        • Matte on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:39 pm

First, you need to implement all vehicles have standard safety features. 4 airbags, VSC, ESC and so on. We spend so much money on a car, but some don’t even have the basic safety features. And then you come out with the stupid measures.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 3
          • Black Dog on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Good! Then I can buy Ferarri and Lambo at cheap prices.

Drive with style, not speed

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 1
        • Henry on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:11 pm

He will get a promotion soon for this “brilliant” idea. LoL.

• funny on Mar 14, 2015 at 2:07 am

who says? after limiting the car max speed to 110km/h they will reduce the speed limit to 80km/h .. there is still a lot of rooms for summon!!

• ruffstuff (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:44 am

64km/h is the offset. The numbers were taken based on actual accident. Most accident, upon impact, the speed is not the speed when you drive, people hit the brake before getting into impact.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Welcome.
        Must be installed by the respective manufacturers with original devices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 35
      • Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Science Minister, instead of coming out with trash, please come out with vaccines and medicines that can heal people.

So so malu lah to see our Science Minister with brains in the buntot. Go and see the Science Minister in Singapore, how they talk. They talk 20 years ahead lah bangau

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 4
        • steven on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:42 pm

just set the clock only in Malaysia have 36 hours per day……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Blue traveler on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:52 am

…..”- ah yes, no worries, after you collect your car, I bring you over to the shop just next lane, we change the badge for you free, FOC, YEAH-la, my personal free service to you, company no change and must charged. Free free. Then they can install the solar and security film too only 1200, good one, also extra 100 they will disconnect the speed limiter, easy la! All in one……” What I forsee might happen…..LOL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 3
      • Lojik on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:03 pm

How about limit the car tax to 6% GST? No more stupid 75% excise duty.

Car price OTR = Ex-Factory price + 6% GST + Insurance

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 292 Thumb down 3
        • dugongx on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:20 pm

They should limit income tax and all form of tax to 6% max also. SInce anything above that the cronies become greedy and ppl get killed and bombed too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
        • Gunalan on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:51 pm

Than proton will die in the grave…for good haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Overwhelming majority of road fatalities come from motorcycle accidents and crashes involving commercial vehicles such as trucks and buses.

Limiting motorcycles and trucks to 110km/h will still result in fatalities. Obviously that moron in the government is another idiot who talks for the sake of being heard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 8
      • Cakap Serupa Bikin on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Good idea but how about start from that Menteri’s car first, okay?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 4
      • Motoandcardriver on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:40 pm

your name suggests your statement just like a donkey. if you donkey drivers stop using your phone while driving and simply switching lanes and stop crashing into walls and the back of other vehicles. it will reduce the statistics moron. both the motorcyclist and car drivers are ass holes in Malaysia, stop pointing fingers and be like the dumb ministers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 23
        • DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Are you one of those low-income uneducated fools who ride kapchai until retirement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
          • Motoandcardriver on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:17 pm

I’m sorry to disappoint you scumbag donkeyfoolkong, I happen to ride a BMW bike and can go faster than your low level stupid brain and car. I happen to own a car I don’t have to mention here but is better than your low leveled peanut salary proton or Japanese car. enjoy your traffic jam everyday mofo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • medic on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:53 pm

Looks like only Singaporeans gonna enjoy driving in PLUS highway… no speed limit for them. The curious thing is, there is no limit for the minister’s stupidity. I hope they will install some device to limit their stupidity

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 284 Thumb down 1
      • Black Dog on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Haha! Imagine everybody drives at 110 km/h and Singaporean drivers whizz pass at 150km/hr! Summons? Cheap lah!

• betul betul betul on Mar 12, 2015 at 10:18 pm

hahahahaha…. I like your statement.. we should put a limit to the ministers stupidity :D

• omgod on Mar 25, 2015 at 4:02 pm

If can put a device to limit them, why not put a denotative device into easier.

• biggbro on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:58 pm

Gov coffers has run dry and they’re desperate for new revenues. Even a preposterous idea will do for them…more reason to sue for over speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • at rm400 perunit, and how many vehicle on the road,let say just 10million, there you go 4billion instant revenue, another AES fiasco in the making

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Can i be the supplier of the devices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Dr Mamak on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:15 pm

Stupid is as stupid does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Wlala on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:20 pm

You’ve got to congratulate the guy that came up with this idea. At least now we can confirm how stupid the Gov’s think tanks really are. Please install the speed limiters in their cars first then see if they can take it.

On a side note, if this is really happening, can anyone apply to be the supplier or must it be UM*O crony company only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Well done if the govt do so,originally this idea came from me,and the others idea does not came from me where the punishment must be rottan sentence and jail,and not fined,so people will be punish with the same feel for the rich n poor ppl without compromise.. But on the other hand,the installations of this limited speed must not only to the kroni such as aes kroni like before..

• speedisnotmyfriend on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:39 pm

I have question to ask.. my car when drive 100 already gegar everywhere.. so i can only drive around 90km/h. always on the slowest lane.. so need to install also ah?

• Be Smart Laaa on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Can we install STUPID limiter into our Menteri’s Brain???

• mikey on Mar 10, 2015 at 2:04 am

Agreed fully. Bunch of a**holes with s**t for brains. The first country to implement this? And the first country to be laughed off the map. If you’ve no better ideas to think up, and nothing better to do than to screw up the rakyat..might well shut your pieholes mofos. Things are bad enough as it is..we don’t need your half ass ideas spawned from a idiot minister who can’t tell the difference between an apple and a kangaroo.

• Because of such idiots with Pea Sized brain, we have such dumb innovations…. These kind of idiots should be send to pirate schools.

The gov should get all the car industries to produce only
      350 CC cars in Malaysia. like NANO or the TUK TUK.

Such a dumb idiot. Paul Tan should classify such news in a separate column called JOKES and not publish as a mainstream news.

• eagletalon on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:00 am

By the way, all vehicles are now installed a fuel-cut system. Just do some setting to limit the speed. We all save money.

• autobahn on Mar 12, 2015 at 8:38 pm

You sir, deserve more likes…

• azrai on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

PDRM and JPJ (AES) will surely got to redeploy since no one exceeding 110kmh. Eh..wait. Ah beng’s workshop will sure use mudah to uninstall the limiting chip. Haiyaaa…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
    • winliaolor on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:57 am

Word : Daylight robbery.Obviously this is one of their ways of laundering more money for that RM 500/chip!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • dugongx on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:09 pm

I will only agree if its installed for free. Otherwise this is just another scam like AES to suck money from rakyat and once abolished the cronies will be compensated 5 billion for doing nothing again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • If only free.. where do you think the money came from? obviously from our tax money i presume.

• dreaming of maserati on Mar 10, 2015 at 2:54 am

Obviosly he meant the manufacturers install it la. Free means not from even from our tax money.

• Illogic on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:44 pm

After AES failed, Kroni create another projek lubang duit. Bijak lagi kreatif!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • WTH!!! on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:22 am

This is the most stupid idea!!! Then those performance cars you buy also useless lah???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
    • Alfred on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:29 am

It’s not useless.

But blame it to others who drive it dangerously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
    • xiper (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:45 am

they are not useless, u can still bring it on track to speed as fast as u want

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Wira 1997 on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:02 pm

If you want to test your car’s performance, do it in the track not the public road. This is for public and own safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
      • Although you’re right about doing it in the track, but you don’t get it that it’s not for public and own safety. 110kph is still enough to kill (it can happen even at 60kph, try being rammed by a lorry?), the culprit is reckless driving, not solely speeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
        • Curious1 on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Totally agreed, if you analyse properly the highway accident notmally caused by reckless driving, or indirectly it show the diriving skill that not able to handle the unforseen incident that happen to him/her, definitely most of cases is not due to high speed

• Agreed…and this could happen due to having to wait for a no brainer siput on the fast lane, pretty annoying huh? i would suggest slow speed limit, that would be better.

• Hahahaha.. imagine driving a skyline gtr to Penang only use max 3rd gear.

• anonymous on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:23 am

dumbass idea

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • Lojik on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:05 pm

If stupidity can be taxed GST 6%, govt is very rich now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
  • most stupid solution on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:24 am

Low IQ and thinking level from a minis***

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
  • Alfred on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:27 am

Well, good idea. But make this as a compulsory to drivers who have got speed limits summons records (paid/unpaid)

I see too many speed cars become too arrogant of their cars, otherwise calls showing off.. Ignoring other peoples safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 22
  • idea yang sangat2 bodoh…
    apakata korang impliment dulu bende ni utk kereta2 menteri dan anak2 mereka?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 1
    • Poyo Jacket on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

yeah especially the faggot Blue Jacket clubs with the lambos, Ferrari and porkers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

Tak perlu ada double standard. Rakyat dan menteri guna 1 undang2 kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
  • AKoNGz on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:28 am

Idea B.O.D.O.H. It’s a double edged sword.
    Accident rate can increase if a person is trying to do an overtake maneuver but is tied to limiter.

Please don’t voice up ideas which can shame the country.

Better to impose ‘minimum’ speed limit on expressway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 1
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Minimum speed limit.. fully agree! Roadhogs who drive like they’re about to fall asleep should just use the trunk roads or stay home.. these idiots drive at 60km/h or less on any lane they feel like it, causing other vehicles to weave around them..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
  • Joseph Yeoh on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:28 am

Its not April yet !?! … LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • KeNxRaCh on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Well they’re waiting for first of April and make an announcement regarding these things are all just bullsh*t

• antistupid on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:29 am

stupid idea come from the clown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:30 am

Porsche, Ferrari, Lamborghini can basically close shop after this. No point driving fast cars cos you can’t go faster than even a Kancil on the road.

While at it, why not install steering that refuses to turn more than a certain degrees until the signal/indicators stalk has been selected. This is to prevent people from changing lanes/directions without using their indicators.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 7
    • diamjer on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:46 pm

macam mana kau nak layan corner badigol? bagi signal dulu?
      aduyaiii

• Look up the word “sarcasm”

• nanti mesti syok jalan kat cameron & genting highland…
          disinari dengan lampu kelip-kelip signal kuning..
          HaHaHa.. =)

• sudonano (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:31 am

What a champ. Someone give this guy an award.

So bro, you telling me, a Kancil doing 110kmh is as safe as a Volvo XC90? Or is it safer to have hopeless quality drivers driving at 110kmh than good, law abiding drivers like the Germans who do 130-140.

Pls think la. I can tell you one thing, no way these jokers are gonna lay one finger on any of my cars. Deal with it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
  • ajarn on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:31 am

if the goverment think its a good idea, apply it on commercial/heavy vehicle (taxi,bus,lorry)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • omg, i just bought a lamborghini

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Wakaka_So_Much_Laugh_Sakit Perut_Leh on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:40 am

0-100 in less than 5sec… so be prepared to use brake every 5sec… gud luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:44 am

At least you can reach 110km/h faster than most cars on the road. Good for you. Sadly the fun ends after 4 seconds, when you get stuck at 110.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • xiper (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:47 am

welcome to Sepang International Circuit

• Malaysia Boleh! on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:33 am

What a stupid idea… you think the country will be proud for being the first in the world to implement such things? The reason why no one implements is because it makes no sense. Speeding is not the only factor for road accidents! Reckless driving is… *no eyes see*

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • pity those driving sports car or even luxury cars > 200hp but top speed 110km/h.. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Wah, very the good idea wei. Government bearing the cost of the devices and installation? Any GST to install the bloody things? He has nothing to do to justify his existence? One after another. Sigh sigh sigh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • a2zor0to9 on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:33 am

there will be in an increase in summons for driving too slow

• TF ARE U GOV on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:34 am

The hell you government, you think with this installation can reduce number of accident? Then ure totally wrong. Just see german as an example, they got autobahn where cars can speed with no limitation and and they dont even have increase in number of crashes. It depends on driver, wreckless driver i mean. So stop this nonsense idea cause it’s sucks!

• u been to autobahn? Sure parts of it has no speed limit but it’s only 4 lane highway. A lot lorry on left lane then lorry will try to over take other lorry. Given lorry over there travel around 100kmh. Btw you know bmw and Mercedes got speed limiter required by German law right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Their speed limiter is literally 250kph. Also, certain cars do not require that limiter, plus it can be removed easily.

• Driver on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:36 am

Dont worry, April Fool je ni..

• Really need to salute for the GOV servant to come up with this idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Overtaking will officially be a 100x more dangerous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:41 am

Everyone going at 110..how to overtake? impossible.

I would really love to see how one tries to merge into the highway…………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:42 am

Even better.

Let the 110kmh cars all clog up the highway.. see how those miniters with un-limited car will feel. All stuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • roxas on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

when they install this,then they will lower the speed limit to 80km/h, there u go ~ u still can overtake at 110 ~

• first to be laughed by the world?
    who to bear the installation cost?
    with the “out of market” fuel price we are getting we still need to dig pockets for this rubbish idea?

really all fatal accident in Malaysia caused by speeding?
    any study on this deputy of science,technology and innovation?

i thought someone from this department are smart and innovative and GOV always rakyat didahulukan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • howtomakemoremoney on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:37 am

Nope,I totally disagree! this thing did not come out of stupidity.
    This came from a brain storming ideas between a few idiots who are thinking hard on how to siphon more money from the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • 4G63T DSM on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:38 am

Hahahahhahahahahahhahahahah.

April fools is 1 month early.

If they can’t enforce busses and HGVs to stick to 90km/h, what makes you think they can do it to passenger cars.

First in the world? First in the world for stupidity.

This guy has air between his ears….Minister of Science and Innovation. My goodness!! ROTFLMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • boink! on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:54 am

World Class Uni produce World Class Dr.

• medic on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:03 pm

An innovative idea to launder more money thru crony shell companies.Surely close tender…welcome to Bolehland,where you get traffic jam at 110km/hr!

• do they know how to install on my ferrari? probably i have to drive with my 2nd gear all time! very dangerous!

• poco2 on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:38 am

Before doing this, please maintain our road in good condition..tq

• Aghast on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:39 am

Better bring back kancil 660. other cats no need to sell already. Yer better go back to kereta lembu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • guest on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:39 am

The government is thinking of ways to milk us again. Let me guess, if somehow this is really implemented, the distributor for these speed limiting devices will be some crony company

Everyone knows the real problem here is that our driving test here is so easy to pass (with coffee money), producing loads of incompetent drivers. Enforcing strict 110kmh wont solve anything if they continue to churn out hopeless drivers. Pfft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • kemosabe on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:39 am

Enforcing the law would be a better and cheaper choice since its already available(the police) and its already paid for(by us).

Speeding does kill but driving recklessly at any speed kills too.

The Deputy Minister should consider an education plan at all levels to curb road accidents.

• I’m ok with the speed limiter installed as long as they scrape all speed traps, they wouldn’t need them anymore anyway.

• ok la tu, means pegi buang semua AES kamera dan kamera yg polis dok bertenggek bawah jambatan tu…

• Slow does not mean is safe, some driver drive to slow that actually cost a accident! Stupid Idea. Go catch those minister who take the racket money better la..save the country!

• RM500 per piece, they thinking of how much money they can make from the rakyat.

• tokmoh. on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:20 pm

Annual TIV around 500k+-

Cronies : *heavy breathing*

• “As of December 31 2013, there were 11.03 million registered motorcycles and 10.48 million private cars. If commercial vehicles were included, Malaysia has a total of 23.71 million registered vehicles.”

23.71 Million (2013 figure) x RM500 = 11.855 Billion

Man… damn water fish

• Datuk,
    Haven’t you noticed that that most accidents happen on trunk roads with speed limits much less than 110km/h.

If you have, do you really think capping proposal really makes sense? On top of that, the exact proposal was brought up ages ago for express busses at 90km/h with the introduction of black boxes. Now, whatever happened to that?

• andyC on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:09 pm

The solution is simple for express bus. Unplug speedo cable only.

• Najib bin razak on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:43 am

Vote me for better future!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • What a brilliant idea to milk the people! What a brilliant idea to enrich the cronies!

• waters on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:44 am

Not properly thought out.

What about accidents on normal roads (not highways). Speeding is just one aspect, what about cars swerving into merging traffic? Not following stop signs? Tailgating? Cars accelerating to fast? etc…

• Malaysian drivers mostly drive like hell sometimes they use the emergency lane to overtake and during traffic jam .

• because some idiot drive like siput at fast lane. they also change lane without using signal

• KeNxRaCh on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:05 pm

i don’t think they go with 140kmph on emergency lane to overtake do they?

• YB Loh Nomad Group on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

Who got the contract to manufacture n install devices?

• Louis on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

Stupid

• Unrelated topic: Quoted by Jeremy Clarkson from Top Gear UK. “Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.”

Malaysian Ministers are getting “SMARTER” day by day. Thank You very much for becoming the laughing product of the century.

• boytoy on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:23 am

better they propose all cars to have brembo brakes or something similar. why the foolishness mr minister? buat malu tau x

• Deus Ex on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

I won’t be surprised if the devices are to be supplied by a crony company. Best case scenario, gov will roll out the measure half-way then terminate the contract and “compensate” the crony on account of rakyat’s dissatisfaction.

• Come to think of it..
    this idea wont realize for sure.
    traffic summons is a multi million ringgit income.
    They wont be so stupid to do this and reduce their income.
    Malaysian kan rich fags, rumah mahal,minyak no subsidy, kereta mahal, insurans mahal, insurans mahal, everything also mahal yet still a lot of people driving mercedes.
    ;)

• Can any one tell the speed limiter for commercial vehicle is working…?
    Cause I still see bus driving crazy along highway…

• Somebody is trying to make big bucks proposing the idea (imagine every car is to install the device and only company A is approved to install it) to our deputy minister and he is dumb enough to not filter the idea… Sad to have low IQ people managing our country…

• How about limiting everyone to drive Kancil or other below 1.0L car? which can barely go up 100km/h…

Bunch of idiots come up with a crap idea…

• My mountain bike can faster than this shit! How about put this device in bicycle? Hahaha

• Hasbullah on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:50 am

Why don’t u guys implement just one brand of car (proton&perodua) instead? u ask people to come out rm500 plus 6% gst so that we can limit our speed to 110km… That’s fantastic.. I’m sure will vote for u guys in the next election… Hahaha

• What a stupid idea.

Guess Datuk Dr Abu Bakar is just ignorant. What he is implying is that at 110KMH and below doesn’t kill and have road accidents? Bodoh Betul!

Its the attitude and driving education which will prevent accidents and fatalities. Not speed.

• Zulu3220 on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:50 am

I’d suggest the government to consider selling the speed limit accordingly, such as $1 million for 200kmh for a one year permit and the insurance will go up accordingly to reflect the high risk speed limit too (the price has to be ridiculously high). So if one can afford a high performance car they have to make sure they can afford the speed limit too.

Also why not introduce a safety car like the F1 safety car. No one can go pass the safety car!

• ae101 on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:51 am

Such stupid idea only can come out from our shitttt gomen. If i wana overtake car and suddenly limit to 110kmh. shittttt then how ah since i cant overtake and running side by side with other car? Less than Rm500? What a great lubang to suck our money. This device give me free also don’t want.

• Somebody go slap this minister lah.

• dangerous,
    unsafe overtaking

• nabill (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:51 am

Thats it, im gonna start looking for green card to migrate somewhere, i refuse to be rules by monkeys, its an insult to human intelligence, i mean OMG… U can have a stupid idea is fine, bt to go on media n boast abt it is incredible… And i wish it was the first time… n if hes a product of our ‘top 100’ universities thn damn our education…

• Malaysians will say, where is their right to go faster than the speed limit! Must fight it!

• Michael on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:07 pm

If we have any rights, they would have lost the last election. Problem is we are the ones who is to blame for still supporting them in GEs as shown by the close number of supporters.

• totally stupid

• Good….now my viva can drive side by side with a Ferrari. And there’s no way it could over take me in 110kph. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Boo Hong Quat on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:53 am

thai and singapore registered car sure will laugh at you. hahaha

• krishna on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:56 am

Speed doesnt kill, stupidity does. Driving slow on our roads can make us feel sleepy..so whic is more dangerous?

In germany, autobahn doesnt have speed limits at all but not many accident reported…why? people drive fast and leave the highway fast also…so not many cars left on the highway. obviously, our ministers cant think out of box.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:23 am

No. Germans pay more attention to their surrounding and concentrate more on driving when they do it. They don’t read magazines, apply makeup, eat, drink, talk on their phone (with the phone in the hand), … They stick to the slow lane unless they overtake. They use their indicators. etc. German drivers are much more predictable than Malaysian ones, and they pay more attention. As a result there are fewer crashes. They are also taught how to drive fast in driving school… it’s common to spend the first lesson on the highway (after a couple of lessons of learning how to operate a car) at 150+.

• rasyad on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:56 am

Tak akan ada sesiapa yang berani halang saya bawak laju samada dalam dan luar negara.

• WetWillie on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:57 am

I won’t be that unhappy if they’re gonna install it for free. Now they’re asking us to pay and make our cars move like turtles. Pointless in my opinion.

• Selven on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:59 am

With this can it be 0 accidents?

No such things… Accidents happens.. It depends on the driver..

Need to get matured thinking first

• thank goodness now my alza can cucuk angina behind lambo or ferarri..

• Harrison Ooi on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:03 pm

Human body …. Mickey mouse mindset …. How can? Imagine when we wanted to overtake a lorry on a trunk road, and we cant go over 110kmh and there is a car coming fast at the opposite lane.. increase fatalities or decrease ? dumb !

• abg gagah on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:08 pm

so no point i buy M3 already. better use again my Kelisa

• Vijay on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Its often those who go significantly slower than the speed limits that cause accidents. Infact how about starting by imposing such devices on buses (i am sure it has already been installed but obviously no one is monitoring it until there is an accident) and heavy vehicles. It seems the 80/90 Kmh stickers on these verhicles are purely ornamental.

• hadi75 on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Rm500 for one unit of this limiter thingy…so how many cars are on the road right now?

• dont make it compulsory.make it optional.those who opted for it will be entitled for discounted road tax and insurance.but if those who declare they have installed the device are caught speeding their fine will be 10x normal rate,plus some jail time too

• GST brilliance sdn bhd on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:11 pm

IN 2010 total numbers of cars in malaysia was arnd 14millions and there has been an increase of arnd 600 thounsands each year since then. Assume in 2015 there r arnd 17millions cars.
    If the ministry is asking every car to pay rm500 for the installation, then the GST gained will b:

(17,000,000 × 500 )× 6% = rm510,000,000 or 500 millions. This excludes other millions of motorcycles.
    Tahniah b end, another lubang dapat di tutup..

Ps: if the goverment intends to fully subsidize the cost the i dont hv much problem with ìt.

• supercar on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Should be free mah! or subsidised by govt since it is a noble cause to reduce accidents. Why so expensive RM500?
    Another way to “korek” from the public!!

• halimievo on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Malaysia is proud for being the 1st to implement such a law. There is a reason for other countries not to implement this. Even Japanese with it’s crazy road regulation had the speed limited to at least 180km/h. (all marques including supercar brands).

please dont be the world 1st for a stupid reason. malaysia oh malaysiaku.

• So tell me, which shares should I start to accumulate on Bursa?

That’s far more important!

• kl fella on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:20 pm

don’t bother looking on bursa, it’s most likely gonna be a newly minted RM2 company.. with the shareholders you-know-who lol

• m.xiew on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:13 pm

Imagine a Ferrari/Lamborghini/GTR/any other sports/super cars being limited to 110KM/H.
    What are they thinking? What they SHOULD do is to reinforce the points system!! That will prevent id10ts from breaking the law. 110KM/H…please… Get real…

• Ripcord on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:13 pm

It’s like MCMC censuring porn sites!! This is an outrage!!

• Selian on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:14 pm

I wonder will will be the sole importer and installer for this device ….

Next question …will they come up with devices that avoid accidents because we had to drive slow at long boring stretch..

Then … I am driving at 110 and there is a lorry coming in collision path …slow down and wait?

• silent rage on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Idea yg dilahirkan oleh kerajaan dari otak menteri yg bodoh nk mampus.

• applegreen on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Naza, Euromobil, wearnes, cycle carriage will close shop. Sepang dan Pasir Gudang race track also going bankrupt!

• Randy on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:16 pm

It was the same case when they introduced the ‘third brake light’. Some gov agency was required to sell the ‘authorised’ devices. This happened because some minister was ‘hungry’ for commissions.

Which Minister hungry this time?

• Edwin Gan on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:16 pm

So no one can buy super car, economic definitely drop. Buy continental car also useless

• lee teik soon on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:18 pm

Pls install first in the minster car. If he still surviving after 3 month only talk.

• Sohaii on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Reason why it will fail:
    – kronies, crooks, gangsters will monopoly illegal speed de-limiter chip business
    – kopi-o culture not fully eradicated yet
    – AP kronies will protest loss of business

• Wliiy Wonka on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:22 pm

After this, motorcycle gonna put chip including kapcai.
    Ha ha ha…why not bicycle?

• Many Dato or Dato son bought performance cars, is this apply to them also?

• allen on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:24 pm

Cash cow project in the pipeline…

• rickyll (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:28 pm

This is another “syiok sendiri” statement issued by our so-called “learned” ministers. Remember years ago, when the haze problem reached its critical stage, we had a suggestion that every high rise building should install sprinkler at the top of a building to lessen the impact of haze and give the surrounding a cleaner air. When the water shortage problem was serious, we had another suggestion that every building should have water retention tank/pond to counter the problem. With a cabinet full of ministers of such calibre, no wonder our country is moving so fast in reverse gear.

• kukakula on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:29 pm

Good luck with overtaking.

• hahahahahaha on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:29 pm

hahahahahahahahahahaha cant stop sorry hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahaha sorry hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha gonna die here hahahahahahahahahahahahaah someone stop me hahahahahahahahahahahahahaahhahahahaha ok maybe i need to limit my laugh to 110 laughs/min hahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahaha.

• speed goat on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:30 pm

Malaysia car safety equipment not up to advance country spec.standard….no VSC, collision detection..full airbag, lane depature …etc

• kevin leePW on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:30 pm

I think this is the SMARTEST way to minimise road accidents instead of using speed trap/camera/police road block!! Fully SUPPORT the idea!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Logic on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:31 pm

What the difference is there’s the device or not.. There can still be an accident happen.. Accident happened is not because of speed.. It’s because of clumsy, misjudgements and carelessness.. Can you guarantee me that driving on the road at 40km/ph can’t involve in the accidents and death? I believe that driving at the speed of 40kmph has more accidents and death then driving high speed on the highway

• Illogic on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:42 pm

Janji Kroni can supply it profit margins 1000%. Accident or not, lain hari cerita.

• Just when I thought they cannot do anything more stupid than their spectacular display of idiocy in running the country, they amaze me with yet another amazingly DUMB idea. Boy they make turkeys look like Harvard graduates.

• Cakap Serupa Bikin on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:34 pm

So which Kroni will control supply of that speed limit chips?

• stone on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Aisayman, bulldozer and backhoe can overtake ferrari on the highway oredi….petanda dunia nak kiamat nih

• Brian on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Why not set minimum limit on some roads? Some slow drivers is hogging the traffic causing bumper to bumper and increase road accident..

• syameerhafidz on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:35 pm

The problem is not with the speed limit. It lies in the problems with the drivers in malaysia. Dumbass minister is just trying to seek popularity. If all of us could learn how to drive properly, these accidents can be put to a down low. For example, how is it that in the UK they are able to have varying speed limits a maximum of 70miles/hour i think which should be around 140 but still have low number in road accidents? Haiz… Really got no comments for the minister.

• Panzer on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:39 pm

how about foreign cars entering peninsular Malaysia ?

• gomen spokesman on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Foreign cars will be exempted and they are encouraged to drive the highway like in Nurburgring. The summons collected will then be channelled to fund rosmah hairdo. It the meantime, the speed limiting device will cost nothing but have to pay service charge of RM200/month but we are still the cheapest in the world.

• duang on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:40 pm

another money opportunity for gomen..

• Rennie A Ghani on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:40 pm

Please lah, speed dun kill, the driver behind the steering wheel kills, if you drive a viva, dun fantasize to drive at breakneck speeds since the car is not equipped for high speed driving. Similarly you dun expect a Mercedes owner to drive at 110km /hr

• askzidane on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:43 pm

This will make many people migrate to another country..

• Josh Thomas on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:44 pm

Oh God no…imagine you rushing to get your beloved relative to hospital who is really really sick and didnt make it cos you were stuck at 110km/h?? I would sue the government for all they have man….this is the dumbest kampung idea to come out of a failing (already failed) government. And i cant guarantee you the Datuk’s Ferrari’s and Lambos are not gonna be limited….. Tell the fella to resign please for lacking in intelligence and go ride a bicycle and leave us alone!!!

• Tell that to the royal of johor!

• cendol (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:49 pm

Has the contract to supply the limiter given out already?

• calvin on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:51 pm

BRAINLESS!!!!

• Foolishness. It could potentially cause more accidents too. It’s hard to overtake when everyone is driving at the same speed. Probably this is how proton and Perodua would sell better. They should put effort to improve the condition of the roads first.

• Sudah ada supplier lah tu. Tunggu nak bagi contract je. Right minister?

• Another attempt to divert attention from the actual problems like 1mdb, expired ULB battery, sleeping air tower supervisor, GST ..etc.

• domainicus on Mar 09, 2015 at 12:57 pm

When developed countries are doing research that esp/vsc/vsa saves 50% lives and mandated child seats, we want to limit top speed? Why? OK to Answer the rhetorical question esp make price of cars more expensive, speed limiter device potentially can enrich certain people if given the monopoly.

• for sure there will be a crony company appointed as the sole distributor of the device.

• BODOH LEVEL MAXIMUM

• abdullah on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:08 pm

This is the result of no local election. All our
    minister are of low quality.

• So mean Kancil can tailgate Ferrari?

• Highways are for high speed cars, not for huge commercial vehicles.

Trunk roads are for huge commercial vehicles, not for high speed cars.

Commercial companies wanted their quick delivery, therefore told their drivers to speed, to hog, by hook or by crook, sleepless midnights to make sure delivery on time so go through the highways.

High speed cars wanted to avoid high toll charges chooses the trunk roads to save money but when they became impatience, hoggings and over takings huge slow commercial vehicles often cause them to be careless and meet accidents.

There, you got the answer to the increasing accidents cause.

Use some brains to think, don’t just spat it out like a retarded kid.

• lol, highway are originally made to supplement the railroad and even take it over. Trunk road hah you nak bayar Xtar minyak and gaji lori ke.

• which crony get the contract this time?

• think on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Then whats the point of selling cars..just use bikes..whats the purpose using luxury cars.remove all the taxes together…one ridiculous reason to hide the worst Malaysia’s road condition..this law should apply to ministers also..

• Rakyat11 on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:18 pm

We have minister bodoh tahap Gaban!
    Why we always have this kind of minister in our country?

• Mike Wu on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:18 pm

110km/h limit sounds decent in certain area such as town area. Even below 110km /h there are still accident occurs.
    Reckless driving in malaysia is common; cutting lane left and right without signal is one of it

• Acidburn on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Why cant they figure out in the actual reasoning behind road accidents…road conditions for example is very much a reason behind this rather than speeding..people tending to avoid potholes even at the controlled speed tend to hit/cause other vehicles to lose control..

• Lanhb on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Just because of the faults of a few, punish everyone…

The problem is NOT with speeding…its about how to stop and be proactive while driving…not reactive…

But…minister oso reactive…

• donno on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:24 pm

And this hare brained idea comes from someone who is a professor.

Why do you need something redundant when you already have laws and police to enforce the speed limit?

So whats next?

All women need to wear a chastity belt with locks, alarm and gps tracker to prevent them from being raped??

Kids strapped with smoke detectors to prevent them from doing underage smoking??

Get a life Mr deputy minister!! And stop thinking of ruining other people’s lives!!

• ThinkRight on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:24 pm

RM500 for each device. Someone is already planning to harvest a hundred million profits. If there are 1 million cars, then it is 500 million RM. If there are 2 million cars, then it is 1 billion RM. You and me know where the contract will go. BN, just like Nigerian, never finish scamming the rakyat. What a government we have. In Germany, there is NO SPEED limit int the autobarn.

• eddy lee on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:26 pm

does this means all non government vehicles that’s running on our roads…how bout superbikes…cub chai….nowadays cub chai can speed over 120kmh easily at anytime…bus express…heavy trucks….our enforcement should study this issue in depth b4 implementing….

• Superkapcai on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:04 pm

Cannot for cars la.. But those superbike can. Always ride very fast and very dangerously.. Every week sure got some superbike crash and die. 130 km/h enough already.

• Keith on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Mr.Abu Bakar or Bubu Bakar or what so ever roti Bakar your name is… It’s our car and we bought it, not given by your cheating government. maybe you are some old faggot who prefers driving at a speed of 50km/h…anyways what do you even care, you guys have police escorts

• Mr Bosch on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:28 pm

WHY NOT MAKE THE CAR MAKERS INSTALL VSC/ESC?

• Expression on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:32 pm

before implementing any those lousy ideas
    Why the government not emphasizing on road condition.. Stupid stuff wanna executed but the most common problem never gonna solve till now

Pot holes,uneven road condition, traffic jam should be abolished by now, more highway lane(we should at least have 4/5 lane on each highway), death corner should no longer be “death”, more street lamps on country road,
    Why not funding those money on installing a safety device like ESC,TC,anti-skid control and etc on old generation and current car instead “speed limiting” crap which make no sense
    sighh

• BakKuTeh on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:34 pm

Guess those fellas who proposes this sort of bright ideas shit their brains out and store their waste in their head!

• Mcm ne lagi banyak kemalangan dan jalan sesak berlaku, fikir baik baik baru cakap lah M bodoh

• Lejohn on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:36 pm

30 years ago , cars going 110 is really as fast as it should go . But nowadays , cars are getting more and more advanced , with more safety features , and not to mention , cars like BMW 528 and Mercedes E250 are not even using 30% of the cars full potential at 110 . . Instead of limiting all cars to 110 . More like cars above a certain age should be limited

• sepul on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:39 pm

Compensate us by providing free GT5 or Forza Motorsport and Xbox consoles, plus driving simulator gears for free so we can speed in virtual roads.

• engineblock on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:40 pm

wht the purpose of having car then?the cause of accidents is not mainly by speeding,but attitude..this another brainless idea after 12 years old use of car before..wht a bunch of fools ministers..we have enough of high tax then try to surpress the rakyat again enjoying their ride in a overprice cars..

• niterunner99 on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:48 pm

oh dear! will we be seeing lots of those traffic police along N-S highway to resign in mass?!
    no more business for them leh!

• awesome as usual our beloved govt! helooo…before putting such a device, u better put a corruption detector device to our beloved ministers. Why everyday they got all nonsense ideas to propose?? got no money to rob from rakyat or how? aisey….

• sepul on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:48 pm

One more thing, Japan has been limiting speed on their cars electronically since years past, but they put 180kmh as limit so it is well acceptable. Either we follow that limit or no limit at all. Either way, we are not the first country to do it, if we are going to do it.

• UMW Mampus on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:52 pm

No problem, go ahead and install it. Don’t forget to install it on government officials’ cars, and the yellow family. Don’t forget those Maseratis, Buggattis, Ferraris and the like. There can be no two set of law!!!

• gamen makin bodo leni

• brainless on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:02 pm

how come this kind of brainless person can become ministry? you can tell how serious the corruption in MY when this kind of brainless also can jadi menteri

• inmagine a Mercedes, a BMW, or maybe a Porsche… omg, I am already laughing, wonder if anyone will still buy these cars.

btw, who is going to “supply” these devices? and who shall bare the cost? RM500/unit for all the motor vehicle is quite a fortune to be made there.

• speed_engineer on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:17 pm

Our former PM once said:
    “… speed doesn’t kill, sudden stop kills…”

It’s not the speed concern, is the attitude. Those police who bring our minister hit until 200kmh never involved in accident, WHY? Think…

Jangan salahkan budak yang tak pandai belajar, salahkan cikgu yang tak pandai mengajar.

• winston churchill on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:18 pm

BODOH…

• i think they should consider to cut kukubird to avoid rape cases…

• Jilbaber (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:20 pm

I sincerely against this act to the point I think its ridiculous and the menteri that suggested is so damn stowpeed.

I like to suggest to put a MINIMUM speed on certain (or all) highway path and warn the car who drive way slow max speed. This also partial causes of most road accident !

• Christopher on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:23 pm

Another way to enrich pro-BN crony companies again, by now even a child can tell you where and who the contract for such nonsense will be going to …

• AcerMan on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Don’t blame him. Stupidity came from the ‘Head’ :-p

• Speedster on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:29 pm

Hmmm.There must be other way to show your S.T.U.P.I.D.I.T.Y …. Not by implementing 110km/h speed limiter… Simple example: Let say i drive at 110km/h.. How you want to overtake me, mister?? aiyaaaa. How aaa?

• xoxox on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:33 pm

ministers never drive….that why they cam come out this stupid ideas…. :)

• Imagine a bus driving 110kmh in the middle and you are driving on the right lane 110kmh and approaching a curve, with another bus behind you trying to overtake.

We would usually speed up to avoid any edgy scenarios. If this is implemented, sure die one. since all 3 vehicles are locked at 110kmh.

• Speed-Is-Always-Safe on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:34 pm

It won’t change anything even if they implement, it is just another “Duit Rakyat” sucking scheme again.

Speeding does not kill anyone if they drive properly. Only the selfish drivers who drive recklessly are the one causing accident to others.

The moron government should look into :
    1.) How is the person driving attitude.
    2.) Elimination / abolish “Guarantee Pass” Exam Driving scheme.
    3.) The incorrect way of instructor teaching the new drivers.
    4.) Those selfish “Slow driving” drivers who use the fast lane ,causing others to over take them.
    5.) Those Selfish drivers came out of no where without looking the back or side mirror. They drive like the own the road.

• Veneno on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:39 pm

Gov is such an idiot.. to them, speed will be the true reason of accident and want to install the speed limiting devices.. but the other main causes of accident like bad road condition, potholes and narrow roads are ignored.. instead of installing the speed limiting device, just fix the damn road first..

• mat koboi on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:40 pm

Kereta super car pun kene letak device limit 110km/h..hhihi..lebih speed cut off..

• cikonut on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:40 pm

we are the first in the world that bring this stupid idea. SHIT

• Installed anti-corruption/graft devices in all gov. agencies first.

• watanho on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:43 pm

so i can still drive 110km/h at those 40~90km/hr limit area… nice, who give this brilliant idea again? oh that genius.. lol~!

• motberg on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Whatever are they smoking??

A more effective way to curb speeding is to have a dynamic rate. ie. if you are speeding at 120km/h, fine will be at RM300, if speeding at 140km/h, fine at RM500, if at 180km/h, fine at RM1,000, if over 200km/h, fine RM2,500 and suspend the driving licence!

• Malaysia Problems on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Ministers going retard faster than 110kmh.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Car speedometers do not accurately reflect their true speed. Example, if it shows u 110km/h, the real speed according to GPS is about 102 or 103km/h. That’s why when people drive 120km/h and yet feel ‘wah lucky tak kena saman’, they are actually driving at 110km/h.

Each time Autocar UK reviewed new cars, they did GPS test to determine 0-100kmh sprint time, and compared it with speedo readings. Surely there must have been little discrepancies between the two.

So, if the speedo is set at 110kmh… actually our true maximum speed is only at 103km/h???

• chowhai on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:29 pm

It’s because it takes time for the GPS to track you due to the distance to the satellite. There is a lag and your speed is indicated as slower than your speedometer.

• no no no no no on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:01 pm

GPS is not tracking us. hahahaah. the device use GPS signal from the satellite to calculate speed. its an electromagnetic signal WTF you mean by slow. armies are using it with rockets and you still think your car is really going 110km/h. wake up and drive 120 u will still not get any summon.

• Veneno on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Gov is such an idiot.. for them, the main reason of accident is only the speed.. what about the other serious problems like potholes, broken road and narrow road..?? instead of installing the speed limiting device, just fix the damn road first.. even if the drivers drive slowly, the vehicles will still tend to involve in an accident due to the poor road surface..

• Malaysia Problems on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Ministers are competing among one another to see who go full retard faster. LOL

• LeeKowChai on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Instead of speed limiters, y not give us traction control, a device under usd 100 but our car manufacturers are so frugal to make it a standard in their cars. They r more interested with few thousand ringgit accessories e.g. Body kits and leather seats.

• PenangDriversAreAllRoadHogs on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Stahp! Don’t be crazy la, we don’t need speed control. We need idiot control!

• turbo on Mar 09, 2015 at 2:59 pm

lol~!!!!! ASK JPJ give license properly first la~! New license “P” holder can’t even park properly.

• car-fans on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Oh No! We are dealing with ‘idiot’ … Daih Gov! This is more to driver or other road user – road accident not all because of speed! Even few accidents crash their car into shop during parking!

Should send all those menteri-menteri to Road Safety Programme – just like those Primary School.

• huehuehue on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:04 pm

i think la. implementing for all cars to must have esc is way better la..

• Why don’t we instead of putting limiter to 110km/j, we revised our driving school lesson i.e make it harder like taking German driving license bcos seriously, M’sian driver mostly are a**hole on the road, even the Viva could turn into Vavi, if u get what i mean.

• saiguiteh on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Use the $$ & upgrade our public transportation so that we will be all using public transport rather than driving. Such a Stupid idea!

• john kobota on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:19 pm

sokong! pasang pada kobota bajak sawah

• Lawak paling bodoh tahun ini…

• Serigala on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:29 pm

What caused this stupidity? Is it the foods? Crap idea

• Monkey on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:35 pm

I think Malaysian drivers are incompetent drivers to begin with. We live in a country where passing the drivers’ test isn’t a cause for us to work for but considered an automatic right once we’ve hit 17. Then we consider our invigilators to be unfair and very harsh when road safety is not a laughing matter and should be taken seriously anyway.

You want less RTA, please train better drivers. Eradicate all those who are rude, incompetent and reckless. Slow drivers are just as dangerous as speedy ones.

• Vinnie on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:50 pm

It’s too easy getting a drivers licence in Malaysia and difficult to loose it. it should be the otherway around. Difficult to get and easily taken away if you drive like an Idiot.

• asdasd on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:48 pm

police should follow this too, then criminals can easy run away

• NoLimitIsTheSpeedLimit on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:49 pm

The Deputy Minister has already pointed out that no country in the world has done this and he wants to be the first… Well first he needs to find out why no country in the world has done this…

Btw, speed doesnt kill, going beyond your own limit kills you.

• Excellent idea! Once this has been implemented, everyone would continue doing 110 in city areas and drive like mad man because of the lost time.

• Krasher on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:52 pm

That’s the greatest science breakthrough from the Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation :)

• Low Speed Driver on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:53 pm

jangan buat.. nanti takde duit, susah nak saman orang…

• ss427 on Mar 09, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Great! Then the bolehland roads will be empty enough for Singapore cars to speed on. Since none of you guys will be able to catch up with us.

Hmm… I want to see that speed limiter on a Posche, Ferrari, or a 1000hp Bugati Veyron! Rem, many of these cars can hit 100km/h in 1st gear. So I guess the drivers are stuck in 2nd gear most of the time.

• jimmy on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Friend : what car u own ??
    me : ferrari
    friend : top speed ??
    me : 110km/h
    friend : …….

• mmtalents on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:03 pm

this is like, man will rape, to prevent rape, cut off all manhood…

• jimmy on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Friend : what car u own ??me : ferrari.friend : top speed ??me : 110km/h ,friend : …….

• blaster88 on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:07 pm

???? DUMB to the core!!! Only bolehland can come up with such stupid idea… Whoever propose this, please, have his IQ checked. CARS DONT KILL, PEOPLE DO!!! You need to revamp the entire licencing system, create awareness and sense of responsibility among the public etc.

For example, in Germany, they have the Autobarn, no speed limit, in fact, they would fine you if you drive too slow on the Autobarn. However, if you have driven in Germany before, you would noticed that drivers are so orderly and and law abiding…achieved through continuous education, awareness and high licencing standards

• fastd on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:09 pm

Proactive in sucking rakyat money…
    What happen to AES?

• i would like to pay for another 500 to UNINSTALL THIS.

• one word. bullshit.

• so we hav to discard aes camera? waste lagi duit rakyat

• Where got waste, semua masuk kocek of important people.. WHere got waste? Better be grateful and think positive…

• xoxox on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Mr. Government, why don’t you ppl go use bicycle instead of implement this device? reduce fatal accident and reduce traffic jam somemore! and can….keep fit….
    lol

• Kazama on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:31 pm

It’s good to have dreams, just so long as they’re not fantasies. You let anybody sell you that shit, it’s your own damn fault.

• ayooo on Mar 09, 2015 at 4:44 pm

You limit car to 110kmh got crash people die oso. Better you impose 5 star safety rating to all car first. At least people crash at 160kmh oso dont die cause of safer car. Stop selling vios, camry, saga, persona, perodua, almera etc.

• More importantly is stop selling that cremation mpv from Proton.

• iomastupid on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Why? Now you cannot sale your real cremation mpv ah?
        Dah la handling entah hapa hapa, 80km/h tail ady swaying right and left. How can that be an mpv to carry people? Ptuih.

• I wonder if the car can be program only to run at 110kmph. Then each and every car do not need to go hussle to install such device. Save cost, save labour, save time, permanent solution.

• Seriously, if they can install it, then why cant we take it out? Just go the workshop, ask a mechanic to take it out, then drive away. If the government wants to waste money on this, why not go and build houses and help those people in need. Instead of wasting a money on a useless piece of junk if you can remove it

• sila beri laluan on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Ironically, its the govt VIP that are the fastest speeders with police escorts.

• what the stupid idea again!? the reason of the growing numbers of road accident is more in the driver’s attitude problem instead of the speed…a motorcycle rider would not die in the crash when the speed just around 110km per hour??

• ben yap on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:24 pm

Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah graduate from which kampung university?

talk from his arse.

• petrol head on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Is there any “stupidity limiter” chip that cost few hundred ringgit available and be installed into our minister’s head… so that they don’t exceed the stupidity limit.

• WaJib on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Finally…any Kancil or Saga can challenge R35 GTR on the road. No point buying a sports car.

• Tanesh on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:35 pm

More than bullshit.

• “If this can be implemented, then we will become the first country in the world to limit vehicle speed car based on speed limits in accordance with national law”

No other country has ever done or thought about it for one simple and obvious reason: it’s stupid!!

• Tubeng Balau on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:46 pm

Totally disagree with the statement the first in the world. Dumb bullshit, the Jap are the first to install speed limiter at 110KM/hr if you everyone could recall all the import recondition cars are installed with this device and it is very very annoying buzzer.

• KSYeong on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:52 pm

For me it’s really ridiculous! The government is totally a pile of pig stu.. If the speed limits implemented so why the hell is sport and supercars imported? Why is the hell with importing 2.0-6.0Ltr(turbo’s,v6-v12)??!! Why the hell is National brand Proton’s build a 1.6ltr turbo(Suprima)? What is the point using turbo? I think Perodua will have their advantages of their 850cc 1.0cc(viva,axia,myvi).. Where should they(government) put those peoples who currently owned a 1.6-6.0+ltr cars? Government department and public sector transport should not using bigger engine capacity range over than 1.5cc for their departments.. Stop being ridiculous! Seriously this is all bulls**t ideas! You should STOP importing Mercedes, Lamborghini,Ferrari & other big brands..

• Anonymous on Mar 09, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Car tax + expensive petrol / diesel + RM500 speed limiter + 6% GST + Insurance… Wow!!!
    Such a “SMART” idea!!!
    Bravo… Bravo…

• Some Dude on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Of the 5000+ accidents last year causing fatalities 60% were the idiots on motorcycles who like to speed between cars and weave all over the road and drive the wrong way down 1 way streets etc.
    Fix driver attitude before mechanical attempts. Even at lower speeds drivers will still be idiots.

• Mursyid Sazali on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Why not construct safer roads? Ini tak. Buat jalan, repair jalan semua entah pape. Bawak kereta kebal pn boleh accident kalau mcm tu. Kerajaan nk kutip gst kaaan. Pakai la duit yg akan dikumpul tu utk buat jalan setaraf AutoBahn di jerman. Alasan xda duit tu semua sebab yg bermewah2 jalan sini sana naik private jet. Menyusahkan rakyat je khoje..

• Jared David on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:06 pm

educate the public la. most of the drivers on the road guarantee pass. of course la accident rate high. public not educated properly on driving you expect first class driving? these menteri all need education also

• Moron always moron on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Woooh!!! Undisputed World Bodoh Champion……

• kambing gurun on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Please put speed limiters on commercial vehicles first lah, i.e at 80km/h. They are driven so fast that it’s impossible to overtake them if we are limited to only 110km/h…

• isuzuki on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:29 pm

I dare the GOM do it….

Or start with all GOM vehicles and see the feedback first.

• Samad Jain on Mar 09, 2015 at 6:53 pm

suoer duper stupid idea……from the stupido think tank.

Dah la makan gaji buta, sekarang mau kAsi susah orang…..

• Funny on Mar 09, 2015 at 7:07 pm

All buy kancil 660cc no need buy big big car

• Whatt? Not good at all. Speeding not necessarily causes accident.

On a side note, could Paul Tan and crew make the time-stamp according to the computer. Following stories from outside Malaysia also kena tolak what time is the story posted.

• sukveer on Mar 09, 2015 at 7:29 pm

lets start this with the polis cars and other gom vehicles lets see the feed backfrom there,..

• asshole on Mar 09, 2015 at 7:38 pm

same theory – to curb increase rape case. everyone shall lock their penis

• This is a good idea. There is no legal reason for anyone, others than those exempt, to drive above the speed limit. In the coming decades, this will be a norm in developed countries.

• Hanif on Mar 09, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Little that the minister know that slower limit correlate with high rate of accident.

There the evident from united state.

http://www.cato.org/publications/commentary/speed-doesnt-kill

• Seriously, I doubt all the accidents are caused by ‘speed’ itself, the government should educate people how to drive properly first. How about showing people there’s a lever behind the steering wheel called the indicator, and you use it when you intend to make a turn. And there’s a belt you should buckle up whenever you are in the car.

• Muhammad Sammir on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:13 pm

In Fact, installing the speed limiter is nothing new in Malaysia. Beside speed limiter, black box somemore. But look at those bus on the hiway, 120,140km, masuk longkang, langa divider, lori laju til hilang break smash into car in front. What corrective action JPJ/goverment have done. T….u …t u p..
    Now money finished, want to mess up with private car plak. Go and eat shit lah….

• Veyron Mahtir on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Apalah budak Dr M tu nak buat dengan Veyron supercar?!

• A.S.C on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:26 pm

definitely an idea from someone that going to sell the device to Govt. If this approved, definitely they don’t care whether it will work. The company will sell million device and mechanic will find way to turn it off.

• Daniel Mentacor on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:28 pm

Ignoramuses. Of course some accidents are caused by excessive speed. But speed does not kill. Misappropriation of speed kills. But far more accidents in Malaysia are caused by the brake than the accelerator pedal, lack of education & experience due to Malaysia’s rapid explosion of wealth. Many drivers here have bought their first car ever in recent years, & years of experience brings about better driving standards. & what happens when I’m driving at 110 & my car is capped out? Some idiot is approaching my car & with or without the brakes I’m going to collide with him. The only way is to bury the accelerator into the carpet to avoid an accident & I can’t.

• WALAU EH on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:28 pm

OMG ARE THEY SIRIUS? accidents don’t need 110 km/h and above to happen, dumbo!!! even traffic jam also can have accidents! Try improving car systems like airbags and not some bullshit moneys-sucking system please.

• Henry on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:35 pm

A very kangkung idea.

“Wise men speak because they have something to say. Fools speak because they want to say something.”

• Sure guarantee confirm absolutely cannot approved one. If approve where AES go? How traffic and JPJ survive without summon? Personally I hope it approved anyway. But I know impossible. This just a funny joke. haha

• Imagine a deputy minister somemore in the science technology and innovation. My god I was wandering does he qualify?

• Mcekebak on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:44 pm

This is the idea that we always called ‘ideas Bangang Abadi’

• A Helpless Malaysian on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Dear minister with a “brilliant brain”,

HOW ABOUT YOU IMPROVE THE PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION INSTEAD?

• lancelot on Mar 09, 2015 at 8:58 pm

Future my kancil will be on par with bmw x6, camry or merc in term of speed.hahaha

• The most ridiculous & stupidest idea I have ever heard…… Hello kawan for busses & heavy vehicle lorry can implement la…not individual vehicle.

Mott

• Sixer on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:06 pm

this is ridiculous. backwards mentality. the people should have the right to exercise self restraint behind the wheel. further more, inattentive driving would still cause accidents, speed limiter or not. drunk drivers would still drive recklessly at 110km/h. i could go on.
    people will still die on the road, just at speeds of 110km/h and below.

• Forest on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:16 pm

Cornering king will be born in Malaysia. Since can’t go fast in straight, we will challenge the corner!

By the way, this is topic comments should have break the record with most “Likes” in any Paultan topics.

• tazzy on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Good idea for commercial vehicles.

Our government can do a trial by fitting speed limiters to all goverment vehicles as well as those of politicians, rulers and the ruling party members. What better way to gauge the effectiveness of this.

• adely on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:33 pm

walawehhh..tired of reading the comments..
    no idea to share..

• Last time was the “special” number plate supplied by one company. Then change to “special” roadtax sticker. Better to install for commercial vehicles. Lorries & buses are driven too fast and cause many accidents.

• Remus on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Everyday we drive as if we’re going to war. All of us just not willing to giv up the space their vehicle is on, everybody is fighting for every last inch of useable road. We parked regardless of other road users. We openly text & talk while driving. We dont bother to use the indicator when making a turn or changing lanes. We hog lanes, and best of all we even rejected to speed cameras. Reason we hv a lot of road accidents is not because of speed but bevause we all hv a bad “Driving Culture”.

• BicycleMan on Mar 09, 2015 at 9:57 pm

Aiya why so difficult, effective 1st April, no more cars/vehicle are allow on the road.
    We all go back to bicycle…no accident, no one will die, don’t need petrol, no pollution, no road tax, don’t need insurance.
    Don’t need AP, no more snatch thief, don’t need traffic police, no more tolls…and many more…

Malaysia 1st in the world to be Vehicle free…YaY…

There are so much of good thing without cars…think about it…tons of goodness and its good to our help by having more exercise.
    We all can live longer and more happier…

• CHING on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:07 pm

Imagine all the police cars have 110km/h limiting device, wonder how to chase bad guys… I think ministers’ car should install first because they are those who always “flash” my small little suzuki swift… lead by example first, so the “rakyat” will follow…

• Ihsan Reza on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:08 pm

Cuba bercakap selepas berfikir. Idea yang paling “bijak” abad ini!

• Thai boy on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Are u guys serious? U’re gonna make it to the Guiness book of world records, congratulations anyway don’t be too worry cos we still haven’t change our 12 years old Vios engine and yes thats even too fast but we can degrade it further to make sure it does’nt go beyond……u name it 100…110kmh just for u my nice neigbour and if u ever drive it to Thailand no one’s gonna notice it,trust me u are here on holiday u should drive slowwwly but sorry we have to overtake u left and right cos we’ve many things to do time precious forgive us good luck…good luck…GOOD LUCK!

• he's my father on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:23 pm

…..kenapa bodoh sang at nie…
    …..Dari sekolah mane budak nie….
    Hampehh…

• Budak Baru Belajar on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Instead of speed limiter how about installing a black box in the car.
    By installing this government will have a better surveillant toward the wrong doing of the drivers.
    If it is to implement, of cause our leader should lead by examples and be transparent.
    I believe the government should install it for free 1st because the return from the “Saman” will be more than enough to cover the installation.

What do you think?

• Testing My Patience on Mar 09, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Deputy Minister comments based on what facts? Don’t insult the rakyat with your stupidity.

Instead of finding ways to improve the well being of the rakyat, come out with a brainless suggestion!

When was the last time they actually drove on the road? I forgot, they use outriders so they give a s@#%!

1. Fact! Most motorcyclist don’t care bout the law. Riding against traffic, beating red lights, using 5 foot way and not to mention our beloved Mat Rempits.
    2. Fact! Commercial vehicles and buses drive as if they own the road. Overtaking each other when clearly sign board says No Overtaking, not to mention speeding, disregard for curfew rules (in KL certain class of heavy vehicles is not allowed in the city until 9.00am during weekdays)
    3. Fact! Drivers hogging on the over taking lane because they think no one else is using or they drive within the speed limit so no one should overtake them, making last minute turns without signaling, queue jumping, driving on the emergency lane, brake for nothing even there’s nobody in front of them, playing with their stupid phones while driving, driving slowly when the light is green and in the end breaking the red light.

Deputy Minister, so which part of these issues is really related to speeding? Talk smartly or learn to shut up if you have nothing intelligent to say! Pissing the rakyat off seems to come naturally for you. Be a traffic policeman in the morning during rush hour and experience the real issue!

• Mr Albert E. on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:05 pm

Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation – Shift the future –

• Idham on Mar 09, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Simple comment from deep inside of my heart: STUPID IDEA!!!
    Even the built in ‘Cut-Off’ device also can simply be hacked by the motorist.

• Cik Din on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:08 am

No no no no no… this is the best government that we voted last time. Thank you all…

God… am I in Mars???

• Burai on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:11 am

Omg, I literally laughed out loud!
    Yet another ridiculously dumb plan by our g.
    Definitely failed Science and engineering.

Ever wondered why more developed countries never ever thought of such an idea?

• Why this guy can not use his time to do something really benefit to rakyat, spending time thinking shit ideas. What’s wrong with these people? Where he study ah?

• this minister little friend should be beheaded so no more stupid sperm is coming out of him

• “will be 1st in the world” ???? How stupid is that

• Asraf Ahmad on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:49 am

This is a super brilliant idea to be implemented. Let’s try it first to the ministers’ transport. We will make it as a pilot project.

• olio benzina on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:59 am

Instead of that, why not be the first country in the world to make Stability Control compulsory equipment on all new cars.

• Greyson on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:23 am

Why dont u government inform all the car company available in malaysia install a kapcai engine in a car? So that it cant speed.. Bodoh.

Why dont government u implement a basic 4 Airbags, Electronic Stability Control, Brake Assist and Traction Control on each car? When u do UMW Toyota Malaysia confirm bankrupt dy.

• Hedges on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:13 am

Oh! Don’t forget the potholes would ya? Don’t main tempek-tempek. That is the main cause of accident!

• kjlim on Mar 10, 2015 at 7:19 am

Speed does not kill. It’s how people drive that causing accidents.

• IrizX on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:59 am

Try crash at 110km/h into a wall and come back to post your reply here.

• crash n burn on Mar 10, 2015 at 5:11 pm

that’s not because of speed. that’s stupid.
        even if you crash 10kmh into a wall, its still an accident and doesn’t change the fact that you are stupid enough to purposely crash into a wall. get it?

• zamer on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:25 am

actually we can only minimize accidents but not 0 accidents.

In modern cars, there is already a speed limiter which warns driver after it reaches certain speed.
    They can implement at future national cars first. Probably limited at 150kmh will make so much sense.

We just dont want to pay RM500 to downgrade our cars. We have enough to fork out to G. Go and find money yourself somewhere else. Not from us.

First thing first, remove the unwanted corrupted people

• Stupid Idea on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:26 am

How come so stupid. What happens when we need the speed to avoid collision. Press the accelerator don’t move, then die whacking the lorry overtaking up the hill (who incidentally does not have speed limiters)
    Malaysia boleh. The only country where all busses travel faster than cars!

• Thai boy on Mar 10, 2015 at 8:57 am

He he he reminds me of my parent’s advice when not heeded have to use cane on me, no offence but true story

• Annoynimouse on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:17 am

The people who suggested this failed to realize that it is not speed that kills, its stupidity!… which happened to be the character of the person who proposed the idea in the first place.
    Rather, they should sort out the misuse of emergency lanes, running red-lights, intolerant and reckless driving etc. I see these things happening everyday and nobody is doing anything about it! WTF!

• IrizX on Mar 10, 2015 at 9:58 am

1) Stupid idea by Idiot Ministers. Being ‘1st in the world to implement”..obviously, all the other advanced countries has mulled through this and find it not pratical, otherwise they would have done it eons ago.

2) Another way to songlap….RM500 device…imagive each unit..songlap RM100 cukup lah…how many cars on the road? Say 20 million x RM100= RM 20,000,000,000 ..RM 20 BILLION!!!!

Maybe need duit to cover the lubang in 1MDB???

“Unlimited Possibilities(tm) by Najib”

• dummy on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:16 am

many years ago all commercial lorry/truck required to install speed limiter, when the truck over speed limit, the light on the top of vehicle will blink and inside driver cabin, alarm will beep non stop…

• This gonna be interesting for high powered cars like ferrari, lamborghini, and etc…

• eagletalon on Mar 10, 2015 at 10:54 am

It can be installed on some heavy vehicles like buses and lorries, but not private cars. Has the g thought about the downside of installing this stupid thing? Ex, while people need to drive to hospital asap in emergency case? How many percent of accidents are caused by overspeeding? I would agree to increase amount of summons for overspeeding, and the amount is calculated according to the car prices, bcoz rm300 is nothing at all for those who can afford s-class.

• woweee on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:23 am

What a brilliant idea.good job sir.cant wait for this! Lol. There’s a reason why other country dont implement this.bahalol.

• 110kmh man on Mar 10, 2015 at 11:40 am

Start implementing government bodies car to be tax higher, pay the tolls and limit their speed to 80kmh. then rakyat is 110kmh. how bout that? then you see the whole malaysia road all driving while reading newspaper..

our government really top of the world lah! i celik and give you 5!

if the government implement this, i really dunno what to say.. all i can do is open a workshop and remove the speed limiter.. LOL

• speedfreak on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:24 pm

wonder where these bunch of morons come from…

• googledhim on Mar 10, 2015 at 12:26 pm

I googled this Datuk Dr Abu Bakar Mohamad Diah. He looks like Borat’s evil twin !!!

• Eddy Raj on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

If enforcement of the present speed limit is properly done there will not be any reason to limit to 110 km. Enforcement of laws is very poor in this country.

• elektron on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:06 pm

I might as well drive my car in reverse on the highway(sigh)…just to prove a point that stupidity, among others, and not necessarily speed can kill even if you do below 110km/h…since this proposal is such a(mute – expletives)idea..

• elektron on Mar 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm

With today’s modern, advanced car, i assume the reverse gear itself can already reach the 110km/h speed limit…

• Keanu Reeves speeding on Mar 10, 2015 at 3:25 pm

Dear Pak Menteri,

“Speed doesn’t kill. Stupidity does”.
    Yes, speed effects the severity level of accidents, but its not the factor why accident happens.

Take a look at these 2 situations:-

Situation A:
    A car driver drives at 50kmh, suddenly making a turn to the left without giving signal. a 50kmh motocycle behind the car doesn’t have enough time to make a stop, thus crashing into the car. motocycle rider bump onto the car and fell on the road, with broken hand and leg.

Situation B:
    A car driver drives at 30kmh, suddenly making a turn to the left without giving signal. a 30kmh motocycle behind the car doesn’t have enough time to make a stop, thus crashing into the car. motocycle rider bump onto the car and slowly roll over until he hits the ground, minor scratches on his body.

Now, find the similar characteristic between the two and highlight one that contributes to the accident.

Not sure whether the relevant people read this post or blog, but I hope they do.

• Matty on Mar 10, 2015 at 4:49 pm

This is so lame.
    Peoples mindset needs to be changed. What’s wrong with driving fast but yet being safe? What about the times when you absolutely have to drive faster then 110kmh.
    Just tighten up on speed cams and fines. And let the fines go to good causes.
    Stupids

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 10, 2015 at 6:13 pm

The only agenda I see from this initiative is some crony gets this contract to supply speed limiters.

Its a quick get rich scheme from an pretty unethical entity

• Sorry to say but this is just pure bullshit. They’re just going for the money to pay the debts.

If they put the 110 limiter it would be more dangerous. Let’s say there’s a situation and you HAVE to go more than 110? *Probably to escape something dangerous*

• Tarok Makto on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:21 am

Does not make sense for a petrol running vehicle to be installed with speed limitter… but if the electric vehicle surely yes it make sense…they should advice on manufacture the hybrid cars more or the EV. Save the environment first then you will be saving the lives… :)

• weRscrewed on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:50 am

Whilst we might have driverless cars in the future, what we have here is a brainless mouth.

• aditya on Mar 11, 2015 at 5:27 pm

speed limit should vary along the expressway where curved and contours should have lower limits of 100 to 110 than straight flat stretches where the limit can be raised to between 120 and 130…….varying the speed limit also makes drivers a bit more alert and adjust driving conditions according to the road terrain…….install speed cams at the more dangerous spots where speeds should be lower rather than the straight stretches that are relatively less accident prone…..also federal roads nationwide need upgrading to allow speeds of up to 110 on some stretches

• ToddyKingCobra on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:34 pm

Speed alone doesn’t always kill. Suggest you lawat sambil belajar to the German Auto-Bahn.
    Check how Malaysian drivers/motorcyclists manage to graduate from driving school with all the Kopi-O licenses, poor road conditions-world class patch works,lubang here&there, poor road design – non-straight road, merging/de-merging lanes out of nowhere, sudden narrowing, no dedicated lanes to motorcyclist,etc. Basically, roads in Bolehland are designed to kill and maim.
    Your brilliant suggestion is just another ploy to hide all your weaknesses and for BN cronies to further milk Malaysians of their hard earned money.

• tanspot monister on Mar 13, 2015 at 10:50 pm

It’s very easy to hit zero accident in the country , just ban all motor vehicls in the counries.
    The first country in the world without road accident!
    Subsequently, close all the airports, no more plane crash.

• Idea Paling Bodoh Bodoh Bodoh on Mar 15, 2015 at 1:28 am

Inilah menteri kepala hotak lembu

• Blind Servant on Mar 21, 2015 at 7:31 pm

Somehow, the Government is overtly obsessed with the maximum speed at 110 km/hr. What about the minimum speed for slow moving vehicles??

• Nicholas Pereira on May 03, 2015 at 4:52 pm

I think that this is just pure bullshit! Limiting all cars to a maximum speed of 110 km/h is for the weak and powerless. You cannot expect performance car owners to have a speed limiter like this on their vehicles. If supercars are limited to these kind of speeds, all they would need is 1st and 2nd gear to get around town and the goverment would lose money in import car duties as it would be pointless to buy fast and expensive weekend toys.

I have a belief that speed and power can solve many things. What would get us to a relative or friend in need? What would keep us awake on a lonely road at night? Speed is the answer. If the goverment starts a ban like this, We should all stop paying road tax as we would not be able to enjoy our high powered toys.

Nicholas Pereira
    Mercedes SL55 AMG pilot

• Sickening! on May 03, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Incredible minds we have in our ruling govt which works without a slightest sense on commonality,…disgracing!

• ” then we will become the first country in the world to limit vehicle speed car based on speed limits in accordance with national law”
    And other countries will think that idiots are running this country.

• Jimmy Ng on May 03, 2015 at 6:55 pm

Sports car manufacturers and dealers will have to move out from Malaysia. Imagine a Kancil going neck to neck with a Ferrari on the highway. What a sight !!!

• Blacke on May 03, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Why the bias? Extend the law to buses, trucks, tractors, planes, trains, bicycles, tricycles, escalators, elevators…
    They all cause accidents too, you know?
    Jeez! The way they think…

• YEESSS…!!! Anyhow my little 660 maximum top speed is 120km/h only on hot day. No issue limit it to 110km/h. Pity VW Audi BMW Merc Porsche Bentley driver, especially Jaguar XKR driver.

• Hor Shen Hau on May 03, 2015 at 7:18 pm

Are they crazy?110 km/h speed limiter?Please government,think twice.

• unknown on May 03, 2015 at 7:56 pm

If goverment is doing this system then what for toyota honda mazda volvo and other provide 2.0 engine above its useless for us to get so expensive vehicle instead inside ady fixed the speed limit

• WT Low on May 03, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Malaysia government is well known in creating these kinds of idea$$$, Msia Memang BOLEH!

• This needs to happen. Malaysian motorists will never be responsible enougth, mature enougth, or conscience of other road users to start driving responsibly. 20000 accidents a year prove this. Even if this initiative saves one life, it will be worth it. Remember, God forbid, it could be anyone of our loved ones who could be involved in an accident. All because Malaysian motorists refuse to grow up.

• lalipop on May 04, 2015 at 8:33 am

Einstein brain.

• Many many years a ago the government has implemented such device on trucks. A yellow light indicator which light up if the drive goes more than allowed speed. It dies off slowly. Then recently they came up with safety seat belt for rear passengers…seems like they love to implement but not consistent with follow thru…its my 5 cents opinion.

• OrangeAddict on May 04, 2015 at 11:25 am

Imagine overtaking on a speed limit section, and you can’t go faster cos of the limit…i would safely assume more accidents…

On the joking side, i imagine a nissan sunny overtaking new cars with speed limiter very easily..haha

• Good. If gov succeed. Big brand such as bmw audi Mercedes ferrari will gone from malaysia. We can only see perodua and proton

• Henry Gan on May 04, 2015 at 3:39 pm

If supply free to all vehicles then can accept

• Menteri Besar on May 04, 2015 at 6:54 pm

1 Malaysia speed limiter. Money goes for cronies lorh.

• Sam Nickson on May 04, 2015 at 7:32 pm

“The device, which can limit speed as required, costs less than RM500,” he added.

That is the heart of the story from start to finish. A corrupt crony came up with the idea that they can make money by forcing either the drivers or the government to pony up some cash for each car to install a device they will take the agency for. 10 million cars in Malaysia is a 5 billion ringgit contract.

• Mr Ee on May 04, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Speed is not the problem in this country, it’s the idiot, undisciplined, brainless, arrogant drivers. It’s too easy to get a licence and the test/exam system is laughable. Drivers are texting, drifting across lanes, unwilling to use indicators or mirrors, queue hopping, red-light jumping… That’s why there is an unacceptable accident rate in Malaysia.

• chaos on May 05, 2015 at 5:42 am

It surely will be a chaos! Imagine a car driving 105kmh then the car behind need to over take it but only 110kmh how long will the process took? It’s more dangerous than what the back their idiot brainless govt is thinking! They don’t understand physic and don’t well teach the citizen physics so all are stupid… the actual problem they don’t counter measure or maybe they are stupid don’t know what’s the actual problem we are facing. Too many vehicles on the road public transport infrastructure too weak, many elderly are force to drive and too many kopi license out there! Driving style and culture really is the main reason that’s cause an accident! It’s not because the speed as a parameter to caused accidents! Really hopeless…

• faridhwan on May 05, 2015 at 5:09 pm

we can put the speed limiter.. and we also can eliminate the speed cut off.. hehe

• ai like on May 05, 2015 at 5:16 pm

nice idea.
    how about we start with our government car, accordana?

• Speed limiter device? 110km/h max speed? C’mon. Educating road user is far more better idea. Being strict on unpaid summons, more enforcement on the road, having the correct attitiude is far way better than introducing speed limiter device. Ingat pengguna jalan nak amik peduli ke suh pasang benda tu? Kalau pun kerajaan nak tanggung kos tu, sikap “ada aku kisah” tu tetap wujud. Xde akal lain yg lebih bijak ke? Eksiden kalau dah mmg ajal, xde perlu lbh 110km/h.. Sikap pengguna jalanraya yg patut dibetulkan. Bukan nya kelajuan kenderaan yg dihadkan. Idea badut.